We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Surprise Backpackers

Hostel | 110 Vauxhall Bridge Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2RQ

60.9% Overall Rating

527 out of 797 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

"Good Location Though simple, the breakfast is a great thing Clean enough (But could use some improving, specially the kitchen) I guess it's a measure of security (so it's a good thing), but the alarms on the doors if…"

Read all Surprise Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept people above 18 years of age in all rooms. If you are outside under this age limit, your booking will be cancelled without a refund of the deposit. Reception hours 8am until midnight only. After this you will have to call the night manager and there will be a £10 call out fee.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Blades Hotel
71.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Victoria
35.70 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1572 reviews
Airways Hotel
46.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Victor Hotel
45.98 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Melita House Hotel
73.03 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Comfort Inn Westminster
86.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
811.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Caswell Hotel
30.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.9%

Overall Rating

527 out of 797 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Surprise Backpackers'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
40.0%
Staff
64.0%
Value
60.8%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 537 of 747 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place for pepole to stay~~

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was also ok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Johnson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: The location was absolutely amazing. Wasn't city center but close enough to everything I wanted to see! The staff were more than helpful and the fact it was a local pub downstairs made my stay way better. Not your typical hostel bar. Met many amazing people there and I can't wait to stay at the Surprise Backpackers again!

Disliked: Not a damn thing haha

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Maximilian Engelhardt

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2013 Maximilian would recommend this property

Liked: +price +Location +breakfast included +kitchen and common room

Disliked: -cleanliness of toilets and shower -noisy at night due to street or other people -no internet connection at the room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: of course the price and location of this hostel! each room had an idividual key, lots of power sockets, friendly staff

Disliked: the 3 level bunk beds were a bit shaky, the red room was kind of noisy since you could hear the noise from the road.. sometimes the toilets were pretty dirty, but that's just normal for a hostel

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

HIU TUNG WONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 HIU TUNG would recommend this property

Liked: Good location compared to other hostels at the same price in London, walkable distance to some tourists spots like London eye, Big Ben.

Disliked: Lots of stairs while you cannot go through them if you're a little bit too fat. The heater in the room doesn't work, a little bit cold.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 December 2013

Liked: it is close to Victoria Station

Disliked: small, narrow corridors and rooms, badly equipped kitchen, no common area; just one toilet (3 toilets and 4/5 showers), long queues for the shower in the morning, not enough hot water, wet and dirty all around the toilets.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sophie Ibbotson

Alone

Business / conference

03 December 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient and pretty quiet

Disliked: Some communal areas could do with redecorating

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

michael o reilly

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 November 2013

Liked: old rooms al over the place

Disliked: michael left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Work / volunteering

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were really worried when we saw the reviews but we liked the hostel. Brilliant location about 10 mins from Buckingham palace. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good. Good value as it was cheap.

Disliked: Wasn't the cleanest place, bathrooms were dirty. Expect basic, we only paid £10 for the night each so we thought it was VERY good value for money. It is very noisy especially in the red room as you hear the noise from the road and people going to the bathroom but in the green room it was really quiet. Obviously people in the room are noisy if they are coming in late but this happens in every hostel. Bunkbeds are 3 beds high so when people move the whole bunk bed shakes. But overall was an decent stay!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013

Liked: The location really is good. It's safe and clean.

Disliked: The staff weren't exactly rude, but they weren't exactly friendly. Every time I spoke with one of them I left with the distinct impression that she couldn't wait to be rid of me and get back to manning the bar in the pub.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Richard Murphy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Its location was about 15 minutes walk from Westminster Abbey and other great London attractions. Plus it was above a pub which came in very handy when I got thirsty.

Disliked: Other people. I hadn't stayed in a hostel for about 8 years and I'd forgotten how truly disgusting other travellers can be. Still, that's not the hostel's fault.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Bruna Alves

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Bruna would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Bruna left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hayley Bunker

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen facilities

Disliked: Not as clean as could be dormitory and kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, free wifi and free breakfast, and the price is fairly good to.

Disliked: the kitchen areas could be cleaner.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its proximity to my destination.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time at the surprise! The staff was really nice and the place had a nice atmosphere. Also, the location was perfect. I'll definetly stay at Surprise Backpackers again. - Miss Denmark :)

Disliked: Nothing really

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very easy to get to anywhere. Great location. Cheap short stay.

Disliked: The bathrooms and showers are quite something. I thought I went to a high dorm in mainland China. That says it all.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

29 October 2013

Liked: Literally, nothing. The only thing that could have made me happy was, if the management was willing to take in charge of the place, so that I can make the place inhabitable for human beings.

Disliked: Everything from kitchen to staircase to toilet were in mess. Un hygienic and definitely it needs a new management.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jennifer Taylor

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

27 October 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, especially if you are traveling by coach, as the coach station is really near. For the price, you get a bed, a locker, shared shower and toilet facilities, free wi-fi, linens, towel, breakfast in the morning. Also for London, the pub prices below aren't bad, and you can hang out there if you fancy it. The staff were friendly and helpful. There's also a locked luggage room if you need to stare your stuff. For the price paid, you can't really expect more.

Disliked: I didn't dislike it, per se, but you should be prepared to wait for a toilet or shower, as everyone is sharing them, but as there were multiple shower stalls, I never had to wait more than 5 or 10 minutes. Also be prepared to climb into a third teir bunk bed. Again, for the price paid, I personally can't really complain. It was what I expected - a bed, shower, and breakfast!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013

Liked: Staff was helpful

Disliked: Dirty rooms, dirty bathroom, dirty hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location.

Disliked: Accommodations could be more confortable. More offer of services.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maryna Kaspiarovich

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Maryna would recommend this property

Liked: It has it's own character, relaxed, laidback, easy, and friendly, of cource. Central location is a merit! A lovely area itself, quiet, safe, nice and a few steps from hustle and bustle of Victoria station and many other places. Easy to find! Breakfast in a pub - cool! A big hand for background music!

Disliked: N/A

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The walls are really thin and you need to use ear plugs and there wasn't curtains on the window so bring an eye mask too if you don't want to be woken as soon as the sun comes up. The bunk beds are really noisy too.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Bad beds, lockers and toilet facilities.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels