We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

66.1% Overall Rating

445 out of 559 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

"Location. We were primarily interested in visiting football clubs in the city, so arsenal was a good location!"

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.97

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE WILL NOT BE HONOURED. THEY MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL. ***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in*** **We keep you ID as a key deposit during your stay. If you need it during your stay just return the keys** We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 48 hours before check in. No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking. Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Beaconsfield Hotel
37.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.1% 89 reviews
Alliance House
50.67 USD

Hostel 80.2% 15 reviews
Islington Inn
31.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
KIngs Cross Guesthouse
27.87 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
New Market House
39.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
Dinwiddy House
70.10 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
14.85 USD

Hostel 71.9% 658 reviews
Clink78
22.29 USD

Hostel 87.8% 4059 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.1%

Overall Rating

445 out of 559 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
48.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
72.8%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 369 of 529 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel.The breakfast was good and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet. Near to the tube.

Disliked: The bedding is a bit poor. Mattresses are very thin.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

João Dias

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 February 2015 João would recommend this property

Liked: ...

Disliked: ....

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jiaqing Nie

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2014 Jiaqing would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: good

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2014

Liked: The tavern had a nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Not the cleanliest hostel I've been in.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful

Disliked: Leeks showers not much spent on Maintenance

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mariusz Kasinski

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 September 2014 Mariusz would recommend this property

Liked: Very big and nice lobby and free breakfasts

Disliked: Showers, dirty and unrepaired

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Anne-Louise Dekker

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: Most of the facilities are old or not working

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. We were primarily interested in visiting football clubs in the city, so arsenal was a good location!

Disliked: Cramped toilet and shower facilities.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: There should, a point at cooking facilities for people to bits and bobs of food so it doesn't go to waste. Kitchen area untidy and fridge ! Room for improvement

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Roy Campbell

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 August 2014

Liked: The location from Arsenal station is good, with great access to the local sites.

Disliked: Everything else, pretty much. Will not be staying here again.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014

Liked: No comments

Disliked: No comenta

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Sierra Bradley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014

Liked: There were many shops and restaurants on the main road that the hostel was on. The tube station was a bit far, but still a very walkable distance. I also liked that they provided you with a lock for the locker.

Disliked: The general cleanliness of every room in the hostel was abysmal. The room had mould growing on the walls, the drapes broke off the window when I tried to close them, the window was cracked and broken, the women's showers had FUNGI literally growing on the inside/outside of the shower doors. Out of the three showers, one was broken (the dial was stuck on the hottest temperature). Each shower violently sprays everywhere when you press the button, and there were no floor mats (just a couple small, mouldy towers bunched up next to the shower doors). As a result, water gets all over the floor outside (and so the floor was constantly muddy because of the water and people walking in with shoes on). The bathrooms were so dirty and gross I literally could not bring myself to shower for several days of my trip, until I couldn't put it off anymore. The toilets were just as bad, and the bathrooms were missing hand soap half the time. The only things that weren't dirty were the beds, and thank god for that or else I would have refused to stay there. The beds are not great though; the mattresses appeared to be those thin ones you put over real mattresses. All in all, I would caution you to steer clear of this disgusting establishment.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Anja Apfel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2014

Liked: Free luggage Store room, free Breakfast, good value

Disliked: Normally I don't really care when it is not too clean, but this was just too bad! The female showers were just disgusting. (Mushrooms yes mushrooms on the shower) one didn't work at all and in the other one is only boiling water! The rooms were okay, but you couldn't open the windows and when someone was moving over you the whole bed seemed to fall apart.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2014

Liked: Fairly close to the Arsenal tube stop. Wifi worked well, unless you are on the third floor. Then there is none at all.

Disliked: Incredibly dirty. The bathrooms are disgusting and so are the showers. Our room smelled like body odor and never felt clean while staying there. For the most part the front desk people were nice and helpful, however my friend and I were asked for drinks twice by two different front desk attendants and one time rather aggressively. He followed us out onto the street and shouted after us that if we didn't knock on his door (lives there apparently) for a drink later, that he knows where we were sleeping and would come get us. Not cool. We slept on a friends floor that night.. Would not stay here again because of how dirty it is, and how creeped out we were. Really, spend a little bit more and don't stay here.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Matu Kormano

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 June 2014

Liked: Brekkie & lockers included (you don't need your own padlock). Quiet hostel.

Disliked: Horrible shower with rotten spongy floors and facet that shoots all over except you (bathe in steam, not water).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lewys Prendergast

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

27 May 2014 Lewys would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price and excellent valie for money

Disliked: Queue for showers

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nhh

Disliked: Nnn

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

21 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Slightly small beds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luca Vittadello

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 May 2014 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay! There is a bus station almost in front of the hostel (line 19 to Finsbury tube station or downtown), or 10 minutes walking to Arsenal tube station (Piccadilly line, so you can go directly to Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square or Covent Garden). The location has many restaurant, take-away and shops. The staff is friendly, you have a free locker for your stuffs, wifi is efficient, breakfast (included) fully satisfying. I'd sure come back in future!

Disliked: Nothing.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014

Liked: i didn´t like anything

Disliked: The lack of cleaningness, unconfortable mat, becuase they weren´t matresses, lack of enough room to eat at lunch times, and along etcetera.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caitlin Wilkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really nice and friendly, tring to make everyone feel welcome. Great location, close to tube and bus stops, with heaps of cheap food stores around and showed a different side of London than what I saw in the city. Very safe, with lockers to store valuable and keys to lcoker and room. Nice, relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Not really good for a solo traveller as most people came in groups or were long term stayers. It didn't have a very social atmosphere, people kpt to themselves which isn't always a bad thing but not great for someone travelling alone. Showers were pretty bad - two out of the three female showers weren't got too hot or too cold, no in between.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Zoe Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2014 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay here. Gracious room mates, good size storage lockers, really cute neighborhood, free wifi with an awesome common area, let us hang out when we checked out until we went to our next spot ^-^

Disliked: The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner including the shower

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014

Liked: Good price, good location (if you wanna hang around in north London, at the pubs or at Emirates). Good area to sit around, if you wanna recharge your cell phone or go on internet via the wifi. Nice to have the safety locker, could fit my whole bag in there (a quite small backpack).

Disliked: Dirty and a lot of things that were broken. I almost felt my own bachelor room back home was clean when I got back...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014

Liked: The room was allright and it is good that there is a locker.

Disliked: The night i stayed there was a loud party right next to the hostel which made it impossible to sleep. The showers are very uncomfortable and would never have it again. The breakfast was poor and was just chucked to the table.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels