We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

76.2% Overall Rating

373 out of 475 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2015)

mathieu laribe thinks…

"It's was such a good experience in this hostel , me myself I've done couple hostel in my life and for this one I can tell is very friendly ,clean, good atmosphere . Of course is not a hotel but…"

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. ***AGE RESTRICTION*** 18-35 Due to alcohol licensing laws we can not accept anyone under the age of 18. We will not accept people over the age of 35 unless agreed upon via email confirmation. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID.Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the first two days of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged an amount equal to the first two nights of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. NO REFUNDS. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apple Lodge 1
31.07 USD

Guesthouse 54.0% 10 reviews
Apples Inn 3
29.52 USD

Guesthouse 68.0% 14 reviews
Newham Hotel
85.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Valley Lodge
27.96 USD

Guesthouse 66.3% 10 reviews
Cottage 3L
63.91 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apples Inn Guesthouse
29.52 USD

Guesthouse 63.1% 21 reviews
Cottage 76
69.75 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Barking Park Hotel
34.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 51.1% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

373 out of 475 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 339 of 464 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful especially the Australian and the Spanish lad. Management should consider of getting an extra fridge to the kitchen... Also the hostel is well covered with the wifi signal. I really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: The 'kitchen' was very small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel. It had a laid back vibe going on and I met a lot of fun people here. I'll be back again.

Disliked: I did not like the mattress but the told me they have just ordered new ones for the entire hostel. They do care about their guests

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Benjamin Justin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014

Liked: Max the reception dude was a legend

Disliked: Bad location, bad area, no many friendly shops around and no one there seemed to be travelers they all seemed to be working or staying long term and wernt so friendly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maksymilian jablonski

Alone

City break
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

25 April 2014 Maksymilian would recommend this property

Liked: hello. What you say about this hostel is a horny service mla and helpful and always with a smile walks up to each person. would recommend this hostel is a nice clean and nicely

Disliked: Maksymilian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALEJANDRO MARMOLEJO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 ALEJANDRO would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and the facilites are great.

Disliked: The location of the hostel, although we could travel by train to almost every part of london!!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Pascal Montalto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 David Pascal would recommend this property

Liked: The things I liked the most about GlobeTrott Inns are the friendly people and environment.

Disliked: Small sinks

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agathe Vauchel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Agathe would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place, you came alone and you leave with many friends from all the world, the atmosphere is so good ! The guy of the reception is really helpfull, the showers are clean and checked reguraly the kitchen is useful. There is wifi free, about the safety there are lockers and you have a key for the entry of the hostel and for your room. The location is not so far from the center. I definately come back there and recomanded !! See you Globe Trott Inns ! ❤️

Disliked: Nothing !!!

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 April 2014

Liked: The most dirty smelly place I have stayed in since using hostel bookers. Staff have no clue, bad boss. Could be a nice place even at that price

Disliked: Not clean dirty sheets, toilets not cleaned regularly enough. Booking system needs looking into.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Barton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2014 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: For the price you pay it is awesome!

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and price;

Disliked: cold water

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amanda Brown

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 April 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Staff is friendly and so helpful and understanding. Things are safe and everyone is ridiculously nice!

Disliked: I wish reception was 24/7

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Jose Felipe Warmling Spricigo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Almost everything

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jennifer Marlowe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014

Liked: It was cheap and close to public transport.

Disliked: I don't expect a lot from hostels, but I am surprised it has such a high rating. The building is old and has a very sketchy, dirt, narrow entrance way up some stairs where cleaning and painting equipment had been left out dirty. The receptionist did not really seem to have a clue what he was doing although he was friendly. The entire building seemed dark and dirty. Lockers were not inside the room. An 8 bed room had one plug in. There was a either very drunk or stoned man sitting on a beanbag chair right outside our hostel room for the majority of the night watching people going by and saying nothing but just generally being exceptionally creepy. The shower was small and difficult to use. The bathroom had not been checked in over 24 hours. I wouldn't stay at this hostel again.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly you really get much more than you paid for. It's defnitly worth it. I've recomended many friends & they all feel the same way i do. So it's greeeaaat!!

Disliked: I'd probably say the location but to be honest it's only yards away from the tube station so you can get anywhere in no time.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ali Tanbir

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 February 2014 ali would recommend this property

Liked: Other travellers Andy the frech girl at reception...free cofee:-)

Disliked: ali left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daren Clare

Alone

Business / conference

21 February 2014 Daren would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how it was right above a local neighborhood bar and next to a premier league football stadium. Though my bed was right next to the window and main street for a place close to Stansted airport and the price this was a very good deal and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Daren left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

24 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Separated clean bathrooms with toilet and good kitchen.

Disliked: When other customers play gambling games in the kitchen during dinner times..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ELENI EKOSIPENTARCHOU

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 January 2014 ELENI would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: cold shower water

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

mingfei dong

Alone

City break

20 January 2014 mingfei would recommend this property

Liked: it ok

Disliked: facilities was too old

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ahsanullah Haji

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 January 2014 Ahsanullah would recommend this property

Liked: At this price you really can't complain. Very close to Green Street and loads of cheap indian street food. I bought Chicken Biryani for £1.. Crazy!! The Receptionist was very efficient with Checking me in ( took about a minute). Was Given Clean and Tidy Linen. Free Internet worked OK. Loads a shops near by. 2 tesco stores around the corner. One open till late..

Disliked: Soap dispenser was broken

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: priçe

Disliked: cleanless

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

vrijesh nagathan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 vrijesh would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome...and well organized.

Disliked: The entrance to the place is not very nice...kind of smelly...but once inside the rooms its quite cosy...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nina Koren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere. The longue was like a living room, very cosy, the people were nice. I haven't never stayed in such a friendly hostel. If i return to London i would definetly booked this hostel again.

Disliked: Nina left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andrea Andersen Barfod

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and people were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Hmm the beds could have been better :)


See all London hostels
See all London hotels