We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

80.0% Overall Rating

457 out of 571 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

"i stayed here before and it has really improved. It now has the fastest WiFi ive ever seen!"

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.08

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE WILL NOT BE HONOURED. THEY MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL. ***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in*** **We keep you ID as a key deposit during your stay. If you need it during your stay just return the keys** We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 48 hours before check in. No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking. Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Alliance House
52.57 USD

Hostel 80.2% 15 reviews
Islington Inn
45.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
KIngs Cross Guesthouse
29.30 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 4 reviews
New Market House
46.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
Dinwiddy House
72.72 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
21.57 USD

Hostel 77.0% 666 reviews
Clink78
21.59 USD

Hostel 87.0% 4094 reviews
Keystone Hostel
26.21 USD

Hostel 76.5% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

457 out of 571 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 381 of 541 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jordi Mogas Recalde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2014 Jordi would recommend this property

Liked: Big living room with pool tables and music, etc. The main tavern is also nice. Since it was the cheapest hostel in London I found (9€) I shouldn't complain too much...

Disliked: The rooms are not very special, with triple bunk beds. My mattress was too thin and a bit unconfortable. All the power sockets in the bedroom are only in one wall. The showers and toilets are too small and often dirty. One big sofa in the living room smells vomit, so disgusting!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stephanie Gould

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Really cheap and great staff

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good price

Disliked: Rooms a little cramped, no self-catering facilities

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Christopher Wood

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 January 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The other people staying there, and the young chinese dude on reception.

Disliked: Some of the staff

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Christopher Wood

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 January 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The other people staying in it. The young Chinese guy on reception.

Disliked: Some members of staffs attitude towards the people paying there salary. If you don't like people get another job!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

valeria de matos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 January 2014 valeria would recommend this property

Liked: Value for the money

Disliked: valeria left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very cheap, which in London is not always easy to find! Nice old building with character in a nice area. Good facilities, and comfortable communal lounge with a bar and wifi. Security lockers in the rooms very handy.

Disliked: The cleanliness of bathrooms (both communal and in the rooms) is pretty awful. You get what you pay for I suppose; this place is uber uber cheap, and as a result you have to accept they apparently don't clean the bathrooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 January 2014

Liked: The staff are nice, the common area is fine as well and is not far from the metro. There are many places to eat and grocery stores around.

Disliked: Showers are very dirty and are the worst ever, room smells weird. Rather pay a bit more and stay in another place.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sian De Lara

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2014 Sian would recommend this property

Liked: The common room and the bar downstairs

Disliked: There was only 1 out of 3 showers working in the women's shower. The beds were also prwtty uncomortable!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: mold in every room, toilets are small and dirty, they're almost never cleaned, hot water is a dream

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the low price, the location near bus and metro stations and the kindness of thevstaff

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 December 2013

Liked: It's big house

Disliked: It's dark

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very safe and secure with your belongs, because each customer has its own lockers for free and you can also keep your big luggage for free, so it is worth the money.

Disliked: If it can be cleaner, it will be much better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The security, because the reception is opened 24h and we have lockers inside the rooms. The breakfast is included and it is not so far from the underground.

Disliked: The bathroom was not really clean and the appearance was bad. The toilet tissues were all finishing, looking like they were not been replaced properly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everthing

Disliked: notting

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

selma Benramdane

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 selma would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the center, cheap, big comfy living room

Disliked: Common rooms are very small and has no window

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price, 24 hr check in and breakfast

Disliked: well, you get what you pay for. the rooms are very small and somewhat airless, you may well be 2 floors away from the nearest - of rather few - showers and the mattresses are not exactly luxurious - but I expected this and was perfectly happy with all of the above....

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rachel Kaelin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013

Liked: Free drinking water.

Disliked: This place was pretty ridiculous. Everything seemed to be broken. It was like they just took an old abandoned building and put a bunch of beds in it. A few things: no actual mattresses, just a foamatress pad; the en suite shower controls were so high up that most of the people in the dorm couldn't reach it and so we had to use the shared bathroom, which was always a mess; there were times when NONE of the showers in the shared women's bathroom worked; there were tons of MUSHROOMS growing on the showers in the women's bathroom; hardly any space to put anything in the 9 person dorm; the wifi was incredibly slow and not even worth using; no kitchen to cook in. The whole place was just falling apart. I don't know how they can stay open. Definitely the worst hostel I've stayed in (and the most expensive...).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: yes.nice

Disliked: bed in the room can improve

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ond?ej Zátopek

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 October 2013 Ond?ej would recommend this property

Liked: - 24 hour access

Disliked: Ond?ej left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelsey Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and people were all really great, the staff were incredibly helpful and they had a lot of resources to help people new to the city get the most out of their experience

Disliked: There should be a policy about being rude to other hostel stayers. In the morning I got up for breakfast but a few girls didn't and there were two girls that came into the room and turned on the lights and were on the phone before 10 AM and I felt bad for the girls that were trying to rest.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ettore Lignelli

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 September 2013 Ettore would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a very favorable location and well connected. The free breakfast is adequate and the beds are comfortable.

Disliked: I booked a room with private bathroom, hoping for a little more than the average, but the door bolt was broken and the shower behaves somewhat erratically, alternating very hot and very cold water to a flux that waxes and wanes with no reason (room 303)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Daniel Pena

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013

Liked: It's close to the cheapest hostels in London and location is not that bad. Overall it haves all the things a regular hostel haves.

Disliked: From the rooms to the showers, it looks like there's very desorginized people living in the hostel. Clothes laying in the floor, toileteries in the bathroom, etc. I know it's a cheap hostel, but it was a bit too much.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

OLGA TZORTZATOU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 OLGA would recommend this property

Liked: The common room was nice and the staff quite helpful-they helped me bring upstairs my suitcase and printed for me something that I needed..however I wouldnt reccomend you to stay there for more than 2 or 3 nights..

Disliked: Small rooms with too many people inside and no window or good ventilation means that it was quite smelly.not to mention that there was no room for our luggages or ourselves for that matter-you cannot hang out in the rooms.but the worse is the matress of the bed..absolutely uncomfortable!also I find hypocritic the fact that the breakfast is only until 9:30 this means that many people dont get it.oh!and the internet doesnt work upstairs...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels