HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Golden Star Hotel

Hostel | 75 warwick way, Victoria, London, England sw1v 1sd

51.9% Overall Rating

32 out of 127 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

"The Services is good , for example we arrived our TV didn´t worked, we get a new one directly. The breakfast is served on time in your room."

Read all Golden Star Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Surtees Hotel
44.78 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Blair Victoria & Tudor Inn
39.17 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.9% 24 reviews
Vegas Hotel
41.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 26 reviews
Hanover Hotel
52.47 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.6% 67 reviews
Caswell Hotel
32.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.5% 6 reviews
Grapevine Hotel
46.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.2% 342 reviews
Central House Hotel
72.20 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
83.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.9% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
51.9%

Overall Rating

32 out of 127 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Golden Star Hotel'

Atmosphere
43.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
37.6%
Cleanliness
37.6%
Staff
58.4%
Value
49.6%
Safety
46.4%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 117 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 April 2014

Liked: Nothing at all. Worse hotel ever!

Disliked: Everythin!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

22 April 2014

Liked: The location is central and close to a subway station.

Disliked: Same as above: The best thing about this hotel is the location. Everything else leaves a lot to be desired. I was initially placed in a room with a shared balcony and a window to the balcony that didn't lock. It could simply be pushed up from the outside. I was moved to another room to find out that none of the windows in the rooms lock. Additionally the whole hotel smelled of mold or water damage. The bed I slept in appeared to have suffered water damage. The bathroom was so small that my teenage son was unable to use it unless he left the door wide open.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

CATIA BENEDITO

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

17 April 2014 CATIA would recommend this property

Liked: Internet is excelent.

Disliked: The toilette is realy small and the double room a Pay for the tv Don work

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Wayne Upton

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2014

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: Front door lock jammed so got stuck in the buidling. Electrical safety was poor. Loose stairs. Broken bathroom fittings. Broken bed. And loads more problems...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Services is good , for example we arrived our TV didn´t worked, we get a new one directly. The breakfast is served on time in your room.

Disliked: The Breakfast isn´t enough and you don´t have the choice what you would like to eat. You couldn´t look the window and the Bathroom wasn´t clean.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Jose Neto

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 April 2014

Liked: The room is not already when I arrieved, The window did not close and the staff told me it was not a problem of them.

Disliked: The cleasness and the staff.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jeremy Weyman

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 March 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: Room seemed dirty, Walls dirty, In need of Fresh paint. Room on Ground Floor and window lock broken so not very secure. Mattress had a big dip in middle where springs are broken. Bathroom was dirty and took ages for Hot water to come out of shower.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Nolan

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 March 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: OMG it's more then a 4 star hotel, there was A nock at the door at 8:30am and there served me breakfast In my room Now that's what il call sevice Also got tv in my room and I sleeped on Harrods bed (ok it was not new)

Disliked: Only one. No swimming pool. (Only joking) None

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

stephen lee

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Smelley dirty unsafe

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

08 March 2014

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: I do not like to shower in cold water!!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 March 2014

Liked: The location is good for central London. It was cheap (£35).

Disliked: The room was grubby, tired and dirty. There was no hot water and the walls were so thin you could hear the person next door change his mind! I was promised a receipt but it did not appear.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Loucas Louca

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 February 2014

Liked: The location

Disliked: All the rest was bad

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ross Carter

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 February 2014 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Upgraded for free!

Disliked: Ross left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ross Carter

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

19 February 2014 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendly and flexible with regards to booking

Disliked: Ross left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, it's a good area and it's easy to get around. The staff was polite when i talked to them and they even carried my heavy backbag to my room.

Disliked: It's not very clean, especially the bathroom was terrible. There's no sink in the bathroom and the window doesn't close so it was quite chilly when i took a shower. I don't think they cleaned the bathroom the whole time i stayed there. Toilet paper was wet because it was kept next to the open window and it rained outside. The room was really chilly, i had to sleep with an extra layer of clothes. Also the bed looked quite dirty to me, didn't make me feel comfortable to sleep in it.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price

Disliked: Shower spray not attached to wall - had to be hand held.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jeremy bloomfield

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 February 2014 jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: convenient for trains and coach station, basic en suite double very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: nothing.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014

Liked: It was warm

Disliked: WiFi was only available at the front entrance. The shared bathroom was not very user friendly. We booked ensuite and were not given ensuite and were not offered a refund/discount. We were on the batroom light did not work on our last day so we were fumbling around in the dark We were not able to leave our bags after checkout in a safe area. We

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 January 2014

Liked: - Good location

Disliked: - The wifi internet access is not accessible from the room but only in the ground floor. - There are sewer smell - The room tremble each time the door of the kitchen is opened or closed, when the staff prepare the breakfast, since 8 am, so it's impossible to still asleep after 8 am - nearly each time you take a shower, someone stress you by knocking the wall from upstair that resonate a lot in the shower cubicles, so you finish the shower earlier - the breakfast came half an hour late

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2013

Liked: location, very convenient

Disliked: dirty bedding, i can see all kinds of hair on the blanket very small toilet

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 December 2013

Liked: location easy to find

Disliked: rooms looked dirty, heating was stuck on in one room and the other there was a draught. showers were poor and only one with hot water

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013

Liked: It was very dirty with old furniture. In the beginning they placed us in a different room by mistake and then they moved our stuff without informing us

Disliked: I dislike the staff, the room and it's very expensive compared to what they offer

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

09 December 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: -room and bed felt dirty and moist -room was really small and the bath"room" even smaller,there was just the toilet and shower...even the sink was located in the bedroom. -the water-mixer in the shower didn´t work and the owner did nothing about it when we asked for help -the owner never brought us back our change for what we payed for the room (it was only about 7 pounds but still) -our room and bed were moist when we went there and the first night we didn´t sleep at all because of it, we asked for the owner to do something about it and he promised to do something about it, but in the end i dried our bedsheet so we could sleep in it! -i can not recommend this to anyone!bad service and uncomfortable room. -we asked for coffee for breakfast end efter two mornings he brought us tea, and allso he stopped bringing cornflakes after the first morning.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its was cheap for Londom

Disliked: Stained carpets, bed sheets barely fittes bed, uncomfortable matress, thin walls, thin curtains - but you get what you pay for

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 November 2013

Liked: excellent location for central london

Disliked: window didn't lock on our ground level room. mould in bathroom and smelt of silicone sealant - made the room stink. not a professional booking in system - scraps of paper. mould in seals of fridge. tv not working.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels