HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Surprise Backpackers

Hostel | 110 Vauxhall Bridge Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2RQ

60.5% Overall Rating

526 out of 795 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

"Good Location Though simple, the breakfast is a great thing Clean enough (But could use some improving, specially the kitchen) I guess it's a measure of security (so it's a good thing), but the alarms on the doors if…"

Read all Surprise Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept people above 18 years of age in all rooms. If you are outside under this age limit, your booking will be cancelled without a refund of the deposit. Reception hours 8am until midnight only. After this you will have to call the night manager and there will be a £10 call out fee.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Blades Hotel
72.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Victoria
34.80 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1570 reviews
Airways Hotel
53.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Victor Hotel
41.43 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Melita House Hotel
74.58 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Central House Hotel
87.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
35.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Caswell Hotel
33.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.5%

Overall Rating

526 out of 795 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Surprise Backpackers'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
40.0%
Staff
64.8%
Value
59.2%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 536 of 745 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Puay Gaik Tan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2011 Puay Gaik would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Location.It was convenient to the tube and also to the grocery, food, etc. 2. Female dorm. I had wonderful roomates ( 4 Germans and an Australian girl) who were very, very considerate and friendly too. Nothing was stolen. 3. Clean sheets. 4. Cheap.

Disliked: 1. Water was too hot in the shower and couldn't be adjusted. 2. Breakfast is supposedly 8-10am, 1st day I was thereat 9.30am, nothing. 2nd day I was there at 8.15am, still there was none. Then I went out and got my own. Maybe I am missing something here. 3. Only staircase and its very narrow and steep, no elevator. Not convenient for suitcases./big luggages. 4. Bed was rather flimsy with soft springs but I slept fine. 5. Not much information for tourists to go sightseeing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petra Linhartová

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: It's worth for the money you pay. Location near Victoria station is perfect and it's one of the cheapest accomodations in this area. Rooms are small, but clean and sufficient for travellers, who needs only place to sleep. Stuff was quite helpful and I like the system with cards to open the doors of the room and front door, you are very independent.

Disliked: Comparing to other hostels, there's just small kitchen where all people can meet, so if you expect meeting other travellers, choose another place. But it's perfect for few friends, who wants to have their own privacy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Victoria Muir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: self service kitchen, friendly staff, close to the train station.

Disliked: 3 level bunk beds and the mattress and pillows were really uncomfortable,

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Erika Kochanski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: The location was extremely central which is exactly why I had booked it because I walked everywhere through London. The staff was always helpful and nice. It was a cheap bed by London standards and even though the breakfast was just cereal, toast, coffee, tea or juice I thought it was a good inclusion because it definitely got me going. I slept quite well but would recommend people bring earplugs. Slept well and that's all I used the bed for.

Disliked: The bathroom on the second floor could have been kept a bit cleaner and the wifi connection up there dropped in and out, but at the same time I was just glad to have wifi. The three-high bunks made me nervous. I was lucky to secure a bottom level on the second night having been on a middle bunk the first night. In future I'd pay extra though for the stability of two-high bunks in another place. I'd hate to get stuck using those upper bunks. Still I was happy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near Victoria, easy to get there (especially with Coaches from Stansted), Zone 1, near the Thames River CHEAP! nice roommates possibility to cook (kitchen with TV) helpful staff (we could lock our luggage before check-in and after check-out)

Disliked: no cupboards in the rooms showers (not clean)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariusz Halabowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Mariusz would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for this money, clean and safety.

Disliked: Beds sholud be more confortable ;-).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere was very good

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011

Liked: Not much! To be fair, though, the location is very good. It's very cheap too; we paid about £90 for two people for three nights in London which is unheard of. Free breakfast is basically toast, Tesco value jam/marmalade and coffee, but it's enough before a day of sightseeing I suppose.

Disliked: Essentially, this place shouldn't advertise as a youth hostel, because it isn't one! It's low-cost accommodation near the city centre and has been set up cutting as many corners as possible. The budget for setting it up must have been extremely low. There is no provision for the typical crowd you get in hostels, and hardly any information about what's on in London or what to see. It's one of the dodgiest places I've stayed in, and I've stayed in a lot. Some things to note... We were given sheets that we had to swap three times just to get a clean set. You are one of nine people crammed into a small 'dorm' (I can't imagine what the 12 bed must be like!!) which comprises three sets of low-cost triple bunkbeds that are incredibly flimsy. Getting onto the bunks, you feel like they are going to fall on top of you, and whenever someone moves, the whole thing shakes like jelly! As other people have said, the mattresses are the cheapest they could find - you really can feel every single spring. They advertise lockers and these are provided; however, they don't have any padlocks - we got the only one they had left as they 'kept going missing'. I've already mentioned how both sets of lockers collapsed onto the floor of our dorm in the middle of the night (a girl knocked against them as she was getting out of her bunk) as they aren't fixed to the walls. Most importantly, NO ONE FROM THE STAFF CAME TO SEE IF WE WERE OK, DESPITE THE ENORMOUS CRASH THE LOCKERS MADE. The kitchen/common room wasn't available when we stayed. Unless you went in first thing, there would be dirt and hair in the showers - they were only cleaned once a day despite the numbers using them. The pub downstairs attracts an 'interesting' clientele (we returned one evening to find someone smoking a dubious smelling substance outside the front door. I would never stay here again and definitely wouldn't recommend it to others. It is cheap and in a good location but that's about it - my advice would be to loosen the purse strings, pay a little bit more and stay elsewhere - there are PLENTY of other hostels in the city centre.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

AYHAN OGULCAN OZMEN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 AYHAN OGULCAN would recommend this property

Liked: i like hostel's location

Disliked: it was not clean enough

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011

Liked: There was a middle-aged man (perhaps a staff) helping me with my heavy suitcases on the day I checked out. It was very kind of him. But on the day I checked in, there was no one helping me to carry two heavy suitcases up to the second floor, it was killing me.

Disliked: I know what I get for what I pay, but the hostel is way lower my expectation. The middle bunker of the 3-story bunker was about to fall apart and like other reviewers said the mattress was a joke. The stairs were very narrow and dangerous for carrying up luggage (with no lift facility on the site).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alex Hughes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near victoria station, small belongings lockers in room. Decent breakfast included if you where in there before 9:30! Good showers, that where regularly cleaned. Well equiped kitchen. Reasonable beer prices by London standards

Disliked: Kitchen and TV room where the same room, and didnt have a great number of seats. Beds and room doors could do with a bit of an oil

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011

Liked: It was clean and well organised, and indeed very easy to find. Staff was friendly and helpful, despite working in the pub as well.

Disliked: It was quite noisy in my room from the street below and some of the guests managed to sneak company in, which was annoying in a girls-only dorm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right up the road from Victoria Station. Very nice staff. Good price. Pub downstairs.

Disliked: No towels, but they said they will have them next time.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: Quite normal.

Disliked: The customer service was not very good, and we booked for two guests, the one arrived at the hostel first cannot check-in first thus have to keep waiting for the other for long. It's quite uncomfortable and unreasonable.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

ellie lederman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: computers stolen from our room

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, w breakfast, a small safe

Disliked: bed is not so good kitchen and common area is a little small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly woman at the desk - gave me an extra sheet to use as a towel because I had forgotten one. Plenty of space in room (it was only about half filled). Warm shower in the morning. Clean sheets were provided for bed.

Disliked: Room was a bit noisy with traffic right outside. Someone arrived at 1am and woke us all up by putting on the light.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fairly quiet at night since it's in a business area of town.

Disliked: The mattress was a joke. You can skim your hand along it and feel each and every spring. The door to get out was so loud at night that each time someone got up to the bathroom you surely woke up. The kitchen/ common area was small and someone stole some of my food from the fridge. Breakfast rarely had the clean dished you needed and was far from special.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff

Disliked: Too noisy at night (traffic) ,the bed isnt comfortable

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's more than i expected. there is a self-catering kitchen.

Disliked: nope...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

melissa boo de cruz singgarayar

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 melissa boo de cruz would recommend this property

Liked: i like evrything there.but one night some thing happened where a guy mistakenly entered in my room(female dorm) thinking that that's his room.well i was freaked out but somehow the owner managed to bring him out.otherwise its good:)

Disliked: there is no one(guys)to help me out with my heavy luggages.moreover the steps are too small and stuffy. i wasn't told about breakfast provided although when i booked and had already read the info about the hostel.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

tracy rutherford

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 July 2011

Liked: nothing except the lcation

Disliked: service recieved and staff

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne stannard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean, the kitchen was well equipped. Hostel is afar and secure. Close to Victoria trainstation, so it's easy to catch the tube anywhere

Disliked: Nothing really.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: noisy, matresses arec awful, I got a back ache

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Kristensen

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: ok spacey room. Good cooking and bathing facilities and tv. Meeting nice and interesting people

Disliked: the noise from the street


See all London hostels
See all London hotels