HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

71.9% Overall Rating

327 out of 413 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

sasha tetreault thinks…

"I had a fantastic time at the hostel. The staff was very friendly, the facilities were good for the price and the atmosphere was great."

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We will charge your credit/debit card for the full amount for all bookings made within 48 hours of arrival. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all other bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Due to alcohol licensing laws we do not accept anyone under the age of 18. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID. Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apple Lodge
29.89 USD

Guesthouse 66.4% 24 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
32.45 USD

Guesthouse 64.3% 6 reviews
Apples Inn 3
28.18 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 13 reviews
Newham Hotel
93.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Cottage 3L
44.41 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apples Inn Guesthouse
30.74 USD

Guesthouse 64.9% 14 reviews
COUNTRYSIDE HOTEL
39.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.4% 8 reviews
Cottage 76
55.53 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.9%

Overall Rating

327 out of 413 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
59.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 294 of 404 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caitlin Curtis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2013 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Great people good time

Disliked: n/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

paris olver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 paris would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, and warming atmosphere. The staff here are so helpful and so nice. A great hostel to stay in if you want to meet travellers. The value for money is fantastic, as you get a light breakfast, free tea & coffee all day, free wifi, locker availability, and clean and modern bathrooms for around 10 pound a night. It's quite spacious, the rooms are clean and modern, theres availability to cook your own food in the kitchen with fridges, hot plates & a microwave.

Disliked: Upton park isn't the nicest area to live in, but aside from the geographic location the hostel itself is a great place to stay.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

MURSIDE CAGLA ORMECI KART

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013

Liked: It was a terrible place. Pilow,sheet everthing smelled bad. The reception was closed in the morning. I understand they are young and crazy but that cant be a reason for bad services. Internet conection wasnt good i tried with laptop, smartphone and tableet pc. I cant connect they didnt care also. The kitchen and toilet arent clean.

Disliked: It was a terrible hostel i am not a hostel expert but i stayed more than 20 hostel in eurole this was the worst.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Konrad Zagórski

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Konrad would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, amazing and friendly staff especially girls and mafia men. One of the best hostels in London. If you are looking for open-minded people, you want to know the city or came just to rest you shoukd start with the Globe Trott Inns.

Disliked: Small stairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Hernandez Dovali

Alone

Family Holiday

07 April 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: There Is a good atmosphere, The staff Is really nice, they clean daily And it's not far from The underground.

Disliked: It's hard to arrive from stratford if The underground Is close.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luciano Leveroni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Luciano would recommend this property

Liked: It's VERY cheap, and the staff really tries to make it's best

Disliked: The mattress were REALLY bad and unconfortable, it's also very difficult to find, ask inside the bar for the door!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Darpan Arora

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 April 2013 Darpan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful. 5 min walk from upton park tube station. Neighbours were friendly. Adjoining pub.

Disliked: Just a prinout on a lousy door saying GlobeTrott Inn, atleast have a board or something. We were confused and asking people were the place was.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had the BEST time at this hostel. Its only 20 minutes away from Shoreditch and I met so great people here. Its cheap and clean and I LOVE the staff, even Stefanos moustache made me laugh :D. Can't wait to come back !

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good value for money. Very friendly atmosphere amongst the guests and probably the best staff i've ever met at a hostel.

Disliked: The entrance is a bit hidden

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrea gallo

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 March 2013 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Ottima posizione Pulito Ambiente famigliare...lo raccomando sicuro!!

Disliked: andrea left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013

Liked: The staff and the faclities to meet people

Disliked: the location because is far away and also it isnt safe neighborhood

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was an awesome atmosphere to the place. Everyone was very happy and chatty downstairs in the living area, the hostel had a brilliant student vibe. Staff were very friendly and the room was very quiet at night. Fabulously good value for money, £7 for the night in London...

Disliked: The private bathroom was rather dirty, but it was a 10 bed dorm. The staff were quite imposing and over personal to a degree. I had an interview in the morning. It was a Tuesday. The staff kept encouraging me to 'Get the beers in.' I just wanted to go to bed. As I said, It was a bloody Tuesday...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: posizione vicina alla stazione di upton park struttura deliziosa e con personale qualificato e sempre pronto a darti aiuto cucina attrezzata per cucinare struttura pulita e con pulizie giornaliere ostello che consiglierei a tutti per il suo rapporto prezzo qualita!!!!

Disliked: niente

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lorenzo ciccale

Alone

City break

02 March 2013 lorenzo would recommend this property

Liked: good position near upton park , good people and good enviroment good staff and friendly clean and accessoried kitchen for cook

Disliked: nothings

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Liliek Suhardjono

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Liliek would recommend this property

Liked: the staffs are friendly, and they allow us to check in late at night, which is very good because i arrived late at night and as far as i'm aware some youth hostels wouldn't allow us to check in later than 7pm. it's also a very budget-friendly hostel, complete with the breakfast.

Disliked: the bathroom queue.. they should add more bathroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall it was a nice and friendly place, definitely good for the money you pay.

Disliked: It is in the 3rd zone, so the location isn't the best.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Genesis Mullis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013

Liked: The bathroom in the shared female dorm was quite spacious and very clean.

Disliked: The beds were quite wobbly! The door to the female door would stick, and when I woke in the morning, I found that the door had not been locked or shut by the last girl who came in. The comings and goings of my roommates was all though the night. Walls are very thin, so it can be a bit noisy. I found that other guests would lounge in the (very narrow) stairways. My biggest complaint (and to which it is partially my fault as well) is that in the ten minutes I had spent in the bathroom in the morning, I had left my bag open on my top bunk. Before leaving, I discovered that all of my money had been stolen. I informed the owner immediately, to which he did absolutely nothing but insist that no one in the hostel would have stolen my money. Given that the door to my room was apparently open all night long and open when I left the room at the end of my stay, it was hard to believe he was right. My best advice if choosing to stay here: bring a lock, request a bottom bunk so that you can sleep close to your things that do not fit in the small lockers, bring headphones, and sleep with one eye open. The hostel is on the second floor of the building and there is no lift, so be wary if your bag is heavy.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valdas Gumuliauskas

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 February 2013

Liked: Good and fast internet connection in all rooms, rooms and kitchen are cleaned daily, free continental breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. I've tried ~8 budget hostels and this one is the best so far.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

07 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: l'atmosfera e l'ambiente accogliente

Disliked: non saprei

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really surprised at just how good this hostel was for the money I paid. It has a cheap bar, surrounded by cheap restaurants, large spacious dorms with comfortable beds and clean showers. Full with backpackers from all over and I really enjoyed my time there.

Disliked: Lounge can get a bit crowded in the evening, but the bar downstairs is huge so spent my evenings in it. All the bar staff are hot too so that was a bonus :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay for a night. enjoyed a few beverages in the pub downstairs and met a heap of great people. staff were friendly and the place was generally clean.

Disliked: location and bit hard to find.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

RIYADH ALAWAMI

Alone

Business / conference

27 January 2013 RIYADH would recommend this property

Liked: Most people are friendly and humble. Good for a night or two.

Disliked: Quite crowded and not the most tidy and cleanest people in the world.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

serkan yuce

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 January 2013 serkan would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: a lot of steps

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really friendly and lovely

Disliked: A bit far to go to London city

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karen ortiz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 karen would recommend this property

Liked: CLEAN BATHROOMS

Disliked: NOTHING


See all London hostels
See all London hotels