HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

65.6% Overall Rating

332 out of 424 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2014)

"Great cheap hostel in Zone 3. I wasn't expecting to much for my £10 but I would have to say that the bathrooms were the cleanest but it was cheap. Beds were comfy, we arrived after reception had closed but when we told…"

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We will charge your credit/debit card for the full amount for all bookings made within 48 hours of arrival. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all other bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Due to alcohol licensing laws we do not accept anyone under the age of 18. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID. Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Newham Hotel
91.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Cottage 3L
43.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
COUNTRYSIDE HOTEL
38.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.4% 8 reviews
Cottage 76
66.41 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Mortham Cottage
52.01 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Barking Park Hotel
36.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 50.0% 8 reviews
Cranford Hotel
41.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 44.8% 3 reviews
City Best Hotel
91.68 USD

Hotel 53.7% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.6%

Overall Rating

332 out of 424 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
56.0%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
70.4%
Value
72.8%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 303 of 414 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Abdelaziz Fadoul

Alone

Relaxation/spa

08 June 2014 Abdelaziz would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly people staying in the hostel

Disliked: The location is too far from the centre

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cllse to tube station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very lovely hostel! Would definitely recommend for people needing somewhere to stay in London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, rooms clean and value for money! Just the type of hostel we needed for our mini break.

Disliked: I would have loved to have had an on-suite bathroom.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant backpackers and I had an awesome time here. Go for it

Disliked: Maybe have the breakfast until 11am?

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

miranda hill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 miranda would recommend this property

Liked: It seemed very secure considering the area. Had 2 locking doors to pass on the way in. Had a lot of character. Hostel was as clean as it could be; however very outdated and a little run down.

Disliked: Lockers are too small for a travel bag and placed outside the room. Hostel is a little dumpy. We arrived at night and the neighborhood was shady to say the least, feeling a little more comfortable during the day but still seemingly in a bad part of town.

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Yuri Pires

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 May 2014

Liked: Free wifi, kitchen

Disliked: I've had nothing but problems since the moment I checked in from having someone in my bed when I arrived to the cleaner "checking me out" a day before I was due to leave misplacing all the stuff I left on the bunk. The staff is unhelpful and unwilling to help apart from the guy they was there when I arrived on the 23rd and I ended up having to buy all my toiletries, new towel and other things again as it got "misplaced". The room was all a mess and smelled badly and I'm now happy I didn't leave my bag behind when I went to explore the city! Never staying here again and warning all other backpackers/friends I have to do the same...

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Social environment and felt pretty safe. Clean and comfortable beds. Good wifi. Easy to access power points / outlets. Lockers were large enough for valuables (not for entire backs) and could fit thicker padlocks.

Disliked: Bathrooms were a bit run down. Location isn't ideal - area felt out of the way - but acceptable.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect place to stay. Very nice attitude. Great fun !

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only small complaint is the hostel does not have enough bathrooms for the amount of people staying in it. Other than that, the staff is friendly, the place has everything you need and it was a busy hostel. Good backpackers and you can't go wrong.

Disliked: Lack of bathrooms. But the ones they do have a nice and big

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place, it was my first time travel solo and the guys made it feel like home, you can meet lots of people here and they had a party which was great.

Disliked: Stairs

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ALEKSANDAR DIMITRIEVSKI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

20 May 2014 ALEKSANDAR would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliest and most helpful hostel staff in London Also came back tonight to find a new mattress on my bed. Memory foam. Gonna sleep like a baby!!! =) If your on a budget this is definitely the place you want. If your flying from Stansted airport too it's super easy to find. You just get the Terravision to Stratford and from there you get the 104 bus that takes you to the front door of the hostel which is above the Boleyn pub. It's pretty hard to miss considering its right next to West Ham United Football club Or if your getting off the tube. Either District or Hammersmith it's the Upton Park station turn right and walk down for 5 minutes and you'll find it at the end of Green street.

Disliked: Not as central as you'd want it to be but not to far out that its a nuisance. Could get a new fridge too maybe....Apart from that nothing really to complain about. You get your money's worth here

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: NA

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Odana Gosset

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Odana would recommend this property

Liked: A little bit out of the way but it does clearly state this on the site. The staff was really helpful and friendly from the moment I checked in. They were very accommodating when I had some issues with my room one night. Swapped me rooms without any hesitation. Good atmosphere. Overall I had a great stay.

Disliked: The bathrooms could have been cleaner but overall, not the worst.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful especially the Australian and the Spanish lad. Management should consider of getting an extra fridge to the kitchen... Also the hostel is well covered with the wifi signal. I really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: The 'kitchen' was very small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel. It had a laid back vibe going on and I met a lot of fun people here. I'll be back again.

Disliked: I did not like the mattress but the told me they have just ordered new ones for the entire hostel. They do care about their guests

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Benjamin Justin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014

Liked: Max the reception dude was a legend

Disliked: Bad location, bad area, no many friendly shops around and no one there seemed to be travelers they all seemed to be working or staying long term and wernt so friendly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maksymilian jablonski

Alone

City break
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

25 April 2014 Maksymilian would recommend this property

Liked: hello. What you say about this hostel is a horny service mla and helpful and always with a smile walks up to each person. would recommend this hostel is a nice clean and nicely

Disliked: Maksymilian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALEJANDRO MARMOLEJO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 ALEJANDRO would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and the facilites are great.

Disliked: The location of the hostel, although we could travel by train to almost every part of london!!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Pascal Montalto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 David Pascal would recommend this property

Liked: The things I liked the most about GlobeTrott Inns are the friendly people and environment.

Disliked: Small sinks

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agathe Vauchel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Agathe would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place, you came alone and you leave with many friends from all the world, the atmosphere is so good ! The guy of the reception is really helpfull, the showers are clean and checked reguraly the kitchen is useful. There is wifi free, about the safety there are lockers and you have a key for the entry of the hostel and for your room. The location is not so far from the center. I definately come back there and recomanded !! See you Globe Trott Inns ! ❤️

Disliked: Nothing !!!

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 April 2014

Liked: The most dirty smelly place I have stayed in since using hostel bookers. Staff have no clue, bad boss. Could be a nice place even at that price

Disliked: Not clean dirty sheets, toilets not cleaned regularly enough. Booking system needs looking into.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Barton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2014 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: For the price you pay it is awesome!

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and price;

Disliked: cold water

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels