HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

68.5% Overall Rating

422 out of 520 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2014)

Paul Bajan thinks…

"Good atmosphere, with a pub with live music downstairs. Cheap, in a safe area. The rooms were very warm."

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Under 18 must be accompanied by an adult of the same gender. Age Limit: up to 35yrs only REFUNDABLE KEY DEPOSIT of £10.00 for a set of keys which includes 1 Room Key & 1 Locker Key

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Central Park Studios
44.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park View Hotel
50.34 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Queens Drive Hotel
53.69 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pembury Hotel
36.91 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Woodberry Hotel
83.89 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beaconsfield Hotel
47.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.3% 87 reviews
Alliance House
76.59 USD

Hostel 79.5% 11 reviews
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel
38.59 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.5%

Overall Rating

422 out of 520 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 345 of 491 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price was very reasonable which included free breakfast. The Emirates Stadium is only a 10-15 min walk from the hostel which is quite close.

Disliked: The room was a little bit crowded.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite clean and breakfast included was good. Good location. It was very safety too.

Disliked: First night we slept in the mixed room and the smell was awful! And there was also very hot! Boys where sleeping in our beds and we needed to ask for new sheets. Staff wasn't very helpful but thank god they moved us to the female room. That was better. I missed some place to hang out and meet people in the hostel and that you could open the windows in the rooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Massimo Solare

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 April 2011 Massimo would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: good

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Marie Plevová

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2011

Liked: Plus are lockers within the price

Disliked: Quite terrible private ensuite on the room. Triple bunk beds making terrible noise every movement. Breakfast was really poor, because stuff ate all the good before the guests. Instead of above listed it was ok :-).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast, position

Disliked: temperature in room, wifi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trevor McKerlich

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2011 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Great Room, multiple keys, nice bar downstairs JUST for the use of the hostel'ers with a pool table. Lovley public bar next door. Nice staff, lovely welcome!

Disliked: Bunks are 3 high! If you suffer from vertico make sure to ask first.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was a really cool place

Disliked: internet wasnt working the first two days

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Martin

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

30 March 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: The adjoining bar and helpfulness of staff.

Disliked: Unfortunately we were unable to get a shower on Sunday morning as there was no water in our ensuite bathroom (which was the reason we paid extra for the private room) and even in the communal showers the water pressure was intermittant and temperature unreliable! Scaling the triple bunk beds was also a challenge!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is very much that you can be full until you dinner.

Disliked: the bathroom in room are terrible. Water is neither too hot nor too clod.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean compared to some other London hostels at the same price I have stayed at. I'm a rather shy person but there were no issues with anyone in my 9 bed dorm and the staff were pretty good. The bathroom was much cleaner than the last hostel I used.

Disliked: The free wifi is pretty terrible, I managed to get about 15 minutes of actual use in my 3 nights of stay. The mattresses are really very thin, but I still managed to get a sound nights sleep.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 March 2011

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Internet not always work, matress are too thin, some staff aren't too nice, filthy.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011

Liked: They gave you twenty five percent off food, good food, instead of 10% like most others.

Disliked: The beds were tiny and crammed in all together, then the mattresses were about an inch thick, the showers had no locks on the doors and half the bathroom doors had no locks either. Some of the staff were really nice, others seemed like they just hated everything. It was also in the middle of nowhere, and you had to KNOW where the door was to get in. The wifi sucked, it hardly worked, especially at night if there were more people online. It was just overall not the best.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 March 2011

Liked: it was close to tube station

Disliked: the bathrooms were dirty while there was little space in the rooms for luggage, it was also very difficult to open the window in the bedroom and it got quit stuffy at night time which exacerbated the issue

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Di Jin

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 March 2011 Di would recommend this property

Liked: The bar

Disliked: A little narrow

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Slanska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Everything OK, warm water in the showers, nice breakfast, pub just downstairs and good staff :)

Disliked: It was difficult to recommend the building (nowhere is written "Arsenal Journeys hostel"). You must go through restaurant. We couldn´t find female showers. It was the first time we saw 3-floor-beds :))

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chill bar, friendly staff, not far at all from the metro stop (like 5 minute walk).

Disliked: broken toilets, internet didn't work well, my room was rather crowded with people and their luggage, shower was spotty.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We could come and go like we wanted to which is great, because everything was very flexible. You can get there very fast with the tube and the pub in the house is great!! As a guest of the hostel you get 25% discount...:)

Disliked: We've been in a 9-bed dorm and there wasn't even enough space for 9 bags at the ground. That was...difficult. Moreover we couldn't just open the window for some fresh air, we had to ask the staff and they did it once during our 6 night stay..at least they DID. We just slept in this hostel and that was okay (we didn't eat the breakfast there either, but I think, that's a problem I will always have with international hostels. I can't eat toast and strange...whatever it was. But I was there to visit London, so I stood up and went to the City of London and looked for a Sturbucks etc.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i Liked meeting the guests and some of the staff.

Disliked: Well some guest were regularly drunk/disruptive and it took a few attempts to get them either sorted or out...but the situation were sorted!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2011

Liked: There is a restaurant/bar downstairs....Staff were for the most part helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Our first night here was a disaster. We were staying in a room with 15 people (which was known prior) but the beds are 3-stack bunks with no place to put your bag...literally bags filled the center of the room. Along with a wasted guy passed out in the middle (that's a whole different story). The heat was blasted and the room was sweltering hot. We asked to move rooms the next morning and it was much better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere! Fantastic hostel on an Arsenal match day. Great people, good food, amazing Arsenal pubs down the street (The Gunners Pub). I went with 14 friends. We had a blast.

Disliked: No complains.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

10 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap.

Disliked: Very strange layout of stairs and en-suite had no lock.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Petr Kotrla

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2011

Liked: the discount on food at the downstairs pub was nice. it's great if you're an Arsenal fan because the stadiums is just around the corner and the whole neighborhood goes all gunner-like on a match day.

Disliked: first of all the dorm rooms were way too small for that many people. at some points they were absolutely crammed. in addition you couldn't open a window to introduce a bit of fresh air and to get rid of the smell, the water in the showers was stone cold unless you visited them at specific strategic times, some of the bathrooms were quite nasty (and tiny!!!) and there was some maintenance work in progress which meant our group had to split to stay in different rooms (a piece of info they gave us no earlier than at the moment of check-in) and then we had to switch rooms again after two days. as for the staff they were only ok. sometimes we couldn't even get in the hostel because no one would bother to open the door for us for 5-10 minutes, the cleaning ladies would enter the rooms without even asking if it's okay to do something there, acting as if we were invisible.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Camille Rahout

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 January 2011 Camille would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked the room (compared to some others I've been to), the showers were particularly cleaned (once more compared to some other hostels where the showers were really awful). The staff was friendly, the breakfast was pretty good. The beds were clean quite comfortable for one night. I've slept in many hostels in London now and I can say this one was the best for the moment. 13 pounds is not the cheapest but it has no bedbugs unlike some 8 pounds hostel rooms! I would highly recommend it !

Disliked: The arsenal and finsbury park stations are not really safe at night! You can meet many unfriendly people. BE CAREFUL and don't stay alone !

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the price

Disliked: The first night was very very cold. The temperature of the facility was probably the worst part.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

30 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is cheap ;)

Disliked: the pool was paid 1Ł


See all London hostels
See all London hotels