HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Golden Star Hotel

Hostel | 75 warwick way, Victoria, London, England sw1v 1sd

52.3% Overall Rating

54 out of 190 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

"The staff (one manager rather) was friendly and provider items quickly when asked for them, location is great, and it was affordable. Minimal amenities but just enough to be comfortable."

Read all Golden Star Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Surtees Hotel
43.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.8% 3 reviews
Blair Victoria & Tudor Inn
44.35 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.7% 25 reviews
Vegas Hotel
47.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.2% 30 reviews
Hanover Hotel
52.74 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 68 reviews
Caswell Hotel
47.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 8 reviews
Grapevine Hotel
55.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.6% 345 reviews
Comfort Inn Westminster
86.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
72.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.3%

Overall Rating

54 out of 190 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Golden Star Hotel'

Atmosphere
44.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
36.8%
Cleanliness
43.2%
Staff
57.6%
Value
48.0%
Safety
52.0%
Refine your results Showing 98 of 180 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadezhda Bulatova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2014 Nadezhda would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: Rooms standard below par, breakfast was inedible, reception was just a bedside table with a small chair placed near the door. The registration form was a piece of scrap paper that the guy wrote out the headings on hurriedly and he seemed genuinely uninterested that we were there.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Room was dirty. Shower was blocked and no proper running water.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 August 2014

Liked: The location was central enough

Disliked: Poorly decorated in the form of half painted Woodford and patched up walls. Bedding smelled old and musty and the headboard was held up by a single piece of wood

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location Brilliant manager

Disliked: Could have been cleaner

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

henrik haraldsson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 August 2014

Liked: Nothing it was so terrible I can't find words for it !!!

Disliked: henrik left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping

18 August 2014

Liked: Only the location.

Disliked: There is no reception at all. It is a weird place. The room was real small for two and the bathroom not so clean. The beds were not clean either. The breakfast was terrible (no choice between coffee and tea..). The person brought the breakfast an hour earlier that the time we asked !! NOT COOL AT ALL. We were still sleeping. This is not a very welcoming place and I would never recommand it. Stay away from it.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

07 August 2014

Liked: Absolutely nothing at all.

Disliked: See above: "It was not a pleasant visit at all, I visited with my partner and it was so awful that we could not sleep all night and ended up leaving and staying somewhere else. The room was filled with an awful sewage smell and was grubby and dirty (bed sheets didn't look clean either). Extremely basic. Horrible loud noise from above our room. Not to mention the fact that the door front AND bathroom door were hanging off. I have stayed in much, much nicer places for this price. If I had to describe it in one word: yuck!"

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Cilla Beattie

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Read what I've written above plus the front door was regularly left open and there was no reception for internet upstairs.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Nearly all aspects. The room we were given was a damp underground hole.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cassandra Hunter

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to everything

Disliked: Room noisey and windows didn't close

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location close to Victoria

Disliked: We were got breakfast, but no choice of coffee or tea.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff (one manager rather) was friendly and provider items quickly when asked for them, location is great, and it was affordable. Minimal amenities but just enough to be comfortable.

Disliked: The rooms are much smaller than pictured, no fan or central air, and a little smelly in second room. It could just use a few updates.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Shower v weak and room we booked not available

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

ANASTASIA PERDIKA

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 July 2014

Liked: Awful

Disliked: All the bad things were in this hotel

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

17 July 2014

Liked: Nada.

Disliked: No nos gustó nada el alojamiento. No cumple con un servicio mínimo Habitación sucia y pequeña, sin armario, ruidosa. El aseo minúsculo, apenas podías moverte en él. El desayuno tenías que hacerlo en la propia habitación, sin comodidad alguna, por lo que tan sólo nos quedamos a desayunar un día. Nos sentíamos incómodas. La habitación no la limpiaron dos días. Los colchones, sábanas y toallas están ya para cambiarlas, por lo que no te sientes cómoda cuando estás durmiendo. Tampoco tiene una recepción en condiciones. Cuando llegamos cansadas al hotel el día 9 por la noche, el dueño del alojamiento no tenía constancia de nuestra reserva, y tuvimos que pasar la noche en otro hotel. No es nada fiable esta persona.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to Victoria station - only a five minute walk. It was great being so close to Central London and all the shops and nearby amenities.

Disliked: The rooms were very small and unfortunately you had to share a bathroom with lots of other guests.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

06 July 2014

Liked: It was in a good position close to a number of 'sights' and was inexpensive for London

Disliked: See all of the comments above!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 July 2014

Liked: Very close to Victoria Station and easy to find even in the dark.

Disliked: Booked a twin room with a private bathroom - when we arrived they said there had been an error on the system and they only had a double room wih a shared bathroom, eventually they found another room with private bathroom but still was a double.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Heidi Lewis

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: The location was central and accommodation basic but adequate I had read previous reviews and was expecting worse but it was ok value for money

Disliked: Disliked we were given the wrong key for the front door and left waiting for someone to arrive and open it - change to new beds and a lick of paint is overdue

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and close to Victoria Station. Tanveer was very helpful carrying bags up and down 3 flights of stairs. He also looked after my bags during the day I checked out.

Disliked: Nowhere to eat breakfast except in room. No access to boiling water or tea/coffee facitities. No curtain on window. Toilet wasclose to wall, no room for legs. Room was noisy when people were showering.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Albert Galowitch

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 June 2014 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very very accommodating. Location couldn't be better. For those unfamiliar with this type of property (converted private Georgian homes) might be put off. They are quirky, odd room configurations due to creating sleeping space from what space was initially intended. There isn't a breakfast room, staff bring tea, milk, sugar, toast, jam and butter to room. Also expect to get a much cheaper place to sleep than at a London hotel.

Disliked: Concern about mold in bathrooms. It is not a deal breaker since occurs in most of these budget hotels but is something which should be addressed for a small expenditure of money and time.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014

Liked: Die Nähe zum Stadtkern. Freundliches hilfreiches Personal.

Disliked: Fenster schließen nicht, Schrank ist umgekippt - da kaputt, gleiches gilt für Stehlampe. Handtücher stinken vermodert. Zimmer wurde schon sehr lange nicht mehr gereinigt gleiches gilt für WC und Dusche. Aber die Heizung funktioniert bei 28 Grad Celsius Außentemperatur hervorragend. Man hat das Gefühl, man ist in einer Sauna.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Not clean, unable to lockout window


See all London hostels
See all London hotels