We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

71.4% Overall Rating

342 out of 436 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

"Pretty comfortable beds in a good location (for me anyway). Good atmosphere in the kitchen area. Even has Sky Sports!"

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. ***AGE RESTRICTION*** 18-35 Due to alcohol licensing laws we can not accept anyone under the age of 18. We will not accept people over the age of 35 unless agreed upon via email confirmation. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID. Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apple Lodge
28.40 USD

Guesthouse 65.8% 25 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
30.83 USD

Guesthouse 66.5% 7 reviews
Apples Inn 3
35.70 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 13 reviews
Newham Hotel
89.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Valley Lodge
27.59 USD

Guesthouse 71.8% 8 reviews
Cottage 3L
42.19 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apples Inn Guesthouse
28.40 USD

Guesthouse 62.9% 16 reviews
COUNTRYSIDE HOTEL
31.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.4%

Overall Rating

342 out of 436 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 311 of 425 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2014

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Bad location - could hear police sirens all night. Was half hour or more outside of central London on the tube, cost more than five pounds to go into the centre one way. Asked to be in all-female room but put in mixed room. People were checking into the room at 4:30am. Bathrooms were relatively clean but the rest of the hostel was not.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can choose your own bed which is good. The room was very clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable. The WIFI was excellent and didn't drop out unlike many hostels. Kitchen area was ok, but it did have plates and a microwave. Also had a big TV.

Disliked: There where a lot of people waiting to check in, it took nearly an hour to get to the room. Also they charge £10 dep for the key card which they don't say on Hostelbookers. They did take my passport instead when I moaned! The stairs to the reception area are very narrow.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, met some very nice people. Not much of a kitchen, but free tea.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really did enjoy my stay. The staff is super friendly and they're really helpfull- we arrived kinda late at night and first thing they did was to offer us some drinks for free and showed us arround. I also must admit that the whole atmosphere is just nice and welcoming. The bathrooms get cleaned every day, it's very very clean and tidy. Also it's located in walking distance to the metrostation right arround the corner and grocery store. All in all, Globe Trott Inns is probably one of the nicest Hostels I've ever stayed in, and I would definitiy recommend it to everybody!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014

Liked: The wifi was good at least.

Disliked: Firstly, there are far too few shower rooms. Each floor of 25-30 people or so share one shower room. To make matters worse, it is very hard to adjust the shower faucet to get the right temperature for the water. I spend on average 10-15 minutes fiddling with the knob until I get the right balance between hot and cold water. The water pressure is also very weak, especially on the highest floor. The hostel is also very noisy, there is a outdoor rooftop area which is right outside my room where guests will gather to talk all the way till 2am. My sleep during the 5 nights there definitely was not restful. Finally, the staircases are very narrow especially the initial ones you climb to the reception area. All in all, I would not be coming back to this hostel, I would rather pay a bit more to get a hostel that can at least provide me with a decent shower and a good sleeping environment. Value for money is not value at all when you can't even give a traveler a good sleeping environment and a good shower.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had just opened a new rooftop area and it was a lot of fun. Really surprised by the great view. A simple hostel and it needs a lot more showers a toilets as its very busy right now. Really good value for money

Disliked: Lack of toilets but it is reflected in the price

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were alright. Very good wifi

Disliked: Terrible common area/kitchen (it's the same small room). It's a long way from the centre of London or any of the interesting sights/attractions (about forty to fifty minutes on the tube)

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 June 2014

Liked: It was affordable.

Disliked: It was disgusting and the room smelled like feet. The showers weren't always hot and the curtain for my room was lace, even though it was right next to the pub sign downstairs so the room was not dark enough for a good sleep.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Abdelaziz Fadoul

Alone

Relaxation/spa

08 June 2014 Abdelaziz would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly people staying in the hostel

Disliked: The location is too far from the centre

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cllse to tube station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very lovely hostel! Would definitely recommend for people needing somewhere to stay in London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, rooms clean and value for money! Just the type of hostel we needed for our mini break.

Disliked: I would have loved to have had an on-suite bathroom.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant backpackers and I had an awesome time here. Go for it

Disliked: Maybe have the breakfast until 11am?

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

miranda hill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 miranda would recommend this property

Liked: It seemed very secure considering the area. Had 2 locking doors to pass on the way in. Had a lot of character. Hostel was as clean as it could be; however very outdated and a little run down.

Disliked: Lockers are too small for a travel bag and placed outside the room. Hostel is a little dumpy. We arrived at night and the neighborhood was shady to say the least, feeling a little more comfortable during the day but still seemingly in a bad part of town.

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Yuri Pires

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 May 2014

Liked: Free wifi, kitchen

Disliked: I've had nothing but problems since the moment I checked in from having someone in my bed when I arrived to the cleaner "checking me out" a day before I was due to leave misplacing all the stuff I left on the bunk. The staff is unhelpful and unwilling to help apart from the guy they was there when I arrived on the 23rd and I ended up having to buy all my toiletries, new towel and other things again as it got "misplaced". The room was all a mess and smelled badly and I'm now happy I didn't leave my bag behind when I went to explore the city! Never staying here again and warning all other backpackers/friends I have to do the same...

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Social environment and felt pretty safe. Clean and comfortable beds. Good wifi. Easy to access power points / outlets. Lockers were large enough for valuables (not for entire backs) and could fit thicker padlocks.

Disliked: Bathrooms were a bit run down. Location isn't ideal - area felt out of the way - but acceptable.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect place to stay. Very nice attitude. Great fun !

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only small complaint is the hostel does not have enough bathrooms for the amount of people staying in it. Other than that, the staff is friendly, the place has everything you need and it was a busy hostel. Good backpackers and you can't go wrong.

Disliked: Lack of bathrooms. But the ones they do have a nice and big

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place, it was my first time travel solo and the guys made it feel like home, you can meet lots of people here and they had a party which was great.

Disliked: Stairs

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ALEKSANDAR DIMITRIEVSKI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

20 May 2014 ALEKSANDAR would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliest and most helpful hostel staff in London Also came back tonight to find a new mattress on my bed. Memory foam. Gonna sleep like a baby!!! =) If your on a budget this is definitely the place you want. If your flying from Stansted airport too it's super easy to find. You just get the Terravision to Stratford and from there you get the 104 bus that takes you to the front door of the hostel which is above the Boleyn pub. It's pretty hard to miss considering its right next to West Ham United Football club Or if your getting off the tube. Either District or Hammersmith it's the Upton Park station turn right and walk down for 5 minutes and you'll find it at the end of Green street.

Disliked: Not as central as you'd want it to be but not to far out that its a nuisance. Could get a new fridge too maybe....Apart from that nothing really to complain about. You get your money's worth here

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: NA

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Odana Gosset

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Odana would recommend this property

Liked: A little bit out of the way but it does clearly state this on the site. The staff was really helpful and friendly from the moment I checked in. They were very accommodating when I had some issues with my room one night. Swapped me rooms without any hesitation. Good atmosphere. Overall I had a great stay.

Disliked: The bathrooms could have been cleaner but overall, not the worst.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful especially the Australian and the Spanish lad. Management should consider of getting an extra fridge to the kitchen... Also the hostel is well covered with the wifi signal. I really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: The 'kitchen' was very small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel. It had a laid back vibe going on and I met a lot of fun people here. I'll be back again.

Disliked: I did not like the mattress but the told me they have just ordered new ones for the entire hostel. They do care about their guests

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Benjamin Justin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014

Liked: Max the reception dude was a legend

Disliked: Bad location, bad area, no many friendly shops around and no one there seemed to be travelers they all seemed to be working or staying long term and wernt so friendly


See all London hostels
See all London hotels