HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

71.4% Overall Rating

294 out of 370 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2014)

David Pascal Montalto thinks…

"The things I liked the most about GlobeTrott Inns are the friendly people and environment."

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.68
  • Breakfast USD 2.52
  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We will charge your credit/debit card for the full amount for all bookings made within 48 hours of arrival. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all other bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Due to alcohol licensing laws we do not accept anyone under the age of 18. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID. Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apples Inn 1
30.25 USD

Guesthouse 61.7% 29 reviews
Apple Lodge
29.41 USD

Guesthouse 69.0% 19 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
53.77 USD

Guesthouse 65.0% 4 reviews
Apples Inn 3
27.73 USD

Guesthouse 66.7% 12 reviews
Newham Hotel
92.42 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Valley Lodge
26.89 USD

Guesthouse 71.8% 8 reviews
Cottage 3L
39.15 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apples Inn Guesthouse
28.57 USD

Guesthouse 64.9% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.4%

Overall Rating

294 out of 370 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 260 of 360 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment, the staff is so nice, nice breakfast also!

Disliked: Far away from central London.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was Great! Goin to stay there when visit London next time! Very helpfull staff. Thank you! )

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sammi wang

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

23 October 2012 sammi would recommend this property

Liked: The staff there is frendly and helpful. It's quite safe and nice. The price is fair, and I think it's a good choice for backpackers.

Disliked: I enjoyed it very much.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was able to re-arrange my booking in advance, in case I wanted to. Everyone there is polite and friendly.

Disliked: The communal area was too small and noisy for someone even attempting to check his/her emails.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Josep Rodriguez Ferrer

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 October 2012 Josep would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and clean

Disliked: The noyse from the exterior

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elora Keaffaber

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012 Elora would recommend this property

Liked: The property was conveniently located above a bar, so it was great for pre-gaming a night out. It was very close to Upton Park train station, only 5 min walk to be exact. It was also located by a lot of great cheap/quick restaurants so eating a budget was very easy. People that stayed there were also very nice and helpful. It was also BUG FREE. Which I personally loved. I see a lot of adds in other cheaper hostels complaining about bed bugs- don't worry you are safe here! The building is older but clean. They also have 24 hour cameras and lockers up for grabs. I felt very safe staying in this hostel.

Disliked: The property as stated in earlier comments was indeed a bit hard to find. There is a guy that waits by the bar and looks out for lost people staring at the Boylen (the bar its located above.) He will ask you if you are looking for the Globe Trotts Inn then direct you the way you need to go. All in all- the short bit of confusion was well worth it. I would definitely stay here again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lisa Pang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: It's good.

Disliked: 2nd floor hot water isn't good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MOROUNKE ODUBIYI

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

18 October 2012 MOROUNKE would recommend this property

Liked: The property is good and homely.

Disliked: i have gotten nothing negative on the property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter dooley

Alone

Relaxation/spa

15 October 2012 peter would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is without doubt the best hostel i have ever stayed in. Its part of a bar but the odd thing is you cant hear the drunks. you just cant. no matter how hard you listen. The floors, walls, beds, pillows, toilets, and chairs are all clean and so easy to use. I have slept like Bill gates or Frank Bruno at this hostel. When you walk into the dining room its like walking on the moon, everyone is floating in space suits, because the room is fitted with an anti gravitational device. Its great fun and its included in the price! although the kitchen is in there too, so making your food can be akward, my cereal from last week is till floating in there, but you'll get used to it. I havent check out yet and i'll probably never check out. ah no just joking. i'll definitly check out. all in all this is the place to be if your staying on Green street London.

Disliked: What can i say bad about this place? its very hard for me to think because there are too many good things. I think they should turn off the anti gravitational device, now and again, because eating can be very hard. hmm what else?.oh ye, there is a stairs in the hostel that has no end. it just keeps going up. Some backpackers go up and come back three days later with frostbite. On the third floor, the walls are made of gold and you hear backpackers trying to chip away at it at 2am in the morning in balaclavas. its sad, they just get out. Of course, i forgot the mention, the hostel is built using 60000 decks of cards, so you have to walk very carefully because it could fall down. despite that it is the best ever hostel i have been in in the last 3 days.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

esuola oluwafisayo

Alone

Business / conference

15 October 2012 esuola would recommend this property

Liked: It was a friendly atmosphore... Staff members were friendly and helpful at all times....

Disliked: Nothing....

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a bit out of the London chaos, Take the metro's season ticket, and you'll be in the center in no time. The atmosphere is good and the italian blonde very kind. Good place very clean.

Disliked: I would have liked a little cooker in the kitchen, but for the rest everything OK.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 October 2012

Liked: Price. Helpful staff upon checking in and out.

Disliked: Zero signage, which i was told would be improved as they were 'between ownership' Making and unmaking your own bed, but acceptable at this price. Disliked the guy in the room making a call at around 6am for an hour. . Didn't notice the decorative tudor features, just the mattress springs digging into me through the sheet the thickness of cheesecloth.. Breakfast room looked like a student flat bombsite so i left well alone. and checked out asap

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Haocheng Liang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Haocheng would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: Location is a bit off about 35min to victoria. But it's acceptable for the price

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012

Liked: Stuff was really helpful and kind.

Disliked: It took us about 1 hour to find this hostel. There is no sign whats so evere. Locks were damaged almost everywhere, entrance was crazy narrow (in case of fire God help us). Rooms were okay but our sink was not working and they repaired it after 2 days. Shower was like a game hot n' cold. Windows secured by a tape. Also had to wait 2 days for some towel. Breakfast was mess! We had to wait for cups, no one was obviously doing dishes and famous english breakfast ment toasts and various of jams. Coffee sucked! This hostel is not obviously prepaired for these amount of people. At least it was cheap. However next time rather will spend more money to be in a center.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

craig jeffery

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 October 2012 craig would recommend this property

Liked: location, friendly staff anad great value for money and it has a great atmosphere..

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's amazing value for money. I was pleasently surprised; London's cheapest hostel is also one of the best! My room was nice and spacious and it had a bathroom. And this hostel seems to attract friendly and interesting people. What more could you ask for?

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012

Liked: Staff was helpful and apologetic whenever there were problems.

Disliked: Other guests were free to change rooms and beds whenever they felt like it, and the staff could not do anything about it. Also, the first night I had no duvet, and the second night I had no bed linens. Bathrooms were not the cleanest.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012

Liked: I liked the outside appearance, the bansky artwork, the price and the general feel of the lounge with all the people traveling from one place to another.

Disliked: My bed was stolen two times. The first night someone took it and they decided to give me another room and did not give me a duvet. The next night someone was sleeping in my bed again. I will say the staff was nice about it and did what they could in that situation, but the place is unorganized. Also the continental breakfast is just toast.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Filip Pavic

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Filip would recommend this property

Liked: We liked opportunity to see East London (on which G.T.I. was situated) which we probably wouldn't otherwise.

Disliked: Lack of enough toilets and showers and small cramped lounge. No wifi reception at rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Lynge Hepprich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

04 October 2012 Denise Lynge would recommend this property

Liked: They staff is very helpful and alway friendly. The rooms are nice and clean, and it's a nice place in general

Disliked: It could be a bit cold at times, and the shower has a problem with warm water, when to many people shower at the same time

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Wessel van der Berg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Mark Wessel would recommend this property

Liked: Kind, interesting people stay here: Australians, Italians, Germans, Americans, Asians and French. Ben's a good, friendly manager. He's always interested in your well-being, and at the weekend, asks people if they want to watch a football match at the pub downstairs or play some pool and drink a pint or two (when/if he has spare time). In less than one hour you're in the city center. Cheap foodstores nearby. I was able to see a match at the West Ham stadium for only 10 pounds! Clean, tidy rooms, good staff and good stuff. Televisione with them channels :)

Disliked: When the hostel is running really well, it tends to get crowded at the lounge, especially in the morning. No oven or cooking facilities, there is microwave though. People should clean their plates and cups etc. and there are a lot of police and fire cars, but you can get used to that :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Taylor

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 September 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great and everyone was really helpful!

Disliked: Alice left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

J Neff

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 September 2012 J would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff (so much better than in huge chain hostels). Excellent cleaners. Free breakfast included. Free use of washing machine. Great location for the East End of London and Olympic Park. Many eating options in local area and great food market at Upton Park tube station.

Disliked: J left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

J Neff

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 September 2012 J would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff (so much better than in huge chain hostels). Excellent cleaners. Free breakfast included. Free use of washing machine. Great location for the East End of London and Olympic Park. Many eating options in local area and great food market at Upton Park tube station.

Disliked: J left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff (so much better than in huge chain hostels). Excellent cleaners. Free breakfast included. Free use of washing machine. Great location for the East End of London and Olympic Park. Many eating options in local area and great food market at Upton Park tube station.

Disliked: A fair amount of traffic noise outside (but where in London do you not get that ?), limited kitchen facilities but not a problem for imaginative cooks.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels