HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hostel 639

Hostel | 639 Harrow road, London, England NW10

57.7% Overall Rating

82 out of 172 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2014)

"The check out girl tried to con me out of my key deposit. The bed I was given was already taken and the room was full. When I returned n the evening my belongings were on the floor and no free beds were available. They…"

Read all Hostel 639 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note your credit card will be pre-authorised by the hotel at the time of your booking. In case the pre-authorisation fails, we shall contact you for alternative card details. This should be arranged within 24 hours of our email, otherwise the booking will be cancelled without a refund of the advance payment. IMPORTANT NOTE FOR THE OLYMPIC PERIODS 2012 Minimum Stay of 3 nights for the following dates: From 27th July to 12th August ; 27th August to 9th September Once booking is made, Hotel Management will process FULL PAYMENT of the total booking. All bookings are strictly non-refundable, non-amendable. In case the pre-authorisation fails, we shall contact you for alternative card details. This should be arranged within 24 hours of our email, otherwise the booking will be cancelled without a refund of the advance payment.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

247 London Studios
33.94 USD

Apartment 72.4% 3 reviews
Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green
35.64 USD

Hostel 86.4% 734 reviews
All Star Hostel
27.16 USD

Hostel 58.1% 93 reviews
london365 hostel
23.76 USD

Hostel 68.2% 87 reviews
Accommodation London
27.14 USD

Hostel 70.6% 651 reviews
The Windmill
144.26 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
21.89 USD

Hostel 80.2% 339 reviews
Lodge NW2
17.82 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
57.7%

Overall Rating

82 out of 172 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel 639'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
64.0%
Facilities
48.8%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
57.6%
Value
67.2%
Safety
56.0%
Refine your results Showing 91 of 156 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 July 2014

Liked: price

Disliked: le nettoyage était sommaire, la salle de bain n était qu'une douche peinte au milieu de la pièce. Pas d'échelle à l'un des lits superposés

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 June 2014

Liked: hardly nothing

Disliked: staff unfriendly and unhelpful, specially the black guy who work in the reception and harly speack english and doesn't show a helping attitude. the showers fit in shared room which make unconfortable to fellow backpackers while sleeeping very scruffy building

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good strong showers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 May 2014

Liked: The check out girl tried to con me out of my key deposit. The bed I was given was already taken and the room was full. When I returned n the evening my belongings were on the floor and no free beds were available. They changed my room but had no record of how many were suppose to be in the room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly, location was ideal, the rooms were pretty clean and the contrary to previous reviews everyone there seemed like regular people (no homeless/junkies!). You get what you expect for a cheap hostel, but I was happy with it and would stay there again.

Disliked: Staff were quite slow doing everything (it took us over an hour to check in) and the toilets weren't great. Rooms were a bit small for sleeping 8 people in.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Martina Klemencic

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014

Liked: Good location and friendly staff

Disliked: More clean, it was very dirty, and all things are bed, broken...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

David Gil Alonso

Alone

Events / festivals

13 March 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014

Liked: It's really cheap and the staff is friendly and helpful

Disliked: There was something wrong with the bookings of a lot of people so people had to move from room to room every night... We were lucky and could stay 5 nights in one room.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The bedding was dirty, and the place was a long stay hostel for the homeless who had basically taken over the dormitories, smoking in the rooms, hanging around on the stairs and generally behaving in an intimidating manner.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aaron Hayward

Alone

City break

15 February 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Location good as tube station just across the road.

Disliked: Uncomfortable beds no soap in toilets to wash hands and took ages to check in also staff very unfriendly and poor English an generally rude.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petra Plchotova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: At first - it was cheap and in great location, near to the subway/bus stop on zone 2 and just few station and you're in the heart of London. Rooms and WC were cleaned every day. Helpful staff even if most of them don't understand english!!

Disliked: There are no free internet conection and if you decide to pay for it there is change that there will be no space for you because of many people - that's what happened to me - several times and internet on pc not working.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

kelvin Onoyivbe

Alone

City break

21 January 2014 kelvin would recommend this property

Liked: KETCHEN WAS OK

Disliked: DIRTY EVERY WERE

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 January 2014

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: I don't like to be too negative but I have an obligation to be honest with others. There are no amenities around. E.g. pubs, shops, take aways, restaurants, etc.). The nearest shop (Sainsbury's ) is 20 minutes walk. The hostel has the lowest standard of cleanness I have ever seen. sheets were so dirty that I asked for a replacement and the staff were saying I was too demanding after saying soap dispenser in the toilet on my floor was empty. Toilets were dirty. , The showers are makeshift; they were built in the bedrooms as a single unit in each bedroom. they are so confined that you cannot properly have enough space to put on cream or dry yourself properly as you cannot expose yourself to other guests in the bedroom. They were renting sub-standard towers at £5 to guests. I regretted spending $1.50 on their breakfast on 12 January. It was not worth a pence. There were no lockers so we have to watch my tablets and other valuables all the time - no piece of mind. Traffic on the road and the overground train are so noisy.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

12 December 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything surrounding area and the noise of the place . Shower cubicle doesn't work .

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

07 December 2013

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: Dirty. Dodgy looking men hanging out outside the hostel entrance. Rooms smelt damp due to shower cubicles inside rooms. Unhelpful, grumpy staff. Grotty and shabby.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013

Liked: Close to Tube Station

Disliked: Dirty Shower directly in the room with no privacy You have to pay for everything, not just a deposit Luggage storage is messy, unorganised and things are just thrown around and dumped on top of each other Mattress is uncomfortable Staff are not friendly

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION

Disliked: NOTHING

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: Close to subway and bus. Think they are trying their best.

Disliked: Bad ventilation so really smelly in rooms. Pretty dirty. Feels very messy.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Sandra Klein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2013

Liked: Receptionist was really nice.

Disliked: Arrived past midnight. No card payment possible, so had to take a walk in this not so nice area to find a cash machine. There was a party going on until at least 3am with every beat resonating in our room. Air was stuffy, sweaty, hot with air freshener making things worse. Hardly slept. Linen was not fresh, clearly isn't changed often. A sign in the room said we should bring our linen for check-out. When we did so, the receptionist didn't have a clue what to do with it. In the toilet, bedsheets were spread on the floor to mop up water from the ceiling. All bookings are allocated on pen and paper, I wouldn't trust them not to overbook the beds. ONLY STAY HERE WHEN ABSOLUTELY DESPERATE!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013

Liked: The staff was very kind and helpful.

Disliked: The rooms were small, with old beds and a skinny pillow. The shower was located in a corner of the room, and next to it the sink (no drinking water). There wasn't much light in the room. When it comes to the kitchen, it was a very cold place and some cookers didn't work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel lee

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

14 September 2013 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Spotlessly clean, friendly staff, great value for money

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was ok

Disliked: Could have been cleaner

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Mélanie Isabelle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Mélanie would recommend this property

Liked: it's situated near an underground station.

Disliked: There's no free breakfast. You have to pay to use internet. The bed were quite dangerous, no scale to climb on the upper bed.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Paulo Sergio Uliana Junior

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013

Liked: Staff were very helpful and friendly. Besides, the hostel is within a stone's throw of the metro station.

Disliked: To my mind, the fact that the shower cubicle itself is inside the room, leaving no space for people to change clothes was baffling. This also allows much noise when people take a shower during the night. At the floor I was, there were only separate showers for women. The room I stayed in was also noisy because the window was beside the front door of the hostel, where many people were chatting, so I couldn't sleep properly. Internet access is not free and there was only one computer working, so you have to wait at least 30 minutes per user if you're in the queue. However, I only stayed for one night, and it was only in order to take a train early in the morning, so if you're in this kind of situation, the hostel may suit you, but I wouldn't recommend for a longer stay.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 August 2013

Liked: It has a tube station right across the road from it.

Disliked: The pickup service did not seem to exist for a start. This caused very significant complications for my trip. The staff at the front desk do not give a single fuck about your being there, and instead only care to lounge about chatting to each other. This place almost felt like some kind of gated community for continental beatniks, and I was very obviously a foreigner, and was not made to feel welcome.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels