HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Lodge at Crystal Palace

Hostel | Ledrington Road, Crystal Palace, London, England SE192BB

79.9% Overall Rating

105 out of 119 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/11/2013)

Paul Leacock thinks…

"The location was perfect as it's walking distance from where I'm working. I also like the sports centre being do close."

Read all The Lodge at Crystal Palace reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Queens Hotel
31.93 USD

Hotel 3 star 61.4% 152 reviews
The Crystal Lodge Hotel
23.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.3% 4 reviews
Ibis Styles
24.79 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 70 reviews
Peckham Lodge
38.65 USD

Guesthouse 73.0% 169 reviews
My Place Inn
47.05 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 5 reviews
Goddis Lodge
37.81 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 56.7% 7 reviews
New Cross Inn Hostel
20.16 USD

Hostel 68.3% 643 reviews
Hayesthorpe Hotel
48.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.6% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.9%

Overall Rating

105 out of 119 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Lodge at Crystal Palace'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 115 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 April 2014

Liked: location, prepacked breakfast

Disliked: poor cleaning, sometimes no towel provided, no toiletries, noisy (was on 2nd floor) and although asked to move room was not helped, shared toilet/shower, tv hung high, no wake up timer on tv, sometimes no tea/coffee facilities

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Hacon

Alone

Business / conference

11 April 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was near the Crystal Palace where we had a competition.

Disliked: It needs restauration.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sergej Miakinkov

Alone

Business / conference

11 March 2014 Sergej would recommend this property

Liked: I would stay again

Disliked: Sergej left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good value, friendly staff. Cheap and cheerful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PETER GREEN

Alone

City break

13 January 2014 PETER would recommend this property

Liked: NICE AREA AND HANDY FOR CRYSTAL PALACE RAILWAY STATION.

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lorna clear

Alone

Events / festivals

15 December 2013 lorna would recommend this property

Liked: The lady at reception was lovely, pleasant and very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marek Krysta

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2013 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. Location close to the Overground station.

Disliked: Marek left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Leacock

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 November 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect as it's walking distance from where I'm working. I also like the sports centre being do close.

Disliked: The lift to my floor never worked during my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dara Moloney

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 November 2013 Dara would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! I have lived and worked in Ireland, England, Norway and New Zealand and The Lodge has been my favourite accommodation of anywhere I have stayed. The staff are the penultimate reason for the Lodge being so good. They are courteous, professional, helpful, and always make you feel right at home. The atmosphere is brilliant there! The Lodge is very conveniently placed next to the train station and has car parking too if driving. It is clean, breakfast is plentiful, there are clothes washing facilities and a drying room, and it is very comfortable. The bedrooms are comfortable, have their own televisions and coffee, tea making facilities, a desk, bed, open wardrobe and access to your room only through your key card.

Disliked: One of the two lifts could sometimes give trouble, i.e. sometimes out of order. Apart from that, I have no complaints about The Lodge.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

David Hughes BSc

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: When checking in and being allocated a room the room 7B was not inhabiltable in as much as the table had a broken leg? Going down to reception I was reallocated another room which was much better but comment must be made about the shower ceiling which was in dire need of attention and one point that I ought to raise was the fact that my room was not serviced that day?

Disliked: Please see above with the one exception where NO LIFTS were servieable?c

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shiong Kok Wong

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Shiong Kok would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff members. (Thanks everyone at The Lodge) Very quiet at night which I needed most. This property is surrounded by trees and I like trees a lot. It's near Crystal Palace station which takes about 20 mins to get to London Bridge Station or 25 min to Victoria Station. There are grocery shops, restaurants near the station. My room was tidied up; my bed was made; and my bathroom was cleaned daily. This property has got a unique characteristic, which made me feel very comfortable. The breakfast provided was fantastic. I ate until I ........ . The people who served the food were very nice and professional. My friends in Melbourne saw the photos of the property's surrounding and they all said I did well with my accommodation choice. I'm so glad that I stayed at this property. For me, it's memorable and I am not hesitant to recommend this property to anyone who would appreciate what I appreciate. Next time when I am in London, I would like to request the same room that I stayed in at this property. "Joan, please!"

Disliked: Shiong Kok left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2013

Liked: reasonably priced, good breakfast in morning.

Disliked: No chair in room, window didn't close properly, one of the taps didn't work, had to share loo.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Simplicity

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

abel taiwo

Alone

Business / conference

18 October 2013 abel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to be. Friendly staffs. I would definitely come back.

Disliked: lifts making noise

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paulina Pieprzowska

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 September 2013 Paulina would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent breakfast, very friendly staff and relatively good value for money. Property was quite clean and close to the Overground station (direct train to London Bridge and Victoria). I also liked washbasin inside the room - that was very helpful.

Disliked: Very humble conditions. Except for dining room, The Lodge looks to its 70s. The room looked exactly like in the photo, but everything was old and smelled oddly, besides I could feel every spring of the mattress. Next time I would rather pay more to have more modern conditions, and especially more central location, because spending so much time and money just to get to Central London and then return, turned out not to be worth the amount we spared choosing The Logde instead of something closer to the city center.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff at the reception, so problem with answering any questions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful surroundings, decent breakfast and good value for money. Single rooms for independent travellers. Free internet and quiet at night.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is wonderful. They even opened breakfast just a little early cause several of us wanted to catch an early train. Their friendliness was a really good welcome. The setting (once you find the place) is gorgeous. You are within a huge sports complex and family park. Do plan on taking both routes .... one is across the bridge and through the family park .. into the small town area. It is a very restful place to walk. It was very nice to have a private room. The bed was very comfy and I slept well. The desk was missing a chair, but they let me take one from the cafeteria. The bathroom is outside the door of the bedroom in a small area shared by 1 other bedroom. It has its own door and then there is the exit door (4 walls, 4 doors).

Disliked: Be prepared for the length of the trip out from London Central. Once I figured it out, you take the London Overground train using your Oyster card. exiting the station turn right and as you cross the little alley way you will be on a path that is crossing the sports center to the road. Continue to the right down the road (goes up and down) the full 400m they say and you will get to the lodge. If you have passed the tennis courts you are almost there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kyle Cyr

Alone

Relaxation/spa

18 July 2013 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was in the park. It was near a train station - although a bit of a ride to downtown London. It was close to some nice pubs/restaurants and any shops that you would need. Wireless worked well for the most part.

Disliked: My window did not open so it was quite hot in my room. It was clean but not well kept - definitely could feel it's age. The repairs in the shower were shoddy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a lot to like about this place: 1) the Price!!! perfect for budget travellers that don't want to be crammed into a coed bunker with 7-9 others; you can have your own room for ~the same price as a bed at a hostel 2) it's in the middle of a park with places to run & exercise 3) hands down, great breakfast. bacon. you get bacon with the complimentary continental breakfast. i mean, good healthy stuff too (fruits, bran cereals, yogurt). 4)there is a FREE laundry setup in the basement. 5)the staff is exceptionally nice.

Disliked: personally, the subway ride didnt bother me at all, but it's kinda far out there. not the place to be if you are night-life oriented. & this place is very quiet at night.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Peaceful green environment. 1970s institutional atmosphere - decent basic comfort. Even the continental breakfast is a great feed, set you up for the day. And it's definitely value for money.

Disliked: OK, it's pretty shop worn in parts, thin walls, bad furniture, things others have mentioned, but that's all part of the trip back to the 1970s. The train journey to and from London is fine by me, but might bother someone who wants to be in the pumping heart.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Robert Beer

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

13 June 2013

Liked: A tually used the in room tea maker not because it was pleasant but only drinks machine on premises was broken

Disliked: Almost everything save the staff who were friendly and very good at their work

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

ANDREJ TRCEK

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 June 2013

Liked: Park around the hostel.

Disliked: The hostel is located outside the city center (aprox. 30min drive to the center). Facilities are not clean, often broken. Staff is not helpful at all, very rude. Very "cold" atmosphere, did not get any breakfast after 8am (all the food was gone).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caroline Wedler

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Obviously the building and facilities are not modern, but it's fine when you know it! I took part in an event nearby, so for this purpose it was absolutely perfect. Staff was extra nice and helpful! They even lowered my price when I arrived with one person less. The breakfast room was also good.

Disliked: Shower was hot but leaking and not very clean in the corners


See all London hostels
See all London hotels