HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Backpackers London Hostel

175 Blackstock Road, London, England

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 67%

Location 68%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.20USD
  • Towel 6.51USD

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

Reception is open from 08:00 until 00.00. If you are arriving outside of this time you must email us. (24 hour access after check in).

***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in and do not allow London locals to stay***

**£10 cash deposit for keys and late check outs**

We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion.

We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled.

Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 24 hours before check in.

No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking.

Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 67%

Location 68%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 71%

Showing 51-60 of 99 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: No comments

Disliked: No comenta

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free luggage Store room, free Breakfast, good value

Disliked: Normally I don't really care when it is not too clean, but this was just too bad! The female showers were just disgusting. (Mushrooms yes mushrooms on the shower) one didn't work at all and in the other one is only boiling water! The rooms were okay, but you couldn't open the windows and when someone was moving over you the whole bed seemed to fall apart.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There were many shops and restaurants on the main road that the hostel was on. The tube station was a bit far, but still a very walkable distance. I also liked that they provided you with a lock for the locker.

Disliked: The general cleanliness of every room in the hostel was abysmal. The room had mould growing on the walls, the drapes broke off the window when I tried to close them, the window was cracked and broken, the women's showers had FUNGI literally growing on the inside/outside of the shower doors. Out of the three showers, one was broken (the dial was stuck on the hottest temperature). Each shower violently sprays everywhere when you press the button, and there were no floor mats (just a couple small, mouldy towers bunched up next to the shower doors). As a result, water gets all over the floor outside (and so the floor was constantly muddy because of the water and people walking in with shoes on). The bathrooms were so dirty and gross I literally could not bring myself to shower for several days of my trip, until I couldn't put it off anymore. The toilets were just as bad, and the bathrooms were missing hand soap half the time. The only things that weren't dirty were the beds, and thank god for that or else I would have refused to stay there. The beds are not great though; the mattresses appeared to be those thin ones you put over real mattresses. All in all, I would caution you to steer clear of this disgusting establishment.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Fairly close to the Arsenal tube stop. Wifi worked well, unless you are on the third floor. Then there is none at all.

Disliked: Incredibly dirty. The bathrooms are disgusting and so are the showers. Our room smelled like body odor and never felt clean while staying there. For the most part the front desk people were nice and helpful, however my friend and I were asked for drinks twice by two different front desk attendants and one time rather aggressively. He followed us out onto the street and shouted after us that if we didn't knock on his door (lives there apparently) for a drink later, that he knows where we were sleeping and would come get us. Not cool. We slept on a friends floor that night.. Would not stay here again because of how dirty it is, and how creeped out we were. Really, spend a little bit more and don't stay here.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Brekkie & lockers included (you don't need your own padlock). Quiet hostel.

Disliked: Horrible shower with rotten spongy floors and facet that shoots all over except you (bathe in steam, not water).

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Nhh

Disliked: Nnn

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Cheap price and excellent valie for money

Disliked: Queue for showers

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location

Disliked: Slightly small beds

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great place to stay! There is a bus station almost in front of the hostel (line 19 to Finsbury tube station or downtown), or 10 minutes walking to Arsenal tube station (Piccadilly line, so you can go directly to Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square or Covent Garden). The location has many restaurant, take-away and shops. The staff is friendly, you have a free locker for your stuffs, wifi is efficient, breakfast (included) fully satisfying. I'd sure come back in future!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: i didn´t like anything

Disliked: The lack of cleaningness, unconfortable mat, becuase they weren´t matresses, lack of enough room to eat at lunch times, and along etcetera.

Check Availability