HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Backpackers London Hostel

175 Blackstock Road, London, England

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 66%

Location 69%

Safety 70%

Staff 76%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.19USD
  • Towel 6.48USD

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

Reception is open from 08:00 until 00.00. If you are arriving outside of this time you must email us. (24 hour access after check in).

***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in and do not allow London locals to stay***

**£10 cash deposit for keys and late check outs**

We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion.

We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled.

Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 24 hours before check in.

No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking.

Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 66%

Location 69%

Safety 70%

Staff 76%

Value 71%

Showing 101-100 of 100 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The hostel is in a very favorable location and well connected. The free breakfast is adequate and the beds are comfortable.

Disliked: I booked a room with private bathroom, hoping for a little more than the average, but the door bolt was broken and the shower behaves somewhat erratically, alternating very hot and very cold water to a flux that waxes and wanes with no reason (room 303)

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's close to the cheapest hostels in London and location is not that bad. Overall it haves all the things a regular hostel haves.

Disliked: From the rooms to the showers, it looks like there's very desorginized people living in the hostel. Clothes laying in the floor, toileteries in the bathroom, etc. I know it's a cheap hostel, but it was a bit too much.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The common room was nice and the staff quite helpful-they helped me bring upstairs my suitcase and printed for me something that I needed..however I wouldnt reccomend you to stay there for more than 2 or 3 nights..

Disliked: Small rooms with too many people inside and no window or good ventilation means that it was quite smelly.not to mention that there was no room for our luggages or ourselves for that matter-you cannot hang out in the rooms.but the worse is the matress of the bed..absolutely uncomfortable!also I find hypocritic the fact that the breakfast is only until 9:30 this means that many people dont get it.oh!and the internet doesnt work upstairs...

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: breakfast, location, spacious pub area

Disliked: not much atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I liked that there were buses that went into the centre that stopped right outside the hostel (number 19 going towards Battersea). There were also a lot of restaurants and places to get food around the hostel. Also the area seemed quite safe, even at night.

Disliked: The nearest underground stations were at least a 8-10 minute walk from the hostel. Also the toilets were too small and there weren't enough of them or showers. There was also no lift and too many stairs which I had to lug my heavy case up and down.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was my first time in a hostel, at first I didn't have a good impression but after one-two nights I got used and I liked my staying there. The staff is helpful, the breakfast in the morning is good and I also liked the bar.

Disliked: The cleanliness of the rooms is not perfect but I got used to it.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: My first impression of the place wasn't very good as when we first arrived we got given the wrong key to our room and once we entered our actual room it was quite small and crowded.. I'll give you a hint, if you don't want to be sleeping with just guys then don't book a mixed room. But the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. We got a free drink for the little mix up with the key.After we got over the initial shock of the small room it really was an enjoyable stay, friendly people, wifi worked relatively well as well. I would stay here agin because location was very good!

Disliked: Was a bit hot in the rooms so difficult to sleep, and the showers were impossible to use. Showers need to be a little more cleaner and actually work relatively well.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very good for the price, friendly staff, easy to get around London, common room was great. The dorms are really just for sleeping and not comfortable/spacious enough to hang out, but the beds are comfortable enough.

Disliked: Stayed in the middle of the hey wave and there was no air conditioning, which made for some discomfort. The showers are horrible. I understand that they won't be top notch, but could they invest in a simple shower head?

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheap. Breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was right next to a pub (tavern) so you could eat and have drinks there. However, it closed pretty early, maybe 11 pm? There were pool tables, and a pretty comfortable/large common area. Also, wifi is free, but I can't remember if it works in the rooms. The staff was also really friendly and helpful. There was also a fan in the room, which was nice since Europe doesn't really believe in air conditioning.

Disliked: This is not the worst hostel I've ever stayed at, but possibly the second worst. The bunk beds are three high, and if you get assigned to the top, you feel like you're going to fall off the whole night, and they aren't very stable. The bathrooms smell heavily of moth balls. There is no lift/elevator, which is pretty normal for Europe, but still annoying. "Breakfast" is included, but consists of bread, cereal, and instant coffee. I know it's a hostel and I'm not expecting luxury, but in Dublin we got cereal, fruit, yogurt, bread, and hard-boiled eggs. In France we got croissants, cheese, cereal, coffee, sliced meats, and some other stuff I can't remember. My point is, just because you're a hostel and you're not charging very much doesn't mean you have to skimp so much on breakfast. Also, the showers are individual, but the room is communal and you have nowhere to undress in privacy, so most girls got undressed IN the shower, which isn't very big at all. The hostel is also not very close to an underground station, despite what the directions say, but the Arsenal stop on the Piccadilly Line (I believe) is a little closer.

Check Availability