HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

68.5% Overall Rating

422 out of 520 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2014)

Paul Bajan thinks…

"Good atmosphere, with a pub with live music downstairs. Cheap, in a safe area. The rooms were very warm."

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Under 18 must be accompanied by an adult of the same gender. Age Limit: up to 35yrs only REFUNDABLE KEY DEPOSIT of £10.00 for a set of keys which includes 1 Room Key & 1 Locker Key

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Central Park Studios
44.13 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park View Hotel
50.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Queens Drive Hotel
53.80 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pembury Hotel
42.03 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Woodberry Hotel
84.06 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beaconsfield Hotel
47.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.3% 87 reviews
Alliance House
76.75 USD

Hostel 79.5% 11 reviews
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel
71.45 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.5%

Overall Rating

422 out of 520 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 345 of 491 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julija Lebedinec

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Julija would recommend this property

Liked: It was a clean hostel with pleasant atmosphere and helpful staff :)

Disliked: There was nothing wrong with the hostel and I really enjoyed my stay there.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lisa Jenkinson

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

21 June 2013

Liked: pool table & location

Disliked: unhelpful staff, rude manager, un made, unclean beds, generally poor all round.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly welcoming staff. good location, easy to find.

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and bed linen

Disliked: Lockers are very small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere for bagpackers to mingle with each other is excellent. Hostel staff are ever willing to help too. Thumbs up.

Disliked: Some of the facilities and equipments are quite run down.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Guo Hong Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Guo Hong would recommend this property

Liked: definitely worth the money

Disliked: Guo Hong left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sami Al-Janabi

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 May 2013 Sami would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite quirky, the decor was very good with Jack Daniels plastered on the wall, the most important part to it was definitely the hostel leisure room with the pool table - where you could just go in and chat to people or if you fancied just nip next door to the pub and grab yourself a pint and chat to some friendly locals :) The breakfast was better than me and my friend had expected, for the price it worked out very nicely.

Disliked: I can't really grumble because the cost was so low, it's just the room was a bit sweaty and I wouldn't say unclean per se but not really somewhere you'd want to sleep every night. But the mattress was comfy and the bunk bed layout is a bit different/a novelty if you're not used to it and only there for a short stay - I suppose it's in doors and warm so it beats camping for comfort anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

trevor jones

As a family with children

City break

17 May 2013 trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming and friendly. Timir the manager was a great help with advice and information. The atmostphere was great too. And at less than £15.00 with breakfast it was fantastic value. Excellent.

Disliked: Nothing. It was great.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 May 2013

Liked: Front desk worker was friendly. Common area seemed nice.

Disliked: Everything seemed run down and dirty. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, I could feel the metal frame of the bed through the mattress.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alyssa Donlon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2013 Alyssa would recommend this property

Liked: Free consistent WiFi in the dorm room, nice breakfast, right next to heaps of convenience stores, the chill staff, spacious hangout room / bar.

Disliked: Lack of luggage space in rooms (no biggie, it's just toight and cosy).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013

Liked: cheap price and kind staffs

Disliked: bathroom, breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The bath rooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Miroslav Volcek

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 May 2013 Miroslav would recommend this property

Liked: If u dont mind travel out of the city... and want to save... go for it..

Disliked: i missed kitchen there :( , kitchen atmosphere... people there just surfing net.. 24/7, shower are not "very big" :(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the Emirates Stadium and has a good underground Connection into the city. You get a good value for your Money.

Disliked: The shower in our Room didn´t work.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cheap hostel, rooms are small but common room is big with pool table and a pub. Lots of young people. Overall good value for the money.

Disliked: Rooms are a little bit small but you get used to it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheila Parra Jimenez

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 April 2013 Sheila would recommend this property

Liked: There is a big common area, the food is very good, breakfast is ok (coffee, tea, cereal and toast with butter and jam). Besides, the staff is friendly, above all a chinese young receptionist who was so helpful and kind. I enjoyed my stay at the Arsenal Tavern!

Disliked: The Arsenal Tavern needs to improve about security

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. I felt safe because there was staff at the reception at all times. The room was clean and nice, we had a private bathroom as well as acces to a common, bigger, bathroom. The common area downstairs was big and comfortable and had a pooltable, free tasty, cold water, a simple but nice breakfast, comfortable seating areas, a big tv screen, etc.

Disliked: We had a warm spring night and only one of the windows opened a little. Therefore, with nine people in the room, we had a hot night. Also, the matrasses were quite thin, but good enough for me. The common room was quite dark and stuffy.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2013

Liked: Easy to get to from Heathrow- one-stop on the Piccadilly line brings you to 400m from their door

Disliked: Triple-tier bunks make the dorms seem overcrowded- not enough air each.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 April 2013

Liked: Free wifi is awesome and breakfast is simple but it's nice that it is included.

Disliked: Rooms are very small and cramped with three beds stacked, lockers are not in the rooms, and the key deposit is a little steep (#10).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheila Parra Jimenez

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 April 2013 Sheila would recommend this property

Liked: It is a big hostel, with a nice common area, the breakfast is free (toast and jam, cereal, coffee and tea) and is ok. The staff is friendly, above all the young guy from China I think at reception. He was very useful and kind with me.

Disliked: I am Spanish and want to improve my English, so I dislike to hear people talking Spanish all the time, everyday. You will feel yourself living in your country ... A big problem if you are here to learn English.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The good thing about this hostel is the fact that it's really cheap and in a good location - the busstop or metro is nearby and there are a lot of restaurants. There also is a big room with 2 pooltables where people can sit and relax 24 hours, which can be cozy/ sociable.

Disliked: The cleaners only clean the surface every day. But there were growing mushrooms/must on the showers in the ladies bathroom: That says enough, really nasty. The rest of the hostel was allright as to cleaning.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dr. A Moosani.

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Dr. A would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and comfort and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff members. It is a big, hassle-free hostel with good facilities.

Disliked: There should be a coffee/tea machine in the lobby area because it is necessary on cold, freezing nights!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Graham Phillips

Alone

City break

02 April 2013 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty decent hostel.

Disliked: Not the best common room and no kettle / kitchen area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

abdellah ibrahim

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

28 March 2013 abdellah would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time in this hostel, I really recommend this one for any people coming a day or more in London. Perfect location, great food (thank you Dylan for saving my life), clean (thank you to the cleaning team for the job they're doing to keep the place in order and clean) and many to the receptionists, especially Fabrizio, for his precious advice and how helpful he is for the tourist at any time, night and day, he's always available.

Disliked: The shower in private rooms: only one thing to change. Oh, and too many 'Kraken' in this place. Details compare to the advantages, really.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The services provided at Arsenal Tavern Hostel are generally adequate, and the price is good. Its main strength is a good security situation. The lockers provided are of a good size, have an internal lock, and only required a key deposit. I also felt that the staff took proper precautions to prevent suspicious walk-ins.

Disliked: They are exaggerating the friendliness of their staff - I would say that the staff I dealt with were professional but somewhat distant. (They told me how things worked, but were unwilling to engage in conversation despite not being terribly busy.) While that might change, the property is awkward to access. If you have more than a backpack, I strongly recommend staying elsewhere.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels