We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

80.0% Overall Rating

457 out of 571 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

"i stayed here before and it has really improved. It now has the fastest WiFi ive ever seen!"

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE WILL NOT BE HONOURED. THEY MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL. ***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in*** **We keep you ID as a key deposit during your stay. If you need it during your stay just return the keys** We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 48 hours before check in. No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking. Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Alliance House
52.75 USD

Hostel 80.2% 15 reviews
Islington Inn
45.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
KIngs Cross Guesthouse
29.40 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 3 reviews
New Market House
46.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
Dinwiddy House
72.98 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
21.65 USD

Hostel 77.0% 666 reviews
Clink78
21.67 USD

Hostel 87.0% 4094 reviews
Keystone Hostel
26.31 USD

Hostel 76.5% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

457 out of 571 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 381 of 541 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i stayed here before and it has really improved. It now has the fastest WiFi ive ever seen!

Disliked: They still need to upgrade the bunks and rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very good hostel for the price you pay

Disliked: better mattereses

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jildou Galema

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2015 Jildou would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and there is a lot of space in the sharing room. Also they offer a free locker for your stuff.

Disliked: Showers did not work properly

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendy and inviting and the common room is great for interacting with others. Each night they have movies on the projector which is great if you just want to relax for a bit. It's close to the tube and easy to get to places across London

Disliked: The beds were a bit thin but still easily sleep able. The only downside is that if you want to use a locker they're not in each room but out in the hallway where anyone can get too.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

15 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. The common room area is nice and spacious and the free wifi works quite well. Its situated in a great spot, right near the tube station and within walking distance to grocery stores and cafes.

Disliked: I was on the 3rd floor and although I had a rucksack it was pretty hard for people who had suitcases to get all their stuff up there.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

15 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building has victorian character, is situated literally 2 minutes from Arsenal underground. Although I was tired and travelling alone, so didn't feel like using the lounge, there were groups socialising who if I'd been in a better state, could've easily joined the party with. The beds have little curtains which makes sleeping really private. To be honest, I slept amazingly deeply and comfortably in a little safe cocoon. Bit like at a festival when you crawl into your tent and feel safe and less stifled away from the crowds. Was bloody larvely after a 3.5 hour doom gig at shepherd's bush O2 Empire. Not sure how well I could've slept without the curtain, and this is something I'll always look for at future hostel experiences.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything. I read up on hostel etiquette before journeying, and observe that everyone used the facilities with said etiquette.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anke Beermann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2015 Anke would recommend this property

Liked: It is well located and value for money.

Disliked: Anke left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super cheap accomodation, only £2 breakfasts

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

michael semer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

28 April 2015 michael would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time. The staff were very helpful. It was also nice having a pub right down stairs. It's a nice place to meet locals. I met a lot of really nice people there. I would totally recommend this place to all of my friend. It's not super fancy, but I'm ok with that.

Disliked: The bathrooms were kind of gross at times but the staff worked hard to keep it clean. They also had free lockers which was nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! It was a good place for meeting new people.

Disliked: Only bummer was it didnt have a cooking place, only a microwave and fridge.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel and i was very surprised how good it was. Loved the films on the big screen every night. Place was clean and quiet. Good staff

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel

Disliked: Comfortable beds

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel.The breakfast was good and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet. Near to the tube.

Disliked: The bedding is a bit poor. Mattresses are very thin.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

João Dias

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 February 2015 João would recommend this property

Liked: ...

Disliked: ....

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jiaqing Nie

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2014 Jiaqing would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: good

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2014

Liked: The tavern had a nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Not the cleanliest hostel I've been in.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful

Disliked: Leeks showers not much spent on Maintenance

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mariusz Kasinski

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 September 2014 Mariusz would recommend this property

Liked: Very big and nice lobby and free breakfasts

Disliked: Showers, dirty and unrepaired

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Anne-Louise Dekker

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: Most of the facilities are old or not working

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. We were primarily interested in visiting football clubs in the city, so arsenal was a good location!

Disliked: Cramped toilet and shower facilities.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: There should, a point at cooking facilities for people to bits and bobs of food so it doesn't go to waste. Kitchen area untidy and fridge ! Room for improvement

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Roy Campbell

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 August 2014

Liked: The location from Arsenal station is good, with great access to the local sites.

Disliked: Everything else, pretty much. Will not be staying here again.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014

Liked: No comments

Disliked: No comenta

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Sierra Bradley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014

Liked: There were many shops and restaurants on the main road that the hostel was on. The tube station was a bit far, but still a very walkable distance. I also liked that they provided you with a lock for the locker.

Disliked: The general cleanliness of every room in the hostel was abysmal. The room had mould growing on the walls, the drapes broke off the window when I tried to close them, the window was cracked and broken, the women's showers had FUNGI literally growing on the inside/outside of the shower doors. Out of the three showers, one was broken (the dial was stuck on the hottest temperature). Each shower violently sprays everywhere when you press the button, and there were no floor mats (just a couple small, mouldy towers bunched up next to the shower doors). As a result, water gets all over the floor outside (and so the floor was constantly muddy because of the water and people walking in with shoes on). The bathrooms were so dirty and gross I literally could not bring myself to shower for several days of my trip, until I couldn't put it off anymore. The toilets were just as bad, and the bathrooms were missing hand soap half the time. The only things that weren't dirty were the beds, and thank god for that or else I would have refused to stay there. The beds are not great though; the mattresses appeared to be those thin ones you put over real mattresses. All in all, I would caution you to steer clear of this disgusting establishment.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels