We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

70.6% Overall Rating

448 out of 562 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2015)

"This is a great hostel and i was very surprised how good it was. Loved the films on the big screen every night. Place was clean and quiet. Good staff"

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.99

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE WILL NOT BE HONOURED. THEY MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL. ***We only accept a passport or equivalent travel document as proof of identity to check in*** **We keep you ID as a key deposit during your stay. If you need it during your stay just return the keys** We are a youth hostel for ages 18 to 35 and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. We may charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Cancellations and changes to bookings can only be made by email 48 hours before check in. No Shows and late cancellations will be charged the full amount of the booking. Two week maximum stay at this hostel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Beaconsfield Hotel
29.91 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.0% 90 reviews
Alliance House
50.98 USD

Hostel 80.2% 15 reviews
Islington Inn
33.90 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
KIngs Cross Guesthouse
28.04 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 3 reviews
New Market House
34.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
Dinwiddy House
70.52 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews
Journeys King's Cross
16.43 USD

Hostel 76.3% 662 reviews
Clink78
20.94 USD

Hostel 85.1% 4070 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.6%

Overall Rating

448 out of 562 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
76.0%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 532 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for London Feis and the price.

Disliked: Lack of atmosphere during the night.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: OK

Disliked: There could be more clean at the toilets

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar area downstairs with pool table, great social atmosphere. Also, plenty of toilets to be found around hostel/lobby/bar.

Disliked: My partner said the male shower pressure was weak (a fine mist he claims), womens were fine tho :-)

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

20 June 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: There was no room in the rooms to put things. You could not unpack at all. The laughable 'en-suite' was filthy and so small I could not bend to wash my face. The toilets in the corridors had piss all over the floors. The showers in the corridors leaked and overflowed so the carpets along the corridors were soaked. Every surface was dirty, there was mould on the pipes, walls and around the sinks/toilets/showers. The matresses were too thin and only good for children - not adults. The pillow smelt of someone elses sweat and there was no pillow case for it. I went home the following day. It was horrible.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price and the common area are very good

Disliked: the rooms are too small and the people were not so friendly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grazielle Favero Valerio

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Grazielle would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, nice people, the Hostel is also easy to be found. The breakfast is good and the bedrooms are clean and in my opinion, comfortable. I liked to be there and if I go again to London, I'll probably stay there again. It's a good place, I recommend the place!!!

Disliked: The only bad thing I've seen there, and it wasn't a bad thing at all, was that I wanted to sleep in the same room as my friend, and I had sent an e-mail asking for that, I've got a positive answer from them(that I could stay in the same room as my friend!) and when I got there, it was another room, and there were no possibilities to change me, coz it was already crowded. I got a bit sad with that, but as I wrote before, it's not a thing that makes me say: the hostel is bad. No, absolutely not, I recommend the place and I'm sure I'll stay there again when I travel to London!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 June 2011

Liked: The restaurant. Shops close by. Close to a subway.

Disliked: Dirty toilets. Beds were creaky. No cooking facilities. At least a tabletop in the room would have been nice. Street noises.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yuki Saito

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Yuki would recommend this property

Liked: NICE BAR IS THERE.

Disliked: I COULD CONNECT TO INTERNET ONLY AN HOUR PER DAY CAUSE OF LUTER.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SABINE EMMA HÄNGGELI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 SABINE EMMA would recommend this property

Liked: Was easy to meet people in the lounge room

Disliked: the face of the receptionists when I asked to let my backpacks on the luggage room for the nights.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: discount in the bar

Disliked: male showers were closed due to renovations

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 June 2011

Liked: The one thing i did like was that it is close to city centre.

Disliked: It was a dirty place. The most dirty hostel I have ever seen, it smelled really bad and the bathrooms haven't been cleaned for a long time. The rooms are very small, too small for so many people. It gets really hot in the rooms. The staff is not nice. They weren't helpful at all. I left the hostel as fast as I could because it was that horrible!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011

Liked: Nice staff and not very expensive

Disliked: Very noisy hostel and not really clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and frendliness

Disliked: The room i stayed was over crowded

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the tavern and the friendly staff.

Disliked: it's a long metro from heathrow. Internet was inconsistent.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: reception

Disliked: in the whowers theres no where to hang your clothes

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Liz Sparks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011

Liked: The tavern atmosphere was neat, and it was cool to get 25% off on tavern entrees.

Disliked: The rooms were overcrowded and there was very little locker/storage space. Wifi hardly ever worked. Showers and bathrooms were small, unkempt, and hard to access.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011

Liked: The staff where really helpful and tried to solve some problems that we had with the booking.

Disliked: You don't feel comfortable. The rooms didn't seem so clean, and the bathrooms as well as the toilets are so so so small.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

laura brunyee

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 May 2011 laura would recommend this property

Liked: was clean and everyone was friendly enough

Disliked: distance from finsbury station was GREATLY underestimated, go to aresnale save your legs, plus the top of blackstock road is not friendly at all. we were both placed in top bunks (of 3) and people werent very happy when we were trying to climb up at 4am

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melissa Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 May 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, good price, clean

Disliked: Thought the drinks were a bit expensive. E.g. 2 cokes for 6.80

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 25% off food at the bar downstairs which was very good. Cheap prices

Disliked: Staff was rude, rooms are too small with no space for luggage

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a great hostel to stay at and its cheap

Disliked: nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the breakfast and the helpful staff

Disliked: The lack of a kitchen and I am also not used to alcohol being banned inside a hostel. But maybe that is the norm in the UK?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: just perfec !

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i was very impressed!my first stay in hostel but very happy great fun and for sure will be back!!

Disliked: nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location(specially night buses almost everywhere) brilliant value for money even it was booked at last minute... had great time with friends and would recommend to other travelers clean and cheap def will go back!!!

Disliked: its hostel so cant expect 5* but for me it did the job


See all London hostels
See all London hotels