HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

67.3% Overall Rating

329 out of 419 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

marta diaz thinks…

"The staff was the only thing nice, boys who work two days for a mat on a berth: London, only wants your money"

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We will charge your credit/debit card for the full amount for all bookings made within 48 hours of arrival. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all other bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Due to alcohol licensing laws we do not accept anyone under the age of 18. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID. Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apple Lodge
29.72 USD

Guesthouse 65.8% 25 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
32.26 USD

Guesthouse 64.3% 6 reviews
Apples Inn 3
28.02 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 13 reviews
Newham Hotel
93.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Cottage 3L
44.15 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apples Inn Guesthouse
30.57 USD

Guesthouse 64.9% 14 reviews
COUNTRYSIDE HOTEL
39.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.4% 8 reviews
Cottage 76
56.33 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.3%

Overall Rating

329 out of 419 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
56.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
72.0%
Value
70.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 298 of 409 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly and welcoming atmosphere

Disliked: It was a bit over-priced

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly atmosphere and very helpful staff especially Stefano who helped me with any problems I had even very late at night. The common room was very comfortable and great to meet other travellers

Disliked: Only the location was a little far from the centre

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people was very nice.

Disliked: Some travellers were very noisy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Planeta

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 June 2013 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: great place, fantastic atmosphere and amazing hepfull kind staff. Nice rooms (average british hostel), great thing is a bathroom in the room (a real one not just a shower cabine but shower sink & toilette in a separate room you enter from your room, doesn`t neet to go anywhere outside with the towel & all your stuff). Personally found a great people in the room (australians) so as the guy working in there extremelly nice and hepfull (australian). It is located 2 tube stops from Stratford Station which was great for me flying to/from Stansted Airport - direct bus from Stratford & huge Westfield Shopping Center located in Stratford aswell.

Disliked: Katarzyna left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Yangjin Jo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013

Liked: A staff is kind

Disliked: Location. I couldn't find this hostel easily. Information of location is not enough.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the hostel was situated near convenience stores and a small cafeteria. The people in the area are fairly nice, and the number of crimes committed there is no doubt fairly low. There is also a bar beneath the hostel, which sadly closes at 11:00 PM.

Disliked: The hostel was not very spacious in terms of room size. There are easily six or even eight people in one room, sleeping almost at arm's length from each other, half of them sleeping on the top bunk bed.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is special and helps me know another London that is totally different from what you might see in media

Disliked: cleanliness

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Xinran Dou

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

02 June 2013 Xinran would recommend this property

Liked: staff are very friendly.

Disliked: there are fewer bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a brilliant time at this hostel and ended up staying a few extra nights. Really good backpacker vibe and everyone got together for a few drinks every night. I was worried about the wifi but they hostel had just upgraded the network when I got there and it was very good. The hostel has an army of cleaners keeping the toilets and showers very, very clean. The location is not as bad as some say and definitely not dangerous.Easily the best value for money hostel I have stayed at after 6 months of travelling! Keep up the good work.

Disliked: They need a bigger common room and more showers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kazetaro Takeshita

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Kazetaro would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were so nice!! They are kind and friendly!! It was also good that I got free breakfast.

Disliked: Only location is a little far from center.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean quiet dorm

Disliked: Only one toilet and shower per floor became a problem in the mornings.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 May 2013

Liked: The people were all really friendly. A lot of the people were long termers so they all knew each other which could be a bit intimidating but overall they were very welcoming.

Disliked: It was in a really bad area and for two 18 year old girls was a bit frightening. We were afraid to go out at night which is not what you want when you are staying in London, however it was cheap and the actual hostel was good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013

Liked: It had a very lived-in, typical hostel feel. The staff was friendly and helpful, as were some guests.

Disliked: It is extremely lively and guests are allowed to be very loud without control at night, despite the sign on the wall about quiet hours. It was also quite far from central London.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Marcel Watson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: Place was fine. Didn't have any real problems with it. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Amazingly warm inside for how cold outside it was. Social enough but not overly crazy and noisy, even with being above a bar! Quite a tidy place too.

Disliked: The bar downstairs was pretty rank. The location was a lot further from central london than i thought and not a very nice area at that. Opening at 11am was a bit of a problem for us as we got there with all our bags at 7am, so had a lot of time to kill doing a whole lot of nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 May 2013

Liked: Staff and atmosphere here is great, very much a bohemian feel to it that I definitely enjoyed.

Disliked: The location is abysmal. 45 minutes to just about anything. Unless you're a big West Ham United supporter, plan the beginning of every day to involve a 45 minute commute. Kitchen/common area is far too small for as many people as were staying. Walls are paper thin.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lonneke van duren

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 May 2013 Lonneke would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff and that it was close to a shopping street with a Primark and lots of other stores.

Disliked: That it is in zone 3 (not the fault of the hostel but you should keep that in mind while booking) and the low amount of showers/bathrooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Simple, cheap, did the job

Disliked: Arrived early and dropped bag in luggage storage - came back late and they had moved me over from the 6 bedded dorm that I booked into a somewhat chaotic 8 bedded dorm...? Weird

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013

Liked: The prices.

Disliked: It is not really a backpackers hostel. It is full of people living over there that are looking for a job in London. Most of them are italian. People screaming during the night. No silence policy. People drinking alcohol and other staff during weekends' nights.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So cheap but in zone 3 for the metro.

Disliked: I stayed 3 nights. The 1sr one one friend and I were placed in the 10 people room on the 1st floor and it was a nightmare. Everybody was drinking and talking loud in the hall of the hostel and the people of the room were coming in and out all the time, they kept the door open, they turn the music on at 8 a.m. The other 2 nights we had the 6 people room, next to the 1st one, but with others travellers: there was no open door, no noise, no music. As this hostel is so cheap, is plenty of very young people searching a job in London that behave as if they were in a fraternity, so some rooms are a total chaos of noise and disorder, and others aren't. But it's so cheap...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, very friendly staff, comfortable beds, easy access from tube

Disliked: to far from center, bit noisy, no hot water in the showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lenka kundratova

Alone

Relaxation/spa

01 May 2013 lenka would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Absolutely nothing Gt

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Piia Ronkainen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Piia would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, relaxed hostel with a friendly staff. Our dorm room had lot's of space. Many cheap eateries nearby.

Disliked: A sink and mirror outside the toilets would cut the toilet queues?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jelena Stanicevic

Alone

City break

23 April 2013 Jelena would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere/Location/People

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

efetobor onoyivbe

Alone

City break

19 April 2013 efetobor would recommend this property

Liked: SAFETY AND FRIENDLYNESS

Disliked: THE ENTRANCE


See all London hostels
See all London hotels