We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Surprise Backpackers

Hostel | 110 Vauxhall Bridge Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2RQ

60.9% Overall Rating

527 out of 797 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

"Good Location Though simple, the breakfast is a great thing Clean enough (But could use some improving, specially the kitchen) I guess it's a measure of security (so it's a good thing), but the alarms on the doors if…"

Read all Surprise Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept people above 18 years of age in all rooms. If you are outside under this age limit, your booking will be cancelled without a refund of the deposit. Reception hours 8am until midnight only. After this you will have to call the night manager and there will be a £10 call out fee.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Blades Hotel
71.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Victoria
35.70 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1572 reviews
Airways Hotel
48.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Victor Hotel
45.98 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Melita House Hotel
73.03 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Comfort Inn Westminster
71.41 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
811.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Caswell Hotel
38.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.9%

Overall Rating

527 out of 797 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Surprise Backpackers'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
40.0%
Staff
64.0%
Value
60.8%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 537 of 747 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Kristensen

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: ok spacey room. Good cooking and bathing facilities and tv. Meeting nice and interesting people

Disliked: the noise from the street

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011

Liked: Pretty cheap compared to other hostels, reasonably good location, friendly staff.

Disliked: The 3-high bunk beds (and not that sturdy!), room was a bit hot so had to have window open, but then that meant hearing the traffic all night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yu Chin Su

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Yu Chin would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, location

Disliked: A little too narrow

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 July 2011

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: Requested to stay in an all girls room but a man definitely stayed the night in there. There were 10 people booked to stay in a 9 bedroom. You can feel every spring in the mattress so if you have a camping mat or something I suggest your bring that to put on top of it- or be really drunk...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, good if you want to stay only 1 or 2 nights and if you dont want to spend much money; breakfast is ok: you get toast, cornflakes, tea n coffee.

Disliked: the showers dont have anything where you could put your clothes on (but the showers themselves are quite clean) there are only a couple of sinks for the whole hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Goebel

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and our room mates as well. The location is quite good and showers and toilets were better than expected. Also the breakfast was okay for the price we paid

Disliked: The window was broken but at it was a hot night that was no problem :-)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff were excellent

Disliked: no common room and subpar bathrooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pub at its feet, fantastic, next to Victoria Station, perfect, close to Tesco, great!

Disliked: Noisy, very hot in summer.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

PEEYUSH PANKAJ

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 PEEYUSH would recommend this property

Liked: Good facility at the prime location for the london visitors

Disliked: Nothing was there to be disliked

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close do Victoria station - 10 minute walk.

Disliked: only location is great

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011

Liked: Not too long of a walk from metro. OK breakfast. Good if you have no other options or can not afford more. I stayed just one night so did not get to take advantage of the facilities so I can not offer an honest view of them (tv, pub, kitchen, so forth.) The also accept long-term residents from what I read - not sure how I feel about that.

Disliked: Not much to see in walking distance from hostel. Shower stall area a bit musty and dingy, IMHO. I cleaned them down before we got in. I think we could not adjust temperature of shower but I can not recall for certain if this is true. Had to make own bed while people were sleeping - and they were sleeping all day. Noisy street at night, maybe due to pub below, and the lights kept me up. Had to leave deposit for key/linen - not mentioned on booking site that we would need to be prepared to leave this additional $. Peoples bags were all over the floor in dorms - tripped over it while entering in the night.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

clarisse herbillon

Alone

Events / festivals

21 June 2011 clarisse would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location : 10 minutes from Victoria station if one doesn't get lost Nice shower rooms : it's a REAL shower and clothes don't get wet because the shower has doors

Disliked: Staff weren't very helpfull... But I have to say, they work in the pub first, so the hostel goes second The beds were the most unconfortable ever

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

LASZLO LORINCZI

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

20 June 2011

Liked: great location and price

Disliked: don't expect anything special, but good for sleeping

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

thomas moors

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 June 2011 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: small distance from Victoria station

Disliked: The matras was of poor quality. Comprehensible for the price I paid

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a great location.

Disliked: The kitchen/common room is tiny and not really conducive to socialising or meeting people. The narrow winding staircase is also tricky to navigate!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is free, it is not the best Breakfast of my life but its ok. There are jam, bred, butter, coffee and tea. So its really cool for start the day.

Disliked: The kitchen and Tv room is the same place. There are not a lot chairs for stay in kitchen. No reception, you have to ring if you need to talk to the "staff". No bin in the room, the bunks are 3 levels, so you feel like sleep on the floor... Cleanning? Someone cleans room and bathroom every 3 days... so you can imagine!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Donna Plunkett

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that they let me stay even though I was way too old! Apparently I missed the part about being under 35 (I'm 66). They let me store my bag 1 flight up so I didn't have to tote it all the way up, but it was a little bit of a problem the next morning as I waited for someone to come let me check out for over an hour. Now I have to say that I am an early bird so this wasn't totally unexpected.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sari Alanen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Sari would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly. Rooms were ok size. Breakfast was ok. The location was fantastic. Good price / quality ratio.

Disliked: Nothing really.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Youngeun Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011

Liked: Location. Breakfast was okay.

Disliked: The bed was uncomfortable. The worst bed in my life.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - VERY GOOD LOCATION - KITCHEN TO PREPARE FOOD - NICE PUB ON THE SITE - LOCKERS IN THE DORMS

Disliked: - DIRTY HOSTEL (ESPECIALLY TOILETS) - MATRESSES ARE UNCOMFORTABLE - NO LOCKS FOR LOCKERS OFFERED - UNFRIENDLY STAFF - MINIMALISTIC BREAKFAST (TOAST,JAM,COFFEE)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is very central

Disliked: wasn't that clean but okay

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adelaide Thomson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Adelaide would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the station and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I met some great people during my stay and it was great value for my money.

Disliked: The beds were a bit uncomfortable but I got exactly what I paid for and I am a satisfied customer!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 May 2011

Liked: good location and proximity to tourists attractions, friendly and helpfull staff

Disliked: too small rooms; the stairs, the toilets and rooms were dirty; uncomfortable beds

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Letizia genca

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 May 2011 Letizia would recommend this property

Liked: Its a good place for its location

Disliked: Very dirty!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels