HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Royal Bayswater Hostel

Hostel | 121 Bayswater Road, London, England W2 3JH

63.2% Overall Rating

1166 out of 1784 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Natasa Zaloznik thinks…

"despite all the bad rewies about this hostel, it was cleen. it has good location and staff is friendly and helpfull"

Read all Royal Bayswater Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.36
  • Towel USD 8.39

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Bookings of 10 or more people are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with hostelbookers.com Group Bookings to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per hostelbookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
46.21 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hyde Park Hostel
15.12 USD

Hostel 58.2% 1245 reviews
The 23 Hostel
25.21 USD

Hostel 63.9% 14 reviews
Astor Queensway
35.29 USD

Hostel 81.3% 596 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.79 USD

Hostel 67.2% 1639 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
63.85 USD

Apartment 75.0% 8 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
33.61 USD

Hostel 75.9% 14 reviews
New dawn hotel
35.29 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.2%

Overall Rating

1166 out of 1784 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Royal Bayswater Hostel'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
47.2%
Cleanliness
52.0%
Staff
67.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 974 of 1208 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 38 | 39   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jacqui Malis

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: disgusting, put into a 8 person mixed after paying for a 6, even though got refunded. Hostel was a mess when it came to cleanliness. Mold and rust everywhere. Room wise I had a top bunk (given no sheets by the way, glad I had brought my own) and two people decided to sleep on the bottom bunk, and had no respect for me if you could see what I was implying. Should be stricter about the people per room by the morning I counted 12.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Aaron Hale

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Ants

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2014

Liked: Price.

Disliked: Service. Friendliness of the staff. Location. Breakfast was mediocre (bread, cheese, cereal) but free.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Natasa Zaloznik

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

01 April 2014 Natasa would recommend this property

Liked: despite all the bad rewies about this hostel, it was cleen. it has good location and staff is friendly and helpfull

Disliked: one night we had noisy neighhbours

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was handy and the location was excellent. Being that close to Hyde Park was totally worth it.

Disliked: It was dirty, the guests were loud, and the service was very poor. One night, people were running up and down the halls, yelling, and knocking on our door despite the fact that there were only three people in our room and we were all sleeping.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After having read the reviews, I was prepared for the worst. Luckily it really isn't that bad. For this price you can't expect a castle. We had a private room which was small, but clean. The ensuite bathroom was also clean. It doesn't look awesome, but then again going to London you won't spend a lot of time in your room, will you ? When we arrived, there was a problem with our booking which wasn't in their system. But the receptionist talked to the manger and 10 minutes later the problem was solved and we got our private room. The location of the hostel is awesome, only a minute walk from the tube station and right across from Hyde Park. The breakfast for private rooms (which is served in another room than the breakfast for shared rooms, no I can't comment on that) was really quite alright. There was toast, cornflakes, fruit, scrambled eggs, sausages, beans, coffee and tea. I really can't find much to complain about, especially looking at the price we paid (only 18 euros per person !). So for those only wishing a cheap bed to sleep in, I could totally recommend this place !

Disliked: I guess the staff could be a little more friendly, although I can't say they were rude. Just a bit uninterested. The elevator was broken, which is a bit unfortunate when your room is on the 4th floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the location - best price for something right across from Hyde Park. I also appreciate the 24 hour friendly staff.

Disliked: You have to pay for EVERY extra amenity - computers, wi-fi, towels, and lockers. Granted it's only 1£ or 2£ per amenity, it does end up becoming quite expensive.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hugo Santos

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 March 2014 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and acess to transport.

Disliked: Noisy and old.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rebecca Price

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 February 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Most things

Disliked: Lift to rooms was too small

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, convenient location.

Disliked: People having sex in the bunk below me. They did get thrown out by staff when I reported them though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to Underground and bus services, helpful staff, opposite Hyde Park. Quiet ensuite room.

Disliked: I went down for breakfast at 9.30. A self-service breakfast is available until 10am. There was very little food left. The eggs were finished, and the food (a desertspoon of beans and half a sausage) was almost cold. Fortunately. It was possible to make toast in a toaster, so at least that was a better temperature. There was also cornflakes, slices of cheese and marmalade and butter available, as well as tea and coffee and orange juice. So all was not lost. The only other things I didn't enjoy too much was the view from my bedroom window, which was directly opposite a window of a room full of bunk beds.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, since it is close to the city center, and the value to money relation is very good in my opinion.

Disliked: Often the water was cold, when me and my friend wanted to use the showers, and some of our roommates were loud and inconsiderate to others.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

dinesh Subramanian

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 dinesh would recommend this property

Liked: the Hostel was good but once we check in they forget to check the essetial things like toilet papers

Disliked: they dont have power outlet for the people who are sleeping in the upper drom in the sharing rooms which will be very helpfull for the person who are travelling to charge their mobiles and cams.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Niya Peneva

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The hostel (hotel is very dirty)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jesse Mahoney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and provided a cheap bed.

Disliked: Too much mould in bathroom. Showers were either freezing cold or scolding hot, nothing in between. Lockers cost? Why?? Electronic door lock on our room was broken for 4 days. Blanket covers filthy. Kitchen gross.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dinand de Jong

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

04 January 2014 Dinand would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Private room is simple but adequate for a short stay.

Disliked: Location.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: general conditions... its more like a very cheap place to stay than a hostel

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Arlene Offermann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Arlene would recommend this property

Liked: its cheap, they have real bathrooms and not these strange disgusting quaremeter showers, theres a internetcafe in the hostel itself (though its expensive), its just 1 minute walk from hyde park

Disliked: The staff, or at least 1 woman was really unfriendly, which I cant stand at all, the acted like I was stupid but she didnt understand my question (it wasnt a hard one), the other staff were nice. the common roon/kitchen is okay, not too nice, but you can hang around good and I was allowed to bring a friend down there, which I thought was very nice.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Paul Leonard

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 November 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good location

Disliked: Very basic rooms. Very rundown but rooms were cleaned and fresh linen provided.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mario Saraiva

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 November 2013

Liked: Laundry and breakfast room. Staff and location.

Disliked: Few Toiilets and out of order. Shower with cold water. Windows must isolate better.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They missplace my booking but they gave me a nice upgrade fro 20 bedroom to 8 bedroom.So i was pleased with my stay.

Disliked: theft.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. OK rooms. Not great but OK.

Disliked: They charge a lot for wi-if. The free "continental breakfast" was bad. Corn flakes, cheap white bread, margarine instead of butter, instant coffee, not real orange juice.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Unfriendly staff, small room with thin mattress and cold showers. You have to pay for everything (wifi, etc.)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Phil MacDonald

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 September 2013

Liked: Great location near Hyde Park

Disliked: Crummy rooms


See all London hostels
See all London hotels