HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Backpackers London Hostel

175 Blackstock Road, London, England

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 66%

Location 69%

Safety 70%

Staff 76%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Internet café
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.10USD
  • Towel 6.37USD

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

Reception is open from 08:00 until 00.00. If you are arriving outside of this time you must email us. (24 hour access after check in).

***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in and do not allow London locals to stay***

**£10 cash deposit for keys and late check outs**

We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion.

We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled.

Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 24 hours before check in.

No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking.

Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 66%

Location 69%

Safety 70%

Staff 76%

Value 71%

Showing 11-20 of 92 reviews

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: NOTHING!

Disliked: It's horrible, dirty, uncomfortable, unsafe. The worst hostel I've ever been!


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. Not sure why you rated us so poorly as you did book 3 more time! We hope someone didn't break your heart while here ;)

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location,only the location

Disliked: My room had a big corner of mold and the highest level of my bunk bed had no barrier,so it would've been easy to fall 1-2 metres down whilst asleep.The staff reacted really rude,when confronted with the aspects and "there is no way 2 talk to the manager."


The property's response is

Hello and thank you for the review. We agree, our location is excellent for London. There is always a way to talk to the manager and I am always here to help. I will make sure our newbie staff doesn’t panic the next time they have to deal with a difficult guest. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Big lounge, decent WiFi, lots of room to hang out, free tea and instant coffee.

Disliked: Showers are a bit grim and the roof leaks when it rains.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Yay another happy guest! The showers are now again fully repaired and shiney and new. Thanks for the review.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The extra computers will helpful

Disliked: Bathrooms were tiny, beds were kind of gross. Didn't feel safe there. Actually ended up getting cash taken from me by one of the room sharers


The property's response is

Hello and thanks for the review. Very sorry to read about your cash been taken, I just wish you had used one of our free lockers. I hope it didn't spoil your trip too much.

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There is a door that leads to outside. As in, escape this joint while you can.

Disliked: I have traveled along and stayed in hostels over the course of my 14 months of traveling. I have even worked in a hostel but this is by far the most UNHYGIENIC place I have ever stayed in. I had to alert staff that their toilet was overflowing with toilet paper, used toilet paper was on the floor, tables that could do with a wipe down etc. Lets not to forget mentioned the beds...they are uncomfortable and not even a proper mattress. Simular to a camping mattress. When I spoke to the manager of the place, he spoke of a no refunds policy - of course, they are there to take your money and not even listen to a word of complaint. I had spoken to him voicing my setiments on my stay at the hostel and how I felt extremely uncomfortable but no, apparently they arent looking for a solution and would rather a disgruntled customer (me) whinging about it online which was my last resort. Im sorry, but I didnt sign up to stay in such a horrendous hostel. It doesnt take much for someone to monitor the bathrooms every now and again as opposed to leaving them in a dire state until your cleaner comes in. Presentation is key and I know that coming from a working hostel background. Also, the showers. Good grief, one is having a spasm and the other is doable. The third? Out of order...I wonder how long its been like that for.


The property's response is

Wow, that’s quiet a mouthful and I do hope you now feel a lot better. We can't please everyone and it is a bit disappointing to read a fellow hostel worker being so hard on another hostel! You know how hard we work around here. But thanks for the review.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It was near the Victoria line which was very convenient.

Disliked: The other guests were quite old. No interactions.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thanks for the review, we're glad you found our location to be great!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: A really friendly hostel with a great atmosphere and super-friendly staff.

Disliked: The number of showers available is absolutely inadequate.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sorry about te showers. We did have some issues but they are now resolved and we again have lots for guests to use. Glad you had a good time

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast on offer was great value for money, and the price was very good.

Disliked: We booked 4 beds since we were 4 people travelling together, and when we arrived we were split up into 3 different rooms for the first 2 nights until they were able to sort things out. And there was a bit of a funky smell throughout the Hostel (It kind of smelled like feet).

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: It's perfect if you want something cheap; you must not expect a 5 stars hotel, it's a backpacker hostel and cheap. In that category it's a 10!!!It was awesome the free towels, linen, lockers. WIFI it's really good.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: 24 hour access, free Internet

Disliked: Showers are horrible, matress is the thinest matress I have ever slept on


The property's response is

Hello and thanks for the review. All of you comments have been noted and we will look to improve the hostel.

Check Availability