We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Surprise Backpackers

Hostel | 110 Vauxhall Bridge Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2RQ

60.9% Overall Rating

527 out of 797 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

"Good Location Though simple, the breakfast is a great thing Clean enough (But could use some improving, specially the kitchen) I guess it's a measure of security (so it's a good thing), but the alarms on the doors if…"

Read all Surprise Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept people above 18 years of age in all rooms. If you are outside under this age limit, your booking will be cancelled without a refund of the deposit. Reception hours 8am until midnight only. After this you will have to call the night manager and there will be a £10 call out fee.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Blades Hotel
71.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Victoria
35.70 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1572 reviews
Airways Hotel
46.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Victor Hotel
45.98 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Melita House Hotel
73.03 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Comfort Inn Westminster
86.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
811.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Caswell Hotel
30.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.9%

Overall Rating

527 out of 797 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Surprise Backpackers'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
40.0%
Staff
64.0%
Value
60.8%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 537 of 747 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Rice Ng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013 Rice would recommend this property

Liked: Full kitchen, close to Victoria coach station, nice breakfast (compared to other countries), cheerful staff, cheap price, the bar

Disliked: The charge for checking in after midnight, no wifi in the rooms

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ulrike Weiermair

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 September 2013 Ulrike would recommend this property

Liked: i needed to find something spontaneously and near to victoria station for only one night ... for this purpose the hostel was really good!

Disliked: Ulrike left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Germán Zapata

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013

Liked: The staff is friendly, very helpful. The internet connection is fast and free. It includes a small breakfast. It is well located.

Disliked: I don't know where to start, this place is so unsanitary, so dirty, it SURPRISES me how it is still open. The bathrooms where always dirty and with a pestilent smell. Everyday a cleaning lady comes and tries to clean the rooms but she instead just splatters dirty water all over the floor. BED BUGS the mattresses are filled with BED BUGS, this insects carry diseases like hepatitis and chaga syndrome. The pillows and sheets are stained with blood and fungus. Horrible. Stay AWAY from this place I think it should close down and have a health hazard inspection. Do not stay here, go to any other hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bethan Holt

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

19 September 2013 Bethan would recommend this property

Liked: Very conveniently located in central London, excellent value for money with the free breakfast as well as the bed for the night, friendly people in the hostel room, kitchen facilities

Disliked: the curfew was problematic as I came down for one night having been invited to an event, and I had to quit the event early in order to get back on time and not have to pay the £10 fine. Also I think there should be bins in the bathrooms.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Khawaja Ajmal

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 September 2013 Khawaja would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were not dirty and it was close to pimlico tube station.

Disliked: It would be great to have a bigger and better common room for hostel use only. And if breakfast is relatively better. All together not the worst you will ever see.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2013

Liked: The location is very good, there are 4 showers and 4 toilets so i never had to wait and the showers were always hot.

Disliked: I can confirm this place has bed bugs, which is unfortunate becuase the rest of my stay was actually quite nice. I has over 70 bites and i wasn't the only one. The red room, white room and pink room had them so try to avoid a stay in those rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Priscilla Hlahla

Alone

Events / festivals

12 September 2013 Priscilla would recommend this property

Liked: Great Service.

Disliked: N/A.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kairlan dickson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 September 2013 Kairlan would recommend this property

Liked: Gud location and facilities unlike some hostels where the facilities are not gud at all. Largish kitchen with all mod cons and TV with sofa. Clean when I stayed. But could do with a good paint, But then it is a Hostel!

Disliked: The beds & locations of communual showers & toilets. I dislike top bunks but in 3s! Especially as I arrived early as well and the only available bed was the third top bunks UCK. Also the room was small + the others had large suitcases so not much room for my one small bag! They were not TIDY roomies. I therefore choose not to stay as I really could not sleep in a third top bunk in an untidy room. Also not gud that the all female dorm was on the top floor . And you had to travel down flight of stairs to communal showers & toilets UCK. If I stayed again I would stay with a male companion for safety reasons. Otherwise a gud hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 August 2013

Liked: good

Disliked: cleanliness bad really bad! this place has bed bugs

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is a 5 min walk away from Victoria station, Buckingham Palace is close, so is Westminster Abbey. After reviewing the rates here I expected worse. It is as clean as a Hostel gets, but taken care off, new mattrasses and enough room.

Disliked: We have been robbed by a roommate during the night, the management did pick up the first phone call but refused to show up and turned off the phone after the call. They didn't provide the police the information they needed or the camera tape. No wifi in the kitchen. It's more a Pub that rents out rooms than a actual Hostel.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean hostel.

Disliked: Stairs. Lol...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: Have stayed in dozens of hostels around the world and this place is the worst I have stayed. Very dirty, the showers were full of mould. The rooms were small and no ventillation which explained the mould which was growing on the beds. The floors were dirty and never swept in the 4 days we were there. The showers ran out of hot water quite quickly and if you didnt get in early you had cold showers. The kitchen was dirty and very little equipment. The breakfast was served in the lounge and only seats 8 which is great when the hostel has 32 staying there.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 August 2013

Liked: Stuff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Extremely dirty.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kee Ann Chng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Kee Ann would recommend this property

Liked: It's easy to find and within walkable distant to many attractions. Free breakfast is served in the morning.

Disliked: there was a weird drainage sound every night when people use the shower. but thankfully it stopped by 11pm after everyone showered. so it was not really an issue.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Fredrik Persson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a very good location for a cheap price.

Disliked: Fredrik left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

turlough smith

Alone

Partying / nightlife

11 July 2013 turlough would recommend this property

Liked: the location was fantastic, staff were very helpful

Disliked: everything was great

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Antonio Soriano

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: not enough bathrooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pavel Samec

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013

Liked: good location

Disliked: showers not very nice

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Kitschke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I booked this hostel because it was on sale and walking distance from vic bus station and was expecting the worst. however, i was surprised that it was actually decent. the showers were nice and clean and new and hot. the bedrooms were spacious and the bar was social. in my experience all hostels in london are terrible compared to the rest of europe, so comparing this to the 4 other london hostels ive stayed in (travel joy, astor vic, clink 78 & hostel 8), i would pick this as my top choice.

Disliked: not 24 hr reception

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, breakfast included, lockers in the room. simple but great price and perfect for a short stay

Disliked: wifi was a bit dodgy

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everyhting

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very small kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1) 5 min walk to Metro station 2) Staff are friendly 3) Secure and safe 4) Free breakfast

Disliked: 1) The corridor is so narrow, hard to take luggage in and out easily 2) Feel confused when staying inside the building, like a maze

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient location

Disliked: showers & toilets not good, bedroom not clean.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels