HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

66.6% Overall Rating

422 out of 522 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

"Good price, good location (if you wanna hang around in north London, at the pubs or at Emirates). Good area to sit around, if you wanna recharge your cell phone or go on internet via the wifi. Nice to have the safety…"

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Under 18 must be accompanied by an adult of the same gender. Age Limit: up to 35yrs only REFUNDABLE KEY DEPOSIT of £10.00 for a set of keys which includes 1 Room Key & 1 Locker Key

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Central Park Studios
44.11 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park View Hotel
53.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Queens Drive Hotel
53.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pembury Hotel
45.37 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Woodberry Hotel
84.02 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beaconsfield Hotel
44.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.3% 87 reviews
Alliance House
76.71 USD

Hostel 79.5% 11 reviews
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel
38.65 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.6%

Overall Rating

422 out of 522 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
48.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
71.2%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 346 of 492 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: mold in every room, toilets are small and dirty, they're almost never cleaned, hot water is a dream

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the low price, the location near bus and metro stations and the kindness of thevstaff

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 December 2013

Liked: It's big house

Disliked: It's dark

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very safe and secure with your belongs, because each customer has its own lockers for free and you can also keep your big luggage for free, so it is worth the money.

Disliked: If it can be cleaner, it will be much better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The security, because the reception is opened 24h and we have lockers inside the rooms. The breakfast is included and it is not so far from the underground.

Disliked: The bathroom was not really clean and the appearance was bad. The toilet tissues were all finishing, looking like they were not been replaced properly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everthing

Disliked: notting

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

selma Benramdane

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 selma would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the center, cheap, big comfy living room

Disliked: Common rooms are very small and has no window

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price, 24 hr check in and breakfast

Disliked: well, you get what you pay for. the rooms are very small and somewhat airless, you may well be 2 floors away from the nearest - of rather few - showers and the mattresses are not exactly luxurious - but I expected this and was perfectly happy with all of the above....

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rachel Kaelin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013

Liked: Free drinking water.

Disliked: This place was pretty ridiculous. Everything seemed to be broken. It was like they just took an old abandoned building and put a bunch of beds in it. A few things: no actual mattresses, just a foamatress pad; the en suite shower controls were so high up that most of the people in the dorm couldn't reach it and so we had to use the shared bathroom, which was always a mess; there were times when NONE of the showers in the shared women's bathroom worked; there were tons of MUSHROOMS growing on the showers in the women's bathroom; hardly any space to put anything in the 9 person dorm; the wifi was incredibly slow and not even worth using; no kitchen to cook in. The whole place was just falling apart. I don't know how they can stay open. Definitely the worst hostel I've stayed in (and the most expensive...).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: yes.nice

Disliked: bed in the room can improve

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ond?ej Zátopek

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 October 2013 Ond?ej would recommend this property

Liked: - 24 hour access

Disliked: Ond?ej left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelsey Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and people were all really great, the staff were incredibly helpful and they had a lot of resources to help people new to the city get the most out of their experience

Disliked: There should be a policy about being rude to other hostel stayers. In the morning I got up for breakfast but a few girls didn't and there were two girls that came into the room and turned on the lights and were on the phone before 10 AM and I felt bad for the girls that were trying to rest.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ettore Lignelli

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 September 2013 Ettore would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a very favorable location and well connected. The free breakfast is adequate and the beds are comfortable.

Disliked: I booked a room with private bathroom, hoping for a little more than the average, but the door bolt was broken and the shower behaves somewhat erratically, alternating very hot and very cold water to a flux that waxes and wanes with no reason (room 303)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Daniel Pena

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013

Liked: It's close to the cheapest hostels in London and location is not that bad. Overall it haves all the things a regular hostel haves.

Disliked: From the rooms to the showers, it looks like there's very desorginized people living in the hostel. Clothes laying in the floor, toileteries in the bathroom, etc. I know it's a cheap hostel, but it was a bit too much.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

OLGA TZORTZATOU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 OLGA would recommend this property

Liked: The common room was nice and the staff quite helpful-they helped me bring upstairs my suitcase and printed for me something that I needed..however I wouldnt reccomend you to stay there for more than 2 or 3 nights..

Disliked: Small rooms with too many people inside and no window or good ventilation means that it was quite smelly.not to mention that there was no room for our luggages or ourselves for that matter-you cannot hang out in the rooms.but the worse is the matress of the bed..absolutely uncomfortable!also I find hypocritic the fact that the breakfast is only until 9:30 this means that many people dont get it.oh!and the internet doesnt work upstairs...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: İt was basically OK, cheapest hostel in London. İt is worth the price

Disliked: Breakfast, poor air conditioning

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast, location, spacious pub area

Disliked: not much atmosphere

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Celine Hadrysiak

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 August 2013 Celine would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there were buses that went into the centre that stopped right outside the hostel (number 19 going towards Battersea). There were also a lot of restaurants and places to get food around the hostel. Also the area seemed quite safe, even at night.

Disliked: The nearest underground stations were at least a 8-10 minute walk from the hostel. Also the toilets were too small and there weren't enough of them or showers. There was also no lift and too many stairs which I had to lug my heavy case up and down.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Giovanni Zaniol

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 July 2013 Giovanni would recommend this property

Liked: It was my first time in a hostel, at first I didn't have a good impression but after one-two nights I got used and I liked my staying there. The staff is helpful, the breakfast in the morning is good and I also liked the bar.

Disliked: The cleanliness of the rooms is not perfect but I got used to it.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Sheri Freestone

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013

Liked: The hostel was right next to a pub (tavern) so you could eat and have drinks there. However, it closed pretty early, maybe 11 pm? There were pool tables, and a pretty comfortable/large common area. Also, wifi is free, but I can't remember if it works in the rooms. The staff was also really friendly and helpful. There was also a fan in the room, which was nice since Europe doesn't really believe in air conditioning.

Disliked: This is not the worst hostel I've ever stayed at, but possibly the second worst. The bunk beds are three high, and if you get assigned to the top, you feel like you're going to fall off the whole night, and they aren't very stable. The bathrooms smell heavily of moth balls. There is no lift/elevator, which is pretty normal for Europe, but still annoying. "Breakfast" is included, but consists of bread, cereal, and instant coffee. I know it's a hostel and I'm not expecting luxury, but in Dublin we got cereal, fruit, yogurt, bread, and hard-boiled eggs. In France we got croissants, cheese, cereal, coffee, sliced meats, and some other stuff I can't remember. My point is, just because you're a hostel and you're not charging very much doesn't mean you have to skimp so much on breakfast. Also, the showers are individual, but the room is communal and you have nowhere to undress in privacy, so most girls got undressed IN the shower, which isn't very big at all. The hostel is also not very close to an underground station, despite what the directions say, but the Arsenal stop on the Piccadilly Line (I believe) is a little closer.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My first impression of the place wasn't very good as when we first arrived we got given the wrong key to our room and once we entered our actual room it was quite small and crowded.. I'll give you a hint, if you don't want to be sleeping with just guys then don't book a mixed room. But the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. We got a free drink for the little mix up with the key. After we got over the initial shock of the small room it really was an enjoyable stay, friendly people, wifi worked relatively well as well. I would stay here agin because location was very good!

Disliked: Was a bit hot in the rooms so difficult to sleep, and the showers were impossible to use. Showers need to be a little more cleaner and actually work relatively well.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good for the price, friendly staff, easy to get around London, common room was great. The dorms are really just for sleeping and not comfortable/spacious enough to hang out, but the beds are comfortable enough.

Disliked: Stayed in the middle of the hey wave and there was no air conditioning, which made for some discomfort. The showers are horrible. I understand that they won't be top notch, but could they invest in a simple shower head?

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really helpful.

Disliked: The room can't receive wifi. The room is too crowded, 9 people per room with three triple decker bed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 July 2013

Liked: The breakfast was good, toast/cereal and tea/coffee. Not all hostels offer a free breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I was in a small room with 11 other women and there was no window and only a fan which meant it was very hot and stuffy all the time. The ensuite shower was tiny and the shower was basically broken. The beds were smaller than a single bed and mine was only a few inches from the floor. The hostel is not the cleanest but if you want a quick stay it is adequate.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels