HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Backpackers London Hostel

175 Blackstock Road, London, England

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 69%

Location 69%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.28USD
  • Towel 7.85USD

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE WILL NOT BE HONOURED. THEY MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL.

***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in***

**We keep you ID as a key deposit during your stay. If you need it during your stay just return the keys**

We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion.

We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled.

Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 48 hours before check in.

No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking.

Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 69%

Location 69%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 71%

Showing 21-30 of 119 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Second time staying here. Had everything a hostel needs. No frills about it but a great place to stay. Lovely atmosphere and nice common room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thank you for the great review, very happy to read that you had a good time here.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The neighbourhood is cool, but not ideal for someone new to London. The guy who checked me in was super helpful.

Disliked: Not very clean, the beds make you feel every single movement of the person below or above you. The bathrooms are dirty. The lockers are small. It seems like there are many older people living in the hostel.


The property's response is

Hi and thanks for the review. We agree we are in a cool neighbourhood! Glad you had a good time.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved the staff and their willing to help! Way cleaner than I expected a hostel to be.

Disliked: The toilet in the room was out of order, so a lack of restrooms.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi and thanks for the review.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location was convenient for our purpose.

Disliked: Too much to list. Stood knocking door for 30 minutes. Member of staff ignored us at desk for ahlf an hour with no explanation then left us sitting around for another half hour. Gave us two faulty keys then tried to explain to us how keys work when he turned up with a 3rd. LIKE WE DON'T KNOW HOW KEYS WORK. Bed was terrible. Rubber mattress. Something like a towel to sleep under. Mesh on window burst open. Toilet was rotten. Place was terrible. Weall left at the crack of dawn just to get out, having hardly slept.


The property's response is

Very sorry to read you had such a bad stay with us. All you comments have been taken on board. I think our newbie night guy might have been a bit tired and confused that night as it was his first night shift. Sorry for that.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly staff and great atmosphere. Handy location for the Arsenal parade. Also cheap

Disliked: Lockers didn't fill me with confidence that they were safe. Also a guest pissed in the corner of my room during the night. However I do recognise that this is not the hostels fault!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Good god, sorry to read about that guest! I suspect he may have had a few too many after Arsenal won the FA Cup. Hope you still enjoyed the parade!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: if you don't mind traveling in a different area of town, go to this place! It is cozy, it is comfortable the breakfast is nice, the Wi-Fi works, the staff is very much accommodating, and I received everything that I needed and paid for. I loved my stay. And I made a new friend.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We loved this place, great atmosphere and convenient location. Stayed in a female 12 bed soon and was plesently surprised with the size, especially for London! Awesome wifi. Also cheap, great value for money. I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Apparently they have water tanks and they run out sometimes?? The water ran out quite often, although once you let the staff know they will refill the tanks and it's back on in about 15 mins, so no biggy really.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review. we had a little problem with the tanks but we got it sorted. Very happy to read you had a good stay with us.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: i stayed here before and it has really improved. It now has the fastest WiFi ive ever seen!

Disliked: They still need to upgrade the bunks and rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thank you for the review!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is a very good hostel for the price you pay

Disliked: better mattereses

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We have noted your points on the mattresses and will soon order some nice new ones. Thanks for the review.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff are very friendy and inviting and the common room is great for interacting with others. Each night they have movies on the projector which is great if you just want to relax for a bit. It's close to the tube and easy to get to places across London

Disliked: The beds were a bit thin but still easily sleep able. The only downside is that if you want to use a locker they're not in each room but out in the hallway where anyone can get too.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the great review.

Check Availability