We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

70.3% Overall Rating

343 out of 438 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/11/2014)

peter thornton thinks…

"met some amazing people and the staf and experience were fine, its a cheap hostel, it has its downsides but its a third of the price than any other hostel & it was better than i was expecting"

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. ***AGE RESTRICTION*** 18-35 Due to alcohol licensing laws we can not accept anyone under the age of 18. We will not accept people over the age of 35 unless agreed upon via email confirmation. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID. Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apple Lodge
24.34 USD

Guesthouse 65.8% 25 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
24.34 USD

Guesthouse 66.5% 7 reviews
Apples Inn 3
22.72 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 13 reviews
Newham Hotel
89.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Valley Lodge
25.97 USD

Guesthouse 71.8% 8 reviews
Cottage 3L
42.19 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apples Inn Guesthouse
25.97 USD

Guesthouse 62.9% 16 reviews
COUNTRYSIDE HOTEL
31.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.3%

Overall Rating

343 out of 438 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 313 of 427 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An good place to stay, with awesome people!!

Disliked: it's pritty far from the city centre

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly, and the posters are cute.

Disliked: There were toilets with no wash basins and you had to put on your linen yourself.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Ash Riley

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

15 July 2013 Ash would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the easy going nature and the showers where pretty powerful

Disliked: the cleanliness left a lot to be desired

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 July 2013

Liked: Very nice and understanding staff

Disliked: cheap beds, not very clean, and I stayed in a room with no openable window on a 30 degrees days, meaning it was easily 35, 40 in the room...

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Timothy Siegler

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Not much. It was next to West Ham, which was cool.

Disliked: Distance from city center (the Tube was under construction, so I may be biased), staff, the other people in the hostel, the cleanliness, the environment, the beds (a frame with sheets, I dont even think there was a mattress, I got drunk just so I could go to bed one night), and basically everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Bloom

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The nicest and friendliest and hostel staff ever! very clean place and friendly atmosphere, too. it was really nice staying here - we didn't want to leave anymore :) thank you for everything, dear hostel crew, you are great!

Disliked: Leaving

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kindness and good looks of the staff. The Irish guy was particularly handsome

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, fun and helpful staff. Stefano was especially keen to help with the lugguages, rooms, bookings etc.

Disliked: Vacant toilets with showers may be hard to find during 'peak hours'.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

B?a?ej G?bura

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 B?a?ej would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is just great. Place is clean, staff is very friendly. Very nice place!!!

Disliked: B?a?ej left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Faeth Webb

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2013 Faeth would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and how it was near the tube

Disliked: It was really hard to sleep at night because the beds were poor and there were so many people walking in and out

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is absolutely stellar, the hostel had everything I wanted and needed and the atmosphere is great, just what you want from a hostel.

Disliked: Nothing!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013

Liked: Manager was professional

Disliked: I felt unsafe, only 3 showers for entire hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought Globe Trott Inns was an awesome place to stay, Great atmoshere! The staff was very friendly and help, they even came out and found me when I wasnt able to find them. They had free wi -fi and computers to use, breakfast , bar, you really couldn't ask for more. It was also clean, with good facilities, and a great value for your money. Everyone staying there was super cool, long and short term people. I absolutely loved my time there.

Disliked: Nothing I can think of right now.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a nice hostel with excellent staff. The value for money is top and is really close to the underground. Anyone who is complaining about this hostel should better go to a hostel that is more expensive, but I think you don't get a better value for your money as you get here! All you backpackers! Go there and enjoy the atmosphere and staff!

Disliked: Leaving

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere of the hostel. It was really free and openminded. I've had a really nice night and if I could've I would've stayed longer.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly and welcoming atmosphere

Disliked: It was a bit over-priced

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly atmosphere and very helpful staff especially Stefano who helped me with any problems I had even very late at night. The common room was very comfortable and great to meet other travellers

Disliked: Only the location was a little far from the centre

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people was very nice.

Disliked: Some travellers were very noisy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Planeta

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 June 2013 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: great place, fantastic atmosphere and amazing hepfull kind staff. Nice rooms (average british hostel), great thing is a bathroom in the room (a real one not just a shower cabine but shower sink & toilette in a separate room you enter from your room, doesn`t neet to go anywhere outside with the towel & all your stuff). Personally found a great people in the room (australians) so as the guy working in there extremelly nice and hepfull (australian). It is located 2 tube stops from Stratford Station which was great for me flying to/from Stansted Airport - direct bus from Stratford & huge Westfield Shopping Center located in Stratford aswell.

Disliked: Katarzyna left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Yangjin Jo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013

Liked: A staff is kind

Disliked: Location. I couldn't find this hostel easily. Information of location is not enough.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the hostel was situated near convenience stores and a small cafeteria. The people in the area are fairly nice, and the number of crimes committed there is no doubt fairly low. There is also a bar beneath the hostel, which sadly closes at 11:00 PM.

Disliked: The hostel was not very spacious in terms of room size. There are easily six or even eight people in one room, sleeping almost at arm's length from each other, half of them sleeping on the top bunk bed.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is special and helps me know another London that is totally different from what you might see in media

Disliked: cleanliness

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Xinran Dou

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

02 June 2013 Xinran would recommend this property

Liked: staff are very friendly.

Disliked: there are fewer bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a brilliant time at this hostel and ended up staying a few extra nights. Really good backpacker vibe and everyone got together for a few drinks every night. I was worried about the wifi but they hostel had just upgraded the network when I got there and it was very good. The hostel has an army of cleaners keeping the toilets and showers very, very clean. The location is not as bad as some say and definitely not dangerous.Easily the best value for money hostel I have stayed at after 6 months of travelling! Keep up the good work.

Disliked: They need a bigger common room and more showers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kazetaro Takeshita

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Kazetaro would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were so nice!! They are kind and friendly!! It was also good that I got free breakfast.

Disliked: Only location is a little far from center.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels