We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Backpackers

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

77.9% Overall Rating

466 out of 586 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2015)

"The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast on offer was great value for money, and the price was very good."

Read all Arsenal Tavern Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.08

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE WILL NOT BE HONOURED. THEY MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL. ***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in*** **We keep you ID as a key deposit during your stay. If you need it during your stay just return the keys** We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 48 hours before check in. No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking. Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Islington Inn
35.39 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
KIngs Cross Guesthouse
26.93 USD

Guesthouse 57.6% 6 reviews
New Market House
38.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
Dinwiddy House
72.57 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
19.99 USD

Hostel 76.3% 684 reviews
Clink78
26.16 USD

Hostel 75.8% 4121 reviews
Keystone Hostel
27.70 USD

Hostel 75.2% 63 reviews
Clink261
26.16 USD

Hostel 84.5% 973 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.9%

Overall Rating

466 out of 586 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Backpackers'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 393 of 555 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Judith Roth

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: location, good price!

Disliked: the mattresses are really thin, you cant be too sensitive with that

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 March 2013

Liked: the pub inside

Disliked: no kitchen

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Danguole Tusiene

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013

Liked: cheap

Disliked: too much Spanish, who do not like other people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiago Ferreira dos Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 March 2013 Tiago would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good place for travellers, has loads of rooms, shared bathroom, it's very cheap and has a good breakfast. Nothing to complain about. Simply very good!

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ismail Goumri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 March 2013 Ismail would recommend this property

Liked: There is a lot of faciities with the free breakfast, the common area is very nice !

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms, the showers are very small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

pieter schaap

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2013 pieter would recommend this property

Liked: i like the location, easy to find and very accessible to get around london. the staff was excellent, and easy to talk to, and very helpful. excellent space in ground floor with private pool table n bar n sky n wifi, good place to meet new people.

Disliked: the pillow was below average woke up wid a stiff neck as i didn't get enough support on my neck other than that the bed was average.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It a nice place, nice atmosphere. I've been there many times.

Disliked: Small bathrooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful and friendly. Bathrooms were cleaned often. Atmosphere was nice and relaxed. Felt very safe here as a solo traveler.

Disliked: The room I was in (15 beds) was WAY TOO HOT. It was like a sauna. The window did not open, so each night was a room of sweaty bodies. Breakfast was kind of "meh." Just toast, cereal, tea, coffee. So not much variety. Also the showers are push buttons, but you get used to it after a while.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed the cosy atmosphere of the Hostel.

Disliked: We were a little worried about having to leave our luggage alone in the room where strangers had access to it. Found that the bunks were too thin and rather 'scary' to sleep on as they had no railing down one side. Ended up using luggage straps over it for added safety.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Thirumalaimari Pandaram

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 February 2013

Liked: 24 hours entry...free luggage facility

Disliked: Breakfast provided with less varieties Security deposit of key is £10.But wrong amount has been described in website

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

NATALIA OLIVEIRA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 NATALIA would recommend this property

Liked: People, bar, structure

Disliked: Showers, badroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bourdier manouan

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 January 2013 bourdier would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is near the city centre of London (It's some mins away from Picadilly Circus if you take the tube). Staying there was a nice experience overall. I liked the rooms and i liked the living room which is next to the reception. It offers free-Wifi Internet connection whis was helpful. And last but definitely not least it offered a good and warm atmosphere. Oh, and i enjoyed the heat the hostel had because London had a really cold weather!

Disliked: There's really nothing to complain about the hostel.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and it had the potential to be a fun hostel, there was a huge social area, pool tables etc.

Disliked: It didnt seem like a hostel in the sense of a friendly international place, but more of a cliquey place where people live when they move to London and are looking for work. The rooms had zero storage space, triple deck bunks and not many showers (with zero privacy, basically naked in front of anyne who walks in the door or is by the door when it opens). Also breakfast finishes at 9:30, no idea why when they just move the the cereals from a place you can reach to one you cant.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iman Nana Alaouie

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 November 2012 Iman Nana would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Arsenal Tavern Hostel to watch Arsenal play Tottenham in the weekend and all I can say is that it was great! you definitely get your money's worth and the place is clean, especially the toilets, which surprised me a little! The room is a bit crammed, but what do you expect when you share it with 11 other people? it was also a very safe place, I had to leave my MacBook Air in the common room to get something from my room multiple times (as there is no wifi connection in the rooms) and both staff and travelers where very helpful and looked out for it while I was gone. Location is brilliant as well, only 5 minute walk from Arsenal station and Finsbury Park station. Emirates Stadium is also really close which was very convenient as I am an Arsenal fan! plus, after the Derby there was an amazing atmosphere in the pub right next to the hostel which helped spread a good mood in the common room :) Will definitely stay in Arsenal Tavern Hostel again!

Disliked: I don't dislike anything, but a suggested would be to add wifi in the rooms. it would make things a lot easier!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Priscila Teixeira

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Priscila would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and the staff is really helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast is really bad. There are basically bread, jam and cereal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Good value for money! Nice and clean hostel. Near to the next Underground Station from where it takes you only some minutes to the centre. I would really recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff and great atmosphere :)

Disliked: A bit away from the center but easily approachable by tube/bus. The female dorm that I stayed in was very tiny, but I got used to it, plus the people there were very friendly and nice :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DAN NICOLAE VIRTOPEANU

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 DAN NICOLAE would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast included good friendly and helpfull staff good good atmosphere a lot of usefull utilities,microwave,wifi,hot showers etc and also usefull information about bars clubs shopping etc i warmly recomend it ,best value 4 money

Disliked: You can find a milions things not good in a perfect thing,so my opinion is clear,good overall service.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing! It was also easy to use the Underground to get to wherever you needed to go.

Disliked: The wifi was only accessible in the common areas, not in the rooms. Also, the beds were pretty uncomfortable and the showers were not that good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Dennis Pawlowski

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2012 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: For that price it's unbeatable in London. Save the money here, everything else is expensive enough...

Disliked: Facilities are run down and not clean, matraces are hard and not very comfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrej Ilic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

23 October 2012 Andrej would recommend this property

Liked: Evertything is OK

Disliked: Nothing...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marek Zaranski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2012 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: - common room - staff - location

Disliked: - rooms (small)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location,good breakfast, clean,near pub.staff could be more friendly especcialyy girl who clean bathrooms etc.

Disliked: staff could be more friendly especcialyy girl who clean bathrooms etc. very small and dangerous bed,private bathroom didnt work and the price was still the same, should be a hot water available in living room.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels