HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Journeys King's Cross Hostel London

Hostel

54-58 Caledonian Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 68%

Location 88%

Safety 75%

Staff 82%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred.

Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be charged in full within two days of booking.

Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be non-refundable.

All group bookings of 6-14 people must pay 50% non-refundable deposit within 24 hours of reservation or reservation will be cancelled. Groups of 15 people plus must pay the whole balance in advance. A £250 security deposit is payable upon arrival and it is refunded after check-out in absence of any damage to the property.

There is a charge of 50p for card payments under £10.

All guests are required to show a valid ID upon check-in, along with the credit card used when booking. Passports, drivers’ licences, and national identity cards are accepted as ID. The property will not accept reservations where the credit card does not match or the guest does not have ID.

The property only accepts guests aged between 18-35 unless agreed in advance by email.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 68%

Location 88%

Safety 75%

Staff 82%

Value 73%

Showing 1-10 of 110 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:

Liked: Staff were friendly and respectful.bathrooms were clean

Disliked: Kitchen average clean.shower rooms had no locks on door

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi George,
thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try our best to keep the hostel as clean as possible by having cleaning staff on throughout the day, a housekeeper working in the evening and by doing regular building checks when the cleaners aren't here to clean up any mess. If you see anything that needs attention next time, that we may have missed then please come and see us at reception and we'll try and fix the problem straight away

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Not clean, noisy and crowded.


The property's response is

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
In order for you to enjoy our cheap prices we need to make the most of the little space we have therefore there is not too much space in the rooms. We clean our rooms every day, unfortunately we are not able to control messy guests.
We try to keep the noise as limited as possible. The kitchen and lounge closes at 2AM. Unfortunately a bit of noise is what to expect when living in a hostel.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: You have to pay to have a locker; the common areas are very small and not very comfortable.


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at our hostel. We try to do the best with the space we have. We do have quite a large kitchen/dining area downstairs, along with a separate lounge room with TV, games and Xbox to hire.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice staff, good location, free wifi. In double rooms you get plenty of sockets, tv, desk mirror and chair and a kettle and cups. I think these bonuses (apart from sockets) are only available in private rooms, if you want privacy and don't like sharing but have a smaller budget definitely go for a private room, it makes the Hostel experience at little easier on those who aren't so keen on the idea.

Disliked: Very little privacy, especially in showers where there is no proper changing facilities. Not particularly clean, everything was old and worn, I stripped beds on leaving and the duvet and mattress were both dirty with stains one very obviously being blood, just because you put a cover over it doesn't make it okay, it's still unsanitary. Doors have gaps at top of frame so you can hear people in corridor. Not enough showers (3 in women's) and certainly not enough bathrooms, there is a unisex shower and bathroom but I didn't bother with those, hopefully there's more privacy but I can't say for sure myself. The place is just too small to accommodate so many people, lack of space means they have had to sacrifice better facilities, but lack of privacy and space in shower changing area is really an issue.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great place to stay for a few days, cozy, very clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: It's quite small, but if you don't need lots of space, it's perfect.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Great atmosphere, electric socket in each bed, good wifi

Disliked: No place to put my luggage other than the floor.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Wifi didn't work properly, rooms are very tiny, bed wasn't clean


The property's response is

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Unfortunately this is an older building with some smaller rooms, but we do try to do the best with the space we have. Our apologies about the internet not working properly during your stay. When this happens we always try and fix the problem as fast as possible. Also, if you have any problems at all with the rooms, especially the cleanliness, please feel free to come to reception and see us so we can sort the problem out as fast as possible

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great central location.

Disliked: Although the hostel is cheap, for just a little more per night you can a lot more in London with still great locations. Upon checkout the staff were great but afterwards they weren't too great. The rooms are very cramped, which to be fair probably comes with such a central location.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and the friendly environment. People are kind to you and that matters.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability