We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

67.7% Overall Rating

362 out of 464 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2015)

"Friendly staff, proper daily cleaning. Clean rooms, showers, toilets, kitchen. Good facilities. The common room with Sky TV is nice too. Firealarm, card access for entrance & rooms, free lockers provided (needs…"

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. ***AGE RESTRICTION*** 18-35 Due to alcohol licensing laws we can not accept anyone under the age of 18. We will not accept people over the age of 35 unless agreed upon via email confirmation. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID. Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apple Lodge 1
24.45 USD

Guesthouse 54.0% 10 reviews
Apples Inn 3
25.98 USD

Guesthouse 68.0% 14 reviews
Newham Hotel
84.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Valley Lodge
27.51 USD

Guesthouse 66.3% 10 reviews
Cottage 3L
39.74 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apples Inn Guesthouse
25.98 USD

Guesthouse 61.4% 20 reviews
Cottage 76
76.26 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Barking Park Hotel
33.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 51.1% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.7%

Overall Rating

362 out of 464 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
59.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 329 of 452 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was secure and clean

Disliked: A bit disorganised came back to find someone in my bed, but staff were helpful in sorting it out

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yura Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Yura would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were so helpful and friendly. Especially the Austrailian woman. I liked the common room, big television, books, hot showers and general atmosphere. Especially showeres were awesome. Absolutely value for money. Will stay here again when i visit London.

Disliked: The matress would be better.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

FIYINFOLUWA SAMUEL OGUNFEIBO

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 October 2013 FIYINFOLUWA SAMUEL would recommend this property

Liked: Veri frndly ppl

Disliked: FIYINFOLUWA SAMUEL left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Michael Brideau

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 September 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Not clean

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the cheap price it's a fine place to stay quite close to the metro

Disliked: not perfectly clean & comfortable, but you can neither expect that for the price paid

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is on of a kind, interesting neighborhood, very cheap.

Disliked: Queues to the toilets were dredful.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Angela Chevez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2013

Liked: It was an average hostel.

Disliked: The location is not good... Is close to a tube station but far from the center of london and really far away from the airport.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ling Siaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 September 2013 Ling would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, particularly Stefano who checked me in. The hostel has great facilities such as the lounge, free wifi, TV and kitchen which comes with a fridge, microwave and a toaster. Free tea and coffee is provided all day. The hostel has great transport links as it is located close to the bus stops and Upton Park tube station.

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice beds

Disliked: breakfast wasnt that good

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sarwar Kabir

Alone

Relaxation/spa

12 September 2013 Sarwar would recommend this property

Liked: Toilet are very clean......

Disliked: Bed is too hard, however, as compare to price, it was ok....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eliška Hrabálková

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 Eliška would recommend this property

Liked: If you do not expect special comfort and in the centre of London it is good and for that price - hell yeah great! We couldn't wish anything more for this low cost. Wifi is available, everything is clean, it is half an hour from the centre by underground, neighbourhood seems to be scary at first but then you find it is not at all. Tesco store is next to underground station, fastfoods are next to the hostel.

Disliked: There is only one bathroom on each floor - it is better to wake up early to get there without waiting. But it is not a big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefano Zanchettin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2013 Stefano would recommend this property

Liked: It has been fucking awesome! Nice toilets, nice people, you can drink...etc.etc.

Disliked: They don`t have a cat.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luca Szabo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2013 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked that the tube was only about five minutes walk from the hostel, so it was easy to reach the inner city. Also, the room was cosy, and me and my cousin had great luck with the other people who stayed in the same room, they were nice, we liked them.

Disliked: It seemed a bit dirty, but let's face it, the low price of any hostel has a price.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 August 2013

Liked: The hostel is located closely to a tubestation with a good connection to the city centre. The hostel has a kitchen/living room in which you can come together and spend your meal / evening. The building has character, and opportunities to be a cosy hostel.

Disliked: matrasses in de female dorm are old, and worn. It would be nice to have more sinks available for washing your hands or brushing your teeth without occupying the shower at the same time. I would also advice the organisation of the hostel to inform your guests correctly and fully about any improvements or changes in the facilities. During my stay they refurnished the kitchen by bits, and did not know if and when the equiptment would be available to use again. Get rid of the cockroaches in the kitchen.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2013

Liked: CHEAP.

Disliked: The price seems good at first, but then tends to be MORE expensive to stay here if you factor in the following: tube / metro fare is super expensive to Zone 3 for round trip and you have to buy your own food at restaurants (no kitchen or refridgerator because of construction). Might as well and pay more to be in better location with real facilities.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the commited Staff who also provided really kind and chill eavnings. I could not say that it is the closest one in London but 30 minutes by train aint that bad at all if the rest of the staying is amazing.

Disliked: There whas nothing to dislike.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An good place to stay, with awesome people!!

Disliked: it's pritty far from the city centre

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly, and the posters are cute.

Disliked: There were toilets with no wash basins and you had to put on your linen yourself.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Ash Riley

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

15 July 2013 Ash would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the easy going nature and the showers where pretty powerful

Disliked: the cleanliness left a lot to be desired

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 July 2013

Liked: Very nice and understanding staff

Disliked: cheap beds, not very clean, and I stayed in a room with no openable window on a 30 degrees days, meaning it was easily 35, 40 in the room...

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Timothy Siegler

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Not much. It was next to West Ham, which was cool.

Disliked: Distance from city center (the Tube was under construction, so I may be biased), staff, the other people in the hostel, the cleanliness, the environment, the beds (a frame with sheets, I dont even think there was a mattress, I got drunk just so I could go to bed one night), and basically everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Bloom

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The nicest and friendliest and hostel staff ever! very clean place and friendly atmosphere, too. it was really nice staying here - we didn't want to leave anymore :) thank you for everything, dear hostel crew, you are great!

Disliked: Leaving

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kindness and good looks of the staff. The Irish guy was particularly handsome

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, fun and helpful staff. Stefano was especially keen to help with the lugguages, rooms, bookings etc.

Disliked: Vacant toilets with showers may be hard to find during 'peak hours'.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

B?a?ej G?bura

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 B?a?ej would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is just great. Place is clean, staff is very friendly. Very nice place!!!

Disliked: B?a?ej left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels