We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

80.0% Overall Rating

457 out of 571 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

"i stayed here before and it has really improved. It now has the fastest WiFi ive ever seen!"

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE WILL NOT BE HONOURED. THEY MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL. ***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in*** **We keep you ID as a key deposit during your stay. If you need it during your stay just return the keys** We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 48 hours before check in. No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking. Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Islington Inn
40.35 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
KIngs Cross Guesthouse
29.12 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 4 reviews
New Market House
40.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
Dinwiddy House
72.28 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
21.44 USD

Hostel 77.0% 666 reviews
Clink78
21.46 USD

Hostel 87.0% 4094 reviews
Keystone Hostel
26.05 USD

Hostel 76.5% 57 reviews
WOOD GREEN HALL
38.31 USD

Hostel 76.1% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

457 out of 571 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 381 of 541 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has free lockers, free breakfast and the environment is quite relaxed.

Disliked: The showers. I've been there several times and there is always something wrong with the showers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bedrooms were clean, light and airy. It was nice to have an en-suite and it was cleaned regularly. Breakfast though simple was good. You could come and go as you please. It was nicely located between Finsbury park station and Arsenal.

Disliked: Our bedroom was also getting quite cold of an evening, as there was a break in the window leaving a big gap that was yet to be repaired/stoppered. The only way of stopping it from getting too breezy was by pulling the blind down but this did not prevent the cold completely. This also meant that the noises from out on the street were much more pervasive - traffic noises, what sounded like a street-cleaner or garbage truck just outside our window, and general people noises. There was also a girls bathroom adjacent to our room and the door was very creaky and was being opened and closed all night, every night. The mattresses were very soft but also very thin, so you could feel the bed frame beneath it. After the first night you got used to it, but it was not very comfortable. The pillow and duvet were also nice and soft, but thin, so there were times you were shivering in the night because of the breeze coming through the window and not having extra bedding. The shower in our en-suite was constantly malfunctioning - though the hostel advertises 'hot water available all of the time', the water would often come out cold and never heat up. On many occasions the water would just stop coming out even though the knob was on, and then 5 minutes later the water would suddenly start coming out again, usually cold still but hot if you were lucky. It was also very hard to reach the shower controls, as they were very high up on the wall and really only accessible (for people under 6 foot) if you stepped on your tip-toes and stretched up high to turn the knobs. The tavern was not really non-smoker friendly, as there was a little courtyard downstairs for people to smoke, and you accessed it through a fire escape door which had to be left open. This meant that the smoke had nowhere else to go but inside the building and throughout the common area, and it was often quite strong and stifling. The common area was also very dimly lit with downlights passing light through a dark ceiling. And yet, because this was the only part of the tavern where the wi-fi worked, you very quickly had eye strain using your laptop downstairs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

shuai wang

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 September 2012 shuai would recommend this property

Liked: staff is nice ,location is ok and quiet. good breakfast. free locker which nice and helpful

Disliked: it's a nice place to stay with that much you pay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character for a great price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: Policy about people over 35y old

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lok Wai Unique Ng

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012

Liked: staffs are really nice and helpful

Disliked: 1 .well, if u wanna get there, please get off at Arsenal Station not the Finsbury Park, u have to walk along 15mins if you get off at Finsbury Park-__-'' 2. I hate the shower place, the are is not enough 1mX1m -_-....and as it's not hand shower, it's fixed on the wall, so your hair must be wetted, and you can only hang the clothing on the door. 3. it's bad if u take auitcases coz u have to walk upstairs and downstairs then upstairs to get your room-_-..very hard 4. the free wifi can only connect at the bar area not rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable and cheaper.

Disliked: Everything is fine apart from the ladies showers Out of Order.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ivan David Meza Canales

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2012 Ivan David would recommend this property

Liked: La atencion fue muy buena. frendly staff

Disliked: to small the room and not that clean

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the service they provided was excellent

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tessa den Os

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Tessa would recommend this property

Liked: That the staff was very helpful and that it was a really good atmosphere

Disliked: That the ceiling looked like it was in need of a very good and new painting job.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

simon richardson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 July 2012

Liked: i liked the fact it was close to a tube station.

Disliked: the fact that my mobile phone was stoolen from the room whilst it was charging. pretty sure the cleaners stole it , as the other 8 people in my room are my friends i have been travelling with.Also where i was sleeping was super dangerious.i was on a middle bunk in the dorm room. and when i opened the window i could of actually rool out and fallen 25-30 feet, no safety bars , really dangerious.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

João Martins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 João would recommend this property

Liked: Great for backpackers! Good Breakfast inclueded. Next to underground station.

Disliked: João left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 July 2012

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff except for the manager. please look at the dislike section.

Disliked: The manager of the hostel has nothing to do at a hostel. He is trying to pick up alone travelling girls all the time, he is stealing money and changes prices and creates a very bad atmosphere for the whole place. The rest of the staff is afraid of him and they were really, really nice. I dont recommend anyone who is doing a trip to meet a person like him. I think the owner should get rid of him and let the staff continue with the work and create a much better atmosphere. I think the way he treats the guests should be reported. Do not go there.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great in the bar and the food is wonderful. 25% off the whole menu!

Disliked: The tripple stacked beds are inconveinient but it is pretty good over all

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the pub next door serves good cheap food

Disliked: showers were tempremental

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Met some really nice people and I am back here now for a couple of days again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabel Yanez Gonzalez

Alone

City break

22 June 2012 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: Relacion calidad-precio, y amabilidad del personal de recepción

Disliked: No se puede pagar con tarjeta de crédito. Creo que esto es un gran inconveniente

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosie Walton

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 June 2012 Rosie would recommend this property

Liked: The social space was great and the staff were excellent! a real friendly place to stay.

Disliked: The showers weren't fantastic.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012

Liked: It's very cheap and clean. It's not far from the underground station.

Disliked: They had loads of "rules" they made up in order to earn more money, like leaving 10 pounds when you check in as a deposit, if you check-out after 11am they will keep your 10 pounds without warning you.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cristiano Scalise

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 June 2012 Cristiano would recommend this property

Liked: E' un posto senza pretese, serve solo per dormire e avere un punto d'appoggio. Ottima posizione, vicino praticamente a tutto! Ottima cortesia del personale, che sa venire incontro a tutte le esigenze degli ospiti.

Disliked: C'è poca pulizia generale, camere senza finestre apribili e i materassi sono troppo bassi, ma è un posto adatto come punto d'appoggio, senza grosse pretese. Non è ideale per lunghi periodi.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The interior of the downstairs pub is lovely, the rooms and showers are very clean

Disliked: the metal beds were a bit noisy when climbed or when someone turned in sleep

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Titus Akpan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Titus would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are exceptionally friendly and very helpfull. Good breakfast offered and the hostel is relatively safe

Disliked: state of the bathrooms and toilets

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice pub attached, very friendly staff

Disliked: What little water came out of the ensuite shower (which really wasn't a lot) was absolutely freezing. the breakfast had limited choice. cheap cornflakes or cheap bread and marg for toast. tea or coffee available but no juices.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: With that price you can't demand a lot more. It wasn't really clean and it was quite cramped. Still okay.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

TADEUSZ POLSKI

Alone

Business / conference

26 April 2012 TADEUSZ would recommend this property

Liked: nice service, very helpful indeed......when I entered at about 4am I could feel the warn of this please.......I did appreciate that so much, because I had been completely wet because of a heavy rain at this time(I was travelling in London on my bicycle).

Disliked: nothing


See all London hostels
See all London hotels