HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Surprise Backpackers

Hostel | 110 Vauxhall Bridge Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2RQ

60.9% Overall Rating

522 out of 786 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

"Good Location Though simple, the breakfast is a great thing Clean enough (But could use some improving, specially the kitchen) I guess it's a measure of security (so it's a good thing), but the alarms on the doors if…"

Read all Surprise Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept people above 18 years of age in all rooms. If you are outside under this age limit, your booking will be cancelled without a refund of the deposit. Reception hours 8am until midnight only. After this you will have to call the night manager and there will be a £10 call out fee.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Blades Hotel
74.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Victoria
35.55 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1570 reviews
Airways Hotel
52.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Victor Hotel
45.15 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Melita House Hotel
76.18 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Central House Hotel
163.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
36.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Caswell Hotel
46.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.9%

Overall Rating

522 out of 786 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Surprise Backpackers'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
41.6%
Staff
68.0%
Value
59.2%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 530 of 738 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pub at its feet, fantastic, next to Victoria Station, perfect, close to Tesco, great!

Disliked: Noisy, very hot in summer.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

PEEYUSH PANKAJ

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 PEEYUSH would recommend this property

Liked: Good facility at the prime location for the london visitors

Disliked: Nothing was there to be disliked

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close do Victoria station - 10 minute walk.

Disliked: only location is great

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011

Liked: Not too long of a walk from metro. OK breakfast. Good if you have no other options or can not afford more. I stayed just one night so did not get to take advantage of the facilities so I can not offer an honest view of them (tv, pub, kitchen, so forth.) The also accept long-term residents from what I read - not sure how I feel about that.

Disliked: Not much to see in walking distance from hostel. Shower stall area a bit musty and dingy, IMHO. I cleaned them down before we got in. I think we could not adjust temperature of shower but I can not recall for certain if this is true. Had to make own bed while people were sleeping - and they were sleeping all day. Noisy street at night, maybe due to pub below, and the lights kept me up. Had to leave deposit for key/linen - not mentioned on booking site that we would need to be prepared to leave this additional $. Peoples bags were all over the floor in dorms - tripped over it while entering in the night.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

clarisse herbillon

Alone

Events / festivals

21 June 2011 clarisse would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location : 10 minutes from Victoria station if one doesn't get lost Nice shower rooms : it's a REAL shower and clothes don't get wet because the shower has doors

Disliked: Staff weren't very helpfull... But I have to say, they work in the pub first, so the hostel goes second The beds were the most unconfortable ever

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

LASZLO LORINCZI

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

20 June 2011

Liked: great location and price

Disliked: don't expect anything special, but good for sleeping

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

thomas moors

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 June 2011 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: small distance from Victoria station

Disliked: The matras was of poor quality. Comprehensible for the price I paid

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a great location.

Disliked: The kitchen/common room is tiny and not really conducive to socialising or meeting people. The narrow winding staircase is also tricky to navigate!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is free, it is not the best Breakfast of my life but its ok. There are jam, bred, butter, coffee and tea. So its really cool for start the day.

Disliked: The kitchen and Tv room is the same place. There are not a lot chairs for stay in kitchen. No reception, you have to ring if you need to talk to the "staff". No bin in the room, the bunks are 3 levels, so you feel like sleep on the floor... Cleanning? Someone cleans room and bathroom every 3 days... so you can imagine!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Donna Plunkett

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that they let me stay even though I was way too old! Apparently I missed the part about being under 35 (I'm 66). They let me store my bag 1 flight up so I didn't have to tote it all the way up, but it was a little bit of a problem the next morning as I waited for someone to come let me check out for over an hour. Now I have to say that I am an early bird so this wasn't totally unexpected.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sari Alanen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Sari would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly. Rooms were ok size. Breakfast was ok. The location was fantastic. Good price / quality ratio.

Disliked: Nothing really.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Youngeun Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011

Liked: Location. Breakfast was okay.

Disliked: The bed was uncomfortable. The worst bed in my life.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - VERY GOOD LOCATION - KITCHEN TO PREPARE FOOD - NICE PUB ON THE SITE - LOCKERS IN THE DORMS

Disliked: - DIRTY HOSTEL (ESPECIALLY TOILETS) - MATRESSES ARE UNCOMFORTABLE - NO LOCKS FOR LOCKERS OFFERED - UNFRIENDLY STAFF - MINIMALISTIC BREAKFAST (TOAST,JAM,COFFEE)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is very central

Disliked: wasn't that clean but okay

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adelaide Thomson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Adelaide would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the station and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I met some great people during my stay and it was great value for my money.

Disliked: The beds were a bit uncomfortable but I got exactly what I paid for and I am a satisfied customer!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 May 2011

Liked: good location and proximity to tourists attractions, friendly and helpfull staff

Disliked: too small rooms; the stairs, the toilets and rooms were dirty; uncomfortable beds

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Letizia genca

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 May 2011 Letizia would recommend this property

Liked: Its a good place for its location

Disliked: Very dirty!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security: room card and key Space: 9 beds but not squeezy Staff: friendly and helpful

Disliked: Triple decked Beds seem unstable. Breakfast could be better

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xavier Rodriguez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: it has a really good location and the staff are cool! Specially Bill!! He is great!! the bathrooms are clean and the shower are ok! I believe it has a very good realitonship quality-price

Disliked: the beds wasn't so confortable and the breakfast is, in my opinion, poor.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Dirty and smelly, strange fire alarm ringing early in the morning

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 May 2011

Liked: The place is close to victorial station

Disliked: It was quite dirty its communal area - it has an obnoxious smell all the time. felt nauseous - at the area close to the bathroom, shower-room also a place to brush one's teetch etc...... And the breakfast is nothing but a piece of bread with butter + some cereals....

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 May 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: very very dirty - disgusting

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Hugo Aguirre Herrainz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: It was ok. There is a pub downstairs and the rooms are fine and the toilet clean enough.

Disliked: Nothing really, some people at the pub were quite drunk but I guess that is not hostel fault.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

DZMITRY DZEHTSIAROU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 DZMITRY would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff, showers are always free, no need to wait in the line. What I liked the most that's thrully English atmosphere in the place, you can feel London there

Disliked: Could be a little bit cleaner. But in general it was good. The bed linen was very clean and new, the first time I saw it in hostels


See all London hostels
See all London hotels