HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Monkeys in the Trees

Hostel | 49 Becklow Rd, Shepherds Bush, London, England W129ER

75.0% Overall Rating

184 out of 227 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/08/2014)

kirsty starling thinks…

"Felt like a safe place. Dorms decent, beds comfortable, cheap. 30 min walk to westfield london. Nice park close by. Staff friendly, free breakfast. Would stay here again for the right price"

Read all The Monkeys in the Trees reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check-in: 2pm to 11pm. Check-out: 12 noon. We have a 48hr cancellation policy. Group bookings of more than 10 people needs to be arranged in advance before making booking. Please note that we cannot accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. Valid photo id is required at check-in. No sleeping bags to be used in hostel. Clean linen is provided.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hotel 261
49.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.7% 24 reviews
West One Guesthouse
24.93 USD

Guesthouse 71.5% 27 reviews
Chiswick Rooms
77.29 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Sapphire Hotel
45.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
21.44 USD

Hostel 78.1% 515 reviews
ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL
33.24 USD

Hostel 73.0% 742 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
21.44 USD

Hostel 81.3% 343 reviews
Hostel 639
14.96 USD

Hostel 55.5% 179 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.0%

Overall Rating

184 out of 227 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Monkeys in the Trees'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 226 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

joga bains

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 June 2013 joga would recommend this property

Liked: it was a bit cramped but it was clean and warm

Disliked: a bit cramped

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is nice and easy going, really helpfull. There is free breakfast and Internet. There is a small garden in the backyard.

Disliked: Cleanliness can be imrpoved in the showerooms and in the kitchen.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Teri Amundsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2013 Teri would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly. The rooms were quite big compared to other hostels that I have stayed in. Bathrooms were unisex however offered female only showers, which i liked. The hostel offered free wifi. The bar area was great to sit & relax listening to the music playing on the flat screen. Free breakfast in the morning, even though we didn't purchase it when we booked. Close to bus stops to take you to the nearest tube was no more than 10 mins. It seemed like alot of people were travelling alone so the atmosphere wasn't about partying and getting drunk, more relaxed & some what keeping to yourself.

Disliked: Teri left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the pub downstairs and the garden, communal area upstairs is not big but you can stay in the pub and that's great. Showers are ok and there is enough of them so i didn't had to wait long. They've just exchange mattresses so they are brand new, no problems to sleep at night. Good price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly multicultural part of London, there is a 15min walk or 5min on the bus 207 to the hostel from the underground but it's not bad if you plan it in advance , good continental breakfast including boiled eggs (unusual). Overall good hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rita Corn

Alone

Business / conference

28 May 2013 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel with fun people

Disliked: Rita left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly & helpful staff. Clean. Close to buses and several tube lines, making most attractions easily accessible from the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honest. Great value for money, friendly helpful staff, pretty comfy beds, nice pub downstairs that seemed to only be used by hostelers. Free lockers, easy to meet fellow travellers but not loud if you want to go to bed early. Loads of shops nearby, clean. Exactly what I expected.

Disliked: Kitchen is a bit small, only about 3 people at a time, but that's fine unless you want to cook something extravagant. If you're lazy it's about 15 mins to the tube, but there are buses.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in better hostels but I've stayed in worst as well, for the price I've payed it was good.

Disliked: Not much.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Ying Tung CHAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013

Liked: The staff are very helpful and kind, when I ask for questions or request for something, they are keen to give their helping hand to me! They are cheerful and always smile, I feel warm when I stay here. It is easy to find the hostel with the instruction provided by the hostel, I think it is not too far away from city center, it took just half an hour to get there.

Disliked: I stay in a nine bed female dorm, it was so dirty with strange odor, there are mold on the wall. However, the bed is acceptable. The warm water supply was not so stable, when I took a shower, the temperature of water kept change.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mika Toka

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 April 2013 Mika would recommend this property

Liked: Very good staff and v very good value for money. 15min walk from the station but nice location.

Disliked: Mika left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Dylan Gilbert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013

Liked: Breakfast was included

Disliked: Average area. Long walk to train station. Horrible showers and kitchen facilities. Limited space in the bedrooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sofie Sørensen

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Sofie would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the staff. They were all very nice and helpfull. The bar and all-around room downstairs was amazing. The atmosphere was fenomenal. The saves were good and you never felt unsecure at anytime. If you asked for anything extra such as a blanket or something like that the were all very friendly and you would immidiately get whatever you needed.

Disliked: It was all very good But I must admit that the beds were not the most comfortable that I have ever tried.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dr. A Moosani.

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Dr. A would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of Mr. Bart at the reception, atmosphere and comfort, bed, cleanliness, and safety and security.

Disliked: The location, moody and strange behaviour of the lady at the reception, the closing of the main sitting area in the lobby at 23:00 pm and the dim lighting inside the main areas!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aron Carlsson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Aron would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place, highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, you don't pay extra for the lockers or the internet and the breakfast is included. It's not outside the underground station but thank to that you can sleep well, it will take 15min straight walk to the station. I felt very safe in there, staff is very efficient.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doris Lutte

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013 Doris would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, nice people. Beautiful pub downstairs.

Disliked: Doris left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a lovely hostel. I particularly enjoyed the atmosphere and character of the bar felt very homely. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Despite the reviews of the hostel being too far from the center I thought the underground was close and very convenient being only 15 minutes walk from the hostel or 5 minutes by bus. The hostel felt like a home away from home with many long term guests who were really friendly and good company.

Disliked: I can't think of anything I had problems with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me gusta todo

Disliked: nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

artur firlej

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 December 2012 artur would recommend this property

Liked: great place

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Caroline Eubanks

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

12 November 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, in house bar

Disliked: very small rooms and dirty bathrooms

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Jennifer Morgan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012

Liked: The group I was with checked in later than we'd anticipated, but the guy behind the desk was totally cool and really nice. The staff is all very kind and helpful. The pub downstairs was really nice too. The beds weren't super comfy, but overall it was a decent experience. It's not too hard to access public transportation- just get day passes in advance so you don't have to walk all the way to the tube.

Disliked: The room I was in smelled absolutely awful the first night, even after I'd cracked the window. The bathrooms needed mats- there was water everywhere right after people would shower. Also, the shower curtains were very mildewed and most of the floors looked like they needed to be scrubbed.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would stay here again. Nice place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the pub located downstairs. The staff were helpful when needed. There is a nice common area in the hostel with a dining table and living area.

Disliked: I didn't feel particularly clean in the hostel. Also, the door that closed our room would often not lock when it closed. The window in the room wouldn't close in the room making it very cold.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the freeness you you when you were there .you felt like when living there.

Disliked: there was not much to dislike, nothing comes tomind


See all London hostels
See all London hotels