We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Journeys King's Cross

Hostel | 54-58 Caledonian Road, Kings Cross, London, England N1 9DB

65.7% Overall Rating

462 out of 646 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/08/2014)

"Friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast, minimum noise, strategic location, near to Tesco."

Read all Journeys King's Cross reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred. Groups from 6 people to 14 people: All group bookings of over 6 people must agree to group rules and provide a damage deposit of £250 on check in Groups 15 people Plus: Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Visitjourneys Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice. A small charge may be payable for payments by credit or debit card at site.The charge is 50p for a card payment. Please note that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult on site at all times and are not permitted in the shared rooms. Minimum age onsite is 12 all bookings below this age will be cancelled. In keeping with the youth atmosphere guests are requested to book only private rooms if they are older than 35 otherwise bookings maybe cancelled. All cancelled bookings at site due to age infringements will have the first nights accommodation charged. Accommodation is for genuine backpackers ROAR.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Keystone Hostel
47.22 USD

Hostel 85.3% 37 reviews
Kings Cross Apartment
84.51 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Elmwood Hotel
52.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 22 reviews
Clink261
36.64 USD

Hostel 79.3% 952 reviews
Dinwiddy House
76.80 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Fairway Hotel
51.70 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
KIngs Cross Guesthouse
30.53 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Clink78
21.17 USD

Hostel 85.0% 3999 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

462 out of 646 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journeys King's Cross'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
73.6%
Value
59.2%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 437 of 604 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Yulia PETROVA

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 September 2014

Liked: It's dirty and unfriendly hostel

Disliked: Yulia left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014

Liked: The curtains on the bunks, nothing more.

Disliked: It smelled musty/old, the bathrooms had their own unique funky smell, common areas were unkempt and dingy, breakfast was terrible and lacking in healthy (if any) options, water in showers were more like a tap than an actual shower spray, rooms were bright and noisy from street lights and noise.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

adam bishop

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 August 2014

Liked: Free breakfast, reasonable location, not terrible price

Disliked: Felt like a dungeon, room was to small and stacked with 3 tier bunk bed, I got the top bunk with a skylight directly above me that had no shade on it or anything so I sun shining on me by 6 in the morning

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast, minimum noise, strategic location, near to Tesco.

Disliked: The room was hot- needs a better ventilation and the lowest bunk bed was so small for me, I am only 5ft3, I could not sit properly on the bed, so I had to hunch or lie down all the time.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 August 2014

Liked: Curtains on beds

Disliked: Chlostrophobic, too cramped. Super loud party hostel, cigarette smoke flooded rooms from the smoking corner.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Irene Arrata

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2014 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean and simple. I didn't stay long enough to enjoy the common areas but I saw there is a very nice living room and kitchen.

Disliked: The walls are thin and our neighbours made quite a fuss in the early morning. The room I had gave on the streets that was quite noisy as well.

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dirty, showers did not work properly, very little space in rooms, uncomfortable mattress, damp smell in kitchen and luggage room

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

LEROY KAYE

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 July 2014 LEROY would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the beds . They had curtains around the beds so there was a lot of privacy

Disliked: it was noisy sometimes

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place for meeting people from different countries, good location (near kings cross, supermarket across the street), you could use the kitchen with a fridge

Disliked: Our room was not big enough for the six people staying in there and there was not enough space to keep our suitcases, sometimes there was very loud music

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kaja Kocjan

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 July 2014

Liked: Staff. Nothing more.

Disliked: Kaja left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reception staff were friendly. The bedding was surprisingly comfy (decent pillow and duvet). The location was good and everything felt secure. The place had a nice atmosphere, obviously popular with young travellers from around the world.

Disliked: I'm not sure how safe bunk beds of three really are, I felt a bit wary being in the bottom bunk when it creaked. Some people were quite noisy late and night and then again early, so I only got about 4 hours sleep in the dorm. The breakfast was only toast foodwise. You also have to pay £5 for a secure locker.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mats Volberg

Alone

Business / conference

14 July 2014

Liked: It was close to King's Cross station so that was good.

Disliked: It was very claustrophobic. The rooms very small and the hallways very narrow. And I do not think I have ever stayed in a room with so many people per square meter. There were 3 bunk beds all with 3 levels and barely enough room for 9 people to stand on the floor.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rodolfo Sousa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

13 July 2014 Rodolfo would recommend this property

Liked: the mural on the wall

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael McCallum

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 July 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and well run. Made me feel very welcome

Disliked: I felt that the lockers/towels were a bit over priced

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

09 July 2014

Liked: It s close to Kings' Cross and UCL

Disliked: EVERYTHING

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap rate for the night in a good location.

Disliked: Rooms very small almost claustrophobic, the hostel in general was very small. The kitchen is far too small and some of the fridges were out of order. Showers in poor condition, worked but could certainly do with replacing and modernizing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Smith Gordon

Alone

City break

25 June 2014 Smith would recommend this property

Liked: location is good for London and Rail connections

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a hostel in which you can easily meet new friends. There are many young people and common areas are surrounded by a festive atmosphere. You are allowed to use a little kitchen to cook.

Disliked: Is not a property specially cosy. If you want a cheap accommodation at a reasonable price this will be a good choice. Our room was tiny, very humid and noisy, but the bed was clean. Walls and windows are very thin, so the rooms are cold (despite the central heating) and you can listen perfectly to what was happening in other rooms and in the street. Nevertheless, if you are not very demanding and are looking for a cheap and centric location for 1-2 nights, this is a good choice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members were willing to help, cool, and funny as hell. Bedrooms, bathrooms, and kitchen were all clean. Location was convenient as long as you're willing to figure out the tube and the place felt pretty secure. Also free breakfast and a kitchen that's actually usable which is great in super expensive London! All over awesome place :)

Disliked: Limited access to toilets and bathroom sinks with mirrors but they're clean and functional so as long as you're willing to play nice with your fellow travelers it's really not a problem.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadjesda Verbanck

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

10 April 2014 Nadjesda would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel

Disliked: Loud guests

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 March 2014

Liked: Easy to get to. Security codes on doors is a good system over keys. Curtains around beds good.

Disliked: No hot water in the showers!! Really really noisey at night, echoing doors slamming, people talking, yelling thoughout the hostel can be heard even with earplugs in! My room seemed to be near some sort of generated so there was an unpleasant humming noise that went constantly and you could feel as you tried to sleep! Definitely not somewhere you want to stay if you want a good nights sleep!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location near the station..

Disliked: I didnt like its Cleanliness.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014

Liked: I liked the communal lounge and living room, it had a chilled out atmosphere and had lots of books and dvds for use if/when required.

Disliked: The private room booked didn't look the same as it did on the website. The room was cold, dank and lifeless. It served its purpose as a room to sleep in but other than that it wasnt great. The showers had no pressure and were cold.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value. Excellent location close to a major station and underground, Tesco metro right down the street for all your shopping needs, lots of reasonable ethnic restaurants right around (indian, chinese, thai, italian). Reasonably clean for the price. Free Wifi, breakfast was a great added value. I had linens waiting for me on my bed even though I had thought they would be extra cost.

Disliked: Can be quite busy and a lively atmosphere (noisey) so those who don't want that sort of environment should look elsewhere.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Wifi


See all London hostels
See all London hotels