We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Backpackers

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

81.7% Overall Rating

464 out of 583 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2015)

"The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast on offer was great value for money, and the price was very good."

Read all Arsenal Tavern Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE WILL NOT BE HONOURED. THEY MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL. ***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in*** **We keep you ID as a key deposit during your stay. If you need it during your stay just return the keys** We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 48 hours before check in. No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking. Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Islington Inn
41.11 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
KIngs Cross Guesthouse
27.33 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 4 reviews
New Market House
39.04 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
Dinwiddy House
73.64 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
23.41 USD

Hostel 80.6% 674 reviews
Clink78
23.42 USD

Hostel 76.3% 4111 reviews
Keystone Hostel
32.01 USD

Hostel 75.9% 59 reviews
WOOD GREEN HALL
46.85 USD

Hostel 76.1% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

464 out of 583 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Backpackers'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 391 of 552 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Met some really nice people and I am back here now for a couple of days again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabel Yanez Gonzalez

Alone

City break

22 June 2012 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: Relacion calidad-precio, y amabilidad del personal de recepción

Disliked: No se puede pagar con tarjeta de crédito. Creo que esto es un gran inconveniente

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosie Walton

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 June 2012 Rosie would recommend this property

Liked: The social space was great and the staff were excellent! a real friendly place to stay.

Disliked: The showers weren't fantastic.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012

Liked: It's very cheap and clean. It's not far from the underground station.

Disliked: They had loads of "rules" they made up in order to earn more money, like leaving 10 pounds when you check in as a deposit, if you check-out after 11am they will keep your 10 pounds without warning you.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cristiano Scalise

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 June 2012 Cristiano would recommend this property

Liked: E' un posto senza pretese, serve solo per dormire e avere un punto d'appoggio. Ottima posizione, vicino praticamente a tutto! Ottima cortesia del personale, che sa venire incontro a tutte le esigenze degli ospiti.

Disliked: C'è poca pulizia generale, camere senza finestre apribili e i materassi sono troppo bassi, ma è un posto adatto come punto d'appoggio, senza grosse pretese. Non è ideale per lunghi periodi.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The interior of the downstairs pub is lovely, the rooms and showers are very clean

Disliked: the metal beds were a bit noisy when climbed or when someone turned in sleep

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Titus Akpan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Titus would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are exceptionally friendly and very helpfull. Good breakfast offered and the hostel is relatively safe

Disliked: state of the bathrooms and toilets

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice pub attached, very friendly staff

Disliked: What little water came out of the ensuite shower (which really wasn't a lot) was absolutely freezing. the breakfast had limited choice. cheap cornflakes or cheap bread and marg for toast. tea or coffee available but no juices.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: With that price you can't demand a lot more. It wasn't really clean and it was quite cramped. Still okay.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

TADEUSZ POLSKI

Alone

Business / conference

26 April 2012 TADEUSZ would recommend this property

Liked: nice service, very helpful indeed......when I entered at about 4am I could feel the warn of this please.......I did appreciate that so much, because I had been completely wet because of a heavy rain at this time(I was travelling in London on my bicycle).

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 April 2012

Liked: Staff member on duty helpful and dealt with problem experienced quickly and calmly

Disliked: Old an unkept - bedding was thin and cheap

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Florian Vialleton

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 April 2012 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect, i reccommend it

Disliked: Florian left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

alvaro moya gonzalez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 April 2012 alvaro would recommend this property

Liked: good in general

Disliked: shower could be better

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dane Charman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012 Dane would recommend this property

Liked: Free WiFi! Good food at the bar next door. Staff are nice and help you out if you ask. 24 hour service so I could easily book out at 5am. People in my room were quiet and considerate. Nothing got stolen (:D LOL)

Disliked: Could have been cleaner but I didn't expect it to be up to my standards as of the cost so all in all pretty happy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

veronica frimpong

With a large group / tour

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday

10 April 2012 veronica would recommend this property

Liked: the manager Mr. Timir was extremely good to us and he deserve a promotion.

Disliked: veronica left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ivana Dujic

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Ivana would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Nice showers in the hall. Great food in the pub downstairs. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Unclean private bathroom in the girls' dorm.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the common room together with pub and also food there... For that price it was great!

Disliked: Bathrooms were dirty, showers were working really bad.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

hamed mama

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 April 2012 hamed would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: hamed left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Valentina Poder

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: old linen

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

cliff havard

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2012

Liked: THE FACT THAT IT WAS VERY CHEAP. I MEAN THE WORD CHEAP NOT INEXPENSIVE AND THE CLEANERS WERE VERY POLITE EVEN THOUGH THEY HAD A HUGE BED BUG PROBLEM TO CONTEND WITH WITH INADEQUATE CLEANING SUPPLIES.

Disliked: THERE IS AN INFESTATION OF BED BUGS AND THEY SEEM TO TURN A BLIND EYE TO THE FACT THAT ITS A VACATION PLACE AS OPPOSED TO AN OLD FOLKS HOME BUT DON'T BE 36 OR YOU'LL BE KICKED OUT . WITH ONE DAYS NOTICE. AND THE BATHROOMS ARE ATROCIOUS I USED TO GO SOMEWHERE ELSE TO TAKE A SHOWER.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price of this hostel is awesome, breakfast is also good, ur standard toast, cereal, tea, coffee and spreads. Also has cheap meals from the pub that it is part of. Has a good common room with pool table.

Disliked: The rooms are really small, there were 3x3 story bunk beds in a tiny room, not enough room for luggage. The mattresses were also super thin, you could feel the metal beneath. Wi-fi would constantly cut in and out.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ahmed Eid

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 February 2012 Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: private bathroom, safety

Disliked: rooms closed 2 hours, no entrance for fresh air, sfety box so small, enterance of the hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free lockers :) and bran flakes for breakfast, not just corn flakes as per usual :)

Disliked: The room had a weird smell to it, but it might well have been my roommate... :/ other than that everything was ok.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

trevor eagleson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 February 2012

Liked: Leaving.

Disliked: BEDBUGS!! BEDBUGS!! BUDBUGS!! They did refund me half of my stay but still, bedbugs... bedbugs... bedbugs - horrible. The location is poor, the staff unfriendly, especially the cleaners who think they have more of a right to be in your room than you do. The beds are uncomfortable and thin... double up the matress and it was acceptable. Forth hostel i've stayed in in London, easily the worse, won't be going back if you paid me and i'd strongly suggest you pick another hostel, this one is very poor.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

LUQMAN BIN ASHAARI

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2012 LUQMAN would recommend this property

Liked: the staff and the facilities

Disliked: LUQMAN left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels