HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands

Hostel | 1 Glenaffric Avenue, London, England E14 3BW

80.0% Overall Rating

359 out of 402 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

kirsty starling@live.com.au thinks…

"For one of the cheapest hostels in london it is actually one of the best too. Very clean, decent sized rooms, free breakfast, CLEAN, good internet. Location is decent, u take the DLR and if ur game u…"

Read all FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we can not accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. All guests are required to present a valid photo ID at check-in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Greenwich
14.89 USD

Hostel 72.8% 277 reviews
Venture Hostel
14.69 USD

Hostel 73.3% 219 reviews
New Cross Inn Hostel
23.16 USD

Hostel 72.1% 648 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
23.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.3% 170 reviews
YHA London Thameside
24.82 USD

Hostel 80.1% 177 reviews
Goddis Lodge
37.23 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 55.8% 11 reviews
Mortham Cottage
51.62 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Cottage 76
60.41 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

359 out of 402 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FRESH @ The Great Eastern, Docklands'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 308 of 385 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 April 2013

Liked: ...

Disliked: Staff were not too helpful, didn't speak good English. There was three toilets and four showers for probably 60-70 people. There was 36 people (max) on my floor and one toilet that was constantly blocked. No easy to access power plugs, no free locker storage. I felt like a chicken in a battery farm

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location.....quiet.....bar facilities

Disliked: very poor selection for breakfast.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, very clean. Right next to Greenwich, which is a nice area to visit. Quiet area of town, though a little out of the way. Chill atmosphere, nice if you are looking to relax, not party.

Disliked: There were no computers, only wifi. No towels for rent, only for sale. Some of the staff could have been a little friendlier, though the rest were lovely. They double booked one of our beds one of the nights, which led to a bit of a fiasco. They need to better their computer records.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no deposit.

Disliked: has no extension cords for electricity, only 2 sockets in a room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

slawomir jedrychowski

Alone

Romantic getaway

19 April 2013

Liked: Close to DLR station. Nice area to walk along the river.

Disliked: The rooms are quite packed up, so not much space for luggage or coats.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gabriela Barros da Rocha Martins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: All areas of the hostel were cleaned often. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good, for a hostel: toast, jam, butter, peanut butter, cereal, tea, milk and coffee.

Disliked: Is a bit far from central london. The wifi did not reach the third floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Li-Yung Chen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Li-Yung would recommend this property

Liked: Sweet price and location. I will stay at the Great Eastern next time in London.

Disliked: Li-Yung left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah-Jane Law

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 April 2013 Sarah-Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Had a lovely pizza in the bar.

Disliked: Sarah-Jane left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bed, basic breakfast, alright bathroom. Good for 1-2 day stay. One of the cheaper decent place to stay in london. Lewisham is a good place for high street and mall shopping if you want something different from the city.

Disliked: Too few bathroom cubicle. Location is too far from city centre (30 mins via tube), but thus the cheap price. Recommend to pay the extra £2 for 6bed room instead of 15 as there is more space. I didn't like the high bunk bed in the 15 pax room (i was on top, 3 bed in 1 column) it was really hard to get on the bed and the steps was painful to climb. Have to pay for locker unless you bring your own locks. Small locks doesn't work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mel Moore-Hart

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2013 Mel would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely brilliant staff and love the beers. Gotta try out the chef. His food is absolutely gorgeous. Thank you to Fran, Dave, Alicia, Carolina, Jenny, Susan, Alex, Gio, Lorenzo, Simone and chef

Disliked: Nothing, loved it all

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice pub and clean rooms.

Disliked: no living area nor self catering facilities

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff and the breakfest! Really nice

Disliked: Is very far away from the center! We lost about 30 minutes to get to the station where we can connect to other tubes of London. Also, we ordered a room only for girls and we received a mixed one. Another bad point is that there is no bathroom for women and men, is everybody together... this has to be advised before!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leslie Sastre Asuncion

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Leslie would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a safe area. The staff were really nice and helpful.

Disliked: It was located a little far from London central.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - easy access to city on DLR just remember if you intend to leave London late then check timimngs of last tube/DLR otherwise you have to get night buses - not good!

Disliked: Contrary to what is said is reviews cleanliness is not great - the bathrooms have lots of guests using them and the sink and shower plugs drain very slowly. This is due to hair build-up of which i have removed clumps! A bucket of disinfectant and a cloth - daily - and some bleach down the plugholes - daily - would not go a miss.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Dr. A Moosani.

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Dr. A would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and comfort, facilities and services on offer, and safety and security.

Disliked: At times, the rude and unfriendly service of staff members, low level of cleanliness (tables at the bar and lounge were most of the time dirty!!), and the pizza with little or no proper toppings.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 March 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The bed is terrible...my bed is on the third floor bed, too high, very inconvenience.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ingrid White

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 March 2013 Ingrid would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the property and especially the bathrooms and showers were exceptionally clean. I also liked the no-key policy as it made you feel as if the people in the room were probably only the ones who booked the hostel. I also liked the fact that it wasn't entirely pay in advance which gave me an out in case I didn't like the property. The bar also had a cool mix of locals and visitors so you felt more part of the community of Isle of the Dogs.

Disliked: Some of the common areas smelt like a pub, but that is par for the course in a hostel I suppose.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ali Khan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 March 2013

Liked: Cheap price - probably reflects being so far from central London. Cleanliness good, showers hot, radiators hot. Most of the staff manage working in the bar AND running the hostel with good grace.

Disliked: One the second day staff member Carolina hissed out of the side of her mouth "You must go back if you want to have that" and gestured at my bottle of water. I replied "Excuse me?" She repeated "way back - NOT here". I had seen quite a few people eating the previous day and thought it was OK in the common room. Two nights later I see TWO different people tucking away into their own food and despite one being less than a metre from her position she seems OK with it. I go up to her to saying "what is wrong with this picture?" and point out the discrepancy to which she claims not to have noticed and proceeds to politely inform these guests of the apparent hostel policy whilst actually giving them the courtesy of looking them in the eye. I had to chuckle when I saw her giving an African man a hard time when she was on the hostel desk later - I guess I know what her malfunction is. The strange thing is I am noticeably paler than this supposed Spanish(?) female. I believe one should leave their personal prejudices at home when working in customer oriented fields. The rest of the men & women working here seemed decent folk and free of racial bigotry.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan cashmore

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 March 2013 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: great location for a quiet nights sleep and handy for seeing an event at the o2 arena.

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Preston Peardon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2013 Preston would recommend this property

Liked: new, clean, nice environment

Disliked: shower was broken so difficult to operate.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sensational price, excellent conditions

Disliked: sensational price, excellent conditions

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberly Howlett

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 March 2013 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: Very chilled out place. Nice bar/pub area.

Disliked: When i came to check in i had to wait a while. Not a problem but whilst waiting the staff didn't acknowledge me to let me know that they will be with me in a few minutes. Other than that they were helpful on local amenities.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything, but the best thing is the good ambience in the lounge, the karaoke and the attention of the staff. And the pizza is awesome.

Disliked: The size of the lockers, they are very small, even my backpack doesn't fit in there. And you could make a traditional breakfast once a week, it would be great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 March 2013

Liked: The staff is very friendly and the lounge room is great, also they have a good breakfast for the price you pay. Bathrooms are VERY clean.

Disliked: The main reason I would not recomend this hostel is because of the matresses. Mine was over used and the springs would literally poke you and it was painfull to lay in any position. Also, they have no place to put your luggage so everybodys bags are spread around the room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar was nice and not too expensive, food wasn't bad, and the interior had a pretty nice look to it. Overall it was a good experience.

Disliked: Extremely loud, quite a ways from most things, and had strange and strict rules about outside food and drink (including a ban on bottled water.)


See all London hostels
See all London hotels