We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Monkeys in the Trees

Hostel | 49 Becklow Rd, Shepherds Bush, London, England W129ER

77.7% Overall Rating

203 out of 251 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2015)

"the receptionist was really kind, friendly and helpful. I was with my friend there and we both enjoyed our stay at the cottage-like private room of the hotel!"

Read all The Monkeys in the Trees reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check-in: 2pm to 11pm. Check-out: 12 noon. We have a 48hr cancellation policy. Group bookings of more than 10 people needs to be arranged in advance before making booking. Please note that we cannot accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. Valid photo id is required at check-in. No sleeping bags to be used in hostel. Clean linen is provided.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Chiswick Rooms
69.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Sapphire Hotel
38.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
15.33 USD

Hostel 76.6% 524 reviews
ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL
29.41 USD

Hostel 77.4% 832 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
15.33 USD

Hostel 82.1% 352 reviews
Hostel 639
10.45 USD

Hostel 50.4% 205 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
34.83 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
45.93 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 65.6% 155 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.7%

Overall Rating

203 out of 251 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Monkeys in the Trees'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 186 of 249 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hyeonju Bang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013 Hyeonju would recommend this property

Liked: cool staff, comfortable bed, cute kitchen, safe, clean and unique decoration on ground floor. number of supermarkets are all around corner and kebab places. I really enjoyed my staying and absolutely would like to stay ever I back to London.

Disliked: a bit away from the main attractions but it does not matter with me

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013

Liked: I liked the atmosphere, pub and breakfast.

Disliked: I didn't like small kitchen and common room - we couldn't eat in dinning room because it was so small so we ate dinner in the pub every evening. The showers had very low pressure and it was really really cold in the hostel - most windows had been opened all the time because it was impossible to close them.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely bar/lounge. Quiet with people engrossed with their phones etc. Excellent breakfast - just toast, jam, hard boiled eggs and cereal, but lots of it and for me - the bonus of butter, also very nice jam - not just the little individual jam pots.. Comfy mattress. Lovely outside garden area. All the above outweigh the negatives below.

Disliked: Very small bedrooms, so minimal floor space for belongings. The metal beds sway when the person in the top bunk moves - so wouldnt be pleasant to be beneath a restless sleeper. By far the worst aspect of the stay are the showering facilities - I did a tour of all of them during my stay and none provided a pleasant showering experience.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quite clean, very nice staff.

Disliked: Toilets and showers really need an upgrade.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved the atmosphere of the hostel, from the classic pub on the ground floor to the lovely patio out the back. The staff were friendly and very helpful and I enjoyed seeing them and the other guests when I was there. It was easy to get to by public transit, and because of its proximity via a quick bus ride to the nearest tube station, it's an easy voyage to any of the sites I wanted to see, as well as all the nearby airports and train stations. And that, being bogged down with larger luggage. I felt very secure there thanks to the keyless entry system. I would stay here again.

Disliked: I would have preferred to have access to a lift to manage getting my luggage upstairs to my room, but it was manageable. The breakfast left a little to be desired, but maybe offering a piece of fruit in addition to the current menu and offering whole wheat bread along with white bread for toast would improve it. The rooms were a little cramped, but I was pleased that the wire-framed bunks in my room left us lots of room under the bed to store luggage.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Tube station but far enough away from the street to not be woken up by the sirens and local traffic up & down Uxbridge rd.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere

Disliked: The shower is hard to use.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2013

Liked: Free breakfast.

Disliked: Location Neighborhood Cleanliness Smell Disgusting showers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Grzegorz Komorowski

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Grzegorz would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere, a lot of nice people stayed during my being there. The staff was very helpful, let me leave luggage before check in. The location isn't the worst but at this price you couldn't get anything better. One change to Victoria and Central Line. The room was clean but a bit tiny for 9 people. The breakfast was very good, toasts with couple of jam flavors, tea and cereal.

Disliked: The only thing I would complain about were the toilets. Generally they were in OK condition but they didn't look like those on the photos. One shower was a bit difficult to use because of "warm/cold" changer and it was a bit broken. There are couple of stairs so if u have heavy luggage you have to lift it but it's just for checking in and out so that's a minor flaw.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The garden is very nice and the staff really goes out their way to help you!

Disliked: maybe a bit more of a variation at breakfast? I know it's continental but even another kind of cereal would make a difference

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staffs are very nice and friendly, they help you all time there are lots of places to discuss with other people

Disliked: the bed isn't confortable and the kitchen is too small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great time at Monkeys, met lots of nice people and the staff were very helping. breakfast was served in the old bar, pretty basic but you can eat what you want. The garden is very nice to escape the heat after spending the day in London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had lots of fun over there and I've meet very nice people, staff is just great - always smiling. Superb pub downstairs!

Disliked: Nothing about the place.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Madeline Morton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Madeline would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, it ended up being cheaper for me to stay in London for the week than other cities in the UK because of this hostel and I was surprised by that. The free breakfast was incredible!

Disliked: Little narrow staircase and no lifts which can be difficult with big suitcases.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristina Slana

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: The common space, kitchen, bar downstairs with reasonable prices for beer and drinks. The location is really good with lots of cheap fast food and restaurants nat far from the hostel.

Disliked: Showers could have been cleaner, there was water everywhere in the evening.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013

Liked: Cheap beer in the pub.

Disliked: Dirty, almost non existent kitchen facilities, dirty showers, no activities in the hostel, it's just a sleep and eat hostel, very poor breakfast.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alfredo Carvajal Molina

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar

Disliked: location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Now, this site won't let me write a proper review of this place, probably because someone like William Shakespeare once said that brevity is the soul of wit - but I don't always agree with other people, and I don't really see how William Shatner fits in here. The hostel's location is pretty convenient, there're a lot of shops and take-outs, as well as some decent restaurants surrounding it, so you won't starve. Getting there is actually pretty easy, since it's around the corner from a bus stop. The hostel is pretty clean, the staff is super friendly and helpful, the patio out back is REALLY nice and so's the look and feel of the Pub. Generally, the place is pretty safe, there's CCTV - but not in the showers, because that would be creepy. There's a small TV room upstairs, which with any luck - you won't have to use that often. The kitchen is alright. I kinda liked the bathrooms - most hostels don't deal in regular, individual bathrooms, this hostel does. The shower's aren't exactly awesome though, but they'll get the job done. The place even has a halfway decent collection of fantasy novels, but the they're on the top-shelf and the guy who put them there is unnaturally tall so they're hard to reach. Now, the door rooms are okay. Some are quite nice, with fancier looking beds, others are in your typical dorm room fashion. The mattresses are actually quite decent in some dorms though. So all in all, the place is pretty neat, if you're into staying at smaller hostels with a more personal feel.

Disliked: The constantly blaring TV in the pub, downstairs.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013

Liked: just the friendly staff

Disliked: The rooms are really small. The mattresses are uncomfortable, I could feel every spring. The bathrooms are small and smell funky. And the breakfast is just cereal and toasts.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

joga bains

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 June 2013 joga would recommend this property

Liked: it was a bit cramped but it was clean and warm

Disliked: a bit cramped

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is nice and easy going, really helpfull. There is free breakfast and Internet. There is a small garden in the backyard.

Disliked: Cleanliness can be imrpoved in the showerooms and in the kitchen.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Teri Amundsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2013 Teri would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly. The rooms were quite big compared to other hostels that I have stayed in. Bathrooms were unisex however offered female only showers, which i liked. The hostel offered free wifi. The bar area was great to sit & relax listening to the music playing on the flat screen. Free breakfast in the morning, even though we didn't purchase it when we booked. Close to bus stops to take you to the nearest tube was no more than 10 mins. It seemed like alot of people were travelling alone so the atmosphere wasn't about partying and getting drunk, more relaxed & some what keeping to yourself.

Disliked: Teri left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the pub downstairs and the garden, communal area upstairs is not big but you can stay in the pub and that's great. Showers are ok and there is enough of them so i didn't had to wait long. They've just exchange mattresses so they are brand new, no problems to sleep at night. Good price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly multicultural part of London, there is a 15min walk or 5min on the bus 207 to the hostel from the underground but it's not bad if you plan it in advance , good continental breakfast including boiled eggs (unusual). Overall good hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rita Corn

Alone

Business / conference

28 May 2013 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel with fun people

Disliked: Rita left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels