We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hostel 639

Hostel | 639 Harrow road, London, England NW10

47.2% Overall Rating

101 out of 221 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2015)

"There was honestly nothing you could possibly like about this place, aside from the low price, but even the price was nowhere near low enough to make up for the issues"

Read all Hostel 639 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note your credit card will be pre-authorised by the hotel at the time of your booking. In case the pre-authorisation fails, we shall contact you for alternative card details. This should be arranged within 24 hours of our email, otherwise the booking will be cancelled without a refund of the advance payment. IMPORTANT NOTE FOR THE OLYMPIC PERIODS 2012 Minimum Stay of 3 nights for the following dates: From 27th July to 12th August ; 27th August to 9th September Once booking is made, Hotel Management will process FULL PAYMENT of the total booking. All bookings are strictly non-refundable, non-amendable. In case the pre-authorisation fails, we shall contact you for alternative card details. This should be arranged within 24 hours of our email, otherwise the booking will be cancelled without a refund of the advance payment.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

247 London Studios
22.14 USD

Apartment 72.2% 18 reviews
Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green
24.44 USD

Hostel 81.4% 776 reviews
All Star Hostel
7.62 USD

Hostel 61.4% 110 reviews
london365 hostel
25.21 USD

Hostel 60.8% 99 reviews
Accommodation London
7.62 USD

Hostel 62.1% 667 reviews
The Windmill
129.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
15.12 USD

Hostel 79.7% 356 reviews
Lodge NW2
16.04 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
47.2%

Overall Rating

101 out of 221 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel 639'

Atmosphere
42.4%
Location
60.0%
Facilities
40.8%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
46.4%
Value
52.0%
Safety
43.2%
Refine your results Showing 119 of 205 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Damian Tekieli

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 September 2015 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Kitchens

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leanne Buckley

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

13 August 2015 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: Loved how central it was and that there is a restaurant beside ya :-)

Disliked: Nothing I enjoyed my two nights brilliantly

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2015

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: The shower was in the corner of the room and didn't even work. Was in a bad area. One of the nights the staff had forgot to changed the sheets during the day so put the lights on at 1am to make up the bed. Don't stay here!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2015

Liked: There was honestly nothing you could possibly like about this place, aside from the low price, but even the price was nowhere near low enough to make up for the issues

Disliked: Average location. Old building everything including facilities was broken, for instance windows not working, filthy everywhere, 4 out of 5 toilet doors broken, dorm door broken. The beds and linen where filthy, stained and ripped. The dorms have a shower in them that are not partitioned, its just right there in the room and steams it up. There are a heap of people actually living and working there full time, they constantly argue in the hallways or at the main entrance where you come in. No sound insulation at all. I came back one night to find all of my things moved out, they had made a mistake and thought I was someone else, then moved me to a new room that had only dirty sheets. On my last night our dorm door handle broke trapping us inside for about 10 minutes trying to open it, afterward we couldn't close the door anymore. I've stayed at a bunch if cheap hostels in the last few months but this one really isn't worth the hassle.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Peter Round

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 August 2015 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: Some staff are rude no lift

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lok Sze Lucy Li

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2015

Liked: The location is good, at least it's near the underground station, staff is nice and friendly.

Disliked: There was somethings wrong with the hostel or the internet , they let us book a room but actually all rooms were full, we need to find another hostel, the staff helped us to find a b&b with same price, it was very nice, and they pay for the taxi. But the b&b is too far away, and we lost a lot of time, if you can't accept any surprise and changes, better find another hostel, and DO NOT attempt to book this hostel at last minute unless you have too much time to waste .......

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Radim Salajka

Alone

Business / conference

25 June 2015

Liked: price

Disliked: uncomfortable bed small rooms with lot of people noise from the street

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Aalia Ali

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 June 2015

Liked: Nothing at all

Disliked: Everything nothing as described over charged and extra charges

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the money they charged me for my stay, it is the cheapest hostel in London. Always was getting rooms i booked however as a male customer I was always allocated to rooms with males only despite my bookings were for mixed rooms (4 times already) . Big lounge is a big plus , comfy old leather sofas are good to sink in for relax with laptop, however number of working sockets is not enough. They play music in the night and got big TV. Nice cafe shop with desk for your laptop, another big TV, more sofas.....perfect for cold winter nice, it is a spring now and i am sweating a lot writing this. Bear in mind, the place is clean, but if you pay attention to details, you gonna start seeing that management doesn;t care about how the place look in details. Well, it is hostel , cheap one. Far to supermarkets, only local expensive shops and takeaways but tube station is just across the road and it is the gateway to London's paradise: Bakerloo Line goes through Zone 1 and it is just one stop away opposite direction to Wilelsden Junction from where you can get on Overground which run services around London in Zone 2...it is like M25 but inside London. Look on tfl.gov.uk for tube maps. Well, there is bus service no. 18 or N18 running 24 /7 from central London to Wembley and a bit further and bus stops are just 1 min away in walking distance. And one more thing, their young staff is really lacking of customer services, all internships from abroad and not long at the job but I noticed i did some mentoring and I swear I feel being treated better and with respect. This is need to be done, positive influence for young.

Disliked: I don't like their beds in rooms have not got numbers allocated. It makes trouble for all customers. And I must say all trouble comes from customers who doesn't know how to behave and lack of sociable skills. Would be good if every visitor follow some rules, for example not take showers before 8 am and not later than 10 pm, when checking in after 10 pm in room shared with strangers never turn lights on without other guests permission, not to speak loudly in the same times etc, etc...why rules are not in place in every room? Not helpful....probably it is not in owner interest to attract tourists to London but other unsociable individuals.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 June 2015

Liked: If you don’t mind being outside of zone 1, the hostel is well-located as just across the road on the side of the underground station. The staff was fine. Upon arrival, one of the new worker asked if he could help by carrying my suitcase up. I was going to the third floor so I was very impressed as it’s usually ‘each to their own’ when it comes to carrying luggage in hostels! On my first morning, I saw the dorm being cleaned by 3 guys (1 was doing the shower, 1 the washbasin and mirrors and 1 did the floor). The toilets were always clean. [Tip: if you leave from Victoria station, you can walk 7mins down the street of the hostel where you can catch No52 bus (at the Church's crossroad). It will take you straight to Victoria (last stop) in 40mins or so, depending on the traffic.]

Disliked: I had 3 terrible nights there. I booked an 8 bed female dorm but I was put in a different one (6 bed female) with women who work in London and live there. I had a draft on my bed the first night and didn’t sleep as I was so freezing cold. No wonder, I realized in the morning that both windows were wide open. One of the women who live there said we had to keep them open as the room would be smelly otherwise. I had to sleep with 2 long sleeve jumpers, leggings, socks and 2 duvets but it still felt like I was sleeping outdoor in the mountain! (8 degrees at night and a strong wind!). To top this up, I kept pulling the curtain to my side so that it would block the draft…and she kept pulling it back to her side and complained because she didn’t want the light from the window, she had to have it all! On my first night, some girls came in at 3am checking the beds (I think there were members of the staff) then at 5am some other girl came without any luggage to sleep (another worker?). On another night, one of the girl who works there came in at 3am and noticed that a new person was sleeping on her bed. So she woke everyone up and made some fuss about it. This was the hostel’s fault as the cleaner rolled up the duvet and pillow as if the bed was available. Talking about duvets, I do not believe they clean them. The two I had looked gross and definitely didn’t smell fresh at all! Also, like many mentioned, there is a shower cabin inside the room, adding to the noise in the morning. I have been to many hostels in my time but I have to say I didn’t enjoy my stay there. I would not book there again and would never recommend it to friends. However, if you need somewhere cheap ‘to crash on’, it is good value for money and I doubt you’d find cheaper in London.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 May 2015

Liked: very cheap.

Disliked: they made a mistake with my booking and inconvenienced me

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

21 May 2015

Liked: The price is not bad

Disliked: Not hygienic. No heating in this hostel Has unfriendly staff. Has people who are living there and working permanently. They make your life uncomfortable

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

lahoucine amkhazzou

Alone

Shopping

18 May 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: .services. cleaning. Location.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2015

Liked: It's really close to a tube station so getting around wasn't hard.

Disliked: The bath was just a shower box in the corner of our room. Although I didn't mind that, what did bother me was the mold and filth of that shower. I cringed every time I had to use that. And the water also smelled funny. But it's very cheap, so you get what you pay for.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2015

Liked: nothing really

Disliked: everything? not nice staff, untidy rooms, smelly beds, awful hostel!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

30 January 2015

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stanley innocent

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 January 2015 stanley would recommend this property

Liked: cleaniness and location

Disliked: the room was a bit cold

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2014

Liked: Has TV

Disliked: No free wifi or breakfast

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

01 November 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good price for what they offer. The location is quite nice if you wanna stay in Zones 1 or 2.

Disliked: The shower in the middle of the room is awful especially if you share a room with a lot of unknown people with different time schedules and the lights on the room are horrible too. The staff isn't very friendly as the ad says. Actually most of them are quite rude and don't speak English very well. And I'm still searching for the "Moroccan style lounge bar".

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ervin Babi?

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2014 Ervin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was clean, people are good and the tube station is just in front of the hostel which goes directly to the city centre.

Disliked: Nothing

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Sara A.

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 September 2014

Liked: Nothing at all. I paid for 2 nights and left after the first one.

Disliked: Lots of hidden extra cost, the wifi is not included, but you're asked to pay for a hotspot at the bar (the girl at the reception told me that they usually have wifi for free, but it was not working those days - but I read now from other reviews that there was no internet months before my booking!), barely no decent food available at the bar and not even a supermarket within walking distance. The rooms where not clean (my bed sheets did not look like they had been washed recently). What they call "bathing amenities" on their page on hostelbookers is a shower box (yes, only a box IN the room,with NO SEPARATE SPACE in MIXED dorms) and showers are not working in the bathrooms on the floors. Plus, there are no lockers and I did not feel safe leaving my laptop (or even my suitcase) in the room.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014

Liked: Bluntly not anything.

Disliked: This is the first (and hopefully the only) time I have to write a hostel review. It is a warning. There are a lot of extra costs hidden. Start with WiFi: 3£ or 2£ for half a day (depending on what daytime you pay that)! No, it's not in your room. Go down to a single WiFi-hotspot to enjoy a few Kb/s (no understatement). You want to eat? Pay 1.5£ in the in-built 'restaurant' for pure toast + margarine + nutella/jam. This is labeled breakfast. If you wish to eat something else there (I did not dare to check quality) wait until 2 pm. The next decent Chippy is miles away (4 pounds). A very small room pretends to offer self-catering. Pay at least 5£ to get dishes (don't dream of some inventory like a toaster or kettle). → Didn't bother to try the other services offered :p The rooms are filthy, uncleaned for most of the time and based on the air quality enjoyed by me alone in a room it must be horrible when a room is fully booked. The location at Kensal Green Station has the next usable shop (Sainsburys) 5 miles away. Hope I could help.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014

Liked: Shower in the 6-dorm room was a good surprise.

Disliked: CAREFUL, google will point you towards a different 639, so don't go where google tells you. Just go to the Kensel Green underground stop and cross the road to the white building-that's it. I complained to the staff and they said they didn't give a s about it and couldn't do anything about it. More negative points: No towels, no wifi, advertising to crappy food everywhere, only cash accepted, no receipt is provided, doors are hardly secure, toilets are very far away, cemetery next doors, mattresses are horrible, walls are made of paper, and especially: at 3AM there were really loud noises that sounded like a construction site (I think they were pipes). Very bad experience overall. Probably worth paying a couple quid more for a decent place with at least wifi and towels.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

michael joseph agboye

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 michael joseph would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Mattin

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 August 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness very homly atmosphere

Disliked: Steven left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels