We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

69.4% Overall Rating

360 out of 462 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2015)

"Friendly staff, proper daily cleaning. Clean rooms, showers, toilets, kitchen. Good facilities. The common room with Sky TV is nice too. Firealarm, card access for entrance & rooms, free lockers provided (needs…"

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. ***AGE RESTRICTION*** 18-35 Due to alcohol licensing laws we can not accept anyone under the age of 18. We will not accept people over the age of 35 unless agreed upon via email confirmation. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID. Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apples Inn 3
31.22 USD

Guesthouse 68.0% 14 reviews
Newham Hotel
85.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Valley Lodge
28.10 USD

Guesthouse 66.3% 10 reviews
Cottage 3L
40.59 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apples Inn Guesthouse
31.22 USD

Guesthouse 61.4% 20 reviews
Cottage 76
77.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Barking Park Hotel
34.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 51.1% 9 reviews
Cranford Hotel
39.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 44.8% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.4%

Overall Rating

360 out of 462 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
60.0%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 328 of 451 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amanda Brown

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 April 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Staff is friendly and so helpful and understanding. Things are safe and everyone is ridiculously nice!

Disliked: I wish reception was 24/7

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Jose Felipe Warmling Spricigo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Almost everything

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jennifer Marlowe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014

Liked: It was cheap and close to public transport.

Disliked: I don't expect a lot from hostels, but I am surprised it has such a high rating. The building is old and has a very sketchy, dirt, narrow entrance way up some stairs where cleaning and painting equipment had been left out dirty. The receptionist did not really seem to have a clue what he was doing although he was friendly. The entire building seemed dark and dirty. Lockers were not inside the room. An 8 bed room had one plug in. There was a either very drunk or stoned man sitting on a beanbag chair right outside our hostel room for the majority of the night watching people going by and saying nothing but just generally being exceptionally creepy. The shower was small and difficult to use. The bathroom had not been checked in over 24 hours. I wouldn't stay at this hostel again.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly you really get much more than you paid for. It's defnitly worth it. I've recomended many friends & they all feel the same way i do. So it's greeeaaat!!

Disliked: I'd probably say the location but to be honest it's only yards away from the tube station so you can get anywhere in no time.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ali Tanbir

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 February 2014 ali would recommend this property

Liked: Other travellers Andy the frech girl at reception...free cofee:-)

Disliked: ali left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daren Clare

Alone

Business / conference

21 February 2014 Daren would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how it was right above a local neighborhood bar and next to a premier league football stadium. Though my bed was right next to the window and main street for a place close to Stansted airport and the price this was a very good deal and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Daren left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

24 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Separated clean bathrooms with toilet and good kitchen.

Disliked: When other customers play gambling games in the kitchen during dinner times..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ELENI EKOSIPENTARCHOU

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 January 2014 ELENI would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: cold shower water

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

mingfei dong

Alone

City break

20 January 2014 mingfei would recommend this property

Liked: it ok

Disliked: facilities was too old

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ahsanullah Haji

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 January 2014 Ahsanullah would recommend this property

Liked: At this price you really can't complain. Very close to Green Street and loads of cheap indian street food. I bought Chicken Biryani for £1.. Crazy!! The Receptionist was very efficient with Checking me in ( took about a minute). Was Given Clean and Tidy Linen. Free Internet worked OK. Loads a shops near by. 2 tesco stores around the corner. One open till late..

Disliked: Soap dispenser was broken

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: priçe

Disliked: cleanless

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

vrijesh nagathan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 vrijesh would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome...and well organized.

Disliked: The entrance to the place is not very nice...kind of smelly...but once inside the rooms its quite cosy...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nina Koren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere. The longue was like a living room, very cosy, the people were nice. I haven't never stayed in such a friendly hostel. If i return to London i would definetly booked this hostel again.

Disliked: Nina left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andrea Andersen Barfod

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and people were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Hmm the beds could have been better :)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

18 November 2013

Liked: This is definitely a budget hostel - it has everything you need (except lockers) but just a shitty version of it. Staff was helpful when there was someone at the desk and were accomodating. If you need nothing but a bed (including little sleep) then this place works.

Disliked: Practically everything. Cheap, wiggly/noisy beds, understaffed, bad location (10 minutes walk through a shifty neighborhood from a stop that is a good 30 minutes from central london), mediocre services, the cheapest possible breakfast (though at 1.50£ it is cheap). Because it is so cheap, many people who stay here are pretty shifty - and very rude. Bring earplugs as the walls are thin and everyone is very noisy ad well as an eyemask as the rooms let in a lot of light from the street.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Mahoney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: It's one of the cheapest places to stay in London, which is always a good thing. Plus it's 5 minutes walk form a tube station.

Disliked: The internet connection is terrible. Unless you're on the ground floor you will struggle to get online. The kitchen is equally terrible. It's too small, and because it's also the common room (with the best internet access), it's also very overcrowded.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

wendy van Lubek

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 wendy would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is pretty cheap and the location for me was great since there is a direct bus from the Hostel to the ExCel centre where I needed to be for the WTM. I stayed in a 10 bed dorm and needed a bottom bed, I e-mailed the hostel before my arrival and they made sure that I got a bottom bed. The staff is friendly and helpful, atmosphere in the hostel was good! The communal room was always busy =)

Disliked: Yes you can feel the spirals in the matrass but that did not bother me that much. the hostel is a bit old but clean, the only thing was that the last nights some of the people were very noisy...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vincent reavis

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 vincent would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super, the rooms clean and the hostel was fun & friendly. It is only 5 min from the tube, and you can get into London quickly. The Internet worked well. Everyone was great and I would stay again. Vince

Disliked: Overall, I liked everything.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JANET MARISOL KORNER SANDOVAL

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

10 November 2013 JANET MARISOL would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere, the staff, the clean very good, and secure and value for money too. good guys the staff

Disliked: nothing, all rights

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sorce mariagiovanna

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 November 2013 Sorce would recommend this property

Liked: good service of cleaning

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly place

Disliked: location

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

syed iftikhar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 syed would recommend this property

Liked: it was good, warm and comfy, fairly clean.

Disliked: syed left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 October 2013

Liked: Friendly staff and the location was suitable for where we wanted to go in London (Excel Centre)

Disliked: The mattresses were really uncomfortable we had springs digging into our backs for both nights and every so often random strangers would let themselves into our room even though we had fully booked the room for all 10 of us and were using it as storage for their luggage as well the private bathroom that was for the people in the room only, which while the staff were friendly they were useless in resolving this as they apparently didn't know what to do.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Lara Šuštar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013

Liked: The walls are nicely painted and the pictures on the walls are great.

Disliked: It's dirty, luckily there's no toilet paper or soap missing at any time. The atmosphere is lame, everyone is just sitting around and staring at their laptops in the kitchen.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was secure and clean

Disliked: A bit disorganised came back to find someone in my bed, but staff were helpful in sorting it out

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels