We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

80.0% Overall Rating

457 out of 571 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

"i stayed here before and it has really improved. It now has the fastest WiFi ive ever seen!"

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE WILL NOT BE HONOURED. THEY MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL. ***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in*** **We keep you ID as a key deposit during your stay. If you need it during your stay just return the keys** We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 48 hours before check in. No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking. Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Islington Inn
37.74 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
KIngs Cross Guesthouse
29.07 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 4 reviews
New Market House
40.80 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
Dinwiddy House
72.14 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
16.81 USD

Hostel 78.4% 667 reviews
Clink78
21.42 USD

Hostel 87.0% 4094 reviews
Keystone Hostel
26.01 USD

Hostel 76.5% 57 reviews
WOOD GREEN HALL
38.24 USD

Hostel 76.1% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

457 out of 571 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 381 of 541 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: İt was basically OK, cheapest hostel in London. İt is worth the price

Disliked: Breakfast, poor air conditioning

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast, location, spacious pub area

Disliked: not much atmosphere

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Celine Hadrysiak

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 August 2013 Celine would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there were buses that went into the centre that stopped right outside the hostel (number 19 going towards Battersea). There were also a lot of restaurants and places to get food around the hostel. Also the area seemed quite safe, even at night.

Disliked: The nearest underground stations were at least a 8-10 minute walk from the hostel. Also the toilets were too small and there weren't enough of them or showers. There was also no lift and too many stairs which I had to lug my heavy case up and down.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Giovanni Zaniol

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 July 2013 Giovanni would recommend this property

Liked: It was my first time in a hostel, at first I didn't have a good impression but after one-two nights I got used and I liked my staying there. The staff is helpful, the breakfast in the morning is good and I also liked the bar.

Disliked: The cleanliness of the rooms is not perfect but I got used to it.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Sheri Freestone

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013

Liked: The hostel was right next to a pub (tavern) so you could eat and have drinks there. However, it closed pretty early, maybe 11 pm? There were pool tables, and a pretty comfortable/large common area. Also, wifi is free, but I can't remember if it works in the rooms. The staff was also really friendly and helpful. There was also a fan in the room, which was nice since Europe doesn't really believe in air conditioning.

Disliked: This is not the worst hostel I've ever stayed at, but possibly the second worst. The bunk beds are three high, and if you get assigned to the top, you feel like you're going to fall off the whole night, and they aren't very stable. The bathrooms smell heavily of moth balls. There is no lift/elevator, which is pretty normal for Europe, but still annoying. "Breakfast" is included, but consists of bread, cereal, and instant coffee. I know it's a hostel and I'm not expecting luxury, but in Dublin we got cereal, fruit, yogurt, bread, and hard-boiled eggs. In France we got croissants, cheese, cereal, coffee, sliced meats, and some other stuff I can't remember. My point is, just because you're a hostel and you're not charging very much doesn't mean you have to skimp so much on breakfast. Also, the showers are individual, but the room is communal and you have nowhere to undress in privacy, so most girls got undressed IN the shower, which isn't very big at all. The hostel is also not very close to an underground station, despite what the directions say, but the Arsenal stop on the Piccadilly Line (I believe) is a little closer.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My first impression of the place wasn't very good as when we first arrived we got given the wrong key to our room and once we entered our actual room it was quite small and crowded.. I'll give you a hint, if you don't want to be sleeping with just guys then don't book a mixed room. But the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. We got a free drink for the little mix up with the key. After we got over the initial shock of the small room it really was an enjoyable stay, friendly people, wifi worked relatively well as well. I would stay here agin because location was very good!

Disliked: Was a bit hot in the rooms so difficult to sleep, and the showers were impossible to use. Showers need to be a little more cleaner and actually work relatively well.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good for the price, friendly staff, easy to get around London, common room was great. The dorms are really just for sleeping and not comfortable/spacious enough to hang out, but the beds are comfortable enough.

Disliked: Stayed in the middle of the hey wave and there was no air conditioning, which made for some discomfort. The showers are horrible. I understand that they won't be top notch, but could they invest in a simple shower head?

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really helpful.

Disliked: The room can't receive wifi. The room is too crowded, 9 people per room with three triple decker bed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 July 2013

Liked: The breakfast was good, toast/cereal and tea/coffee. Not all hostels offer a free breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I was in a small room with 11 other women and there was no window and only a fan which meant it was very hot and stuffy all the time. The ensuite shower was tiny and the shower was basically broken. The beds were smaller than a single bed and mine was only a few inches from the floor. The hostel is not the cleanest but if you want a quick stay it is adequate.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quite clean, good value for money.

Disliked: Rooms are a bit stuffy but it's warm in the summertime.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julija Lebedinec

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Julija would recommend this property

Liked: It was a clean hostel with pleasant atmosphere and helpful staff :)

Disliked: There was nothing wrong with the hostel and I really enjoyed my stay there.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lisa Jenkinson

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

21 June 2013

Liked: pool table & location

Disliked: unhelpful staff, rude manager, un made, unclean beds, generally poor all round.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly welcoming staff. good location, easy to find.

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and bed linen

Disliked: Lockers are very small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere for bagpackers to mingle with each other is excellent. Hostel staff are ever willing to help too. Thumbs up.

Disliked: Some of the facilities and equipments are quite run down.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Guo Hong Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Guo Hong would recommend this property

Liked: definitely worth the money

Disliked: Guo Hong left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sami Al-Janabi

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 May 2013 Sami would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite quirky, the decor was very good with Jack Daniels plastered on the wall, the most important part to it was definitely the hostel leisure room with the pool table - where you could just go in and chat to people or if you fancied just nip next door to the pub and grab yourself a pint and chat to some friendly locals :) The breakfast was better than me and my friend had expected, for the price it worked out very nicely.

Disliked: I can't really grumble because the cost was so low, it's just the room was a bit sweaty and I wouldn't say unclean per se but not really somewhere you'd want to sleep every night. But the mattress was comfy and the bunk bed layout is a bit different/a novelty if you're not used to it and only there for a short stay - I suppose it's in doors and warm so it beats camping for comfort anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

trevor jones

As a family with children

City break

17 May 2013 trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming and friendly. Timir the manager was a great help with advice and information. The atmostphere was great too. And at less than £15.00 with breakfast it was fantastic value. Excellent.

Disliked: Nothing. It was great.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 May 2013

Liked: Front desk worker was friendly. Common area seemed nice.

Disliked: Everything seemed run down and dirty. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, I could feel the metal frame of the bed through the mattress.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alyssa Donlon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2013 Alyssa would recommend this property

Liked: Free consistent WiFi in the dorm room, nice breakfast, right next to heaps of convenience stores, the chill staff, spacious hangout room / bar.

Disliked: Lack of luggage space in rooms (no biggie, it's just toight and cosy).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013

Liked: cheap price and kind staffs

Disliked: bathroom, breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The bath rooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Miroslav Volcek

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 May 2013 Miroslav would recommend this property

Liked: If u dont mind travel out of the city... and want to save... go for it..

Disliked: i missed kitchen there :( , kitchen atmosphere... people there just surfing net.. 24/7, shower are not "very big" :(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the Emirates Stadium and has a good underground Connection into the city. You get a good value for your Money.

Disliked: The shower in our Room didn´t work.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels