We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Backpackers

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

80.1% Overall Rating

462 out of 581 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2015)

Diego Monteleone thinks…

"It's perfect if you want something cheap; you must not expect a 5 stars hotel, it's a backpacker hostel and cheap. In that category it's a 10!!! It was awesome the free towels, linen, lockers. WIFI…"

Read all Arsenal Tavern Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE WILL NOT BE HONOURED. THEY MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL. ***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in*** **We keep you ID as a key deposit during your stay. If you need it during your stay just return the keys** We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 48 hours before check in. No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking. Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Islington Inn
48.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
KIngs Cross Guesthouse
34.72 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 4 reviews
New Market House
46.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
Dinwiddy House
73.60 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
23.39 USD

Hostel 80.6% 674 reviews
Clink78
23.41 USD

Hostel 78.3% 4108 reviews
Keystone Hostel
34.33 USD

Hostel 75.9% 59 reviews
WOOD GREEN HALL
39.01 USD

Hostel 76.1% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

462 out of 581 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Backpackers'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 390 of 550 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Monteleone

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

29 June 2015 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: It's perfect if you want something cheap; you must not expect a 5 stars hotel, it's a backpacker hostel and cheap. In that category it's a 10!!! It was awesome the free towels, linen, lockers. WIFI it's really good.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

26 June 2015

Liked: 24 hour access, free Internet

Disliked: Showers are horrible, matress is the thinest matress I have ever slept on

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Second time staying here. Had everything a hostel needs. No frills about it but a great place to stay. Lovely atmosphere and nice common room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015

Liked: What I like the most is the staff. There was a friendly staff who provided me a lot of information about the transportation to those London attractions.

Disliked: The bathrooms are not well-functioned.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 June 2015

Liked: The neighbourhood is cool, but not ideal for someone new to London. The guy who checked me in was super helpful.

Disliked: Not very clean, the beds make you feel every single movement of the person below or above you. The bathrooms are dirty. The lockers are small. It seems like there are many older people living in the hostel.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mackenzie Jaromin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2015 Mackenzie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the staff and their willing to help! Way cleaner than I expected a hostel to be.

Disliked: The toilet in the room was out of order, so a lack of restrooms.

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

12 June 2015

Liked: Location was convenient for our purpose.

Disliked: Too much to list. Stood knocking door for 30 minutes. Member of staff ignored us at desk for ahlf an hour with no explanation then left us sitting around for another half hour. Gave us two faulty keys then tried to explain to us how keys work when he turned up with a 3rd. LIKE WE DON'T KNOW HOW KEYS WORK. Bed was terrible. Rubber mattress. Something like a towel to sleep under. Mesh on window burst open. Toilet was rotten. Place was terrible. Weall left at the crack of dawn just to get out, having hardly slept.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary lukie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2015 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this place, great atmosphere and convenient location. Stayed in a female 12 bed soon and was plesently surprised with the size, especially for London! Awesome wifi. Also cheap, great value for money. I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Apparently they have water tanks and they run out sometimes?? The water ran out quite often, although once you let the staff know they will refill the tanks and it's back on in about 15 mins, so no biggy really.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ben arrowsmith

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2015 ben would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and great atmosphere. Handy location for the Arsenal parade. Also cheap

Disliked: Lockers didn't fill me with confidence that they were safe. Also a guest pissed in the corner of my room during the night. However I do recognise that this is not the hostels fault!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i stayed here before and it has really improved. It now has the fastest WiFi ive ever seen!

Disliked: They still need to upgrade the bunks and rooms

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very good hostel for the price you pay

Disliked: better mattereses

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jildou Galema

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2015 Jildou would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and there is a lot of space in the sharing room. Also they offer a free locker for your stuff.

Disliked: Showers did not work properly

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendy and inviting and the common room is great for interacting with others. Each night they have movies on the projector which is great if you just want to relax for a bit. It's close to the tube and easy to get to places across London

Disliked: The beds were a bit thin but still easily sleep able. The only downside is that if you want to use a locker they're not in each room but out in the hallway where anyone can get too.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

15 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. The common room area is nice and spacious and the free wifi works quite well. Its situated in a great spot, right near the tube station and within walking distance to grocery stores and cafes.

Disliked: I was on the 3rd floor and although I had a rucksack it was pretty hard for people who had suitcases to get all their stuff up there.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

15 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building has victorian character, is situated literally 2 minutes from Arsenal underground. Although I was tired and travelling alone, so didn't feel like using the lounge, there were groups socialising who if I'd been in a better state, could've easily joined the party with. The beds have little curtains which makes sleeping really private. To be honest, I slept amazingly deeply and comfortably in a little safe cocoon. Bit like at a festival when you crawl into your tent and feel safe and less stifled away from the crowds. Was bloody larvely after a 3.5 hour doom gig at shepherd's bush O2 Empire. Not sure how well I could've slept without the curtain, and this is something I'll always look for at future hostel experiences.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything. I read up on hostel etiquette before journeying, and observe that everyone used the facilities with said etiquette.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anke Beermann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2015 Anke would recommend this property

Liked: It is well located and value for money.

Disliked: Anke left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super cheap accomodation, only £2 breakfasts

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

michael semer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

28 April 2015 michael would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time. The staff were very helpful. It was also nice having a pub right down stairs. It's a nice place to meet locals. I met a lot of really nice people there. I would totally recommend this place to all of my friend. It's not super fancy, but I'm ok with that.

Disliked: The bathrooms were kind of gross at times but the staff worked hard to keep it clean. They also had free lockers which was nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! It was a good place for meeting new people.

Disliked: Only bummer was it didnt have a cooking place, only a microwave and fridge.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel and i was very surprised how good it was. Loved the films on the big screen every night. Place was clean and quiet. Good staff

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel

Disliked: Comfortable beds

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel.The breakfast was good and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet. Near to the tube.

Disliked: The bedding is a bit poor. Mattresses are very thin.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

João Dias

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 February 2015 João would recommend this property

Liked: ...

Disliked: ....

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jiaqing Nie

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2014 Jiaqing would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: good


See all London hostels
See all London hotels