HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hostel 639

Hostel | 639 Harrow road, London, England NW10

55.4% Overall Rating

76 out of 158 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/02/2014)

Petra Plchotova thinks…

"At first - it was cheap and in great location, near to the subway/bus stop on zone 2 and just few station and you're in the heart of London. Rooms and WC were cleaned every day. Helpful staff even if…"

Read all Hostel 639 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note your credit card will be pre-authorised by the hotel at the time of your booking. In case the pre-authorisation fails, we shall contact you for alternative card details. This should be arranged within 24 hours of our email, otherwise the booking will be cancelled without a refund of the advance payment. IMPORTANT NOTE FOR THE OLYMPIC PERIODS 2012 Minimum Stay of 3 nights for the following dates: From 27th July to 12th August ; 27th August to 9th September Once booking is made, Hotel Management will process FULL PAYMENT of the total booking. All bookings are strictly non-refundable, non-amendable. In case the pre-authorisation fails, we shall contact you for alternative card details. This should be arranged within 24 hours of our email, otherwise the booking will be cancelled without a refund of the advance payment.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

247 London Studios
31.88 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green
25.18 USD

Hostel 88.6% 709 reviews
All Star Hostel
26.86 USD

Hostel 65.8% 84 reviews
london365 hostel
28.52 USD

Hostel 74.6% 83 reviews
Accommodation London
29.38 USD

Hostel 73.9% 639 reviews
Holland Park Hotel
47.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Holland Park Grove
47.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Queens Hotel
52.80 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
55.4%

Overall Rating

76 out of 158 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel 639'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
62.4%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
60.8%
Value
64.0%
Safety
54.4%
Refine your results Showing 85 of 145 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

David Gil Alonso

Alone

Events / festivals

13 March 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014

Liked: It's really cheap and the staff is friendly and helpful

Disliked: There was something wrong with the bookings of a lot of people so people had to move from room to room every night... We were lucky and could stay 5 nights in one room.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The bedding was dirty, and the place was a long stay hostel for the homeless who had basically taken over the dormitories, smoking in the rooms, hanging around on the stairs and generally behaving in an intimidating manner.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aaron Hayward

Alone

City break

15 February 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Location good as tube station just across the road.

Disliked: Uncomfortable beds no soap in toilets to wash hands and took ages to check in also staff very unfriendly and poor English an generally rude.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petra Plchotova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: At first - it was cheap and in great location, near to the subway/bus stop on zone 2 and just few station and you're in the heart of London. Rooms and WC were cleaned every day. Helpful staff even if most of them don't understand english!!

Disliked: There are no free internet conection and if you decide to pay for it there is change that there will be no space for you because of many people - that's what happened to me - several times and internet on pc not working.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

kelvin Onoyivbe

Alone

City break

21 January 2014 kelvin would recommend this property

Liked: KETCHEN WAS OK

Disliked: DIRTY EVERY WERE

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 January 2014

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: I don't like to be too negative but I have an obligation to be honest with others. There are no amenities around. E.g. pubs, shops, take aways, restaurants, etc.). The nearest shop (Sainsbury's ) is 20 minutes walk. The hostel has the lowest standard of cleanness I have ever seen. sheets were so dirty that I asked for a replacement and the staff were saying I was too demanding after saying soap dispenser in the toilet on my floor was empty. Toilets were dirty. , The showers are makeshift; they were built in the bedrooms as a single unit in each bedroom. they are so confined that you cannot properly have enough space to put on cream or dry yourself properly as you cannot expose yourself to other guests in the bedroom. They were renting sub-standard towers at £5 to guests. I regretted spending $1.50 on their breakfast on 12 January. It was not worth a pence. There were no lockers so we have to watch my tablets and other valuables all the time - no piece of mind. Traffic on the road and the overground train are so noisy.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

12 December 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything surrounding area and the noise of the place . Shower cubicle doesn't work .

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

07 December 2013

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: Dirty. Dodgy looking men hanging out outside the hostel entrance. Rooms smelt damp due to shower cubicles inside rooms. Unhelpful, grumpy staff. Grotty and shabby.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013

Liked: Close to Tube Station

Disliked: Dirty Shower directly in the room with no privacy You have to pay for everything, not just a deposit Luggage storage is messy, unorganised and things are just thrown around and dumped on top of each other Mattress is uncomfortable Staff are not friendly

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION

Disliked: NOTHING

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: Close to subway and bus. Think they are trying their best.

Disliked: Bad ventilation so really smelly in rooms. Pretty dirty. Feels very messy.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Sandra Klein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2013

Liked: Receptionist was really nice.

Disliked: Arrived past midnight. No card payment possible, so had to take a walk in this not so nice area to find a cash machine. There was a party going on until at least 3am with every beat resonating in our room. Air was stuffy, sweaty, hot with air freshener making things worse. Hardly slept. Linen was not fresh, clearly isn't changed often. A sign in the room said we should bring our linen for check-out. When we did so, the receptionist didn't have a clue what to do with it. In the toilet, bedsheets were spread on the floor to mop up water from the ceiling. All bookings are allocated on pen and paper, I wouldn't trust them not to overbook the beds. ONLY STAY HERE WHEN ABSOLUTELY DESPERATE!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013

Liked: The staff was very kind and helpful.

Disliked: The rooms were small, with old beds and a skinny pillow. The shower was located in a corner of the room, and next to it the sink (no drinking water). There wasn't much light in the room. When it comes to the kitchen, it was a very cold place and some cookers didn't work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel lee

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

14 September 2013 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Spotlessly clean, friendly staff, great value for money

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was ok

Disliked: Could have been cleaner

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Mélanie Isabelle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Mélanie would recommend this property

Liked: it's situated near an underground station.

Disliked: There's no free breakfast. You have to pay to use internet. The bed were quite dangerous, no scale to climb on the upper bed.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Paulo Sergio Uliana Junior

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013

Liked: Staff were very helpful and friendly. Besides, the hostel is within a stone's throw of the metro station.

Disliked: To my mind, the fact that the shower cubicle itself is inside the room, leaving no space for people to change clothes was baffling. This also allows much noise when people take a shower during the night. At the floor I was, there were only separate showers for women. The room I stayed in was also noisy because the window was beside the front door of the hostel, where many people were chatting, so I couldn't sleep properly. Internet access is not free and there was only one computer working, so you have to wait at least 30 minutes per user if you're in the queue. However, I only stayed for one night, and it was only in order to take a train early in the morning, so if you're in this kind of situation, the hostel may suit you, but I wouldn't recommend for a longer stay.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 August 2013

Liked: It has a tube station right across the road from it.

Disliked: The pickup service did not seem to exist for a start. This caused very significant complications for my trip. The staff at the front desk do not give a single fuck about your being there, and instead only care to lounge about chatting to each other. This place almost felt like some kind of gated community for continental beatniks, and I was very obviously a foreigner, and was not made to feel welcome.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2013

Liked: It was really close to a tube station.

Disliked: Well, this is going to be a long one. -We had a mouse in our room. That's not really the hostels fault, but what got to me was the reaction from the receptionist. She didn't care and didn't even do anything about that. -The hostel was really dirty and the showers were disgusting. I really felt that I was more dirty after taking a shower. -There was problem with every single toilet, either lock was broken or missing, it was clogged or something. -I stayed in 8 people dorm and we only had two outlets. Nowadays everyone has a smartphone and it needs to be charged every night. The hostel could have at least provided an extension cord for the rooms.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Laura Berry

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 July 2013

Liked: It was opposite the station

Disliked: The main thing was that we booked the hostel based on it's location on the map, once we'd booked it appeared to be miles away from where it had advertised itself which was extremely disappointing. We specifically booked an all female dorm and were put in a mixed dorm without being told. It didn't feel or smell clean, the sink in the room was blocked and stale smelling. No soap or way to dry hands in the communal toilets. No lockers, everything had to be left behind reception and they didn't make a note of whose belongings they were - anyone could have taken any bag. The front door wasn't locked at any time.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, colourful, nice Bob Marley on the second floor wall.

Disliked: No vegetarian sandwiches on offer. The top bed hung a bit like a hammock. No porridge at breakfast. No space, like a small table, to place stuff in the bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naga Pradeep Koganti

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Naga Pradeep would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place for value of money. Just beside the station.

Disliked: Should have a room refresher and exhaust fans

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

steven wood

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

12 July 2013

Liked: Shower in room

Disliked: Beds not very nice and springs come throw the mattress And cleaner wear very noisy even tho the hostel were told my party were all doing night work

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Ryng

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 July 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and open 24 hours

Disliked: Charlotte left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels