HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

71.4% Overall Rating

342 out of 436 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

"Pretty comfortable beds in a good location (for me anyway). Good atmosphere in the kitchen area. Even has Sky Sports!"

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. ***AGE RESTRICTION*** 18-35 Due to alcohol licensing laws we can not accept anyone under the age of 18. We will not accept people over the age of 35 unless agreed upon via email confirmation. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID. Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apple Lodge
30.83 USD

Guesthouse 65.8% 25 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
30.83 USD

Guesthouse 66.5% 7 reviews
Apples Inn 3
35.70 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 13 reviews
Newham Hotel
89.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Valley Lodge
27.59 USD

Guesthouse 71.8% 8 reviews
Cottage 3L
42.19 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
COUNTRYSIDE HOTEL
37.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.4% 8 reviews
Cottage 76
64.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.4%

Overall Rating

342 out of 436 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 311 of 425 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013

Liked: It had a very lived-in, typical hostel feel. The staff was friendly and helpful, as were some guests.

Disliked: It is extremely lively and guests are allowed to be very loud without control at night, despite the sign on the wall about quiet hours. It was also quite far from central London.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Marcel Watson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: Place was fine. Didn't have any real problems with it. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Amazingly warm inside for how cold outside it was. Social enough but not overly crazy and noisy, even with being above a bar! Quite a tidy place too.

Disliked: The bar downstairs was pretty rank. The location was a lot further from central london than i thought and not a very nice area at that. Opening at 11am was a bit of a problem for us as we got there with all our bags at 7am, so had a lot of time to kill doing a whole lot of nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 May 2013

Liked: Staff and atmosphere here is great, very much a bohemian feel to it that I definitely enjoyed.

Disliked: The location is abysmal. 45 minutes to just about anything. Unless you're a big West Ham United supporter, plan the beginning of every day to involve a 45 minute commute. Kitchen/common area is far too small for as many people as were staying. Walls are paper thin.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lonneke van duren

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 May 2013 Lonneke would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff and that it was close to a shopping street with a Primark and lots of other stores.

Disliked: That it is in zone 3 (not the fault of the hostel but you should keep that in mind while booking) and the low amount of showers/bathrooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Simple, cheap, did the job

Disliked: Arrived early and dropped bag in luggage storage - came back late and they had moved me over from the 6 bedded dorm that I booked into a somewhat chaotic 8 bedded dorm...? Weird

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013

Liked: The prices.

Disliked: It is not really a backpackers hostel. It is full of people living over there that are looking for a job in London. Most of them are italian. People screaming during the night. No silence policy. People drinking alcohol and other staff during weekends' nights.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So cheap but in zone 3 for the metro.

Disliked: I stayed 3 nights. The 1sr one one friend and I were placed in the 10 people room on the 1st floor and it was a nightmare. Everybody was drinking and talking loud in the hall of the hostel and the people of the room were coming in and out all the time, they kept the door open, they turn the music on at 8 a.m. The other 2 nights we had the 6 people room, next to the 1st one, but with others travellers: there was no open door, no noise, no music. As this hostel is so cheap, is plenty of very young people searching a job in London that behave as if they were in a fraternity, so some rooms are a total chaos of noise and disorder, and others aren't. But it's so cheap...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, very friendly staff, comfortable beds, easy access from tube

Disliked: to far from center, bit noisy, no hot water in the showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lenka kundratova

Alone

Relaxation/spa

01 May 2013 lenka would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Absolutely nothing Gt

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Piia Ronkainen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Piia would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, relaxed hostel with a friendly staff. Our dorm room had lot's of space. Many cheap eateries nearby.

Disliked: A sink and mirror outside the toilets would cut the toilet queues?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jelena Stanicevic

Alone

City break

23 April 2013 Jelena would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere/Location/People

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

efetobor onoyivbe

Alone

City break

19 April 2013 efetobor would recommend this property

Liked: SAFETY AND FRIENDLYNESS

Disliked: THE ENTRANCE

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013

Liked: Super nice and friendly staff, always greeted with a big smile which really does make a difference when you stay somewhere. Lots of space and enough outlets in the room I was in. There are lockers to store your stuff

Disliked: The kitchen is practically non-existent. Forget about cooking anything, unless you just use the microwave and kettle. Always really messy and dirty, barely any counter space, not much equipment on hand either (like, four coffee/tea mugs total, a few plates?). **There is absoloutely no hot water at the sink...** Cupboards are dirty, hardly any storage space, not very organised. The breakfast is fine (toast and a nice variety of spreads) but wasn't that clearly presented. At first I actually wasn't sure if it was 'the breakfast' or if it belonged to someone. The TV in the lounge was always on MTV and can only be LOUD or muted, so you have to shout over it or be constantly distracted during your conversations...Also, there are only three shower rooms which is also where the sinks are; so if you use the toilet (separate) you don't have a lot of options for washing your hands if the shower room is in use...so I'm guessing most people just don't wash their hands... This wasn't so bad since I stayed only a few days and was out most of the time. But I'm not going to say "you get what you pay for" because I've stayed in several hostels for the same price (or cheaper) and they definitely weren't lacking this much in the kitchen/common areas departments

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff simpaticissimo, ambiente pulito e stanze spaziose con letti comodi!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luca varese

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 April 2013 luca would recommend this property

Liked: Ottimo ostello...5 minuti dalla tube e a 200 mt dal bus per il centro 24h su 24. Lo consiglio!!

Disliked: luca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, great staff

Disliked: No curtains

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caitlin Curtis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2013 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Great people good time

Disliked: n/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

paris olver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 paris would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, and warming atmosphere. The staff here are so helpful and so nice. A great hostel to stay in if you want to meet travellers. The value for money is fantastic, as you get a light breakfast, free tea & coffee all day, free wifi, locker availability, and clean and modern bathrooms for around 10 pound a night. It's quite spacious, the rooms are clean and modern, theres availability to cook your own food in the kitchen with fridges, hot plates & a microwave.

Disliked: Upton park isn't the nicest area to live in, but aside from the geographic location the hostel itself is a great place to stay.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

MURSIDE CAGLA ORMECI KART

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013

Liked: It was a terrible place. Pilow,sheet everthing smelled bad. The reception was closed in the morning. I understand they are young and crazy but that cant be a reason for bad services. Internet conection wasnt good i tried with laptop, smartphone and tableet pc. I cant connect they didnt care also. The kitchen and toilet arent clean.

Disliked: It was a terrible hostel i am not a hostel expert but i stayed more than 20 hostel in eurole this was the worst.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Konrad Zagórski

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Konrad would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, amazing and friendly staff especially girls and mafia men. One of the best hostels in London. If you are looking for open-minded people, you want to know the city or came just to rest you shoukd start with the Globe Trott Inns.

Disliked: Small stairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Hernandez Dovali

Alone

Family Holiday

07 April 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: There Is a good atmosphere, The staff Is really nice, they clean daily And it's not far from The underground.

Disliked: It's hard to arrive from stratford if The underground Is close.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luciano Leveroni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Luciano would recommend this property

Liked: It's VERY cheap, and the staff really tries to make it's best

Disliked: The mattress were REALLY bad and unconfortable, it's also very difficult to find, ask inside the bar for the door!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Darpan Arora

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 April 2013 Darpan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful. 5 min walk from upton park tube station. Neighbours were friendly. Adjoining pub.

Disliked: Just a prinout on a lousy door saying GlobeTrott Inn, atleast have a board or something. We were confused and asking people were the place was.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had the BEST time at this hostel. Its only 20 minutes away from Shoreditch and I met so great people here. Its cheap and clean and I LOVE the staff, even Stefanos moustache made me laugh :D. Can't wait to come back !

Disliked: Nothing


See all London hostels
See all London hotels