HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Surprise Backpackers

Hostel | 110 Vauxhall Bridge Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2RQ

58.9% Overall Rating

521 out of 783 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

Christina MacDonald thinks…

"For a few days, this place is fine. The bunks are triple bunks which means if you are on the bottom bunk you are literally on the floor with clearance of about 1m. The location is okay, close to…"

Read all Surprise Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept people above 18 years of age in all rooms. If you are outside under this age limit, your booking will be cancelled without a refund of the deposit. Reception hours 8am until midnight only. After this you will have to call the night manager and there will be a £10 call out fee.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Blades Hotel
74.29 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Victoria
35.66 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1570 reviews
Airways Hotel
62.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Victor Hotel
45.29 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Melita House Hotel
76.41 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Central House Hotel
164.15 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
48.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Caswell Hotel
38.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.9% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
58.9%

Overall Rating

521 out of 783 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Surprise Backpackers'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
40.8%
Staff
64.8%
Value
58.4%
Safety
59.2%
Refine your results Showing 529 of 737 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breaky, kitchen & tv room

Disliked: 3level bunk beds, they were also very shaky, if one person rolled over it was like an earthquake!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: WELL GOOD

Disliked: BED, BUT GOOD FOR PRICE

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, REALLY helpfull staff

Disliked: the bed was not the best

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and staff,

Disliked: showers that you cant change the temps so is much to hot, beds very poor, kitchen upgrade needed

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, helpful staff, pretty clean

Disliked: fairly bad beds, kitchen a little average, showers at set temp and much to hot

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were on a key card, which was great from a security point of view. The hostel was in a great location, super easy for the tube and a short walk from the river. There are loads of places to eat and drink just a step from the hostel and there's a large Sainsburys and Tesco nearby. I didn't use the kitchen but it looked clean and welcoming. The staff on the main door were pleasant and friendly and answered any questions.

Disliked: No dislikes. Finding the front door was a bit hard but the locals pointed me in the right direction! It wasn't the cleanest place I've stayed but for the price I paid the linen and bed was in tip-top condition and there was a spacious bathroom right outside the room, so I have no complaints!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quite good location and price

Disliked: narrow stairs, and really small and uncomfortable entrance area

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There have been a lot of bad reviews about this backpackers but in my opinion it was excellent. It was scrupulously clean, the girl on reception was incredibly friendly and it was incredibly cheap.

Disliked: some people have said they didn't like the 3 tier bunk beds, but I was on the bottom so it was fine.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Christian Boukhater

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about the place is its location. Close to both Pimlico and Victoria tube stations and walking distance from a lot of touristic landmarks.

Disliked: It was not as clean as i would have liked, and there was no electrical outlet in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great price/value, helpful staff, free wifi, uncomplicated storage of luggage after checkout, 3 min walking to nearest Tesco or tube station, within walking distance of Thames, Big Ben, Covent Garden, British Museum and most Theatres

Disliked: Lockers were available but you had to buy a padlock to use them (3 GBP), Only hot water in the showers, Mattresses were not very comfortable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to all the main attractions! 15 min walking distance!!! 5 min walk to the tube but lots of close bus stops!! Friendly staff

Disliked: bar was just locals not very lively.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Mantas Riauba

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Its strange how for hostel they only let you in at 13:00 i came early in the morning with all my stuff and it was raining outside all day and i had to sit outside, they didnt even let me in, very unfriendly and unproffesional. Would never stay there again. Also there were some unfriendly and dangerous people living there, i checked out even earlier, dont want to remember even. It also wasnt very clean and all the bathroom, kitchen its old and rusty and now so nice.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nelso Esteban Cantu

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Nelso Esteban would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very friendly staff, good atmosphere. The location is just perfect, you can`t get a better location in London for that price.

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011

Liked: there are the faci$lities which should be insist.

Disliked: not very clean, and the bed disgust me so much!! it makes a big noise when you climb up, and the wood(which is used to support the bed pad) is fragiled!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff...

Disliked: unconfortable beds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it! Everything is great :)

Disliked: Nothing!!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of hot water, always a good thing. Small rooms too so you don't have to share with too many people.

Disliked: Beds are really squeaky!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011

Liked: Location was good. Easily accessible and quick to get to central London.

Disliked: Room smelt foul! When we arrived there was duvets and pillows everywhere. We couldnt work out which beds were free and which were being used. We were given sheets and a pillowcase to make our bed which was probably bad because that way we actually seen the state of the pillow and duvet. Both looked a hundred years old and were filthy and smelt bad. I didnt even have a duvet. Couldnt find one so I was froze all night. Room was very basic!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Puay Gaik Tan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2011 Puay Gaik would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Location.It was convenient to the tube and also to the grocery, food, etc. 2. Female dorm. I had wonderful roomates ( 4 Germans and an Australian girl) who were very, very considerate and friendly too. Nothing was stolen. 3. Clean sheets. 4. Cheap.

Disliked: 1. Water was too hot in the shower and couldn't be adjusted. 2. Breakfast is supposedly 8-10am, 1st day I was thereat 9.30am, nothing. 2nd day I was there at 8.15am, still there was none. Then I went out and got my own. Maybe I am missing something here. 3. Only staircase and its very narrow and steep, no elevator. Not convenient for suitcases./big luggages. 4. Bed was rather flimsy with soft springs but I slept fine. 5. Not much information for tourists to go sightseeing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petra Linhartová

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: It's worth for the money you pay. Location near Victoria station is perfect and it's one of the cheapest accomodations in this area. Rooms are small, but clean and sufficient for travellers, who needs only place to sleep. Stuff was quite helpful and I like the system with cards to open the doors of the room and front door, you are very independent.

Disliked: Comparing to other hostels, there's just small kitchen where all people can meet, so if you expect meeting other travellers, choose another place. But it's perfect for few friends, who wants to have their own privacy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Victoria Muir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: self service kitchen, friendly staff, close to the train station.

Disliked: 3 level bunk beds and the mattress and pillows were really uncomfortable,

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Erika Kochanski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: The location was extremely central which is exactly why I had booked it because I walked everywhere through London. The staff was always helpful and nice. It was a cheap bed by London standards and even though the breakfast was just cereal, toast, coffee, tea or juice I thought it was a good inclusion because it definitely got me going. I slept quite well but would recommend people bring earplugs. Slept well and that's all I used the bed for.

Disliked: The bathroom on the second floor could have been kept a bit cleaner and the wifi connection up there dropped in and out, but at the same time I was just glad to have wifi. The three-high bunks made me nervous. I was lucky to secure a bottom level on the second night having been on a middle bunk the first night. In future I'd pay extra though for the stability of two-high bunks in another place. I'd hate to get stuck using those upper bunks. Still I was happy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near Victoria, easy to get there (especially with Coaches from Stansted), Zone 1, near the Thames River CHEAP! nice roommates possibility to cook (kitchen with TV) helpful staff (we could lock our luggage before check-in and after check-out)

Disliked: no cupboards in the rooms showers (not clean)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariusz Halabowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Mariusz would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for this money, clean and safety.

Disliked: Beds sholud be more confortable ;-).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere was very good

Disliked: nothing


See all London hostels
See all London hotels