HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

68.5% Overall Rating

422 out of 520 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2014)

Paul Bajan thinks…

"Good atmosphere, with a pub with live music downstairs. Cheap, in a safe area. The rooms were very warm."

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Under 18 must be accompanied by an adult of the same gender. Age Limit: up to 35yrs only REFUNDABLE KEY DEPOSIT of £10.00 for a set of keys which includes 1 Room Key & 1 Locker Key

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Central Park Studios
44.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park View Hotel
50.34 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Queens Drive Hotel
53.69 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pembury Hotel
36.91 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Woodberry Hotel
83.89 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beaconsfield Hotel
47.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.3% 87 reviews
Alliance House
76.59 USD

Hostel 79.5% 11 reviews
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel
38.59 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.5%

Overall Rating

422 out of 520 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 345 of 491 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

yishay Dromi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011

Liked: it's a bit far from the center but still in zone 2 so it's not too bad. if you want to go to a match of Arsnal its a good place to stay. the food at the pub is really good and cheap.

Disliked: 1. no alcohol allowed in the hostel! 2. there was no soap in the toilet's sinks, im one toilet there was not even a sink... 3. the shower is horrible. no hot water at the first half hour and not a good stream. 4. the staff just want you to leave.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Florian Hansen

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2011 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything :)

Disliked: Nothing to complain about!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and cheerful for the price you pay

Disliked: no hooks on showers and cleanliness of toilet and shower areas

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Marina Adamou-Tzani

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011

Liked: The common room, with pool tables and movie nights.

Disliked: The rooms are too small with many people in each one, the wc's and showers the same.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alexander Hennessey

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 November 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Has decent shower cubicles in the room.

Disliked: Lack of space for storing baggage in a shared room. Shelving would have been handy here.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the zone, the prices, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Disliked: There are no hangers in the showers. The shower in the ensuite bathroom doesn't work properly, sometimes you have a really cold water.During the day is better to don't use it. I don't like the curfew for in the hostel's living room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mario gressani

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2011 mario would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, the hostel is close to the underground station and the pizza in the pub is quite good and cheap with the 25% discount for costumers.

Disliked: The showers are not very confortable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

eleanor bennett

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 November 2011 eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: the bar downstairs, friendly people, and the cheap cheap prices.

Disliked: tight dorms, but what can you expect for £8.50. Beds were still comfy though.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: reasonable price, free breakfast was a bonus, good meals in the pub- free wifi.helpful staff and friendly roommates and a lounge area to chill out.

Disliked: not a lot of privacy-matresses were a bit skinny. lack of shelving in bathroom.(and who decided midnight purple was a good colour for room 304?) no kitchen or washing facilies

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: Too many people in dorms. no good ventilation

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011

Liked: The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was ok (even though there clearly weren’t enough dishes to go around for everybody).

Disliked: The location is bad, if you have no interest in Arsenal (or 24/7 kebab) there are better places to stay. The second thing is: there are a lot of people staying there, so in the end everything is run-down, broken and dirty. The rooms are not clean, to say the least; beds are simple, not comfortable and dirty (but no bedbugs to report). The toilets and showers are often broken or just too disgusting to get into. The common area is big but we were there just for sleeping so we didn't use them.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff was very helpful and friendly, breakfast was good

Disliked: Not very clean. There is not place where to put your clothes in the showers and there is not any clothes peg in the w/c. Something wrong was with my booking, so instead of the 9 bad en-suit room I stayed in 18 bad non en-suit. On the other hand, it was cheaper, of course

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect and very cheap accomodation

Disliked: everything was fine

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Karleigh Miller

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011

Liked: I did not like this property. There were only four toilets and all of them were covered in other people's pee. It is called a seat, gentlemen, put it up! There were three showers for the ladies, and one of them did not work, but six for the boys. Plus to top it off, the people were unbelievably rude.

Disliked: This was one of the worst hostel experiences I have ever had. The people I stayed with were extremely rude, it was located pretty far from Central London, and to top it off, it does not offer any food allergy sensitive options. I would never recommend this hostel to any person traveling in London and wish I could get my money back for staying there. I did not sleep much for the three days I was there because the other people I stayed with would constantly slam doors, talk loudly, snore incredibly loudly and then would be horrible to anyone who asked them to be quite. Save your money, especially if you are Celiacs, Lactose intolerant, or have any other food allergy, because they do not have options for you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its your typical 'cheap and cheerful' as far as hostels go. It had everything you needed, with the added bonus of free wi-fi and a bar which served food. I didn't even expect breakfast in the morning, which was provided - ceral & toast, so not much, but again unexpected and welcomed.

Disliked: The bathroom arrangements could use a rethink. There weren't enough lockers!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 September 2011

Liked: really nice atmosphere in the pub downstairs

Disliked: not the cleanest hostel, espesially bugginng were the bedbugs

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

andrew slusher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011

Liked: The internet connection was alright, at least in comparison to a lot of other hostels I've been to. Also, I met some very cool people there.

Disliked: The downstairs closes early. Therefore, as a night person, I was forced to sit on the floor upstairs, outside the rooms. BEWARE: I was bitten by bedbugs here. It was not at all fun to wake up one morning with itchy spots all over my body. I had to wash all of my stuff--clothes, bags, etc. If you plan to stay here, I would wait a while until they clear all their bug problems, or, better yet, not stay here at all.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

23 September 2011

Liked: nothing in particular

Disliked: Bit dingy, no kitchen.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, low-key atmosphere

Disliked: Rooms were gross, bed wasnt even made! The staff promptly changed the sheets when I asked though.. there was a crazy girl asleep in the bed above me who kept talking and shaking in her sleep.. weirded me right out. But hostel wasnt too bad itself, toilets werent too disgusting either.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

david prattley

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 September 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find, helpful staff. Great breakfast. Plenty of space to relax, and use wifi.

Disliked: bathrooms/shower areas small/tiny

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

chun ting toh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 chun ting would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere. There is a common area for web surfing and also dining so travelers can gather there can chit chatting. value for money!

Disliked: nil.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 September 2011

Liked: I left the hostel and then i realised that i left my headset there. The next time i went back, and they kept it for me. That was a very positive surprise.

Disliked: No kitchen, not even a fridge

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i met some great other travellers there. the staff are average/sometimes rude, same goes with the cleaners. i did notice one day that one of the cleaners just refolded the blanket for the next person who was staying instead of changing the sheets. thin mattresses on wire frames weren't very comfortable. the food was great though and very reasonably priced with the 25% hostel discount... all in all, you get what you pay for. cheap accomodation that will be made by the other people you meet in the hostel.

Disliked: i met some great other travellers there. the staff are average/sometimes rude, same goes with the cleaners. i did notice one day that one of the cleaners just refolded the blanket for the next person who was staying instead of changing the sheets. thin mattresses on wire frames weren't very comfortable. the food was great though and very reasonably priced with the 25% hostel discount... all in all, you get what you pay for. cheap accomodation that will be made by the other people you meet in the hostel.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: It's ideally located in zone 2 for travellers to get a feel about the daily lives of London. I feel it's very convenient to get here.

Disliked: The staffs are not as helpful. I am kinda disappointed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer White

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 August 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, good food in the pub below.

Disliked: Communal shower room offers little privacy for getting changed


See all London hostels
See all London hotels