HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Home London London Hostel

54-58 Caledonian Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 65%

Location 86%

Safety 74%

Staff 81%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred.

Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be charged in full within two days of booking.

Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be non-refundable.

Group bookings policies: For bookings of 6 people or more, different rates and conditions apply than advertised on the website. 50% of the total will be charged at any time after the booking and it will be non-refundable in case of cancellation. The remaining 50% will be charged 2 weeks prior to arrival. Any bookings for 15 people or more, must be booked through the hostel's group department. A security deposit of £250 is required upon arrival for incidentals. This deposit is fully refundable upon check-out and subject to a damage inspection of the accommodation.

There is a charge of 50p for card payments under £10.

All guests are required to show a valid ID upon check-in, along with the credit card used when booking. Passports, drivers’ licences, and national identity cards are accepted as ID. The property will not accept reservations where the credit card does not match or the guest does not have ID.

The property only accepts guests aged 18 years and older. Exceptions made for a 16 and 17 year old travelling with a parent or legal guardian. Please note that this hostel is not recommended for elderly guests.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 65%

Location 86%

Safety 74%

Staff 81%

Value 70%

Showing 1-10 of 75 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The blanket was so soft, and the pillow fluffy too, the sheets felt fresh, and well I slept just right!

Disliked: Well it is a hostel, which is reflected in the price. for the money I spent in central London, I am super satisfied.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The staff were really friendly and they had a nice breakfast.

Disliked: I had to walk through the kitchen to get to the showers.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Good location and friendly people

Disliked: Cramped room

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating


04 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The breakfast was Ok

Disliked: The kitchen was in the basement, so be there was to hot.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: .

Disliked: .

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Staff were really friendly, and good wi fi. and free breakfast.

Disliked: the height of the bunks- I kept banging my head. bunks were 3 in a column.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The friendliness of the reception staff

Disliked: Miserable conditions for a dorm stay, ultra packed, rooms without real windows, it looks more like a cave for storing boxes or beers rather than a "room" for humans. Super tiny bed place, you better be short and fit. Kitchen smells grilled bacon continuosly, disgusting. Dozens of doors and every meters, narrow corridors, prison feeling. Showers without any possibility to chose the temperature, only one button for on/off. Looks like a money factory for the owners to suck your cash and offer the less possible


The property's response is

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at our hostel. We are aware that the rooms can feel a little cramped at times, but in order to keep our prices so low, especially considering our fantastic location, we have to do the best we can with the space we have.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Staff were friendly and respectful.bathrooms were clean

Disliked: Kitchen average clean.shower rooms had no locks on door

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi George,
thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try our best to keep the hostel as clean as possible by having cleaning staff on throughout the day, a housekeeper working in the evening and by doing regular building checks when the cleaners aren't here to clean up any mess. If you see anything that needs attention next time, that we may have missed then please come and see us at reception and we'll try and fix the problem straight away

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Not clean, noisy and crowded.


The property's response is

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
In order for you to enjoy our cheap prices we need to make the most of the little space we have therefore there is not too much space in the rooms. We clean our rooms every day, unfortunately we are not able to control messy guests.
We try to keep the noise as limited as possible. The kitchen and lounge closes at 2AM. Unfortunately a bit of noise is what to expect when living in a hostel.

Check Availability