We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hostel 639

Hostel | 639 Harrow road, London, England NW10

52.1% Overall Rating

87 out of 184 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2014)

"The check out girl tried to con me out of my key deposit. The bed I was given was already taken and the room was full. When I returned n the evening my belongings were on the floor and no free beds were available. They…"

Read all Hostel 639 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.44

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note your credit card will be pre-authorised by the hotel at the time of your booking. In case the pre-authorisation fails, we shall contact you for alternative card details. This should be arranged within 24 hours of our email, otherwise the booking will be cancelled without a refund of the advance payment. IMPORTANT NOTE FOR THE OLYMPIC PERIODS 2012 Minimum Stay of 3 nights for the following dates: From 27th July to 12th August ; 27th August to 9th September Once booking is made, Hotel Management will process FULL PAYMENT of the total booking. All bookings are strictly non-refundable, non-amendable. In case the pre-authorisation fails, we shall contact you for alternative card details. This should be arranged within 24 hours of our email, otherwise the booking will be cancelled without a refund of the advance payment.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

247 London Studios
26.04 USD

Apartment 80.3% 11 reviews
Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green
27.68 USD

Hostel 86.6% 746 reviews
All Star Hostel
4.89 USD

Hostel 58.1% 93 reviews
london365 hostel
26.04 USD

Hostel 65.8% 92 reviews
Accommodation London
26.04 USD

Hostel 68.9% 657 reviews
The Windmill
138.41 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
21.01 USD

Hostel 82.1% 344 reviews
Lodge NW2
17.10 USD

Guesthouse 86.9% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.1%

Overall Rating

87 out of 184 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel 639'

Atmosphere
48.0%
Location
62.4%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
49.6%
Value
60.0%
Safety
52.0%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 168 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Sara A.

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 September 2014

Liked: Nothing at all. I paid for 2 nights and left after the first one.

Disliked: Lots of hidden extra cost, the wifi is not included, but you're asked to pay for a hotspot at the bar (the girl at the reception told me that they usually have wifi for free, but it was not working those days - but I read now from other reviews that there was no internet months before my booking!), barely no decent food available at the bar and not even a supermarket within walking distance. The rooms where not clean (my bed sheets did not look like they had been washed recently). What they call "bathing amenities" on their page on hostelbookers is a shower box (yes, only a box IN the room,with NO SEPARATE SPACE in MIXED dorms) and showers are not working in the bathrooms on the floors. Plus, there are no lockers and I did not feel safe leaving my laptop (or even my suitcase) in the room.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014

Liked: Bluntly not anything.

Disliked: This is the first (and hopefully the only) time I have to write a hostel review. It is a warning. There are a lot of extra costs hidden. Start with WiFi: 3£ or 2£ for half a day (depending on what daytime you pay that)! No, it's not in your room. Go down to a single WiFi-hotspot to enjoy a few Kb/s (no understatement). You want to eat? Pay 1.5£ in the in-built 'restaurant' for pure toast + margarine + nutella/jam. This is labeled breakfast. If you wish to eat something else there (I did not dare to check quality) wait until 2 pm. The next decent Chippy is miles away (4 pounds). A very small room pretends to offer self-catering. Pay at least 5£ to get dishes (don't dream of some inventory like a toaster or kettle). → Didn't bother to try the other services offered :p The rooms are filthy, uncleaned for most of the time and based on the air quality enjoyed by me alone in a room it must be horrible when a room is fully booked. The location at Kensal Green Station has the next usable shop (Sainsburys) 5 miles away. Hope I could help.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014

Liked: Shower in the 6-dorm room was a good surprise.

Disliked: CAREFUL, google will point you towards a different 639, so don't go where google tells you. Just go to the Kensel Green underground stop and cross the road to the white building-that's it. I complained to the staff and they said they didn't give a s about it and couldn't do anything about it. More negative points: No towels, no wifi, advertising to crappy food everywhere, only cash accepted, no receipt is provided, doors are hardly secure, toilets are very far away, cemetery next doors, mattresses are horrible, walls are made of paper, and especially: at 3AM there were really loud noises that sounded like a construction site (I think they were pipes). Very bad experience overall. Probably worth paying a couple quid more for a decent place with at least wifi and towels.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

michael joseph agboye

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 michael joseph would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Mattin

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 August 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness very homly atmosphere

Disliked: Steven left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Damian Janeczek

Alone

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Work / volunteering

04 August 2014

Liked: i like this place because is close to cementery

Disliked: they are stealing my clothes in the laundry or from the room and this is staffs. when i said that i will told manager. the are outplace me from the hostel, they are sad that i resist. do not pay me my money for this night. And writing in the book that i was fighting and this was not true. In this Hostel working homeless people and people who can not find other job and they are prefer steeling. most of staffs working illegally for bed and 20 pound for a week. The staffs do not care about costumers

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: 1. Dim light plus sleeping with the cemetery behind you feels creepy 2. We were happy to see a sink and a shower in the corner of the room, but we're soon disappointed by the devastating truth that no water molecule was willing to flow out of the taps! However, one of the workers was kind enough to give us another room for us to shower. 3. Literally FREE HOT WATER. As there were no cold water at all, only hot and hot-ter water. 4. No water to flush toilet, hence unable to pass motion. 5. Slow reception, perhaps have not modernised to accept the fact that computers have been invented. All recordings are hand written! 6. No lifts, hence have to carry your own luggage. 7. Squeaky mattresses, can feel the spring beneath you when sleeping. 8. Double decker beds with a rickety frame that shrieked when you moved.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Paul Bingham

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms good.

Disliked: Some of staff disrespectful. Girl in the cafe.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 July 2014

Liked: price

Disliked: le nettoyage était sommaire, la salle de bain n était qu'une douche peinte au milieu de la pièce. Pas d'échelle à l'un des lits superposés

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 June 2014

Liked: hardly nothing

Disliked: staff unfriendly and unhelpful, specially the black guy who work in the reception and harly speack english and doesn't show a helping attitude. the showers fit in shared room which make unconfortable to fellow backpackers while sleeeping very scruffy building

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good strong showers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 May 2014

Liked: The check out girl tried to con me out of my key deposit. The bed I was given was already taken and the room was full. When I returned n the evening my belongings were on the floor and no free beds were available. They changed my room but had no record of how many were suppose to be in the room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly, location was ideal, the rooms were pretty clean and the contrary to previous reviews everyone there seemed like regular people (no homeless/junkies!). You get what you expect for a cheap hostel, but I was happy with it and would stay there again.

Disliked: Staff were quite slow doing everything (it took us over an hour to check in) and the toilets weren't great. Rooms were a bit small for sleeping 8 people in.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Martina Klemencic

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014

Liked: Good location and friendly staff

Disliked: More clean, it was very dirty, and all things are bed, broken...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

David Gil Alonso

Alone

Events / festivals

13 March 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014

Liked: It's really cheap and the staff is friendly and helpful

Disliked: There was something wrong with the bookings of a lot of people so people had to move from room to room every night... We were lucky and could stay 5 nights in one room.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The bedding was dirty, and the place was a long stay hostel for the homeless who had basically taken over the dormitories, smoking in the rooms, hanging around on the stairs and generally behaving in an intimidating manner.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aaron Hayward

Alone

City break

15 February 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Location good as tube station just across the road.

Disliked: Uncomfortable beds no soap in toilets to wash hands and took ages to check in also staff very unfriendly and poor English an generally rude.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petra Plchotova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: At first - it was cheap and in great location, near to the subway/bus stop on zone 2 and just few station and you're in the heart of London. Rooms and WC were cleaned every day. Helpful staff even if most of them don't understand english!!

Disliked: There are no free internet conection and if you decide to pay for it there is change that there will be no space for you because of many people - that's what happened to me - several times and internet on pc not working.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

kelvin Onoyivbe

Alone

City break

21 January 2014 kelvin would recommend this property

Liked: KETCHEN WAS OK

Disliked: DIRTY EVERY WERE

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 January 2014

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: I don't like to be too negative but I have an obligation to be honest with others. There are no amenities around. E.g. pubs, shops, take aways, restaurants, etc.). The nearest shop (Sainsbury's ) is 20 minutes walk. The hostel has the lowest standard of cleanness I have ever seen. sheets were so dirty that I asked for a replacement and the staff were saying I was too demanding after saying soap dispenser in the toilet on my floor was empty. Toilets were dirty. , The showers are makeshift; they were built in the bedrooms as a single unit in each bedroom. they are so confined that you cannot properly have enough space to put on cream or dry yourself properly as you cannot expose yourself to other guests in the bedroom. They were renting sub-standard towers at £5 to guests. I regretted spending $1.50 on their breakfast on 12 January. It was not worth a pence. There were no lockers so we have to watch my tablets and other valuables all the time - no piece of mind. Traffic on the road and the overground train are so noisy.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

12 December 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything surrounding area and the noise of the place . Shower cubicle doesn't work .

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

07 December 2013

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: Dirty. Dodgy looking men hanging out outside the hostel entrance. Rooms smelt damp due to shower cubicles inside rooms. Unhelpful, grumpy staff. Grotty and shabby.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013

Liked: Close to Tube Station

Disliked: Dirty Shower directly in the room with no privacy You have to pay for everything, not just a deposit Luggage storage is messy, unorganised and things are just thrown around and dumped on top of each other Mattress is uncomfortable Staff are not friendly

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION

Disliked: NOTHING


See all London hostels
See all London hotels