We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

73.6% Overall Rating

355 out of 454 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/12/2014)

"it s a very good property especially the price is very cheap,also it s clean and secure,"

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. ***AGE RESTRICTION*** 18-35 Due to alcohol licensing laws we can not accept anyone under the age of 18. We will not accept people over the age of 35 unless agreed upon via email confirmation. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID. Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apple Lodge 1
27.33 USD

Guesthouse 62.1% 8 reviews
Apples Inn 3
30.37 USD

Guesthouse 68.0% 14 reviews
Newham Hotel
83.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Valley Lodge
27.33 USD

Guesthouse 66.3% 10 reviews
Cottage 3L
39.48 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apples Inn Guesthouse
27.33 USD

Guesthouse 61.4% 20 reviews
Cottage 76
67.96 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Barking Park Hotel
33.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 51.1% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.6%

Overall Rating

355 out of 454 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
84.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 325 of 444 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014

Liked: It had a nice kitchen area, and it was local to the tube and buses. There was plenty of shops and takeaways in the area also.

Disliked: When we arrived it took over 5 minutes before the people behind the desk even acknowledged us. When they did they were not helpful or friendly. We got shown to our room and that was it. We had to look around ourselves to find bathrooms and the kitchen etc. Although the following day a different man was showing someone into our room, and he sounded very helpful. The room was cramped and very hot, With one small window it was almost unbearable. There were also no curtains, and a street light right outside which shone in all night. The sheets were stained also. Although this is budget backpackers, I still expected some sort of customer service.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen area was really nice for socialization, and though it wasn't perfect, the cleanliness was better than many other hostels I've been to.

Disliked: The location is slightly unfortunate, as it does feel like it's located in a poorer area of the city. But that was my only issue.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 July 2014

Liked: good location to east london. you could come and go as needed

Disliked: rooms very hot, 8-10 ppl per room, no fan or ac and tiny windows. people VERY noisy due to pub below and lots of young ppl drinking and flirting all night in the rooms and corridors and downstairs. kitchen a total dump, 1 fridge to share between a hostel full of 96 people! rooms, i'm pretty sure had bed bugs and several ppl got the distinctive bite marks on arms and legs. showers leaked onto floor leaving slippery wet and rotting floorboards. oh and no elevators and no security as front doors to street left open all the time. it was so bad i left after 2 nights and paid 5 times as much at a different place just to escape. stay here at your peril!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

marta diaz

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 July 2014

Liked: The staff was the only thing nice, boys who work two days for a mat on a berth: London, only wants your money

Disliked: Completely disgusting. Dirty, expensive and removed of the center. The common very disagreeable and precarious zones, as for example the kitchen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

margaret boyle

Alone

Events / festivals

24 July 2014 margaret would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpfull and friendly, had good sleep in comfy bed and the location was rather interesting.

Disliked: the kitchen was a bit too small and the dishes were left unwashed in the sink, thought this was a bit disrespectful to others who use kitchen. Could do with a small lounge, other than that it was just fine, would stay there again.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014

Liked: Nope.

Disliked: I have stayed in hostels all over Europe, and this is by far the noisiest one. This is the kind of place where you find yourself tossing and turning at 2am, wishing an asteroid would strike the hostel and pulverise everything and everyone inside to atoms. Yes, even yourself. Because at least that way you could finally rest in peace. The hostel attracts a lot of people who want to stay up all night drinking, but the area is far from central london, and there isn't much nightlife around. So people stay in the hostel and drink. Worse, the management is trying to squeeze every drop of income from the property, and there is no lounge (just a small kitchen) because why supply a lounge for your guests when you can fill every room with beds?? So people party in the stairwells, the landings, the spaces outside the rooms. I would only stay in this hostel if you don't mind being kept awake by people drunk-talking right outside your door about MDMA and venereal disease all night.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Chun Yung Chan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Not clean, have rat in the room. The light in the room is too dark. The room is too hot, only have one little window that can be opened.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sasha tetreault

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 sasha would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic time at the hostel. The staff was very friendly, the facilities were good for the price and the atmosphere was great.

Disliked: sasha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mica Menard

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Mica would recommend this property

Liked: The vibe was really good, especially on the nights out... Good memories

Disliked: Mica left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

kaman Tang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 kaman would recommend this property

Liked: A relative cheap hostel in London.

Disliked: But not clear at all, and the street is very noisy at the night. Be mentally prepared for it. Even the bed is very noisy too.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014

Liked: not much

Disliked: most everything

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Briana O'Reilly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Briana would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were a good size.

Disliked: The room was warm at night, a ceiling fan would have helped. Many steep stairs to go up and down while carrying luggage.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Bruno Bosi de Oliveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014

Liked: The location is very nice

Disliked: The staff are very rude, they mistreated lot of people. Everything must be paid. The Hostel is so big that it isn't so good as should be because it is almost a hotel now. I wouldn't recommend for anybody

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jessie Pipal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014

Liked: The wifi connection was good and the price was cheap

Disliked: This place was tolerable at best, but nothing near the expectation I had based on the 81% review on hostelbookers. The location really is too far to make it worth the value because you end up spending money for the transit getting in and out of the city center anyways (as well as lots of wasted time) and the metro stops running around midnight. The rooms were very cramped and the beds were squeaky and uncomfortable. The common room/kitchen was small, crowded and dirty. The bathrooms were consistently really dirty and too few in number (almost always a line to use the toilet or shower).

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2014

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Bad location - could hear police sirens all night. Was half hour or more outside of central London on the tube, cost more than five pounds to go into the centre one way. Asked to be in all-female room but put in mixed room. People were checking into the room at 4:30am. Bathrooms were relatively clean but the rest of the hostel was not.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can choose your own bed which is good. The room was very clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable. The WIFI was excellent and didn't drop out unlike many hostels. Kitchen area was ok, but it did have plates and a microwave. Also had a big TV.

Disliked: There where a lot of people waiting to check in, it took nearly an hour to get to the room. Also they charge £10 dep for the key card which they don't say on Hostelbookers. They did take my passport instead when I moaned! The stairs to the reception area are very narrow.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, met some very nice people. Not much of a kitchen, but free tea.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really did enjoy my stay. The staff is super friendly and they're really helpfull- we arrived kinda late at night and first thing they did was to offer us some drinks for free and showed us arround. I also must admit that the whole atmosphere is just nice and welcoming. The bathrooms get cleaned every day, it's very very clean and tidy. Also it's located in walking distance to the metrostation right arround the corner and grocery store. All in all, Globe Trott Inns is probably one of the nicest Hostels I've ever stayed in, and I would definitiy recommend it to everybody!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014

Liked: The wifi was good at least.

Disliked: Firstly, there are far too few shower rooms. Each floor of 25-30 people or so share one shower room. To make matters worse, it is very hard to adjust the shower faucet to get the right temperature for the water. I spend on average 10-15 minutes fiddling with the knob until I get the right balance between hot and cold water. The water pressure is also very weak, especially on the highest floor. The hostel is also very noisy, there is a outdoor rooftop area which is right outside my room where guests will gather to talk all the way till 2am. My sleep during the 5 nights there definitely was not restful. Finally, the staircases are very narrow especially the initial ones you climb to the reception area. All in all, I would not be coming back to this hostel, I would rather pay a bit more to get a hostel that can at least provide me with a decent shower and a good sleeping environment. Value for money is not value at all when you can't even give a traveler a good sleeping environment and a good shower.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had just opened a new rooftop area and it was a lot of fun. Really surprised by the great view. A simple hostel and it needs a lot more showers a toilets as its very busy right now. Really good value for money

Disliked: Lack of toilets but it is reflected in the price

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were alright. Very good wifi

Disliked: Terrible common area/kitchen (it's the same small room). It's a long way from the centre of London or any of the interesting sights/attractions (about forty to fifty minutes on the tube)

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 June 2014

Liked: It was affordable.

Disliked: It was disgusting and the room smelled like feet. The showers weren't always hot and the curtain for my room was lace, even though it was right next to the pub sign downstairs so the room was not dark enough for a good sleep.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Abdelaziz Fadoul

Alone

Relaxation/spa

08 June 2014 Abdelaziz would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly people staying in the hostel

Disliked: The location is too far from the centre

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cllse to tube station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very lovely hostel! Would definitely recommend for people needing somewhere to stay in London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels