HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Surprise Backpackers

Hostel | 110 Vauxhall Bridge Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2RQ

58.4% Overall Rating

521 out of 784 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

Christina MacDonald thinks…

"For a few days, this place is fine. The bunks are triple bunks which means if you are on the bottom bunk you are literally on the floor with clearance of about 1m. The location is okay, close to…"

Read all Surprise Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept people above 18 years of age in all rooms. If you are outside under this age limit, your booking will be cancelled without a refund of the deposit. Reception hours 8am until midnight only. After this you will have to call the night manager and there will be a £10 call out fee.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Blades Hotel
74.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Victoria
35.62 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1570 reviews
Airways Hotel
62.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Victor Hotel
45.24 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Melita House Hotel
76.34 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Central House Hotel
163.99 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
38.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Caswell Hotel
38.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
58.4%

Overall Rating

521 out of 784 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Surprise Backpackers'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
39.2%
Staff
64.8%
Value
57.6%
Safety
59.2%
Refine your results Showing 529 of 737 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011

Liked: Not much! To be fair, though, the location is very good. It's very cheap too; we paid about £90 for two people for three nights in London which is unheard of. Free breakfast is basically toast, Tesco value jam/marmalade and coffee, but it's enough before a day of sightseeing I suppose.

Disliked: Essentially, this place shouldn't advertise as a youth hostel, because it isn't one! It's low-cost accommodation near the city centre and has been set up cutting as many corners as possible. The budget for setting it up must have been extremely low. There is no provision for the typical crowd you get in hostels, and hardly any information about what's on in London or what to see. It's one of the dodgiest places I've stayed in, and I've stayed in a lot. Some things to note... We were given sheets that we had to swap three times just to get a clean set. You are one of nine people crammed into a small 'dorm' (I can't imagine what the 12 bed must be like!!) which comprises three sets of low-cost triple bunkbeds that are incredibly flimsy. Getting onto the bunks, you feel like they are going to fall on top of you, and whenever someone moves, the whole thing shakes like jelly! As other people have said, the mattresses are the cheapest they could find - you really can feel every single spring. They advertise lockers and these are provided; however, they don't have any padlocks - we got the only one they had left as they 'kept going missing'. I've already mentioned how both sets of lockers collapsed onto the floor of our dorm in the middle of the night (a girl knocked against them as she was getting out of her bunk) as they aren't fixed to the walls. Most importantly, NO ONE FROM THE STAFF CAME TO SEE IF WE WERE OK, DESPITE THE ENORMOUS CRASH THE LOCKERS MADE. The kitchen/common room wasn't available when we stayed. Unless you went in first thing, there would be dirt and hair in the showers - they were only cleaned once a day despite the numbers using them. The pub downstairs attracts an 'interesting' clientele (we returned one evening to find someone smoking a dubious smelling substance outside the front door. I would never stay here again and definitely wouldn't recommend it to others. It is cheap and in a good location but that's about it - my advice would be to loosen the purse strings, pay a little bit more and stay elsewhere - there are PLENTY of other hostels in the city centre.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

AYHAN OGULCAN OZMEN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 AYHAN OGULCAN would recommend this property

Liked: i like hostel's location

Disliked: it was not clean enough

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011

Liked: There was a middle-aged man (perhaps a staff) helping me with my heavy suitcases on the day I checked out. It was very kind of him. But on the day I checked in, there was no one helping me to carry two heavy suitcases up to the second floor, it was killing me.

Disliked: I know what I get for what I pay, but the hostel is way lower my expectation. The middle bunker of the 3-story bunker was about to fall apart and like other reviewers said the mattress was a joke. The stairs were very narrow and dangerous for carrying up luggage (with no lift facility on the site).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alex Hughes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near victoria station, small belongings lockers in room. Decent breakfast included if you where in there before 9:30! Good showers, that where regularly cleaned. Well equiped kitchen. Reasonable beer prices by London standards

Disliked: Kitchen and TV room where the same room, and didnt have a great number of seats. Beds and room doors could do with a bit of an oil

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011

Liked: It was clean and well organised, and indeed very easy to find. Staff was friendly and helpful, despite working in the pub as well.

Disliked: It was quite noisy in my room from the street below and some of the guests managed to sneak company in, which was annoying in a girls-only dorm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right up the road from Victoria Station. Very nice staff. Good price. Pub downstairs.

Disliked: No towels, but they said they will have them next time.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: Quite normal.

Disliked: The customer service was not very good, and we booked for two guests, the one arrived at the hostel first cannot check-in first thus have to keep waiting for the other for long. It's quite uncomfortable and unreasonable.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

ellie lederman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: computers stolen from our room

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, w breakfast, a small safe

Disliked: bed is not so good kitchen and common area is a little small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly woman at the desk - gave me an extra sheet to use as a towel because I had forgotten one. Plenty of space in room (it was only about half filled). Warm shower in the morning. Clean sheets were provided for bed.

Disliked: Room was a bit noisy with traffic right outside. Someone arrived at 1am and woke us all up by putting on the light.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fairly quiet at night since it's in a business area of town.

Disliked: The mattress was a joke. You can skim your hand along it and feel each and every spring. The door to get out was so loud at night that each time someone got up to the bathroom you surely woke up. The kitchen/ common area was small and someone stole some of my food from the fridge. Breakfast rarely had the clean dished you needed and was far from special.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff

Disliked: Too noisy at night (traffic) ,the bed isnt comfortable

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's more than i expected. there is a self-catering kitchen.

Disliked: nope...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

melissa boo de cruz singgarayar

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 melissa boo de cruz would recommend this property

Liked: i like evrything there.but one night some thing happened where a guy mistakenly entered in my room(female dorm) thinking that that's his room.well i was freaked out but somehow the owner managed to bring him out.otherwise its good:)

Disliked: there is no one(guys)to help me out with my heavy luggages.moreover the steps are too small and stuffy. i wasn't told about breakfast provided although when i booked and had already read the info about the hostel.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

tracy rutherford

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 July 2011

Liked: nothing except the lcation

Disliked: service recieved and staff

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne stannard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean, the kitchen was well equipped. Hostel is afar and secure. Close to Victoria trainstation, so it's easy to catch the tube anywhere

Disliked: Nothing really.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: noisy, matresses arec awful, I got a back ache

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Kristensen

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: ok spacey room. Good cooking and bathing facilities and tv. Meeting nice and interesting people

Disliked: the noise from the street

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011

Liked: Pretty cheap compared to other hostels, reasonably good location, friendly staff.

Disliked: The 3-high bunk beds (and not that sturdy!), room was a bit hot so had to have window open, but then that meant hearing the traffic all night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yu Chin Su

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Yu Chin would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, location

Disliked: A little too narrow

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 July 2011

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: Requested to stay in an all girls room but a man definitely stayed the night in there. There were 10 people booked to stay in a 9 bedroom. You can feel every spring in the mattress so if you have a camping mat or something I suggest your bring that to put on top of it- or be really drunk...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, good if you want to stay only 1 or 2 nights and if you dont want to spend much money; breakfast is ok: you get toast, cornflakes, tea n coffee.

Disliked: the showers dont have anything where you could put your clothes on (but the showers themselves are quite clean) there are only a couple of sinks for the whole hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Goebel

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and our room mates as well. The location is quite good and showers and toilets were better than expected. Also the breakfast was okay for the price we paid

Disliked: The window was broken but at it was a hot night that was no problem :-)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff were excellent

Disliked: no common room and subpar bathrooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pub at its feet, fantastic, next to Victoria Station, perfect, close to Tesco, great!

Disliked: Noisy, very hot in summer.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels