HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Surprise Backpackers

Hostel | 110 Vauxhall Bridge Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2RQ

71.4% Overall Rating

488 out of 715 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

"Friendly stuff, kitchen (but wasn't well equipped), breakfast with cornflakes and toast"

Read all Surprise Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept people above 18 years of age in all rooms. If you are outside under this age limit, your booking will be cancelled without a refund of the deposit. Reception hours 8am until midnight only. After this you will have to call the night manager and there will be a £10 call out fee.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Corbigoe Hotel
37.75 USD

Hotel 1 star 56.9% 20 reviews
Blades Hotel
73.41 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Victoria
35.23 USD

Hostel 80.5% 1569 reviews
Airways Hotel
39.85 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Victor Hotel
47.53 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Melita House Hotel
75.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Central House Hotel
72.15 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
27.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.9% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.4%

Overall Rating

488 out of 715 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Surprise Backpackers'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 485 of 675 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers are very hot and have good pressure which is hard to find in a hostel!

Disliked: Beds are unstable

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Squeaking beds

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Taylor

Alone

City break

07 February 2013 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Close to London Victoria station, good mattresses, whole place was pretty clean with nice art on the walls. Good internet connection!

Disliked: Minor issue, but door was broken so had to buzz in every time. Otherwise everything was fine, I'd come back.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Vujovits

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 January 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, a cozy english pub just in the neighbourhood, clean kitchen, several showers, beautyful colorful decoration

Disliked: creacking bunkbeds

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: need more cleaning

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013

Liked: The staff were friendly and one of the best showers I've had in London!

Disliked: The three tier bunk beds did not seem sturdy. The rooms were not that tidy... when I was putting my sheets on my bed 1. my sheets had stains and hair on it 2. there were crumbs on my mattress. Most of the lockers in my room did not work. Also question if one of the locks of the toilet works because for the two nights I was there, two different people used it with the door open.. a surprise when you go to brush your teeth! I also did book two nights in a girls dorm but then had done sold my bed for my second night... so went into a mix dorm instead.. which then I realised that since it's a girls dorm I should have got a cheaper price.. but I'll just put it down as a learning experience...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Taras Handziy

Alone

Business / conference

25 January 2013 Taras would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and cheap place.

Disliked: Taras left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dolores Llavero

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013 Dolores would recommend this property

Liked: I've been very comfortable and not at all disturbed. The idea of placing the showers in little rooms it is excellent ant they work very well.

Disliked: The living room and the kitchen are in the same place and there's no enough place to sit.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gabriela Koutná

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good choice for London

Disliked: Gabriela left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location of this hostel - near the center.

Disliked: Sleeping in the 3 bunk-beds, which were mooving from side to side and creaking, was a little bit crazy, but the new matress was comfortable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alessio Buonaluce

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 January 2013 Alessio would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff and great location near Victoria, good value for money! :)

Disliked: Alessio left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pier Paolo Cimino

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

03 January 2013 Pier Paolo would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing lovely staff in a very central position. Clean toilet for an hostell. I really enjoyed my stay!! :-)

Disliked: Pier Paolo left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Sergei Tugin

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

03 January 2013

Liked: Place, price

Disliked: All other!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012

Liked: The location is very good and it's cheap.

Disliked: This is the worst hostel I've stayed at in all Europe. First of all, there were people living in our room (not on holiday), and they were VERY messy, my room was a complete disaster and the hostel let them do that. After I complained at reception they tidied a bit, but it was awful as well. The room smelled and you couldn't even walk without stepping into someone's clothes or even laptop (I'm not joking). Half of the nights I was there, there were problems with the showers and the water was cold. The kitchen is really small for the quantity of rooms the hostel has, and as it is also the "common room" it was impossible to use it because there were always people there just doing nothing. Of course, the two times I entered it was full of dirty dishes. I was in the 12 bed room, which has triple bunk beds. They make much noise when other guest moves at night and it's very annoying. You can't get the wi-fi in some parts of the building.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

HECTOR SORIANO MEDINA

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 December 2012

Liked: It was good located

Disliked: Everything. It´s stinky

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

romain bourneuf

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 December 2012 romain would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel staff is super cool, the same staff atmosphere is always ready make you service! the location is nickel! Therefore, I highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: romain left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Harvey

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 December 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: freiendly staff, free wi-fi and a great bar to drink at downstairs

Disliked: the hangover.............

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff and very cheap for the location

Disliked: nada

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rafael Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: the cleanness is terrible

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

michael jones

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 December 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: i liked how close it was to the city centre and how key cards were used allowing everyone to come and go freely and conviently. i slept well on both nights and enjoyed the friendiness of everyone there.

Disliked: it was full of people at the time of visiting, not really a bad thing though but it was a little overwhelming having a lot of people in the halls on laptops and such. also the rocky beds.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best think is location, near Victoria Station and The Buckingham Palace. I also like the atmosphere in Hostel.

Disliked: Really small rooms.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location (not really but I guess it's fine) and its price.

Disliked: 1) It's on top of a bar. Its own bar. So going to sleep before 2am on a Fri/Sat night was impossible without ear plugs and about 30mins of tossing and turning. 2) Speaking of tossing and turning. Triple bunk beds. Two other people experience an earthquake every time you move about in your bunk and vice versa. 3) Bed bugs. Lots and lots of bed bugs. The pillows and blankets look like they were from concentration camps so I guess I should have seen that one coming. 4) My bed got stripped despite having displayed clear signs of bunk ownership. I pasted my name slip (their wonderful system of keeping track of which bunks were empty) IN LINE with the other two people's and WHY was my bed stripped? My bag was on my bed, my toiletries were on my bed, my maps were under my pillow, my towel was hanging from that bunk like a glorious flag. Why was it stripped? Which part of that doesn't scream "someone sleeps here" to them, I wonder. 5) Hostel guy was, not in the right condition for work on Sunday. Sure, last night was Saturday, I can totally see that you had a great time from the fact that you were still wearing last night's jacket with tights and nothing else (yes no pants) but seriously? Talk about being professional. He fumbled around a little with the toaster and kettle before announcing that there won't be any hot water/toasted bread for the day. And that he wants to get off work immediately. Gosh, what a wonderful start to my day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful

Disliked: The bed allocationing can get confusing. You just pick a free bed and put a name tag, so the next arriving people know which beds are taken. So far so good. When I arrived every bed in my room had a name tag and I was confused what to do. But after asking a staff member he looked at the name tags and put those away from the people who already left and the problem was solved for me. But other people didn't put a name tag and then wondered why their bed was taken by someone else.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lage,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Jarbas Pina

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2012

Liked: The staffs

Disliked: Cleaning


See all London hostels
See all London hotels