HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands

Hostel | 1 Glenaffric Avenue, London, England E14 3BW

82.9% Overall Rating

329 out of 365 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"Very friendly & helpful staff. Nice location for walks along the Thames. There's and nice park and animal farm 3 min. away. Less than 5 min. to DLR which takes you to city center in 20 minutes."

Read all FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we can not accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. All guests are required to present a valid photo ID at check-in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich
14.92 USD

Hostel 73.4% 270 reviews
Lanterns Court Apartment
56.58 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Discovery Dock Apartment
58.26 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Seacon Tower Apartment
83.82 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Journeys Greenwich West Hostel
16.55 USD

Hostel 70.5% 197 reviews
New Cross Inn Hostel
20.12 USD

Hostel 68.3% 643 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
23.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 162 reviews
YHA London Thameside
21.79 USD

Hostel 82.4% 170 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

329 out of 365 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 281 of 350 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel and I enjoyed my stay, Its a fun atomsphere and the staff are great and really do more then they should to make you happy. There is only one downsize to this hostel and that is how far its from central london at least 15 - 20 minutes and trains stop at 12am so going to party in central london might be a issue when you try to get come.. So if your comming to party stay somewhere closer to central, if you are just here to have somewhere safe to sleep and are looking for a laid back chill place then this is it! .... ENJOY IT!

Disliked: The 20 minute train ride to central london at least spent 6 pounds round trip. Also if you stay past 12am you will need to take a taxi or late night bus the texi. ** its at least 2 bus;s to get back :

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Average experience - got what I expected and what I paid for so I am satisfied. Far from central London but close to Greenwich which is a nice area. Nice common area, relaxed pub atmosphere. Very nice and clean shower facilities. Would stay again if I was looking in this area or the price was the best. All thins being equal I would try somewhere else in the hopes of finding better than average but would be fine to stay ere again.

Disliked: I was told by a staff on the phone that there was secure bicycle parking but when I got there the manager said "I don't know who told you that". I was able to leave my bike in a secure outdoor smoking area which was perfectly sufficient but was made to feel like I was being a nuisance. Had to get staff to let me in each time I arrived on bicycle. I slept very poorly in the 12 bed dorm. I chose that room so no fault of the facility but keep in mind that the bunks are triples (you will be assigned a bed and cannot choose). Room doors are opened with a code, so anyone coming or going had to make some noise getting in and out. Wifi only in common room and didn't really work well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really great. It's literally around the corner from the DLR trains. Takes around 30 mins to the westend. Also bus stop nearby. The bar downstairs in the hostel is really nice and do a have a good selection of beers.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Magdalena Brossmann

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 June 2012 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, the beds are as comfy as you can expect at a hostel, the lounge is really nice to sit or actually even work, and you get a mixture of all kinds of nice people to talk to and hang out with. Free Wifi and Lockers (bring your own padlock though) and apart from a few broken outlets I have no complaints. There's privacy enough, you have seperate showers, not these cubicals but actual rooms with doors and walls and everything ;) There's a laundry place right across the street, as well as a chinese take-away and a convenience store with a cash machine. (which accepts international bank cards)

Disliked: Far from central London but that has its upsides too.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: O Hall de entrada é muito acolhedor, os quartos são grandes e as casas-de-banho são muito limpas e relativamente bem equipadas. O staff é amigável e prestável.

Disliked: Os quartos estão extremamente desarrumados, com roupa, malas e calçado espalhados por todo o lado. Quase sem espaço para instalar as nossas malas. O staff devia interferir. As casas-de-banho são mistas, e o secador tem um custo de utilização. Não há local seguro para guardar as malas no quarto, ficam ao acesso e qualquer pessoa, mesmo quando estamos ausentes, e apenas existem uns cofres minusculos para guardar coisas de valor. O bairro à volta tem um ambiente um pouco suspeito e não aconselho a andarem a pé durante a noite por lá. Fica longe do centro da cidade, mesmo de metro.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Prasanthi Cottingham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2012 Prasanthi would recommend this property

Liked: Moved from the YHA Thameside to here - What a relief! It is clean, quiet, great atmosphere - the first night participated in quiz night, second night played board games. Its brilliant value for money, and though its over a pub, the rooms are very quiet. Highly recommended.

Disliked: A little far from the city centre, a little more effort for the major sight-seeing - but just a walk to Greenwich village - which I would not otherwise have seen - and its awesome!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JIseo KIM

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

07 June 2012 JIseo would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself was located in a quiet and clean area with buses and tube connection. The staff were friendly and great. The matress were nice and comfortable.

Disliked: As there is a bar under the hostel, the staff are doing 2 jobs. Sometimes there were some waiting time for simple questions and so on, but once they were interested, they were really helpful and nice. The water temperature control system was very difficult to control. I nearly burnt my skin.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well, whole it's far from tourist traps in the centre it is in a really nice area, and a short walk from Greenwich which is lovely! Staff are very friendly and I'll definitely be back.

Disliked: Could have used a kitchen!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar down stairs, good wifi, free breakfast. Affordable.

Disliked: Sleeping on the top bunk of three!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, unexpectedly good location.

Disliked: No laundry facility, no ktchenette

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kenny King

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012 Kenny would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very friendly, helpful and accomodating

Disliked: quite a few business people and business student were there during our stay which detracted the atmosphere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Austin Nickens

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Austin would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast is always nice, the staff were also really friendly and really helpful for planning quick day trips!

Disliked: It's location is a little far from the city center, you're looking at around 5 pounds one way to get into town

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 April 2012

Liked: The staff, they were brilliant.

Disliked: Extremely filthy bathrooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nigel Cobbett

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 April 2012 Nigel would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxing atmosphere in the Lounge. Comfortable seats, good wifi and elec points to recharge your cell phone and laptop. You can sit quietly on your own or join the world again as you wish with no hassles. The breakfast was 2 choices of cereals, Hovis brown or white bread, tea, coffee, butter, jam (only strawberry!) and peanut butter. No body bothered if you went back for more, so even Oliver Twist would feel at home.

Disliked: Nigel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Hennessey

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

23 March 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Offers a great range of amenities and the living room is set by the bar area. This helps to create a characterful atmosphere, and most people can comfortably sit and read on their own, or mix with other travellers. The internet connection is very helpful for a freelance worker who travels a lot, with a free broadband connection.

Disliked: It lacks a kitchen, but this all depends on the type of venue one is looking for. Food can be ordered at the bar, and there are shops scattered all around the area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judy Gibson

Alone

Business / conference

23 March 2012 Judy would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, bar downstairs excellent atmosphere, quiz night and free pizza - wifi works well and just one minutes walk to look at the Thames in the sunset. Clean and security conscious - great place to stay! Staff gave me an extra pillow - thank you!

Disliked: I suppose being nearly 60yrs old makes for climbing to top of bunk beds more difficult - but wish the metal ladder could be padded! Mattresses just about OK but I'm a softie. Wish they had single rooms would be quite prepared to pay the extra!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good pub, decent breakfast

Disliked: Triple bunkbeds, small shared bathroom

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Staff, very helpfull. Located in zone 2 and really near to DLR Station. Safe, clean and the beds were also good. Nothing to complain about. Extremely recommended.

Disliked: The showers weren't to good, but no problem with that.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place... you´re paying so little for a really good staff of people. The hostel is great, very clean, quiet people staying there, and Island Gardens is a lovely neighbourhood, with all asian and british children going together to school in the mornings...

Disliked: almost nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: english atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shoaib umer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Work / volunteering

28 February 2012 shoaib would recommend this property

Liked: It's really nice place, I visited this place first time and it's beyond my expectation. Staff is nice and friendly Rooms are clean and wide, toilets and shower rooms are clean too. Warm and well decorated lounge. I really recommend to others. Keep it up the great eastern.

Disliked: shoaib left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, clean, comfy and cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2012

Liked: Refer to what I wrote for "dislike"

Disliked: This is the first property that ever messed up/lost my booking, so my review will reflect on that. Booked two nights but was told second night was full, and had to pay about £16 which was not what I had purchased on hostelbookers. The fact that the place is fairly far out from central meant the cost of getting the tube there and then having to leave the next day to find somewhere else to stay made this a very expensive sleep just for one night. Then when I wrote an email to management about my messed up booking, they didn't have the courtesy to reply. This place itself is ok, 3-bed bunks in a small room is not the most jolly, and the uni-sex bathrooms need a rethink with people crowded round in the mornings and evenings with only a bathroom for a floor. Downstairs bar area is the nicest thing about the place. Staff were cheerful and friendly, but as for the property management, messing up someones booking does tend to ruin their trip and put unnecessary stress on them.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

NINA YU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012

Liked: Room mates are kind! :)

Disliked: Wi-fi works really bad. Your smart-phon and laptop will be a useless thing in this hostel. And staffs are always busy busy busy, so you can't ask what you want to know about London. And there's a lot of passwords and doors to enter the room! The worse thing is that the hostel is f-aaa----rrrrr from the centre of London. Your time must be wasted in the DLR and Underground.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 February 2012

Liked: free breakfast and wifi. nice pub down stairs

Disliked: even though its in zone 2 it takes ages to get to and is really out of the way. then there is nothing around at all. i cancelled my 3rd night and im releived i did. its fine for just a couple of nights though.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels