We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

71.4% Overall Rating

342 out of 436 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

"Pretty comfortable beds in a good location (for me anyway). Good atmosphere in the kitchen area. Even has Sky Sports!"

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.44

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We will charge your credit/debit card for the full amount for all bookings made within 48 hours of arrival. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all other bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Due to alcohol licensing laws we do not accept anyone under the age of 18. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID. Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apple Lodge 1
30.94 USD

Guesthouse 66.5% 7 reviews
Newham Hotel
89.56 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Valley Lodge
32.57 USD

Guesthouse 71.8% 8 reviews
Cottage 3L
42.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
COUNTRYSIDE HOTEL
36.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.4% 8 reviews
Cottage 76
64.88 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Mortham Cottage
50.81 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Barking Park Hotel
35.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 50.0% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.4%

Overall Rating

342 out of 436 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 311 of 425 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vincent reavis

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 vincent would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super, the rooms clean and the hostel was fun & friendly. It is only 5 min from the tube, and you can get into London quickly. The Internet worked well. Everyone was great and I would stay again. Vince

Disliked: Overall, I liked everything.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JANET MARISOL KORNER SANDOVAL

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

10 November 2013 JANET MARISOL would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere, the staff, the clean very good, and secure and value for money too. good guys the staff

Disliked: nothing, all rights

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sorce mariagiovanna

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 November 2013 Sorce would recommend this property

Liked: good service of cleaning

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly place

Disliked: location

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

syed iftikhar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 syed would recommend this property

Liked: it was good, warm and comfy, fairly clean.

Disliked: syed left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 October 2013

Liked: Friendly staff and the location was suitable for where we wanted to go in London (Excel Centre)

Disliked: The mattresses were really uncomfortable we had springs digging into our backs for both nights and every so often random strangers would let themselves into our room even though we had fully booked the room for all 10 of us and were using it as storage for their luggage as well the private bathroom that was for the people in the room only, which while the staff were friendly they were useless in resolving this as they apparently didn't know what to do.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Lara Šuštar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013

Liked: The walls are nicely painted and the pictures on the walls are great.

Disliked: It's dirty, luckily there's no toilet paper or soap missing at any time. The atmosphere is lame, everyone is just sitting around and staring at their laptops in the kitchen.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was secure and clean

Disliked: A bit disorganised came back to find someone in my bed, but staff were helpful in sorting it out

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yura Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Yura would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were so helpful and friendly. Especially the Austrailian woman. I liked the common room, big television, books, hot showers and general atmosphere. Especially showeres were awesome. Absolutely value for money. Will stay here again when i visit London.

Disliked: The matress would be better.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

FIYINFOLUWA SAMUEL OGUNFEIBO

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 October 2013 FIYINFOLUWA SAMUEL would recommend this property

Liked: Veri frndly ppl

Disliked: FIYINFOLUWA SAMUEL left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Michael Brideau

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 September 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Not clean

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the cheap price it's a fine place to stay quite close to the metro

Disliked: not perfectly clean & comfortable, but you can neither expect that for the price paid

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is on of a kind, interesting neighborhood, very cheap.

Disliked: Queues to the toilets were dredful.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Angela Chevez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2013

Liked: It was an average hostel.

Disliked: The location is not good... Is close to a tube station but far from the center of london and really far away from the airport.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ling Siaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 September 2013 Ling would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, particularly Stefano who checked me in. The hostel has great facilities such as the lounge, free wifi, TV and kitchen which comes with a fridge, microwave and a toaster. Free tea and coffee is provided all day. The hostel has great transport links as it is located close to the bus stops and Upton Park tube station.

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice beds

Disliked: breakfast wasnt that good

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sarwar Kabir

Alone

Relaxation/spa

12 September 2013 Sarwar would recommend this property

Liked: Toilet are very clean......

Disliked: Bed is too hard, however, as compare to price, it was ok....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eliška Hrabálková

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 Eliška would recommend this property

Liked: If you do not expect special comfort and in the centre of London it is good and for that price - hell yeah great! We couldn't wish anything more for this low cost. Wifi is available, everything is clean, it is half an hour from the centre by underground, neighbourhood seems to be scary at first but then you find it is not at all. Tesco store is next to underground station, fastfoods are next to the hostel.

Disliked: There is only one bathroom on each floor - it is better to wake up early to get there without waiting. But it is not a big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefano Zanchettin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2013 Stefano would recommend this property

Liked: It has been fucking awesome! Nice toilets, nice people, you can drink...etc.etc.

Disliked: They don`t have a cat.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luca Szabo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2013 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked that the tube was only about five minutes walk from the hostel, so it was easy to reach the inner city. Also, the room was cosy, and me and my cousin had great luck with the other people who stayed in the same room, they were nice, we liked them.

Disliked: It seemed a bit dirty, but let's face it, the low price of any hostel has a price.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 August 2013

Liked: The hostel is located closely to a tubestation with a good connection to the city centre. The hostel has a kitchen/living room in which you can come together and spend your meal / evening. The building has character, and opportunities to be a cosy hostel.

Disliked: matrasses in de female dorm are old, and worn. It would be nice to have more sinks available for washing your hands or brushing your teeth without occupying the shower at the same time. I would also advice the organisation of the hostel to inform your guests correctly and fully about any improvements or changes in the facilities. During my stay they refurnished the kitchen by bits, and did not know if and when the equiptment would be available to use again. Get rid of the cockroaches in the kitchen.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2013

Liked: CHEAP.

Disliked: The price seems good at first, but then tends to be MORE expensive to stay here if you factor in the following: tube / metro fare is super expensive to Zone 3 for round trip and you have to buy your own food at restaurants (no kitchen or refridgerator because of construction). Might as well and pay more to be in better location with real facilities.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the commited Staff who also provided really kind and chill eavnings. I could not say that it is the closest one in London but 30 minutes by train aint that bad at all if the rest of the staying is amazing.

Disliked: There whas nothing to dislike.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An good place to stay, with awesome people!!

Disliked: it's pritty far from the city centre

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly, and the posters are cute.

Disliked: There were toilets with no wash basins and you had to put on your linen yourself.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels