We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Golden Star Hotel

Hostel | 75 warwick way, Victoria, London, England sw1v 1sd

50.3% Overall Rating

59 out of 212 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/02/2015)

"Safe and secure and also a good value for money would recommend to anyone who wants a cheap short break to london."

Read all Golden Star Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Surtees Hotel
39.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.8% 3 reviews
Blair Victoria & Tudor Inn
34.68 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.7% 25 reviews
Vegas Hotel
43.48 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.2% 31 reviews
Hanover Hotel
44.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 69 reviews
Caswell Hotel
32.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 10 reviews
Grapevine Hotel
28.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.4% 346 reviews
Comfort Inn Westminster
78.78 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
743.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
50.3%

Overall Rating

59 out of 212 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Golden Star Hotel'

Atmosphere
44.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
35.2%
Cleanliness
36.0%
Staff
59.2%
Value
46.4%
Safety
47.2%
Refine your results Showing 108 of 201 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

earl taylor

Alone

Business / conference

13 March 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything - Im now off to get some antibiotics after that stay!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure and also a good value for money would recommend to anyone who wants a cheap short break to london.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

10 February 2015

Liked: The location. The bed was a double bed and comfortable.

Disliked: The property describe itself like a hight quality hotel and really it is a Hostel. It is dirty and smell funny. My room have only one towel for two persons. They offer shampoo and there was only a small piece of soap. The room was so small for two persons. It is so expensive for the quality that they offer.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Katarzyna Chudyk

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Work / volunteering

05 February 2015

Liked: The personel was very friendly and so kind for us. :)

Disliked: But room looks ugly...Bathroom was very dirty. i think nobody cleans this place. And in room was soo cold at night. We were cold- hiter doesnt work. We never come back.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Pavol Ilko

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2015 Pavol would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest hotel what I have found. There was really cold in room, heating was not working vary well. Shower with toilet was only 2m^2. Doors to shower couldn't be closed. Lock on room wss not really lock, just key was used like a handle

Disliked: - heating - security

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good service

Disliked: Clean not

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2015

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: NO HEATING AT NIGHT FREEZING NO EXTRA QUILTS OR COVERS. if you are gonna sleep choose some other hotel

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Polina Shakhanova

Alone

Business / conference

23 January 2015 Polina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, and prices as well. Amazing value for money!

Disliked: Some of the staff members couldn't speak good English, and the reception is not 24 hours.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

21 January 2015

Liked: Nothing,only the position,,near Victoria Station

Disliked: everything

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Geoff Bowers

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 December 2014

Liked: Absolutely nothing!

Disliked: On arrival there was no one at the property. I had to call to get someone there. A dishevelled man in a beanie took my details and debit card and asked if I wanted to "round it up" . I refused. The room was cold. Heating not worked at all during my stay. The window didnt close. I had to pack with paper and tape the curtain round to stop freezing draught. Water was dripping from the light in toilet which didnt work. I was given a plug in lamp to stand inside next to shower. There were rentokil rodent traps around the room. The bedding was appalling.No soap or shower gel. The towels smelled and were like sandpaper. I could go on forever. ...all in all a disaster!!! Also this is described as an hotel not a hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadezhda Bulatova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2014 Nadezhda would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: Rooms standard below par, breakfast was inedible, reception was just a bedside table with a small chair placed near the door. The registration form was a piece of scrap paper that the guy wrote out the headings on hurriedly and he seemed genuinely uninterested that we were there.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Room was dirty. Shower was blocked and no proper running water.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 August 2014

Liked: The location was central enough

Disliked: Poorly decorated in the form of half painted Woodford and patched up walls. Bedding smelled old and musty and the headboard was held up by a single piece of wood

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location Brilliant manager

Disliked: Could have been cleaner

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

henrik haraldsson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 August 2014

Liked: Nothing it was so terrible I can't find words for it !!!

Disliked: henrik left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping

18 August 2014

Liked: Only the location.

Disliked: There is no reception at all. It is a weird place. The room was real small for two and the bathroom not so clean. The beds were not clean either. The breakfast was terrible (no choice between coffee and tea..). The person brought the breakfast an hour earlier that the time we asked !! NOT COOL AT ALL. We were still sleeping. This is not a very welcoming place and I would never recommand it. Stay away from it.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

07 August 2014

Liked: Absolutely nothing at all.

Disliked: See above: "It was not a pleasant visit at all, I visited with my partner and it was so awful that we could not sleep all night and ended up leaving and staying somewhere else. The room was filled with an awful sewage smell and was grubby and dirty (bed sheets didn't look clean either). Extremely basic. Horrible loud noise from above our room. Not to mention the fact that the door front AND bathroom door were hanging off. I have stayed in much, much nicer places for this price. If I had to describe it in one word: yuck!"

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Cilla Beattie

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Read what I've written above plus the front door was regularly left open and there was no reception for internet upstairs.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Nearly all aspects. The room we were given was a damp underground hole.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cassandra Hunter

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to everything

Disliked: Room noisey and windows didn't close

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location close to Victoria

Disliked: We were got breakfast, but no choice of coffee or tea.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff (one manager rather) was friendly and provider items quickly when asked for them, location is great, and it was affordable. Minimal amenities but just enough to be comfortable.

Disliked: The rooms are much smaller than pictured, no fan or central air, and a little smelly in second room. It could just use a few updates.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Shower v weak and room we booked not available

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

ANASTASIA PERDIKA

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 July 2014

Liked: Awful

Disliked: All the bad things were in this hotel


See all London hostels
See all London hotels