HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Royal Bayswater Hostel

Hostel | 121 Bayswater Road, London, England W2 3JH

70.3% Overall Rating

1179 out of 1801 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

robert james thinks…

"It was very near hyde park, the buses stopped outside and close to two tube stations queensway and bayswater."

Read all Royal Bayswater Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.40
  • Towel USD 8.49

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Bookings of 10 or more people are considered Group Bookings and must be booked with hostelbookers.com Group Bookings to verify availability for the dates, as well as special Group Rates that may be more or less than those stated for individuals. As Group Bookings require more effort regarding placement, security, processing, etc., we must reserve the right to deny any bookings made for more than 10 people. Please also be aware that your deposit is non-refundable per hostelbookers.com TOS and therefore booking more than 10 people puts your 10% deposit at risk as you will not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Hyde Park Economy Apartments
54.87 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hyde Park Hostel
23.80 USD

Hostel 58.7% 1302 reviews
Astor Queensway
35.73 USD

Hostel 83.2% 607 reviews
Smart Hyde Park Inn
20.40 USD

Hostel 68.0% 1660 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
50.48 USD

Apartment 75.0% 8 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
34.03 USD

Hostel 68.8% 27 reviews
New dawn hotel
41.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 25 reviews
Royal Hyde Park Hotel
59.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.3%

Overall Rating

1179 out of 1801 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Royal Bayswater Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
75.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 983 of 1225 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 39 | 40   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the people working there were really friendly.

Disliked: The breakfast needs some serious improvement. Unfortunately it was only dry toast, butter, jam, bad tasting coffee and some cornflakes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robert james

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 robert would recommend this property

Liked: It was very near hyde park, the buses stopped outside and close to two tube stations queensway and bayswater.

Disliked: Iw was very good all round and convenient to wher we wanted to go.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Lack of cleanliness

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful

Disliked: Na

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Pawe? Wilk

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014 Pawe? would recommend this property

Liked: Great location: - just by the red line station and close to the yellow and green, - a lot of markets, souvernis shop and restaurant on the Queensway road - cheap stay, - wide offer of additional services (to be paid for) like tourist addapters or additional towels in reasonable prices

Disliked: - nothing except beds - poor linens - not airtight window (noise from the street) - continental breakfast is toast, butter, jam, milk and cereals... I've seen much better breakfasts named 'continental', crowd on the breakfasts

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014

Liked: Relatively close to the city centre. They have good direct bus lines for city, Victoria Station, Notting hill

Disliked: I don't know from where should I start - this hostel don't have even elemental facilities. I booked 6 bed dorm for me and my four friends. First, when we came in the hostel, lady on the reception took additional 20 £ as key deposit. Then, lift was out of order. Room was really spartan - I don't expect closets or cabinets in room but there wasn't even wall hanger. In 6 bed dorm there was only 4 plug sockets. Second night in a hostel, in the shower there was no hot water. Tomorrow we came in the dinning room at 08:20 AM, and there was no food, no dishes. Also, in 21st century, they charge Wi-Fi (very expensive)!!! Luckily, Hilton is in the neighborhood - with very good and free Wi-Fi. Thank you Hilton! :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was excellent,10 metres from Queensway tube,50 metres from Bayswater tube.right across the road is hyde park and next door is a decent pub.lots of cafes/restaurants and shops nearby.very safe locale and keyswipe so rooms are secure.cheap and cheerful.

Disliked: maybe the breakfast time 7.30 till 9am and the check-out by 10am is the only gripes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located at the city centre. Affordable.

Disliked: Customer Service

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jacqui Malis

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: disgusting, put into a 8 person mixed after paying for a 6, even though got refunded. Hostel was a mess when it came to cleanliness. Mold and rust everywhere. Room wise I had a top bunk (given no sheets by the way, glad I had brought my own) and two people decided to sleep on the bottom bunk, and had no respect for me if you could see what I was implying. Should be stricter about the people per room by the morning I counted 12.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Aaron Hale

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Ants

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2014

Liked: Price.

Disliked: Service. Friendliness of the staff. Location. Breakfast was mediocre (bread, cheese, cereal) but free.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Natasa Zaloznik

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

01 April 2014 Natasa would recommend this property

Liked: despite all the bad rewies about this hostel, it was cleen. it has good location and staff is friendly and helpfull

Disliked: one night we had noisy neighhbours

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was handy and the location was excellent. Being that close to Hyde Park was totally worth it.

Disliked: It was dirty, the guests were loud, and the service was very poor. One night, people were running up and down the halls, yelling, and knocking on our door despite the fact that there were only three people in our room and we were all sleeping.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After having read the reviews, I was prepared for the worst. Luckily it really isn't that bad. For this price you can't expect a castle. We had a private room which was small, but clean. The ensuite bathroom was also clean. It doesn't look awesome, but then again going to London you won't spend a lot of time in your room, will you ? When we arrived, there was a problem with our booking which wasn't in their system. But the receptionist talked to the manger and 10 minutes later the problem was solved and we got our private room. The location of the hostel is awesome, only a minute walk from the tube station and right across from Hyde Park. The breakfast for private rooms (which is served in another room than the breakfast for shared rooms, no I can't comment on that) was really quite alright. There was toast, cornflakes, fruit, scrambled eggs, sausages, beans, coffee and tea. I really can't find much to complain about, especially looking at the price we paid (only 18 euros per person !). So for those only wishing a cheap bed to sleep in, I could totally recommend this place !

Disliked: I guess the staff could be a little more friendly, although I can't say they were rude. Just a bit uninterested. The elevator was broken, which is a bit unfortunate when your room is on the 4th floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the location - best price for something right across from Hyde Park. I also appreciate the 24 hour friendly staff.

Disliked: You have to pay for EVERY extra amenity - computers, wi-fi, towels, and lockers. Granted it's only 1£ or 2£ per amenity, it does end up becoming quite expensive.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hugo Santos

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 March 2014 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and acess to transport.

Disliked: Noisy and old.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rebecca Price

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 February 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Most things

Disliked: Lift to rooms was too small

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, convenient location.

Disliked: People having sex in the bunk below me. They did get thrown out by staff when I reported them though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to Underground and bus services, helpful staff, opposite Hyde Park. Quiet ensuite room.

Disliked: I went down for breakfast at 9.30. A self-service breakfast is available until 10am. There was very little food left. The eggs were finished, and the food (a desertspoon of beans and half a sausage) was almost cold. Fortunately. It was possible to make toast in a toaster, so at least that was a better temperature. There was also cornflakes, slices of cheese and marmalade and butter available, as well as tea and coffee and orange juice. So all was not lost. The only other things I didn't enjoy too much was the view from my bedroom window, which was directly opposite a window of a room full of bunk beds.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, since it is close to the city center, and the value to money relation is very good in my opinion.

Disliked: Often the water was cold, when me and my friend wanted to use the showers, and some of our roommates were loud and inconsiderate to others.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

dinesh Subramanian

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 dinesh would recommend this property

Liked: the Hostel was good but once we check in they forget to check the essetial things like toilet papers

Disliked: they dont have power outlet for the people who are sleeping in the upper drom in the sharing rooms which will be very helpfull for the person who are travelling to charge their mobiles and cams.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Niya Peneva

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The hostel (hotel is very dirty)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jesse Mahoney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and provided a cheap bed.

Disliked: Too much mould in bathroom. Showers were either freezing cold or scolding hot, nothing in between. Lockers cost? Why?? Electronic door lock on our room was broken for 4 days. Blanket covers filthy. Kitchen gross.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels