We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

70.6% Overall Rating

448 out of 562 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2015)

"This is a great hostel and i was very surprised how good it was. Loved the films on the big screen every night. Place was clean and quiet. Good staff"

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.99

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE WILL NOT BE HONOURED. THEY MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL. ***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in*** **We keep you ID as a key deposit during your stay. If you need it during your stay just return the keys** We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 48 hours before check in. No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking. Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Beaconsfield Hotel
37.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.0% 90 reviews
Alliance House
51.00 USD

Hostel 80.2% 15 reviews
Islington Inn
34.41 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
KIngs Cross Guesthouse
28.05 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 3 reviews
New Market House
34.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
Dinwiddy House
70.56 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
16.44 USD

Hostel 76.3% 662 reviews
Clink78
20.95 USD

Hostel 85.0% 4069 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.6%

Overall Rating

448 out of 562 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
76.0%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 532 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Zoe Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2014 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay here. Gracious room mates, good size storage lockers, really cute neighborhood, free wifi with an awesome common area, let us hang out when we checked out until we went to our next spot ^-^

Disliked: The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner including the shower

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014

Liked: Good price, good location (if you wanna hang around in north London, at the pubs or at Emirates). Good area to sit around, if you wanna recharge your cell phone or go on internet via the wifi. Nice to have the safety locker, could fit my whole bag in there (a quite small backpack).

Disliked: Dirty and a lot of things that were broken. I almost felt my own bachelor room back home was clean when I got back...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014

Liked: The room was allright and it is good that there is a locker.

Disliked: The night i stayed there was a loud party right next to the hostel which made it impossible to sleep. The showers are very uncomfortable and would never have it again. The breakfast was poor and was just chucked to the table.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Paul Bajan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, with a pub with live music downstairs. Cheap, in a safe area. The rooms were very warm.

Disliked: You are not allowed to drink you own boose. The toilets and showers are pretty dirty...and this come from a person who is not too fussy ...but it's ok-ish.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff, cheap, overall good

Disliked: One fully functioning shower out of three, the shabbiness of my roomates

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Finsbury Park station, easy access to buses etc. Nice park down the road. Heaps of turkish/Mediterranean food on the main street which was reasonably priced and good. Wifi was free.

Disliked: The female showers were really frustrating to use (too hot/too cold), only one good shower. The beds are pretty uncomfortable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

camille markowitz

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 March 2014 camille would recommend this property

Liked: The neighborhood is great

Disliked: The beds are really uncomfortable even for a hostel. It's just a 2 inch mat basically

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wi-Fi

Disliked: Dirty... Really dirty. Lack of acknowledgement from the staff that their hostel is complete filth.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the reception guys were quite nice and did help us a lot

Disliked: rooms/bathrooms are not clean, breakfast (every day toast and cereals)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014

Liked: -friendly staff

Disliked: -dirty toilets and showers -extremely small dorms

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Work / volunteering

07 March 2014

Liked: -very large common room, lots of couches and plug outlets, 2 pool tables -fridge, coffee/ tea making facilities - free use of small lockers in room, provided w/ key. - nice safe neighbourhood, cute coffee restaurant places

Disliked: -12 p female dorm is stuffy, hard to open window, has not been vacuumed in a while esp corners so it gave me bit of allergies - shower in ensuite did not work! Had to use female shower room that had partly frosted glass doors + very high spout so impossible not to get hair wet. Zero privacy to change into clothes unless you do it in shower stall....horrible. - wifi not good 3 rd floor - bunks were 3 stacked, little room for everyone's stuff, bottom bunk too close to floor and smelled (chose top bunk) - washroom was very crammed, I'm skinny but I had to squeeze throughout the door to when opening/closing to get through. - hot water in taps non existent, -zone 2, so if your travellingt to centre daily you should spend that $$ for a central place. I would stay again for 2-3 nights max but it's not comfortable place

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

martin mihaljinec

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

03 March 2014 martin would recommend this property

Liked: nice.

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Konstantrins Zagorskis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Konstantrins would recommend this property

Liked: When there is less space given to a person less garbage it is. I like the huge chill area and the way people were doing different stuff there. Breakfast for free. Laundry service nearby with happy hours offer. Cash machine nearby without commission.

Disliked: Showers were quite dirty on the floor near cabins. Ensuite shower didn't work.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Internet is fast and available everywhere.

Disliked: The bathroom

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michael Brady

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

24 February 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient for Emirates stadium, beds clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Bathrooms functional rather than comfortable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adriana Rossi

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: the price was great, especially for such a good location in london. lots of great amenities close by (a great fish and chp shop just up the road and close to all kinds of food shops and takeaways etc) great that they also have the option of a female only dorm too.

Disliked: the layout was a little disorientating because there were many rooms on different levels and at one point i had to go upstairs to go downstairs. i am a big girl and struggled a little with the fact that you have to climb up into the shower and the bathrooms are small, and the tripple bunks were a challenge haha. but you get what you pay for and i enjoyed my stay.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jordi Mogas Recalde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2014 Jordi would recommend this property

Liked: Big living room with pool tables and music, etc. The main tavern is also nice. Since it was the cheapest hostel in London I found (9€) I shouldn't complain too much...

Disliked: The rooms are not very special, with triple bunk beds. My mattress was too thin and a bit unconfortable. All the power sockets in the bedroom are only in one wall. The showers and toilets are too small and often dirty. One big sofa in the living room smells vomit, so disgusting!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stephanie Gould

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Really cheap and great staff

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good price

Disliked: Rooms a little cramped, no self-catering facilities

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Christopher Wood

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 January 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The other people staying there, and the young chinese dude on reception.

Disliked: Some of the staff

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Christopher Wood

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 January 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The other people staying in it. The young Chinese guy on reception.

Disliked: Some members of staffs attitude towards the people paying there salary. If you don't like people get another job!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

valeria de matos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 January 2014 valeria would recommend this property

Liked: Value for the money

Disliked: valeria left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very cheap, which in London is not always easy to find! Nice old building with character in a nice area. Good facilities, and comfortable communal lounge with a bar and wifi. Security lockers in the rooms very handy.

Disliked: The cleanliness of bathrooms (both communal and in the rooms) is pretty awful. You get what you pay for I suppose; this place is uber uber cheap, and as a result you have to accept they apparently don't clean the bathrooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 January 2014

Liked: The staff are nice, the common area is fine as well and is not far from the metro. There are many places to eat and grocery stores around.

Disliked: Showers are very dirty and are the worst ever, room smells weird. Rather pay a bit more and stay in another place.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels