We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

73.1% Overall Rating

372 out of 474 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/06/2015)

Anthony Jim Karikari thinks…

"I haven't done enough hostels to preach about how outstanding Globe trott- inns is but based on the friendly- warm atmosphere,clean and tidy environment,disciplined yet easy going staff and location…"

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. ***AGE RESTRICTION*** 18-35 Due to alcohol licensing laws we can not accept anyone under the age of 18. We will not accept people over the age of 35 unless agreed upon via email confirmation. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID.Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the first two days of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged an amount equal to the first two nights of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. NO REFUNDS. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apple Lodge 1
34.26 USD

Guesthouse 54.0% 10 reviews
Apples Inn 3
29.59 USD

Guesthouse 68.0% 14 reviews
Newham Hotel
85.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Valley Lodge
28.03 USD

Guesthouse 66.3% 10 reviews
Cottage 3L
40.49 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apples Inn Guesthouse
26.47 USD

Guesthouse 63.1% 21 reviews
Cottage 76
77.70 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Barking Park Hotel
34.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 51.1% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.1%

Overall Rating

372 out of 474 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
64.0%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 338 of 463 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

peter thornton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2014 peter would recommend this property

Liked: met some amazing people and the staf and experience were fine, its a cheap hostel, it has its downsides but its a third of the price than any other hostel & it was better than i was expecting

Disliked: peter left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

13 November 2014

Liked: Helpful staff when a friend hurt herself, and it was close to the Excel (bus for 10 min and bus stop almost in front of the hostel) and for that the location was the right one for me at this time.

Disliked: - First of all is kind of DIRTY. MOLD in the bathroom and quite big. - I arrived at 10 PM, had to wait 2 hours before to get the bed linen, no informations given. - The free towel is a HAND TOWEL and I waited till the next morning for it. - The bed if somebody is moving above or under you you shake like crazy, for this reason is uncomfortable to sleep. - Staff even if they weren't bad, they could give some informations about the delay. - Lounge room is a kitchen with some tables. - Bathroom door hard to lock. - Small lockers. - Even if for me the location was the right one, normally I would not recommend this hostel. - No payments by card, but as a hostel I can accept it, even if I did not read anywhere I couldn't pay by card.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty comfortable beds in a good location (for me anyway). Good atmosphere in the kitchen area. Even has Sky Sports!

Disliked: Could do with more facilities in the kitchen. Very crowded at meal times.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 September 2014

Liked: Experienced a side of London I didn't expect (lots of Middle East/African/East European cultures). Food was cheaper around the hostel versus the city centre.

Disliked: NO HOT WATER!!!! LIGHT IN BATHROOM DID NOT WORK!!! Did not feel comfortable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nikolaos Zisios

Alone

Shopping
Work / volunteering

04 September 2014 Nikolaos would recommend this property

Liked: Pricing, breakfast, informality, cheerful place.

Disliked: Condition of the building, neighbourhood, bathroom facilities.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Martin Matejka

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money

Disliked: Not so well equiped kitchen (not enough tableware+cookware, microwave owen out of order)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place gets such a bad wrap and i dont get it, its the cheapest hostel in town and miles above any of the other "cheap hostels" ive been too, the staff were great, facilities were fine, i had a great time there and would go back again without a second thought

Disliked: nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014

Liked: Pick it for the location, was seeing friends in the Eastside of London

Disliked: Dirty, bad showers, not enough showers, expensive to buy a lock to use lockers, cramped, stuffy, needs to have a fan, unsafe use of power boards to provide points.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel! Very friendly staff and atmosphere! Great value for the price. Would definitely come back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The six bed dorm was roomie and the matrrss is comfortable enough.

Disliked: The noise. The street noise and kitchen noise are very loud, and I can't begin to imagine what the pub must sound like when it's busy, but the squeaky bunks are unbelievable. I took a strong sleeping pill and they still kept me awake. You can't even blink worth out making enough noise to wake the whole hostel. It's cheap, but the bed noise alone would make me not return.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014

Liked: Great cheap hostel in Zone 3. I wasn't expecting to much for my £10 but I would have to say that the bathrooms were the cleanest but it was cheap. Beds were comfy, we arrived after reception had closed but when we told them we would be late they emailed with details to get in, and with details for our rooms, which was really helpful.

Disliked: We were really tired so perhaps it seemed worse then it really was. its fair to say a deep clean, and a paint job wouldn't go astray but hey its £10 in London so hmm 1 night would be fine more then that Im not sure i would want to stay. Also we didn't have bed linen, perhaps we missed it somewhere along the way not sure.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria El-Fadel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: It was awesome to stay at this hostel! I got to know lots of new people and had loads of fun, if you want to stay at a nice and social place you should definitely go there ;-)

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Laheney

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Was described honestly and although not in the greatest location, was comfortable enough and good value for money.

Disliked: Was a little weird to share a room with strangers but we got used to it!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014

Liked: It had a nice kitchen area, and it was local to the tube and buses. There was plenty of shops and takeaways in the area also.

Disliked: When we arrived it took over 5 minutes before the people behind the desk even acknowledged us. When they did they were not helpful or friendly. We got shown to our room and that was it. We had to look around ourselves to find bathrooms and the kitchen etc. Although the following day a different man was showing someone into our room, and he sounded very helpful. The room was cramped and very hot, With one small window it was almost unbearable. There were also no curtains, and a street light right outside which shone in all night. The sheets were stained also. Although this is budget backpackers, I still expected some sort of customer service.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen area was really nice for socialization, and though it wasn't perfect, the cleanliness was better than many other hostels I've been to.

Disliked: The location is slightly unfortunate, as it does feel like it's located in a poorer area of the city. But that was my only issue.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 July 2014

Liked: good location to east london. you could come and go as needed

Disliked: rooms very hot, 8-10 ppl per room, no fan or ac and tiny windows. people VERY noisy due to pub below and lots of young ppl drinking and flirting all night in the rooms and corridors and downstairs. kitchen a total dump, 1 fridge to share between a hostel full of 96 people! rooms, i'm pretty sure had bed bugs and several ppl got the distinctive bite marks on arms and legs. showers leaked onto floor leaving slippery wet and rotting floorboards. oh and no elevators and no security as front doors to street left open all the time. it was so bad i left after 2 nights and paid 5 times as much at a different place just to escape. stay here at your peril!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

marta diaz

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 July 2014

Liked: The staff was the only thing nice, boys who work two days for a mat on a berth: London, only wants your money

Disliked: Completely disgusting. Dirty, expensive and removed of the center. The common very disagreeable and precarious zones, as for example the kitchen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

margaret boyle

Alone

Events / festivals

24 July 2014 margaret would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpfull and friendly, had good sleep in comfy bed and the location was rather interesting.

Disliked: the kitchen was a bit too small and the dishes were left unwashed in the sink, thought this was a bit disrespectful to others who use kitchen. Could do with a small lounge, other than that it was just fine, would stay there again.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014

Liked: Nope.

Disliked: I have stayed in hostels all over Europe, and this is by far the noisiest one. This is the kind of place where you find yourself tossing and turning at 2am, wishing an asteroid would strike the hostel and pulverise everything and everyone inside to atoms. Yes, even yourself. Because at least that way you could finally rest in peace. The hostel attracts a lot of people who want to stay up all night drinking, but the area is far from central london, and there isn't much nightlife around. So people stay in the hostel and drink. Worse, the management is trying to squeeze every drop of income from the property, and there is no lounge (just a small kitchen) because why supply a lounge for your guests when you can fill every room with beds?? So people party in the stairwells, the landings, the spaces outside the rooms. I would only stay in this hostel if you don't mind being kept awake by people drunk-talking right outside your door about MDMA and venereal disease all night.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Chun Yung Chan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Not clean, have rat in the room. The light in the room is too dark. The room is too hot, only have one little window that can be opened.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sasha tetreault

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 sasha would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic time at the hostel. The staff was very friendly, the facilities were good for the price and the atmosphere was great.

Disliked: sasha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mica Menard

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Mica would recommend this property

Liked: The vibe was really good, especially on the nights out... Good memories

Disliked: Mica left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

kaman Tang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 kaman would recommend this property

Liked: A relative cheap hostel in London.

Disliked: But not clear at all, and the street is very noisy at the night. Be mentally prepared for it. Even the bed is very noisy too.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014

Liked: not much

Disliked: most everything

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Briana O'Reilly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Briana would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were a good size.

Disliked: The room was warm at night, a ceiling fan would have helped. Many steep stairs to go up and down while carrying luggage.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels