We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich

Hostel | 1 Glenaffric Avenue, London, England E14 3BW

83.0% Overall Rating

365 out of 409 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/01/2015)

Ilias Tsagas thinks…

"I liked the bar. It has a nice atmosphere. And the location. It is a quiet area but near the metro."

Read all PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we can not accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. All guests are required to present a valid photo ID at check-in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich
11.20 USD

Hostel 73.8% 280 reviews
Venture Hostel
19.46 USD

Hostel 73.7% 225 reviews
New Cross Inn Hostel
17.85 USD

Hostel 71.2% 649 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
22.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 171 reviews
YHA London Thameside
23.00 USD

Hostel 82.2% 181 reviews
Goddis Lodge
40.57 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 55.7% 12 reviews
Mortham Cottage
43.01 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Cottage 76
51.67 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

365 out of 409 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 315 of 392 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Keith Murray

Alone

Romantic getaway

17 November 2012 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: 17/11/12 This very comfortable hostel in a little precarious in its kibbutz style politic regarding our placement far too close to Canary Wharf business empire. If there is trouble such as riots or fighting anywhere in London, I don't suggest you will be any safer so close to wealth communications at Canary Wharf.

Disliked: Keith left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar downstairs is a nice place to hang out. Also the place was very clean, and cleaners came in every day into the rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: No kitchen or in-house laundry facilties, and they could have done with a common room upstairs that wasn't part of the bar too, but by London hostel standards this place was great!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sean Casey

Alone

Business / conference

09 November 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very nice, with a pub and lounge downstairs and clean, plain rooms upstairs. The complementary breakfast was simple, but OK - and free food is always a bonus. There are no keys and instead you're given codes to the stairwell and room doors.

Disliked: The shower in my room (room 1) was awful. I ran it for two minutes on a medium heat setting and it was stone cold. Then I turned the heat up to maximum and it slowly became boiling. At about three quarters it became bearable - until it got cold again. It wouldn't have been too bad, but the water pressure was very weak. The fitting the that attached the shower head to the vertical bar didn't work either, so you had to either crouch or hold it in your hand.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: too far away from main attractions

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kilian O' Sullivan

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

02 November 2012 Kilian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar and lounge area

Disliked: small lockers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bedding is clean on arrival. The toilets are also clean.

Disliked: Some of the shower rooms are out of order and the toaster used at breakfast is useless. The plastic sheeting on some mattresses is irratating.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice duvets and pillows, good showers, bathrooms were clean. Bar area has a warm atmosphere. Good value for money.

Disliked: Don't feel the property is that secure. Back door open all the time. It needs to have large cage lockers in the room. People were inconsiderate and noisy in the room. Property could do with a laundry facility.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great area to chill out

Disliked: Needs more showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Manuel Méndez

Alone

Business / conference

01 October 2012 Juan Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. A pub in the lower story where to enjoy a nice lounge. The rooms show cleanliness to the maximum. It was my first time in an UK hostel and The Great Eastern is a amazing recommended start.

Disliked: Juan Manuel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petra Boogerd

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

18 September 2012 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fine nearby Station and City centre

Disliked: Petra left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wei Jiat Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2012 Wei Jiat would recommend this property

Liked: Superbly value for money. It is hard to get a bed with quite a nice breakfast at such price in London.

Disliked: Insufficient plug in lobby

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, friendly guests, clean rooms. a very nice hostel! i loved the view every night when i went back to the hostel, when you exit the DLR station you get this amazing view of Canary Wharf skyscrapers..

Disliked: i`m not a big fan of 3 level bunk beds..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good stay here. Was pleasantly surprised. The bathroom and shower areas are clean. The lounge near the bar is a great open space to relax. The 12 x bed rooms are very spacious.

Disliked: Not a fan of the 3-level bunk beds. You feel every movement of others. The mattresses are also fairly uncomfortable and have cling wrap on them to protect them (which is quite noisy). Besides the beds though, every thing else is really great.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012

Liked: The staff is really helpful.

Disliked: The three layers beds are not really steady, and there's plastic under the sheets which is noisy in the night. I don't like: 'free secure lockers' but you have to buy a 4£ padlock. The wi-fi is really slow.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet friendly bar

Disliked: no kitchen

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a nice bar. And the staff are really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The location is pretty far from downtown London. Although, great system of travel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pavel zaicev

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2012 pavel would recommend this property

Liked: every time if have a choise I will book Great Eastern Hostel.Very clean and tidy,friendly atmoshere.

Disliked: One huge problem is recharge devaices in a rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere, very friendly

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tak Hung Chan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Tak Hung would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good price, near to Greenwish garden and flea market

Disliked: a bit far from central London

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grant Cahalane

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 July 2012 Grant would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly especially Nathan, I had many documents I needed to scan and email for a job that I was starting and Nathan scanned all the documents and sent them to me straight away. he was very helpful.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Doug Bowron

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Doug would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, chilled out bar, comfortable rooms. In the interesting Docklands area

Disliked: No self catering facilities and I kept sleeping through the 9am finish to breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francisco Javier Garcia Ortiz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Francisco Javier would recommend this property

Liked: Es lo mejor que podrán encontrar por el precios aunque quizás está un poco alejada del centro de la ciudad pero esta dentro de la zona 2 (tampoco encontraran algo barato en el centro), por lo que los pasajes en transporte publico les costará lo más bajo. Si no tienen problema con eso, será una muy agradable estancia y sobre todo podrán disfrutar de un típico lugar londinense.

Disliked: Solo comentarios con la ubicación, un poco lejos y falta cocina pero en general todo bien.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chris Rive

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice place

Disliked: It felt very stayed

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Diana Yukari Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Diana Yukari would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is nice, the bar has a great atmosphere. Beds are good, showers are ok, everything is clean. Breakfast isn't great and is served early in the morning, but it's free!

Disliked: The buiilding is a little old, we couldn't go to the balcony of our room, which would have been nice. The stairs to the third bunk bed made a very lound noise in room number 8. It has small problems, but it's in general really good!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rosemary Carsberg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2012 Rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cheep. Very relaxed. Simple breakfast. Free luggage storage. My second night was much better as i has a small 4 bed room, with much comfier beds. The staff went out of there way to help me even though they did not always get it right.

Disliked: My first night i arrived late at night and they has lost my booking. Luckily the guy behind the desk went out of his way to find room for me. It was a 12 bed dorm, with very unstable looking triple bunks. The bed i slept in was extremely unconformable. I really think they need to invest in some mattress toppers. My second night was much better.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels