HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Backpackers London Hostel

175 Blackstock Road, London, England

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 66%

Location 69%

Safety 70%

Staff 76%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.19USD
  • Towel 6.49USD

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

Reception is open from 08:00 until 00.00. If you are arriving outside of this time you must email us. (24 hour access after check in).

***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in and do not allow London locals to stay***

**£10 cash deposit for keys and late check outs**

We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion.

We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled.

Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 24 hours before check in.

No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking.

Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 66%

Location 69%

Safety 70%

Staff 76%

Value 71%

Showing 31-40 of 100 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is a very good hostel for the price you pay

Disliked: better mattereses

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We have noted your points on the mattresses and will soon order some nice new ones. Thanks for the review.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff are very friendy and inviting and the common room is great for interacting with others. Each night they have movies on the projector which is great if you just want to relax for a bit. It's close to the tube and easy to get to places across London

Disliked: The beds were a bit thin but still easily sleep able. The only downside is that if you want to use a locker they're not in each room but out in the hallway where anyone can get too.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the great review.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff is very friendly and there is a lot of space in the sharing room. Also they offer a free locker for your stuff.

Disliked: Showers did not work properly

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: The staff were very helpful. The common room area is nice and spacious and the free wifi works quite well. Its situated in a great spot, right near the tube station and within walking distance to grocery stores and cafes.

Disliked: I was on the 3rd floor and although I had a rucksack it was pretty hard for people who had suitcases to get all their stuff up there.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the top review!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The building has victorian character, is situated literally 2 minutes from Arsenal underground. Although I was tired and travelling alone, so didn't feel like using the lounge, there were groups socialising who if I'd been in a better state, could've easily joined the party with. The beds have little curtains which makes sleeping really private. To be honest, I slept amazingly deeply and comfortably in a little safe cocoon. Bit like at a festival when you crawl into your tent and feel safe and less stifled away from the crowds. Was bloody larvely after a 3.5 hour doom gig at shepherd's bush O2 Empire. Not sure how well I could've slept without the curtain, and this is something I'll always look for at future hostel experiences.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything. I read up on hostel etiquette before journeying, and observe that everyone used the facilities with said etiquette.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is well located and value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Super cheap accomodation, only £2 breakfasts

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa

Liked: I had a great time. The staff were very helpful. It was also nice having a pub right down stairs. It's a nice place to meet locals. I met a lot of really nice people there. I would totally recommend this place to all of my friend. It's not super fancy, but I'm ok with that.

Disliked: The bathrooms were kind of gross at times but the staff worked hard to keep it clean. They also had free lockers which was nice.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great place! It was a good place for meeting new people.

Disliked: Only bummer was it didnt have a cooking place, only a microwave and fridge.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thanks for the review and we are glad you had a good time.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is a great hostel and i was very surprised how good it was. Loved the films on the big screen every night. Place was clean and quiet. Good staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Awesome review from an awesome guest! Glad you had a good time here, thanks for the review. Hope to see you again someday.

Check Availability