HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands

Hostel | 1 Glenaffric Avenue, London, England E14 3BW

77.5% Overall Rating

350 out of 391 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2014)

Ian Mayman thinks…

"This review is following three booked stays over the past few weeks. I like the location best. You can literally go to sleep listening to the sound of the waves of the Thames, and it is very close to…"

Read all FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.48

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we can not accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. All guests are required to present a valid photo ID at check-in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich
18.49 USD

Hostel 73.6% 273 reviews
Journeys Greenwich West Hostel
16.74 USD

Hostel 72.2% 213 reviews
New Cross Inn Hostel
23.75 USD

Hostel 72.1% 648 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
23.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.2% 167 reviews
YHA London Thameside
24.04 USD

Hostel 79.9% 176 reviews
Goddis Lodge
38.17 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 53.7% 10 reviews
Mortham Cottage
44.78 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Cottage 76
56.27 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.5%

Overall Rating

350 out of 391 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 299 of 375 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pavel zaicev

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2012 pavel would recommend this property

Liked: every time if have a choise I will book Great Eastern Hostel.Very clean and tidy,friendly atmoshere.

Disliked: One huge problem is recharge devaices in a rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere, very friendly

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tak Hung Chan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Tak Hung would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good price, near to Greenwish garden and flea market

Disliked: a bit far from central London

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grant Cahalane

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 July 2012 Grant would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly especially Nathan, I had many documents I needed to scan and email for a job that I was starting and Nathan scanned all the documents and sent them to me straight away. he was very helpful.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Doug Bowron

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Doug would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, chilled out bar, comfortable rooms. In the interesting Docklands area

Disliked: No self catering facilities and I kept sleeping through the 9am finish to breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francisco Javier Garcia Ortiz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Francisco Javier would recommend this property

Liked: Es lo mejor que podrán encontrar por el precios aunque quizás está un poco alejada del centro de la ciudad pero esta dentro de la zona 2 (tampoco encontraran algo barato en el centro), por lo que los pasajes en transporte publico les costará lo más bajo. Si no tienen problema con eso, será una muy agradable estancia y sobre todo podrán disfrutar de un típico lugar londinense.

Disliked: Solo comentarios con la ubicación, un poco lejos y falta cocina pero en general todo bien.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chris Rive

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice place

Disliked: It felt very stayed

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Diana Yukari Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Diana Yukari would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is nice, the bar has a great atmosphere. Beds are good, showers are ok, everything is clean. Breakfast isn't great and is served early in the morning, but it's free!

Disliked: The buiilding is a little old, we couldn't go to the balcony of our room, which would have been nice. The stairs to the third bunk bed made a very lound noise in room number 8. It has small problems, but it's in general really good!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rosemary Carsberg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2012 Rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cheep. Very relaxed. Simple breakfast. Free luggage storage. My second night was much better as i has a small 4 bed room, with much comfier beds. The staff went out of there way to help me even though they did not always get it right.

Disliked: My first night i arrived late at night and they has lost my booking. Luckily the guy behind the desk went out of his way to find room for me. It was a 12 bed dorm, with very unstable looking triple bunks. The bed i slept in was extremely unconformable. I really think they need to invest in some mattress toppers. My second night was much better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Phang

Alone

Business / conference

02 July 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It was well kept, clean, newish

Disliked: The triple bunk beds because I was at the top most bunk!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Kaczor

Alone

Business / conference

02 July 2012 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere on the whole, also that other people from outside could sit in the bar. You could easily jogging along the Thames or go in a few minutes to Greenwich, which is an attractive place.

Disliked: It´s a bit far from Central London. Sticky air in the rooms. Less opportunity for a shower or toilet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

HWANG SUNGJAE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 HWANG would recommend this property

Liked: The faciliates are very good. Especially, lounge is very good !! widely, lots of tables. And room also is clean and comfortabl. Staffs are kind.

Disliked: Wifi is a free, but very slow and we sometimes did not access the internet for long time

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

valerio mascolino

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 June 2012 valerio would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the bathroom, very nice showers. Also nice lounge.

Disliked: No kitchen, staff always busy. My room was without windows we can open so we had to sleep with the door open.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly staff, clean and nice rooms, lockers in the room (bring your own padlock)

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agnessa Shpakova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Agnessa would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice, cosy place with very friendly people, has a luggage room on the first floor

Disliked: if there was kitchen it would be perfect

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing! It was really good to experience care for the guests!

Disliked: The rooms unfortunately are quite crowded (we were 12 in 1room) and the mattresses are not the most comfortable

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Lippiatt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, good location if ure visiting east London, ie, O2, Greenwich or the Olympics. And good pizzas served by the bar.

Disliked: The three tier bunkbeds are abit high and uncomfortable to sleep on plus they are too high and too close to the ceilings, felt like I couldn't move up there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and enviroment, and polite staff

Disliked: I met one anti social behavor on the street around

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel and I enjoyed my stay, Its a fun atomsphere and the staff are great and really do more then they should to make you happy. There is only one downsize to this hostel and that is how far its from central london at least 15 - 20 minutes and trains stop at 12am so going to party in central london might be a issue when you try to get come.. So if your comming to party stay somewhere closer to central, if you are just here to have somewhere safe to sleep and are looking for a laid back chill place then this is it! .... ENJOY IT!

Disliked: The 20 minute train ride to central london at least spent 6 pounds round trip. Also if you stay past 12am you will need to take a taxi or late night bus the texi. ** its at least 2 bus;s to get back :

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Average experience - got what I expected and what I paid for so I am satisfied. Far from central London but close to Greenwich which is a nice area. Nice common area, relaxed pub atmosphere. Very nice and clean shower facilities. Would stay again if I was looking in this area or the price was the best. All thins being equal I would try somewhere else in the hopes of finding better than average but would be fine to stay ere again.

Disliked: I was told by a staff on the phone that there was secure bicycle parking but when I got there the manager said "I don't know who told you that". I was able to leave my bike in a secure outdoor smoking area which was perfectly sufficient but was made to feel like I was being a nuisance. Had to get staff to let me in each time I arrived on bicycle. I slept very poorly in the 12 bed dorm. I chose that room so no fault of the facility but keep in mind that the bunks are triples (you will be assigned a bed and cannot choose). Room doors are opened with a code, so anyone coming or going had to make some noise getting in and out. Wifi only in common room and didn't really work well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really great. It's literally around the corner from the DLR trains. Takes around 30 mins to the westend. Also bus stop nearby. The bar downstairs in the hostel is really nice and do a have a good selection of beers.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Magdalena Brossmann

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 June 2012 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, the beds are as comfy as you can expect at a hostel, the lounge is really nice to sit or actually even work, and you get a mixture of all kinds of nice people to talk to and hang out with. Free Wifi and Lockers (bring your own padlock though) and apart from a few broken outlets I have no complaints. There's privacy enough, you have seperate showers, not these cubicals but actual rooms with doors and walls and everything ;) There's a laundry place right across the street, as well as a chinese take-away and a convenience store with a cash machine. (which accepts international bank cards)

Disliked: Far from central London but that has its upsides too.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: O Hall de entrada é muito acolhedor, os quartos são grandes e as casas-de-banho são muito limpas e relativamente bem equipadas. O staff é amigável e prestável.

Disliked: Os quartos estão extremamente desarrumados, com roupa, malas e calçado espalhados por todo o lado. Quase sem espaço para instalar as nossas malas. O staff devia interferir. As casas-de-banho são mistas, e o secador tem um custo de utilização. Não há local seguro para guardar as malas no quarto, ficam ao acesso e qualquer pessoa, mesmo quando estamos ausentes, e apenas existem uns cofres minusculos para guardar coisas de valor. O bairro à volta tem um ambiente um pouco suspeito e não aconselho a andarem a pé durante a noite por lá. Fica longe do centro da cidade, mesmo de metro.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Prasanthi Cottingham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2012 Prasanthi would recommend this property

Liked: Moved from the YHA Thameside to here - What a relief! It is clean, quiet, great atmosphere - the first night participated in quiz night, second night played board games. Its brilliant value for money, and though its over a pub, the rooms are very quiet. Highly recommended.

Disliked: A little far from the city centre, a little more effort for the major sight-seeing - but just a walk to Greenwich village - which I would not otherwise have seen - and its awesome!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JIseo KIM

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

07 June 2012 JIseo would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself was located in a quiet and clean area with buses and tube connection. The staff were friendly and great. The matress were nice and comfortable.

Disliked: As there is a bar under the hostel, the staff are doing 2 jobs. Sometimes there were some waiting time for simple questions and so on, but once they were interested, they were really helpful and nice. The water temperature control system was very difficult to control. I nearly burnt my skin.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels