HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of YHA London Earls Court

Hostel | 38 Bolton Gardens, London, England SW5 0AQ

77.6% Overall Rating

110 out of 127 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/06/2014)

"Above average. I booked a six bed room but actually give me a four bed one so I guess it's kind of upgrade. There are doors on each floor for safe but no lift so it's inconvenient for girls carrying luggages. Breakfast…"

Read all YHA London Earls Court reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via HostelBookers for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Park House
58.42 USD

Hostel 77.6% 17 reviews
Chelsea House Hotel
46.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.5% 165 reviews
The Londonears Hostel
35.70 USD

Hostel 61.0% 80 reviews
Anwar house
38.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.1% 192 reviews
37 collingham place
25.19 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 79.2% 50 reviews
Curzon House Hotel
35.70 USD

Hotel 81.3% 36 reviews
West Cromwell Hotel
60.45 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Court Hostel
28.40 USD

Hostel 59.9% 638 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

110 out of 127 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA London Earls Court'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
72.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 85 of 125 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012

Liked: The hostel is ok, just not great.

Disliked: Not very friendly, quite run down, nothing much going on in the area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is situated in a very friendly district, there are lots of cafes and restaurants near by (Asian food, Turkish food, Irish and English pubs, Starbucks and many others) / 5 minutes walk to the tube station. Vary helpful and friendly service. We felt very safe there. Shower cabins are small but there are plenty of them in the hostel and they are clear.

Disliked: Rooms are small and little bit depressing, but we spent there three nights and after one night got use to our room, so it wasn't that bad.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, very clean and nice dorm, the hostel also provide good info of what are worth to see in London side note, the free walking tour is very fun

Disliked: no free wifi

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and atmosphere.

Disliked: No lift. Not so big WC.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: As I stated above, we stayed in an extremely tiny room with narrow twin bed. The room was placed in a dark basement although the hostel was not very packed at the moment. We used shared, so-so clean bathroom and toilet. At booking our stay through Hostelbookers we didn't get information about additional fee of 12 GBP (3 GBP/night) that we were charged on arrival due to our lack of membership of YHA.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Linda Nkamigbo

Alone

Business / conference

16 March 2012 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: This property is cheap and affordable. The members of staff are friendly and ready to assist.

Disliked: I do not see anything to dislike.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Nikolov

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is good located, tidy and staff was very helpfull. I'll recommend this hostel for my friends.

Disliked: Actualy is YHA (Youth Hostel Asosiation), but there are a lot of famylies and older people. but it wasnt be a problem. May be free WIFI...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Viktor Janikovsky

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 February 2012 Viktor would recommend this property

Liked: Garden

Disliked: I temperature in the room was only 14 C, and washing machine and dryer is not working well. dried for 3 hours and I was still wet ...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elias Tsakmakis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2012 Elias would recommend this property

Liked: Ease of access Servises

Disliked: Hostels in general Daytime staff

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is ok, I have slept very well there which is the most important, it was quiet, there was a sink in the room, staff was nice.

Disliked: every small thing is extra cost. they wouldn't let me borrow an adaptator for uk plugs, I had to buy one. wireless internet you have to pay 5 pounds. to store your bag on day of departure 2 pounds. I have no idea how it is elsewhere in london so I cant compare, but I am used to hostels providing more services in other countries.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its clean and tidy, bathroom close to the rooms

Disliked: questions and changing a booking not easy!!! strange, grumpy and incompetent man working night shifts heind reception...be prepared - it takes a long long time to check in!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FREDERIQUE ROTILLON

Alone

City break

01 January 2012 FREDERIQUE would recommend this property

Liked: place calm and firendly

Disliked: FREDERIQUE left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the friendliness of the staff. They were super helpful. Also, the common rooms were a great place to meet people.

Disliked: My only complaint would be the thin walls. You can hear everything at night! But this is just a mild complaint.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lockers space and cafe

Disliked: no double or single rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked location near the V&A, tube, shops, nice staff

Disliked: I wish you had a posted Earle's Court tube station schedule. The night before, I asked at the desk about getting to airport 3 hours before my flight at 10:30am. The man said, that first train on Sunday morning to airport was at 6:30. When I got to station I found out it was at 7:16am. All Sunday staff at train station also did not know schedule. Not good for Olympics or customers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very clean, comfortable and friendly

Disliked: no towels

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 November 2011

Liked: Close enough to an underground station

Disliked: It's absured YHI is a charity when they charge even more than other regular hostels for the same function. Wifi, lockers, tea/coffee, yhi membership, all were extra charges. Kitchen is pretty small. No supermarkets nearby.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Maristela Meireles

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011

Liked: It's dificult to see the advantages when we have so much trouble.

Disliked: First thing was that it was not clear for me that all rooms have shared bathroom. I went with family and we thought we're gonna have one just for us but it was not. Then thay sayd they weren't responsable for the information we found on Hostel Bookers, what is ridiculous! Second and most important thing: in the midle of the night a strage came into our PRIVATE room, saying "this is my room, this is my bed." They booked a room for two different people at the same time! gave the key of our room for a strange!!! the guy returned to the reception and I think they gave him another room. Third: the cleaning in the shared bathrooms wasn't good, there was toilet paper and sanitary towels falling on the flor because the basket was full, the showers was old, to have water in a good temperature we had to turn on and turn off many times and one of the shower places was making a terrible noise when we turn on the lights. They also don't have any courtains, so the water was al over the bathroon after our shower. And the las thing: the STAF wasn't helpful or friendly and they didn't care about our conplaints. In the last day, the menager asked about our stay and when we told him about the problems that we had he just said that maybe we're used to Hotels and not hostels. I DO NOT RECOMEND THIS PLACE

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011

Liked: The location wasn´t too bad, it was a 10min walk from the tube but it wasn´t too convenient there wheren´t much shops near. Size of the room was decent. Discounts on London attractions were nice.

Disliked: The price, it´s way too expensive for what you receive. You get no free internet, no breakfast, you have to pay for towels and lockers etc. The room size was decent but the showers and toilets were SO tiny, it was horrible to get in them and futhermore the showers didnt have anything in them where you could put your stuff on, so everything would get wet. The bed was dented in the middle so our backs were hurting each time we got up again. And the floor, it made SO MUCH noize it was horrible. You could hear every move you make and all the others on the same floor as you. Also, we were staying in the 3th floor and had to walk 6 flights of stairs up and down every single day : awefull.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good lockers and bed clothes.

Disliked: Paying for breakfast. It was a decent brekkie but didn't enjoy paying for it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location amazing. 25 minutes from Victoria Coach Station with C1 bus.

Disliked: The Shower is in the hallway.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the property is clean, central and has everything you would need. beds are comfortable and there is plenty of room

Disliked: the only thing i dont like about the yha is having to pay extra for everything...internet costs £3 an hour which is excessive. And then when i turned up i had to pay a £10 membership to become a yha member. i think such a big hostel chain should be able to provide the same services as other hostels without extra charge - if mcdonalds can provide free wifi, then surely the yha can too!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2011

Liked: Easy to find from tube station

Disliked: Staff - unfriendly and slow. The guy took over 30mins to check us in Fact you have to pay for EVERYTHING and internet is overpriced. Wanted to use their computers to transfer photos (from camera to hard drive) - a non internet function. And was told the only way I could use the computer was if I purchased internet from them, which by the way is 10 times pricier than the i-cafe down the road

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rui ZHANG

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 October 2011 Rui would recommend this property

Liked: location is good! 3 mins to underground by walking

Disliked: they ask for the membership. If you are not member of them, you need to pay extral 3 Pounds. But when I book it, they didn't mention!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has plenty of space, different common areas and is clean

Disliked: Kitchen isn't open before 7 am


See all London hostels
See all London hotels