HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Surprise Backpackers

Hostel | 110 Vauxhall Bridge Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2RQ

60.9% Overall Rating

522 out of 786 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

"Good Location Though simple, the breakfast is a great thing Clean enough (But could use some improving, specially the kitchen) I guess it's a measure of security (so it's a good thing), but the alarms on the doors if…"

Read all Surprise Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept people above 18 years of age in all rooms. If you are outside under this age limit, your booking will be cancelled without a refund of the deposit. Reception hours 8am until midnight only. After this you will have to call the night manager and there will be a £10 call out fee.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Blades Hotel
74.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Victoria
35.55 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1570 reviews
Airways Hotel
52.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Victor Hotel
45.15 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Melita House Hotel
76.18 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Central House Hotel
163.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
36.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Caswell Hotel
46.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.9%

Overall Rating

522 out of 786 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Surprise Backpackers'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
41.6%
Staff
68.0%
Value
59.2%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 530 of 738 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tarik Mohammed

Alone

Visiting friends or family

12 May 2013 Tarik would recommend this property

Liked: Good location nice staff .. in general its good .. and it comes with a very good value for money due to the location . .

Disliked: need more facilities

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Hameed Khan

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 May 2013 Hameed would recommend this property

Liked: The location and free wifi

Disliked: To many people in one room noisy over a pub

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. The staff was nice and they have a bagagge room where you can leave your bag after you check out,like we did cause we only had a flight thhe morning after check out. The breakfast is ok but there's only muesli,cornflakes,milk,bread,butter and jam so you might want to get some cheese or fruit like we did. For me it was quite quiet (until there was 6 people in the room and one of them completly nuts). If you're not planning to spend more that the night there,eating outside most of the time and staying in a room for two its an ok place.

Disliked: If you like to sleep and you're one of those people that needs it to function during the day, don't choose a room with more than two. The beds are ok but with 3 people in a buncker bed they make too much noise! And you can end up with all sorts of people, that can be fun but there´s also a lot of crazy people (i know what im talking about). It's not the dirtiest place i've been but sure its not the most clean. The toilets and showers are clean but i think only once a day, around 11am or so, that means that everyone is out. When they come back at night to shower everything is dirty again (ex.: hair in the shower,leftover toothpaste in the sink...) and it will stay like that until next morning at around 11am. The kitchen is too small, it really is, it has 4 chairs and 3 small round tables. It is not enough for the amount of people that stay in that place. There was a little mouse in the kitchen also. I wounder if no one else saw it but us. Sometimes there's not enough toilet paper; in the morning and because everyone is using the showers the amount of water you have running is too little but it's manageable i think. If you're planning to spend more that the night there,eating outside most of the time and staying in a room for two its an ok place

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Geneviève Legault

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2013 Geneviève would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location!

Disliked: Geneviève left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracy Gappa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great since I like to be near bus/train stations when traveling for short periods of time.

Disliked: Tracy left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is situated within a walkig distance to the tourist attractions, breakfast included, there is a luggage room, not too expensive

Disliked: It lacks a comfortable common room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great, easy going - always willing to help. Beds are very comfortable. The communal area stroke kitchen is very basic - could do with a rethink but, it's there if you wish to use.

Disliked: Only two downers was 1. the wifi - spasmodic to say the least due to some problem with their router - something I'm sure they can sort if put their mind to it. And 2. the breakfast - so so basic, with cheap coffee, marg., jam and no juice etc. Overall though, I did enjoy my 2 week stay. And if back in London, would possibly stay with Surprise again. Cheers guys.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very helpful and the location is very appropriate and convenient to get around central london

Disliked: music was a tad loud but it is built on a pub so to be expected!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Franks

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap drinks!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hot showers, clean & well stocked kitchen.

Disliked: Wifi signal was unreliable at times, and loud music from bar downstairs kept us up one night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy reach of public transport and the friendlyness of the people.

Disliked: cannot think of any at the moment.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Raquel Santos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Raquel would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms had nice temperature and the new matresses were really comfortable. The breakfast is included and they have bread to make toasts, jams and lemon curd, butter, milk, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, muesli, corn flakes... it's great! The location is awesome. I stayed for three nights and when I arrived, the toilets were very clean. The day I left, I saw a lady cleaning again. They have free sheets and linen, free lockers (even though you have to bring your own padlock) and free luggage room.

Disliked: The floor is very dirty and the sinks too. Sometimes, there is no hot water, if too many people have taken a shower before.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013

Liked: location,abundant breakfast and warm rooms.

Disliked: I could not sleep until several hours later in the morning due to people talking and turning on the light in the room because there is education nor respect among backpackers for other people's rest.Staff should look more after this to guarantee everyone can have a restful night. There was a disagreement over the remaining amount of money due upon arrival,finally I had to pay more than was stated in my reservation confirmation email..

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Gabriel Okunlola Oladipo

Alone

Events / festivals

14 March 2013

Liked: I like the location nothing more is enthusiastic about the property to me!!!

Disliked: The lay out of the room is poor compired tp many others, the lockers are too small to accommate anything, the beddings are old and dingy, infact I had to sleep on a broeken bed!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Dominika Molenda

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 March 2013

Liked: Good location, low price

Disliked: mess, small kitchen, loudness, poor service

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013

Liked: It was in a good location and the staff was friendly enough.

Disliked: The room was not very clean, especially the linen. They also had strange alarms on their doors which were constantly going off all hours of the day.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 March 2013

Liked: The location was convenient.

Disliked: It was noisy and dirty, I'm afraid to say. Although the staff at the reception desk was friendly and helpful enough, everything else was dilapidated and frankly filthy. We had dirty bedsheets, hairs and dirt on the floor everywhere and mice in the kitchen. I didn't expect a lot from this hostel because it was relatively cheap, but I would have appreciated some more cleanliness overal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very cheap compared to the other hostels in London. and despite its price, the facilities available are adequate for a short stay. There is warm water on both nights, which is a very good thing. Also, unlike previous feedbacks, I find the hostel relatively clean. As such, I would say it is very value for money.

Disliked: The Wi-Fi in the top floor is very poor, I could not get a connection at all. The beds are very shaky and even a slight movement on one of the triple-deck beds (esp the top bed) will cause a pretty significant shake on the other two beds. About 15mins walk from Victoria Coach Station, which is pretty far.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hans Flach

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Hans would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good and the breakfast is okay. It is not too loud.

Disliked: Everything is quite basic which probably comes with the cheap price.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ian Mayman

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 February 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The prices charges here are low, and you do get what you pay for. The location is good for anyone coming into London via Victoria. It was clean although I didn't anticipate having to put the sheet on the duvet myself, but I guess it saves me money. I found the Internet speed quite fast too.

Disliked: The directions were not that good and requires a map, I had to ask a few people for directions and eventually found one willing to search for the road on his phone. I think the communal bathroom (one for all rooms) should have been cleaned earlier. I was one of the first up and found all sinks not wiped down from the night before.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers are very hot and have good pressure which is hard to find in a hostel!

Disliked: Beds are unstable

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Squeaking beds

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Taylor

Alone

City break

07 February 2013 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Close to London Victoria station, good mattresses, whole place was pretty clean with nice art on the walls. Good internet connection!

Disliked: Minor issue, but door was broken so had to buzz in every time. Otherwise everything was fine, I'd come back.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Vujovits

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 January 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, a cozy english pub just in the neighbourhood, clean kitchen, several showers, beautyful colorful decoration

Disliked: creacking bunkbeds

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: need more cleaning


See all London hostels
See all London hotels