We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Surprise Backpackers

Hostel | 110 Vauxhall Bridge Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2RQ

60.9% Overall Rating

527 out of 797 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

"Good Location Though simple, the breakfast is a great thing Clean enough (But could use some improving, specially the kitchen) I guess it's a measure of security (so it's a good thing), but the alarms on the doors if…"

Read all Surprise Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept people above 18 years of age in all rooms. If you are outside under this age limit, your booking will be cancelled without a refund of the deposit. Reception hours 8am until midnight only. After this you will have to call the night manager and there will be a £10 call out fee.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Blades Hotel
71.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Victoria
35.70 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1572 reviews
Airways Hotel
46.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Victor Hotel
45.98 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Melita House Hotel
73.03 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Comfort Inn Westminster
86.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
811.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Caswell Hotel
30.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.9%

Overall Rating

527 out of 797 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Surprise Backpackers'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
40.0%
Staff
64.0%
Value
60.8%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 537 of 747 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stephanie Waters

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

23 September 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Victoria and Pimlico tube stations, clean, comfy hostel. Good security, free breakfast, no curfew.

Disliked: Out of the city and the bathroom light was broken - made life difficult!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly reception lady, proper showers, communal kitchen, lockers in room, good sized room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen was open all the time

Disliked: tv wasent working in the kitchen

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

TAHA MOURABBIH

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2012 TAHA would recommend this property

Liked: close to westminster

Disliked: crowded

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: The bedroom is pretty hot

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Reto Britt

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Reto would recommend this property

Liked: cheap :-) really good value for money

Disliked: not so much space in the bedroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the position is great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Anders Knutsson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: BED BUGS!!!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anne-marie Jones

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 August 2012 Anne-marie would recommend this property

Liked: location was great better than i expected. rooms were clean and tidy. staff were very friendly. showers readily available. complimentary breakfast was good.

Disliked: Our room was directly beside a busy road. No mirror or seat in the room we had to sit on the floor. Bunk beds were 3 high and not very stable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, free wifi, free locker in my room, and free breakfast. Right in the heart of central london and really cheap. I met some really nice people here as well - i will definately come back.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A colourful atmosphere for the hostel, the common kitchen with small tables and tv

Disliked: The stairs are very narrow and steep, be careful with big baggage

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Martin Francisco Muñoz Martinez

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Martin Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: The access and the funny ambient.

Disliked: The shared bathroom are insufficient for the size of the hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good for the price and staff was very friendly

Disliked: Location is a little confusing to find

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: had the basics you expect and was always chilled

Disliked: tight stairs, tight rooms, alarm woke me up one morning, and the staff forgot to book me in despite me having a confirmation print out, but it all worked out and its a cool joint

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sam Havens

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, near Victoria Station. Good beds and sheets. Good wifi and showers. Breakfast is juice, coffee/tea and toast. I would go back

Disliked: Could have been a bit cleaner. Lockers were filled (unlocked) with clothes. Plus my small travel lock was useless on their locks.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paula Tourinho

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money. Good points: location, free internet, nice breakfast, friendly staff.

Disliked: Bad point: bathroom located in the passage to other rooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice

Disliked: the time of check-in

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Abdullah Usman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Abdullah would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was gréât , place Good close mots places where i want to Google. Nice bar pool tables Nice people around, Well i havé Good Time in Thérèse. In future i stay again there. Tank you , surprise backpacker Abdullah.

Disliked: Not any thing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Christopher Pruijsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: the interior

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 June 2012

Liked: The location of this hostel was literally the only redeeming feature.

Disliked: First of all let me say that although I was travelling alone for a research trip I am not fussy at all when it comes to hostels and was expecting a few problems. I am 20 years old and used to slumming it when it comes to accommodation. I completely understand that if you want a great stay then you pay more and you go to a Hotel, however, I have stayed in MUCH cheaper hostels all over the world and have never had such a bad experience. Where to start... mould, crumbling walls, unsafe wobbly beds, staff who know very little about running a hostel (let alone manners), 7ft high lockers unsecured to the floor (almost crushed a fellow traveller). For 2 nights out of 3 I didn't have any bedlinen (had to use my clothes) and when I went to reception was told to simply take somebody else's. On the third night my linen did turn up, on a pile on the floor, stained with blood! I couldn't find any WIFI. Kitchen is awful and TV room non existent, one of the best things about staying in hostels is the chance to meet new people, and this hostel is the most unsociable one I had ever been in. I think I stayed on one of their so called 'new mattresses' and I was super uncomfortable. One night at about 4am one of the hostel staff walked into our room, turned on the light and extremely loudly gave directions to two new occupants to the room, with no consideration at all for the people trying to sleep there. No padlocks provided so lockers deemed useless unless you carry a heavy duty padlock with you (Not a luggage lock). The pub it is located above does not seem friendly at all (overheard one night someone talking about their 26 year long ongoing heroin addiction...great). Had I not left in a rush and been obliged to pay at the start of my visit I would have left and demanded a refund. I made the reception aware of the issues I found and receive no promising response. It is in a good location and easy to find even after a few drinks but honestly, for the cost it takes to travel a bit further just do it. Avoid staying here at all costs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anders Henriksson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 June 2012 Anders would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, fairly clean, perfect location, good to meet people.

Disliked: Uncomfortable beds, small common areas

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price (I would pay more if the room I stayed in was a little more comfortable and if the place had a make over. As it was though I would not pay anymore than I did with the hostel in the state it is).

Disliked: Location, price (I would pay more if the room I stayed in was a little more comfortable and if the place had a make over. As it was though I would not pay anymore than I did with the hostel in the state it is). I am now a little paranoid about bedbugs, and have since googled bedbugs so I am more informed about the blighters (I just hope none crawled into my luggage and got a ride back home with me).

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012

Liked: location? it wasn't excellent but not bad either. breakfast was fine, compared to other hostels.

Disliked: travelling for 5months in europe, I stayed in many uncomfortable or dirty hostel, but I think this hostel is the worst of worst. Room was absolutely stinky, and shared bathroom was disgusting. it smalls like a shit all the time and kitchen? ohh I don't even want to think about that disgusting scene. also, there was an old guy staying in my dorm who seems to work for the hostel, he was so rude that he makes me feel very uncomfortable.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012

Liked: the location, was near of city centre. they have a kitchhen so you can cook your own food for cheap-

Disliked: but they have bedbugs and someone stole a suitcase... hot water not always.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels