HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Backpackers London

Hostel

175 Blackstock Road, London, England

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 69%

Location 69%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.22USD
  • Towel 7.77USD

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE WILL NOT BE HONOURED. THEY MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL.

***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in***

**We keep you ID as a key deposit during your stay. If you need it during your stay just return the keys**

We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion.

We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled.

Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 48 hours before check in.

No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking.

Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 69%

Location 69%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 71%

Showing 11-20 of 145 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Big lounge, decent WiFi, lots of room to hang out, free tea and instant coffee.

Disliked: Showers are a bit grim and the roof leaks when it rains.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Yay another happy guest! The showers are now again fully repaired and shiney and new. Thanks for the review.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The extra computers will helpful

Disliked: Bathrooms were tiny, beds were kind of gross. Didn't feel safe there. Actually ended up getting cash taken from me by one of the room sharers


The property's response is

Hello and thanks for the review. Very sorry to read about your cash been taken, I just wish you had used one of our free lockers. I hope it didn't spoil your trip too much.

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There is a door that leads to outside. As in, escape this joint while you can.

Disliked: I have traveled along and stayed in hostels over the course of my 14 months of traveling. I have even worked in a hostel but this is by far the most UNHYGIENIC place I have ever stayed in. I had to alert staff that their toilet was overflowing with toilet paper, used toilet paper was on the floor, tables that could do with a wipe down etc. Lets not to forget mentioned the beds...they are uncomfortable and not even a proper mattress. Simular to a camping mattress. When I spoke to the manager of the place, he spoke of a no refunds policy - of course, they are there to take your money and not even listen to a word of complaint. I had spoken to him voicing my setiments on my stay at the hostel and how I felt extremely uncomfortable but no, apparently they arent looking for a solution and would rather a disgruntled customer (me) whinging about it online which was my last resort. Im sorry, but I didnt sign up to stay in such a horrendous hostel. It doesnt take much for someone to monitor the bathrooms every now and again as opposed to leaving them in a dire state until your cleaner comes in. Presentation is key and I know that coming from a working hostel background. Also, the showers. Good grief, one is having a spasm and the other is doable. The third? Out of order...I wonder how long its been like that for.


The property's response is

Wow, that’s quiet a mouthful and I do hope you now feel a lot better. We can't please everyone and it is a bit disappointing to read a fellow hostel worker being so hard on another hostel! You know how hard we work around here. But thanks for the review.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It was near the Victoria line which was very convenient.

Disliked: The other guests were quite old. No interactions.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thanks for the review, we're glad you found our location to be great!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: A really friendly hostel with a great atmosphere and super-friendly staff.

Disliked: The number of showers available is absolutely inadequate.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sorry about te showers. We did have some issues but they are now resolved and we again have lots for guests to use. Glad you had a good time

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast on offer was great value for money, and the price was very good.

Disliked: We booked 4 beds since we were 4 people travelling together, and when we arrived we were split up into 3 different rooms for the first 2 nights until they were able to sort things out. And there was a bit of a funky smell throughout the Hostel (It kind of smelled like feet).

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: It's perfect if you want something cheap; you must not expect a 5 stars hotel, it's a backpacker hostel and cheap. In that category it's a 10!!!It was awesome the free towels, linen, lockers. WIFI it's really good.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: 24 hour access, free Internet

Disliked: Showers are horrible, matress is the thinest matress I have ever slept on


The property's response is

Hello and thanks for the review. All of you comments have been noted and we will look to improve the hostel.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I liked it that the hostel had Computers.

Disliked: I stayed at the hostel for 4 nights. for 3 out of the 4 nights, when I returned at the night to the hostel, someone else was in my bed (!). So every night I found my self at midnight moving my things again to a different room and bed. one of this times, not only someone was in my bed, but all the clothes that I had on the bed was gone. I lost a bag with clothes and didn't find it any where else. In addition to that, the shower was the smallest I have ever seen, one shower out of three didn't work, and another one was without a door. the locker I recieved was with a rusty key and it took me 20-30 seconds to open it, every time. most of the staff was foreign guys, that was really nice but didn't know much about London and couldn't answer most of my questions. To conclude, staying in Arsenal hotel was a really bad experiene.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: What I like the most is the staff. There was a friendly staff who provided me a lot of information about the transportation to those London attractions.

Disliked: The bathrooms are not well-functioned.


The property's response is

Thank you for your commenst about the staff. We will be improving our showers and toilets in the future.

Check Availability