HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Monkeys in the Trees

Hostel | 49 Becklow Rd, Shepherds Bush, London, England W129ER

79.8% Overall Rating

172 out of 208 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

molly web thinks…

"Really friendly staff. Good wi fi and breakfast and the hostel is in a cool area. Would recommend"

Read all The Monkeys in the Trees reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check-in: 2pm to 11pm. Check-out: 12 noon. We have a 48hr cancellation policy. Group bookings of more than 10 people needs to be arranged in advance before making booking. Please note that we cannot accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. Valid photo id is required at check-in. No sleeping bags to be used in hostel. Clean linen is provided.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hotel 261
50.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 59.5% 23 reviews
West One Guesthouse
35.95 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 11 reviews
Chiswick Rooms
71.89 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Plaza Hotel
31.98 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 10 reviews
Holland Park Hotel
46.81 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Holland Park Grove
53.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Comfotel Grn
38.46 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Sapphire Hotel
49.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.7% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.8%

Overall Rating

172 out of 208 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Monkeys in the Trees'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 152 of 207 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, you don't pay extra for the lockers or the internet and the breakfast is included. It's not outside the underground station but thank to that you can sleep well, it will take 15min straight walk to the station. I felt very safe in there, staff is very efficient.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doris Lutte

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013 Doris would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, nice people. Beautiful pub downstairs.

Disliked: Doris left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a lovely hostel. I particularly enjoyed the atmosphere and character of the bar felt very homely. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Despite the reviews of the hostel being too far from the center I thought the underground was close and very convenient being only 15 minutes walk from the hostel or 5 minutes by bus. The hostel felt like a home away from home with many long term guests who were really friendly and good company.

Disliked: I can't think of anything I had problems with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me gusta todo

Disliked: nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

artur firlej

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 December 2012 artur would recommend this property

Liked: great place

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Caroline Eubanks

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

12 November 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, in house bar

Disliked: very small rooms and dirty bathrooms

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Jennifer Morgan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012

Liked: The group I was with checked in later than we'd anticipated, but the guy behind the desk was totally cool and really nice. The staff is all very kind and helpful. The pub downstairs was really nice too. The beds weren't super comfy, but overall it was a decent experience. It's not too hard to access public transportation- just get day passes in advance so you don't have to walk all the way to the tube.

Disliked: The room I was in smelled absolutely awful the first night, even after I'd cracked the window. The bathrooms needed mats- there was water everywhere right after people would shower. Also, the shower curtains were very mildewed and most of the floors looked like they needed to be scrubbed.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would stay here again. Nice place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the pub located downstairs. The staff were helpful when needed. There is a nice common area in the hostel with a dining table and living area.

Disliked: I didn't feel particularly clean in the hostel. Also, the door that closed our room would often not lock when it closed. The window in the room wouldn't close in the room making it very cold.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the freeness you you when you were there .you felt like when living there.

Disliked: there was not much to dislike, nothing comes tomind

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 October 2012

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: Very unhygenic. Kitchen is gross, products to clean dishes not provided and there are mice. Beds are very uncomfortable and have bed bugs.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ying-Chi Chang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012

Liked: People in here

Disliked: They laid about the beds, not even looks like the photo

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012

Liked: The wifi connection in the bar was great

Disliked: BED BUGS!!!!!!!! If you didn't hear me the first time I said BED BUGS. They are an absolute nightmare. The worst part was the staff knew and still put me and my friend in there.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Heather Jackett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 October 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast was good and secure locks on doors. Also very close to 2 main bus stops. Staff were also helpful when I had to change my booking dates.

Disliked: Rooms didn't get cleaned daily and were quite dirty. Kitchen also is small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere, it was easy to meet people. More of a young person's hostel. The pub was very comfortable. So the social side was a huge plus and I did quite enjoy my stay.

Disliked: The bathrooms were rather dirty - there was always water on the floor. The staff was friendly and helpful but while we were staying there a girl in another room found bedbugs in her bed and they would not refund her stay. Yikes. But bedbugs are to be expected, I suppose, in that kind of place. I didn't get any myself. The location isn't great, it's a little far from central London but that wasn't too much of a bother.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Luggage racks in the hall. more than enough showers for everyone (first and second floor)

Disliked: Bunks are very difficult to get into, especially top of 3. Second floor female shower floor floods and is a mess. Also, washrooms don't appear to be cleaned as often as they should be. Rooms cramped for the amount of beds that are inside.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 July 2012

Liked: Location (15-20 mins straightforward walk to 2 tube stations), pub underneath hostel had a nice atmosphere, staff at reception (the pub counter) were super helpful and friendly, wi-fi connection good (even on the 3rd floor), showers had hot water.

Disliked: Too cramped (I had to stand on top of the toilet to get in and out of the washroom), not enough room inside the dorms to put your suitcase (so you're tripping over everyone's luggage to get to your bed because no one wanted to leave their stuff outside the room), lounge very small and not enough seats (this was especially problematic at dinnertime.)

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant time in a 7-day stay !! Simple breakfast but nice !! Quiet place too :) I recommend this hostel !!

Disliked: I may not be resistant enough but the springs of the beds are a bit painful, it needs a couple of days to get used to it. The rooms are tiny, in a 6-bed dorm, it is difficult more than 2 people to move around.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dana Weldon

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location, very close to a main road that had numerous buses running to the main bus and underground station at shepards bush. The staff and other guests were very friendly. The rooms were clean with fresh duvets and pillows so need to bring along a sleeping bag. The building itself was very secure with keypad entry to all doors and rooms, lockers were also available for extra security. All in all an excellent place to stay, long or short term.

Disliked: There wasn't anything I disliked about the hostel, the bunk beds do however stack 3 high so if anything think of staying here has a fear of heights or is uneasy at climbing on ladders it may be best to request a low down bunk.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Small bathrooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samuel Song

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: the whole place was quite cosy and the bar area is just great for a little chill-out with the other travellers.

Disliked: the location is great but the distance from the tube was too far for a walk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris mcken

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2012 chris would recommend this property

Liked: only popped in for 2 nights but loved it. Uber friendly staff, lots of cool people and a very friendly atmosphere, everyone comes down to the pub in the evening for a pint and a chat.

Disliked: I lost my shoe :(

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was cool, but he the room are small.

Disliked: Small rooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Una struttura particolare e carina, personale cortese, colazione abbondante e bagni puliti

Disliked: La posizione dell'ostello non è molto centrale, ma c'è una fermata dell'auto a pochi passi e la stazione metro non molto lontana


See all London hostels
See all London hotels