HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

66.6% Overall Rating

422 out of 522 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

"Good price, good location (if you wanna hang around in north London, at the pubs or at Emirates). Good area to sit around, if you wanna recharge your cell phone or go on internet via the wifi. Nice to have the safety…"

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Under 18 must be accompanied by an adult of the same gender. Age Limit: up to 35yrs only REFUNDABLE KEY DEPOSIT of £10.00 for a set of keys which includes 1 Room Key & 1 Locker Key

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Central Park Studios
47.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park View Hotel
53.73 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Queens Drive Hotel
53.73 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pembury Hotel
45.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Woodberry Hotel
83.95 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beaconsfield Hotel
44.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.3% 87 reviews
Alliance House
76.65 USD

Hostel 79.5% 11 reviews
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel
33.58 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.6%

Overall Rating

422 out of 522 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
48.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
71.2%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 346 of 492 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The services provided at Arsenal Tavern Hostel are generally adequate, and the price is good. Its main strength is a good security situation. The lockers provided are of a good size, have an internal lock, and only required a key deposit. I also felt that the staff took proper precautions to prevent suspicious walk-ins.

Disliked: They are exaggerating the friendliness of their staff - I would say that the staff I dealt with were professional but somewhat distant. (They told me how things worked, but were unwilling to engage in conversation despite not being terribly busy.) While that might change, the property is awkward to access. If you have more than a backpack, I strongly recommend staying elsewhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It cosy place to stay, located close to tube, clean, friendly environment, access to breakfast, wifi area, lockers in the room, people from all over the world You will never feel alone here :)

Disliked: Too cold to sleep in front of the drafty window however I got extra duvet from the helpful all the time staff :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose M Roldan Lafuente

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2013 Jose M would recommend this property

Liked: Good service

Disliked: The bathroon is small

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Judith Roth

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: location, good price!

Disliked: the mattresses are really thin, you cant be too sensitive with that

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 March 2013

Liked: the pub inside

Disliked: no kitchen

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Danguole Tusiene

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013

Liked: cheap

Disliked: too much Spanish, who do not like other people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiago Ferreira dos Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 March 2013 Tiago would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good place for travellers, has loads of rooms, shared bathroom, it's very cheap and has a good breakfast. Nothing to complain about. Simply very good!

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ismail Goumri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 March 2013 Ismail would recommend this property

Liked: There is a lot of faciities with the free breakfast, the common area is very nice !

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms, the showers are very small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

pieter schaap

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2013 pieter would recommend this property

Liked: i like the location, easy to find and very accessible to get around london. the staff was excellent, and easy to talk to, and very helpful. excellent space in ground floor with private pool table n bar n sky n wifi, good place to meet new people.

Disliked: the pillow was below average woke up wid a stiff neck as i didn't get enough support on my neck other than that the bed was average.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It a nice place, nice atmosphere. I've been there many times.

Disliked: Small bathrooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful and friendly. Bathrooms were cleaned often. Atmosphere was nice and relaxed. Felt very safe here as a solo traveler.

Disliked: The room I was in (15 beds) was WAY TOO HOT. It was like a sauna. The window did not open, so each night was a room of sweaty bodies. Breakfast was kind of "meh." Just toast, cereal, tea, coffee. So not much variety. Also the showers are push buttons, but you get used to it after a while.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed the cosy atmosphere of the Hostel.

Disliked: We were a little worried about having to leave our luggage alone in the room where strangers had access to it. Found that the bunks were too thin and rather 'scary' to sleep on as they had no railing down one side. Ended up using luggage straps over it for added safety.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Thirumalaimari Pandaram

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 February 2013

Liked: 24 hours entry...free luggage facility

Disliked: Breakfast provided with less varieties Security deposit of key is £10.But wrong amount has been described in website

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

NATALIA OLIVEIRA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 NATALIA would recommend this property

Liked: People, bar, structure

Disliked: Showers, badroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bourdier manouan

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 January 2013 bourdier would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is near the city centre of London (It's some mins away from Picadilly Circus if you take the tube). Staying there was a nice experience overall. I liked the rooms and i liked the living room which is next to the reception. It offers free-Wifi Internet connection whis was helpful. And last but definitely not least it offered a good and warm atmosphere. Oh, and i enjoyed the heat the hostel had because London had a really cold weather!

Disliked: There's really nothing to complain about the hostel.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and it had the potential to be a fun hostel, there was a huge social area, pool tables etc.

Disliked: It didnt seem like a hostel in the sense of a friendly international place, but more of a cliquey place where people live when they move to London and are looking for work. The rooms had zero storage space, triple deck bunks and not many showers (with zero privacy, basically naked in front of anyne who walks in the door or is by the door when it opens). Also breakfast finishes at 9:30, no idea why when they just move the the cereals from a place you can reach to one you cant.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iman Nana Alaouie

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 November 2012 Iman Nana would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Arsenal Tavern Hostel to watch Arsenal play Tottenham in the weekend and all I can say is that it was great! you definitely get your money's worth and the place is clean, especially the toilets, which surprised me a little! The room is a bit crammed, but what do you expect when you share it with 11 other people? it was also a very safe place, I had to leave my MacBook Air in the common room to get something from my room multiple times (as there is no wifi connection in the rooms) and both staff and travelers where very helpful and looked out for it while I was gone. Location is brilliant as well, only 5 minute walk from Arsenal station and Finsbury Park station. Emirates Stadium is also really close which was very convenient as I am an Arsenal fan! plus, after the Derby there was an amazing atmosphere in the pub right next to the hostel which helped spread a good mood in the common room :) Will definitely stay in Arsenal Tavern Hostel again!

Disliked: I don't dislike anything, but a suggested would be to add wifi in the rooms. it would make things a lot easier!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Priscila Teixeira

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Priscila would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and the staff is really helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast is really bad. There are basically bread, jam and cereal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Good value for money! Nice and clean hostel. Near to the next Underground Station from where it takes you only some minutes to the centre. I would really recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff and great atmosphere :)

Disliked: A bit away from the center but easily approachable by tube/bus. The female dorm that I stayed in was very tiny, but I got used to it, plus the people there were very friendly and nice :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DAN NICOLAE VIRTOPEANU

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 DAN NICOLAE would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast included good friendly and helpfull staff good good atmosphere a lot of usefull utilities,microwave,wifi,hot showers etc and also usefull information about bars clubs shopping etc i warmly recomend it ,best value 4 money

Disliked: You can find a milions things not good in a perfect thing,so my opinion is clear,good overall service.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing! It was also easy to use the Underground to get to wherever you needed to go.

Disliked: The wifi was only accessible in the common areas, not in the rooms. Also, the beds were pretty uncomfortable and the showers were not that good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Dennis Pawlowski

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2012 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: For that price it's unbeatable in London. Save the money here, everything else is expensive enough...

Disliked: Facilities are run down and not clean, matraces are hard and not very comfortable.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels