HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Journeys King's Cross Hostel London Hostel

54-58 Caledonian Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 64%

Location 87%

Safety 74%

Staff 79%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred.

Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be charged in full within two days of booking.

Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be non-refundable.

All group bookings of 6-14 people must pay 50% non-refundable deposit within 24 hours of reservation or reservation will be cancelled. Groups of 15 people plus must pay the whole balance in advance. A £250 security deposit is payable upon arrival and it is refunded after check-out in absence of any damage to the property.

There is a charge of 50p for card payments under £10.

All guests are required to show a valid ID upon check-in, along with the credit card used when booking. Passports, drivers’ licences, and national identity cards are accepted as ID. The property will not accept reservations where the credit card does not match or the guest does not have ID.

The property only accepts guests aged 18 years and older. Exceptions made for a 16 and 17 year old travelling with a parent or legal guardian. Please note that this hostel is not recommended for elderly guests.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 64%

Location 87%

Safety 74%

Staff 79%

Value 69%

Showing 1-10 of 91 reviews

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: .

Disliked: .

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Staff were really friendly, and good wi fi. and free breakfast.

Disliked: the height of the bunks- I kept banging my head. bunks were 3 in a column.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The friendliness of the reception staff

Disliked: Miserable conditions for a dorm stay, ultra packed, rooms without real windows, it looks more like a cave for storing boxes or beers rather than a "room" for humans. Super tiny bed place, you better be short and fit. Kitchen smells grilled bacon continuosly, disgusting. Dozens of doors and every meters, narrow corridors, prison feeling. Showers without any possibility to chose the temperature, only one button for on/off. Looks like a money factory for the owners to suck your cash and offer the less possible


The property's response is

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at our hostel. We are aware that the rooms can feel a little cramped at times, but in order to keep our prices so low, especially considering our fantastic location, we have to do the best we can with the space we have.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Staff were friendly and respectful.bathrooms were clean

Disliked: Kitchen average clean.shower rooms had no locks on door

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi George,
thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try our best to keep the hostel as clean as possible by having cleaning staff on throughout the day, a housekeeper working in the evening and by doing regular building checks when the cleaners aren't here to clean up any mess. If you see anything that needs attention next time, that we may have missed then please come and see us at reception and we'll try and fix the problem straight away

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Not clean, noisy and crowded.


The property's response is

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
In order for you to enjoy our cheap prices we need to make the most of the little space we have therefore there is not too much space in the rooms. We clean our rooms every day, unfortunately we are not able to control messy guests.
We try to keep the noise as limited as possible. The kitchen and lounge closes at 2AM. Unfortunately a bit of noise is what to expect when living in a hostel.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: You have to pay to have a locker; the common areas are very small and not very comfortable.


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at our hostel. We try to do the best with the space we have. We do have quite a large kitchen/dining area downstairs, along with a separate lounge room with TV, games and Xbox to hire.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice staff, good location, free wifi. In double rooms you get plenty of sockets, tv, desk mirror and chair and a kettle and cups. I think these bonuses (apart from sockets) are only available in private rooms, if you want privacy and don't like sharing but have a smaller budget definitely go for a private room, it makes the Hostel experience at little easier on those who aren't so keen on the idea.

Disliked: Very little privacy, especially in showers where there is no proper changing facilities. Not particularly clean, everything was old and worn, I stripped beds on leaving and the duvet and mattress were both dirty with stains one very obviously being blood, just because you put a cover over it doesn't make it okay, it's still unsanitary. Doors have gaps at top of frame so you can hear people in corridor. Not enough showers (3 in women's) and certainly not enough bathrooms, there is a unisex shower and bathroom but I didn't bother with those, hopefully there's more privacy but I can't say for sure myself. The place is just too small to accommodate so many people, lack of space means they have had to sacrifice better facilities, but lack of privacy and space in shower changing area is really an issue.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great place to stay for a few days, cozy, very clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: It's quite small, but if you don't need lots of space, it's perfect.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Great atmosphere, electric socket in each bed, good wifi

Disliked: No place to put my luggage other than the floor.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability