HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Surprise Backpackers

Hostel | 110 Vauxhall Bridge Road, Victoria, London, England SW1V 2RQ

61.0% Overall Rating

527 out of 796 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

"Good Location Though simple, the breakfast is a great thing Clean enough (But could use some improving, specially the kitchen) I guess it's a measure of security (so it's a good thing), but the alarms on the doors if…"

Read all Surprise Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept people above 18 years of age in all rooms. If you are outside under this age limit, your booking will be cancelled without a refund of the deposit. Reception hours 8am until midnight only. After this you will have to call the night manager and there will be a £10 call out fee.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Blades Hotel
72.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Victoria
34.83 USD

Hostel 81.0% 1571 reviews
Airways Hotel
52.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.2% 41 reviews
Victor Hotel
35.94 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Melita House Hotel
74.63 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Central House Hotel
87.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park Hotel
26.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.7% 24 reviews
Caswell Hotel
29.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.0%

Overall Rating

527 out of 796 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Surprise Backpackers'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
39.2%
Staff
65.6%
Value
60.8%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 536 of 746 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had wifi And breakfast supplied. Friendly staff. Clean showers in good working order.

Disliked: The staircase is steep and thin. The lockers in the rooms are way too small.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Xinwei Dong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2012 Xinwei would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Xinwei left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well placed. Not cramped like some hostels. I haven't been to many hostels but I prefer this compared to the others I have stayed at. Good price for the location.

Disliked: Ideally beds would need replacing as they're just springs with covers on now. Lost their cushioning. I was able to get to sleep however

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Marta Palomino Gomez

Alone

Business / conference

21 April 2012

Liked: Not expensive, not badly situated.

Disliked: Dirty, very badly cared for. Matresses and pillows were just disgusting. One of the staff war very rude with us.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sukhdeep Kaur

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Sukhdeep would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing value for money just as good as any other hostel- i would definelty stay here again!!! stayed for a job interview and stayed another night had a couple of mishaps and staff was sooo friendly and helpful i couldnt have asked for anything more from the price

Disliked: nothing!! at all i felt safe and like the staff supported me at all times

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2012

Liked: The showers, the staff was very nice and helpfull and the location was good, 10min walk from Victoria Central Station. It's cheap.

Disliked: Everything else. The hostel is pretty bad. The beds are awfull. This is a very small hostel, the 9 bed room is too small for 9 person. It was very dirty, we arrive on a wednesday and check out ond a friday, on friday there were still clothes on the floor from wednesday.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly and helpfull. Liked the shower and toilets. Everythig was cool!!

Disliked: BEDS ARE JUST HORRIBLE!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 April 2012

Liked: Soap and paper towel in the bathroom, helpful staff, close to city centre, cheap.

Disliked: BED BUGS. I have asked many people there and most of them were suffering from bites: that night I could make sure they were not lying.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012

Liked: ,

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

AMANDA BANHAM

Alone

City break

01 April 2012 AMANDA would recommend this property

Liked: Olivia,Martin & Andy make all visitors welcome.This Hostel is superbly located,15 minutes walk will take you to the major museums by Hyde Park or Buckingham Palace,Trafalgar and theatreland. In one direction it is a few minutes walk to Victoria train/coach/underground stations with Pimlico underground station on your doorstep and only in Zone 1 so getting about is cheap - a few minutes in the other direction and you can be walking along the Embankment towards Big Ben,The Houses of Parliament and the London Eye.I loved the location,keycard entry to the Hostel and rooms plus a female only dorm meant that I felt really safe and secure - a must in any city - plus they have crisp clean white cotton bedding - no scratchy nylon sheets here! There was plenty of hot water day and night with good showers and toilets that actually flushed and had toilet paper - unlike some I've stayed in.The FREE Breakfast was basic but plentiful,juice,coffee,tea,choice of cereals,breads for toast and jam,marmalade + choccy spread.This little Hostel is a Surprise,a pleasant one,it provides everything a busy backpacker needs to enjoy a stay in London at a fraction of the price of a hotel - if you want all the frills and fripperies of a 5* hotel go pay 5* prices - I'll stick with the friendly down to earth excellent value for money Surprise Hostel : )

Disliked: Only a couple of minor things really - an electric hand dryer might be a useful addition to the central bathroom area and a few plumpier pillows in the bedrooms.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: very old and not very clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice place for young people, good location, clean, with free breakfast and wifi. Besides, they have a bar downstairs where you can get the drinks with an interesting price!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, you get what you pay for. So for this cheap price with top location, WiFi and breakfast included I would stay there again for sure!

Disliked: The beds are a joke! I'm not picky, but these beds were so wobbly and uncomfortable that I understand why they can't charge more per night to stay there.. If I would stay there again I would bring a sleeping bag/ sleeping pad :p

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Senior

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 February 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The showers

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jean Bernardin

Alone

City break

31 January 2012 Jean would recommend this property

Liked: The location is pretty much the only good thing about this place. The staff was really nice too.

Disliked: Not clean at all, and the bathrooms were disgusting.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Luke Stobbart Leyow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price are ace.

Disliked: I would have liked a larger and more comfortable common space.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROCCUS INAYAT

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 January 2012 ROCCUS would recommend this property

Liked: friendly enviroment.love to book again.

Disliked: nearly nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anna Medková

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, free wifi, pub downstairs

Disliked: bed not very comfortable, narrow staircase

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really worth the price. Reasonable size of 6-person-shared room. Convenient location - really close to underground.

Disliked: Beds a bit shaky. Only two sockets shared by 6 people in a room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, the owners were very friendly, and it was within walking distance of what i wanted to do.

Disliked: There was not much room for privacy, but I did expect this with it being a hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi ,freiendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011

Liked: Free breakfast and nice staff.

Disliked: Everything else. This was the worst hostel I've ever been in and I've been to a lot throughout Europe. The three bed bunks suck. Every time someone moves a little, the whole thing shakes, and it's so inconvenient trying to climb up to the very top. The mattresses are horrible. One of my roommates said she had a better mattress in Ethiopia! The Internet doesn't work in the rooms and there is no common area you can use. There is a "kitchen" but it's tiny and people are always crowded in there watching TV so I couldn't go in there. People had to sit in the stairs or the halls to use the Internet. The bathrooms are so dirty. The whole place is pretty dirty and small. There are not enough outlets for people in each room and the few we had in my room didn't even work. Definitely not worth the money. Stay somewhere else!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the free breakfast and the location

Disliked: the kitchen coz u can't eat properly coz some people stayed in the kitchen watching only the telly. the telly shld not be in the kitchen and it shld be in the lounge so that others can sit and eat in the kitchen.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: The beds squeek and are very uncomfortable

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and value for money. Good showers.

Disliked: Staff not friendly or particularly helpful. No tin opener so kitchen not satisfactory.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels