HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

64.0% Overall Rating

432 out of 541 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

Sierra Bradley thinks…

"There were many shops and restaurants on the main road that the hostel was on. The tube station was a bit far, but still a very walkable distance. I also liked that they provided you with a lock for…"

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Under 18 must be accompanied by an adult of the same gender. Age Limit: up to 35yrs only REFUNDABLE KEY DEPOSIT of £10.00 for a set of keys which includes 1 Room Key & 1 Locker Key

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Woodberry Hotel
84.86 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beaconsfield Hotel
55.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.0% 88 reviews
Alliance House
57.86 USD

Hostel 79.3% 13 reviews
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel
44.81 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Angels Guesthouse
33.94 USD

Guesthouse 77.6% 6 reviews
KIngs Cross Guesthouse
31.82 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
New Market House
45.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
Dinwiddy House
80.04 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.0%

Overall Rating

432 out of 541 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
43.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
68.8%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 358 of 511 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect and very cheap accomodation

Disliked: everything was fine

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Karleigh Miller

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011

Liked: I did not like this property. There were only four toilets and all of them were covered in other people's pee. It is called a seat, gentlemen, put it up! There were three showers for the ladies, and one of them did not work, but six for the boys. Plus to top it off, the people were unbelievably rude.

Disliked: This was one of the worst hostel experiences I have ever had. The people I stayed with were extremely rude, it was located pretty far from Central London, and to top it off, it does not offer any food allergy sensitive options. I would never recommend this hostel to any person traveling in London and wish I could get my money back for staying there. I did not sleep much for the three days I was there because the other people I stayed with would constantly slam doors, talk loudly, snore incredibly loudly and then would be horrible to anyone who asked them to be quite. Save your money, especially if you are Celiacs, Lactose intolerant, or have any other food allergy, because they do not have options for you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its your typical 'cheap and cheerful' as far as hostels go. It had everything you needed, with the added bonus of free wi-fi and a bar which served food. I didn't even expect breakfast in the morning, which was provided - ceral & toast, so not much, but again unexpected and welcomed.

Disliked: The bathroom arrangements could use a rethink. There weren't enough lockers!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 September 2011

Liked: really nice atmosphere in the pub downstairs

Disliked: not the cleanest hostel, espesially bugginng were the bedbugs

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

andrew slusher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011

Liked: The internet connection was alright, at least in comparison to a lot of other hostels I've been to. Also, I met some very cool people there.

Disliked: The downstairs closes early. Therefore, as a night person, I was forced to sit on the floor upstairs, outside the rooms. BEWARE: I was bitten by bedbugs here. It was not at all fun to wake up one morning with itchy spots all over my body. I had to wash all of my stuff--clothes, bags, etc. If you plan to stay here, I would wait a while until they clear all their bug problems, or, better yet, not stay here at all.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

23 September 2011

Liked: nothing in particular

Disliked: Bit dingy, no kitchen.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, low-key atmosphere

Disliked: Rooms were gross, bed wasnt even made! The staff promptly changed the sheets when I asked though.. there was a crazy girl asleep in the bed above me who kept talking and shaking in her sleep.. weirded me right out. But hostel wasnt too bad itself, toilets werent too disgusting either.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

david prattley

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 September 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find, helpful staff. Great breakfast. Plenty of space to relax, and use wifi.

Disliked: bathrooms/shower areas small/tiny

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

chun ting toh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 chun ting would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere. There is a common area for web surfing and also dining so travelers can gather there can chit chatting. value for money!

Disliked: nil.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 September 2011

Liked: I left the hostel and then i realised that i left my headset there. The next time i went back, and they kept it for me. That was a very positive surprise.

Disliked: No kitchen, not even a fridge

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i met some great other travellers there. the staff are average/sometimes rude, same goes with the cleaners. i did notice one day that one of the cleaners just refolded the blanket for the next person who was staying instead of changing the sheets. thin mattresses on wire frames weren't very comfortable. the food was great though and very reasonably priced with the 25% hostel discount... all in all, you get what you pay for. cheap accomodation that will be made by the other people you meet in the hostel.

Disliked: i met some great other travellers there. the staff are average/sometimes rude, same goes with the cleaners. i did notice one day that one of the cleaners just refolded the blanket for the next person who was staying instead of changing the sheets. thin mattresses on wire frames weren't very comfortable. the food was great though and very reasonably priced with the 25% hostel discount... all in all, you get what you pay for. cheap accomodation that will be made by the other people you meet in the hostel.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: It's ideally located in zone 2 for travellers to get a feel about the daily lives of London. I feel it's very convenient to get here.

Disliked: The staffs are not as helpful. I am kinda disappointed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer White

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 August 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, good food in the pub below.

Disliked: Communal shower room offers little privacy for getting changed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you are Arsenal FC fan, this is the place for you. Its within walking distance to the stadium. Staffs were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The shower. Its too small, even for someone tall and slim like me. There is no hook whatsoever hang our towel, etc in it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ignacio Davalos

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: nice

Disliked: was good

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2011

Liked: The bar attached to the hostel was nice.

Disliked: The bathrooms were very small and the rooms we're very small with many people so as you could probably assume the rooms got really hot at night.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location to arsenal

Disliked: Room was too hot.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, very hlepfull staff, pub on the first floor, breakfast included

Disliked: cleanliness (a bit). noisy

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good space and living room.

Disliked: No internet as advertised, small sanitary facilities and dubious cleanliness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anne kenny

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 July 2011 anne would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for city travel

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere here was great! Because the rooms are a little crowded, everyone hangs out downstairs and you get to meet a lot of people.

Disliked: The hostel was located pretty far outside the main attractions of London, but it is very near the Tube, so it isn't hard to get around, it just takes a little more time than it would if you were closer.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Never slept on a triple-decker bed before - interesting experience! :-)

Disliked: Whoever planned for the bathrooms should try and take a shower there ... Out of the four showers in the ladies’ bathroom, only one offered any comfort. I mean, you can’t really walk to and from the shower naked, can you? You normally need a shelf to put your clothes on (preferably somewhere they don’t get soaking wet!), a towel-hanger, somewhere to put your soap, etc. As for the toilets, they were so small that I got the hand-dryer started whenever I only tried to squeeze in (AND I am rather slim really, can’t imagine what it must be for bigger people). And yes, I do miss a kitchenette, or at least a kettle, I don’t think the tavern staff were too happy with supplying me with "cups of hot water" - although, to do them justice, they did, thanks:)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: internet access unreliable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like the old pub

Disliked: the small rooms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The communal area was very sociable with loads of plugpoints for your laptops and phones, a few pool tables and a big screen at the end of the room, which was showing Edward Scissorhands when I came in. The music and atmosphere was good, and the discount of pub food (25%) was decent. I never got to try the breakfast but It was advertised as being free, so I reckon thats a good thing!

Disliked: The window in my room wouldnt open much while the temperature was high, so the room got clammy. There was some wallpaper coming off the walls and a fair amount of spiders running about, one ran over my back which I wasnt too happy about! I also didnt like how I was allocated a specific bed, I was given bed 4 which was at the top of a treble bunk bed and I am tall and heavy so It was difficult to get in and out of, especially while trying not to wake people up.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels