HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands

Hostel | 1 Glenaffric Avenue, London, England E14 3BW

82.9% Overall Rating

329 out of 365 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"Very friendly & helpful staff. Nice location for walks along the Thames. There's and nice park and animal farm 3 min. away. Less than 5 min. to DLR which takes you to city center in 20 minutes."

Read all FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.41

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we can not accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. All guests are required to present a valid photo ID at check-in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich
14.96 USD

Hostel 73.4% 270 reviews
Lanterns Court Apartment
56.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Discovery Dock Apartment
58.42 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Seacon Tower Apartment
84.06 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Journeys Greenwich West Hostel
16.59 USD

Hostel 70.5% 197 reviews
New Cross Inn Hostel
20.17 USD

Hostel 68.3% 643 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
23.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 162 reviews
YHA London Thameside
21.86 USD

Hostel 82.4% 170 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

329 out of 365 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 281 of 350 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petra Boogerd

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

18 September 2012 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fine nearby Station and City centre

Disliked: Petra left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wei Jiat Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2012 Wei Jiat would recommend this property

Liked: Superbly value for money. It is hard to get a bed with quite a nice breakfast at such price in London.

Disliked: Insufficient plug in lobby

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, friendly guests, clean rooms. a very nice hostel! i loved the view every night when i went back to the hostel, when you exit the DLR station you get this amazing view of Canary Wharf skyscrapers..

Disliked: i`m not a big fan of 3 level bunk beds..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good stay here. Was pleasantly surprised. The bathroom and shower areas are clean. The lounge near the bar is a great open space to relax. The 12 x bed rooms are very spacious.

Disliked: Not a fan of the 3-level bunk beds. You feel every movement of others. The mattresses are also fairly uncomfortable and have cling wrap on them to protect them (which is quite noisy). Besides the beds though, every thing else is really great.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012

Liked: The staff is really helpful.

Disliked: The three layers beds are not really steady, and there's plastic under the sheets which is noisy in the night. I don't like: 'free secure lockers' but you have to buy a 4£ padlock. The wi-fi is really slow.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet friendly bar

Disliked: no kitchen

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a nice bar. And the staff are really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The location is pretty far from downtown London. Although, great system of travel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pavel zaicev

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2012 pavel would recommend this property

Liked: every time if have a choise I will book Great Eastern Hostel.Very clean and tidy,friendly atmoshere.

Disliked: One huge problem is recharge devaices in a rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere, very friendly

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tak Hung Chan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Tak Hung would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good price, near to Greenwish garden and flea market

Disliked: a bit far from central London

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grant Cahalane

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 July 2012 Grant would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly especially Nathan, I had many documents I needed to scan and email for a job that I was starting and Nathan scanned all the documents and sent them to me straight away. he was very helpful.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Doug Bowron

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Doug would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, chilled out bar, comfortable rooms. In the interesting Docklands area

Disliked: No self catering facilities and I kept sleeping through the 9am finish to breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francisco Javier Garcia Ortiz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Francisco Javier would recommend this property

Liked: Es lo mejor que podrán encontrar por el precios aunque quizás está un poco alejada del centro de la ciudad pero esta dentro de la zona 2 (tampoco encontraran algo barato en el centro), por lo que los pasajes en transporte publico les costará lo más bajo. Si no tienen problema con eso, será una muy agradable estancia y sobre todo podrán disfrutar de un típico lugar londinense.

Disliked: Solo comentarios con la ubicación, un poco lejos y falta cocina pero en general todo bien.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chris Rive

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice place

Disliked: It felt very stayed

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Diana Yukari Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Diana Yukari would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is nice, the bar has a great atmosphere. Beds are good, showers are ok, everything is clean. Breakfast isn't great and is served early in the morning, but it's free!

Disliked: The buiilding is a little old, we couldn't go to the balcony of our room, which would have been nice. The stairs to the third bunk bed made a very lound noise in room number 8. It has small problems, but it's in general really good!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rosemary Carsberg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2012 Rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cheep. Very relaxed. Simple breakfast. Free luggage storage. My second night was much better as i has a small 4 bed room, with much comfier beds. The staff went out of there way to help me even though they did not always get it right.

Disliked: My first night i arrived late at night and they has lost my booking. Luckily the guy behind the desk went out of his way to find room for me. It was a 12 bed dorm, with very unstable looking triple bunks. The bed i slept in was extremely unconformable. I really think they need to invest in some mattress toppers. My second night was much better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Phang

Alone

Business / conference

02 July 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It was well kept, clean, newish

Disliked: The triple bunk beds because I was at the top most bunk!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Kaczor

Alone

Business / conference

02 July 2012 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere on the whole, also that other people from outside could sit in the bar. You could easily jogging along the Thames or go in a few minutes to Greenwich, which is an attractive place.

Disliked: It´s a bit far from Central London. Sticky air in the rooms. Less opportunity for a shower or toilet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

HWANG SUNGJAE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 HWANG would recommend this property

Liked: The faciliates are very good. Especially, lounge is very good !! widely, lots of tables. And room also is clean and comfortabl. Staffs are kind.

Disliked: Wifi is a free, but very slow and we sometimes did not access the internet for long time

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

valerio mascolino

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 June 2012 valerio would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the bathroom, very nice showers. Also nice lounge.

Disliked: No kitchen, staff always busy. My room was without windows we can open so we had to sleep with the door open.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly staff, clean and nice rooms, lockers in the room (bring your own padlock)

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agnessa Shpakova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Agnessa would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice, cosy place with very friendly people, has a luggage room on the first floor

Disliked: if there was kitchen it would be perfect

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing! It was really good to experience care for the guests!

Disliked: The rooms unfortunately are quite crowded (we were 12 in 1room) and the mattresses are not the most comfortable

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Lippiatt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, good location if ure visiting east London, ie, O2, Greenwich or the Olympics. And good pizzas served by the bar.

Disliked: The three tier bunkbeds are abit high and uncomfortable to sleep on plus they are too high and too close to the ceilings, felt like I couldn't move up there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and enviroment, and polite staff

Disliked: I met one anti social behavor on the street around


See all London hostels
See all London hotels