HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel 639 London

Hostel

639 Harrow Road, London, England

Atmosphere 45%

Cleanliness 51%

Facilities 46%

Location 63%

Safety 47%

Staff 54%

Value 58%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.32USD

Important Information

Please note your credit card will be pre-authorised by the hotel at the time of your booking. In case the pre-authorisation fails, we shall contact you for alternative card details. This should be arranged within 24 hours of our email, otherwise the booking will be cancelled without a refund of the advance payment.

IMPORTANT NOTE FOR THE OLYMPIC PERIODS 2012

Minimum Stay of 3 nights for the following dates:
From 27th July to 12th August ; 27th August to 9th September

Once booking is made, Hotel Management will process FULL PAYMENT of the total booking. All bookings are strictly non-refundable, non-amendable. In case the pre-authorisation fails, we shall contact you for alternative card details. This should be arranged within 24 hours of our email, otherwise the booking will be cancelled without a refund of the advance payment.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 45%

Cleanliness 51%

Facilities 46%

Location 63%

Safety 47%

Staff 54%

Value 58%

Showing 1-10 of 75 reviews

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really close to the tube station.

Disliked: When we came, the staff gave us the key of our room, but when we came to the room, there were no free beds! Everything was already occupied even though I made the reservation a couple of days before. So we went to the reception and the security guy started to knock on the doors of the rooms to find out where there is something free. He found a room with 2 free beds so we stayed there. However, the beds did not look tidied up and seemed like there was someone sleeping in it short time ago. He told us they are surely free, however he did not seem sure at all that they are really free. We did not even get the key, he told us they did not have any spare. Despite we paid 10 pound deposit for the key. Moreover, the blankets smelled like they were used already by someone before and were not washed. They even asked 2 pounds for the wifi password when we wanted to use it. To sum up, the behaviour of the staff was really unprofessional and they got mess in the things that should be in perfect order, we were disappointed.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: That it was close to Wembly arena. We were attending a concert there.

Disliked: How the showers were part of he room and not closed off from the room. When someone showered it made the whole room muggy and smell like wet dog. Also you are only able to sleep in the beds one way. And you often find yourself close often to close to your neighbor. You can feel their breathe on you. It is a £10 deposit for your key. Other hostels is 1 or 2 Euros. You need to pay for wifi and that is even not the best wifi. We got yelled at for walking into the hostel wearing our hoods because it was pouring out. All in all strange hostel. Do not recommond to anyone.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: 2 lounges

Disliked: No designated beds.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: なし

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: I had to wait for 45 minutes to check in

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Kitchens

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: There was honestly nothing you could possibly like about this place, aside from the low price, but even the price was nowhere near low enough to make up for the issues

Disliked: Average location. Old building everything including facilities was broken, for instance windows not working, filthy everywhere, 4 out of 5 toilet doors broken, dorm door broken. The beds and linen where filthy, stained and ripped. The dorms have a shower in them that are not partitioned, its just right there in the room and steams it up. There are a heap of people actually living and working there full time, they constantly argue in the hallways or at the main entrance where you come in. No sound insulation at all. I came back one night to find all of my things moved out, they had made a mistake and thought I was someone else, then moved me to a new room that had only dirty sheets. On my last night our dorm door handle broke trapping us inside for about 10 minutes trying to open it, afterward we couldn't close the door anymore. I've stayed at a bunch if cheap hostels in the last few months but this one really isn't worth the hassle.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Its ok

Disliked: Its old

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: Some staff are rude no lift

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability