We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Journeys King's Cross

Hostel | 54-58 Caledonian Road, Kings Cross, London, England N1 9DB

75.9% Overall Rating

489 out of 683 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2015)

"I like that we had a code to the main door and our room, he could go back anytime we wanted, even if it was very late. Also I liked that we could leave our stuff in a locker, and a free breakfast was also very nice,…"

Read all Journeys King's Cross reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred. Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be charged in full within two days of booking. Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be non-refundable. All group bookings of 6-14 people must pay 50% non-refundable deposit within 24 hours of reservation or reservation will be cancelled. Groups of 15 people plus must pay the whole balance in advance. A £250 security deposit is payable upon arrival and it is refunded after check-out in absence of any damage to the property. There is a charge of 50p for card payments under £10. All guests are required to show a valid ID upon check-in, along with the credit card used when booking. Passports, drivers’ licences, and national identity cards are accepted as ID. The property will not accept reservations where the credit card does not match or the guest does not have ID. The property only accepts guests aged between 18-35 unless agreed in advance by email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Keystone Hostel
31.24 USD

Hostel 75.2% 63 reviews
Elmwood Hotel
41.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 29 reviews
Clink261
20.30 USD

Hostel 84.5% 973 reviews
Dinwiddy House
73.65 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Fairway Hotel
46.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.9% 6 reviews
KIngs Cross Guesthouse
27.33 USD

Guesthouse 57.6% 6 reviews
Clink78
23.43 USD

Hostel 75.8% 4121 reviews
YHA London St Pancras
23.07 USD

Hostel 87.0% 479 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.9%

Overall Rating

489 out of 683 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journeys King's Cross'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
76.0%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 462 of 641 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2015

Liked: Very central location.

Disliked: All public areas were narrow and one felt rather claustrophobic. Kitchen was dirty. Our room was way too hot (stayed in late August), because of that we had to keep the window open which made the noise from the street unbearable. The people in our dorm were very inconisiderate of others (making noice, turning on light in the midle of the night etc). Overall a terrible stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like that we had a code to the main door and our room, he could go back anytime we wanted, even if it was very late. Also I liked that we could leave our stuff in a locker, and a free breakfast was also very nice, overall I am happy with my stay.

Disliked: Maybe that there were loads of beds in one room, didn't felt 100% safe, but at the end everything was good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing and besides that the staff are very friendly

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

YENA KU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 August 2015

Liked: location

Disliked: facilities

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and very helpful staff

Disliked: There was just one bathroom at my level

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2015

Liked: Very cheap, friendly stuff.

Disliked: Tiny, dirty rooms. Nearly light. Atmosphere wasn't mine.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, pretty convenient location and quite secure.

Disliked: It was quite cramped in the mixed dorm, and it was a bit inconvenient using the shared bathrooms as they are locked overnight.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 June 2015

Liked: Free breakfast. Power point by the bed

Disliked: More rules than a prison.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luciano Leopardi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2015 Luciano would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and great for traveling few days

Disliked: nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

George Smith

Alone

Business / conference

21 June 2015

Liked: It had a nice entrance hall

Disliked: The receptionist, Carl (20-22 year old estimate, long hair, skinny) was extremely rude toward me when i said i didnt have a passport or driving licence to go with my booking. I did plead with him and tried showing my railcard, glastonbury ticket, student id and several bank cards to identify me but he told me it was in the terms and conditions of the booking. He had no communication skills or sympathy whatsoever and i found it very hard to keep calm as it seemed like he enjoyed the experience. I would strongly recommend staying here as his customer service skills are that of a teenager working in his first job and gaining a small amount of power of the budget customer.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Roxanne Dykstra

Alone

Events / festivals

20 June 2015 Roxanne would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, staff were helpful.

Disliked: Not super clean, there were only men in the 'mixed dorm' (I'm a woman so I would have prefered an actual mixed dorm) smoking downstairs, but sheets seemed clean which is the main thing!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very great atmosphere and location. The hostel is cute and cramped, but a great place to stay for a night or a month. Its very secure which is nice.

Disliked: The rooms are packed to the brim with beds. You literally couldn't fit anymore people inside, but its really not bad, especially if you're just there to sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2015 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for the money. It is quite close to Kings Cross which makes the rest of the city easily accessible. The rooms themselves are locked with a code, and there are lockers for hire in the basement. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beds are comfortable and clean, and have curtains on each bed as well as your own light and outlet. The kitchen is clean, the bathrooms and showers are clean and had hot water and good water pressure.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laurenz Langer

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 May 2015 Laurenz would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere; great location. Nice beds and privacy ensured even in 17-doorm!

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

PEI CHUN KAO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2015 PEI CHUN would recommend this property

Liked: great breakast

Disliked: there should be trash can in the shower room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived at 2 am and the was somebody at the reception. Usualy you hav to call, an wait.Light, power socket and curtains at each bed

Disliked: Too little privacy in the showers. Kitchen- you have to wash plates and cups after yourself. I think it should be done by dshwasher- good hygene practice.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mario Šimunovi?

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2015 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in great location, the rooms are ok, facilities ,toilets.kitchen cleaned every day,good breakfirst,nice staff, great atmosphere...great value for money,would recommend and come back again ;)

Disliked: Rooms and other areas are small, they dont have free bag lockers, sometimes they lock toilets early in the morning on ground floor so we had to go upstairs...

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julio Miranda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2015 Julio would recommend this property

Liked: Close to King's Cross-St. Pancras statiions. All kind of handy services and shops in the area.

Disliked: Julio left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best pillow in a london hostel hardlyneeded my coat for a boost.

Disliked: small complaint they were cleaning the bathrooms at 715 which is peak time but they were clean thats the main thing bravo

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra quinn

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

09 March 2015 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Would like to thank the hostle! As me and my bestfriend had an amazing time, meeting the staff and other travelers!!. Especially to krew (sorry if that's spelt wrong). As he was the first one to greet us, and had breakfast with us every morning :). I enjoyed the whole vibe of the hostle, plenty of people to meet. Plenty of choice for breakfast, bathrooms are clean and tidy, and loved how you felt you were in your own little world in your bunk. Will definatly return the next time as it was easy to get to and around London. Tescos was right across the road, as for some lovely bars. Thankyou once more, take care!!!

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lavakusa Reddy Tamma

With a large group / tour

City break

02 March 2015 Lavakusa Reddy would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the king cross station easy to get in. Local pubs nearby and tesco nearby very helpful staff.

Disliked: should have got personal lockers to keep valuables

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jeffery Hai Duong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2015 Jeffery Hai would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect. A lot of buses and kings cross tube station/ national rail service is within 2-3min walk. Has a Tesco ( supermarket) right across the place.

Disliked: Can't really think of much, but be sure to get a room that has a sky window. - bring ear plugs too as it can be a bit loud sometimes.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sabine Bellstedt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: Every bed had a light and powerpoint, which was super cool. The doors were all coded, so you didn't have to carry a key around with you everywhere. Breakfast every morning was a great deal, and the people are very friendly and quick to welcome new guests!

Disliked: The spaces were quite small and cramped, and the laundry was super expensive (one load required 6 quid). Apart from that, everything was great.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandria Schonefeld

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2015 Alexandria would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great. Only met friendly people including guests and staff. Felt a bit like a small temporary family. Absolutely loved it

Disliked: Very Small hallways, kitchen, dorms! Showers were annoying you kept having to turn them on! But still value for money, would definitely recommend it!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dickson Ng

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 January 2015

Liked: Cheap and great location.

Disliked: Rooms are too small and crowded.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels