HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

68.5% Overall Rating

422 out of 520 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2014)

Paul Bajan thinks…

"Good atmosphere, with a pub with live music downstairs. Cheap, in a safe area. The rooms were very warm."

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Under 18 must be accompanied by an adult of the same gender. Age Limit: up to 35yrs only REFUNDABLE KEY DEPOSIT of £10.00 for a set of keys which includes 1 Room Key & 1 Locker Key

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Central Park Studios
44.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Park View Hotel
53.69 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Queens Drive Hotel
53.69 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pembury Hotel
36.91 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Woodberry Hotel
83.89 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beaconsfield Hotel
57.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.3% 87 reviews
Alliance House
76.59 USD

Hostel 79.5% 11 reviews
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel
38.59 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.5%

Overall Rating

422 out of 520 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 345 of 491 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar area downstairs with pool table, great social atmosphere. Also, plenty of toilets to be found around hostel/lobby/bar.

Disliked: My partner said the male shower pressure was weak (a fine mist he claims), womens were fine tho :-)

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

20 June 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: There was no room in the rooms to put things. You could not unpack at all. The laughable 'en-suite' was filthy and so small I could not bend to wash my face. The toilets in the corridors had piss all over the floors. The showers in the corridors leaked and overflowed so the carpets along the corridors were soaked. Every surface was dirty, there was mould on the pipes, walls and around the sinks/toilets/showers. The matresses were too thin and only good for children - not adults. The pillow smelt of someone elses sweat and there was no pillow case for it. I went home the following day. It was horrible.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price and the common area are very good

Disliked: the rooms are too small and the people were not so friendly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grazielle Favero Valerio

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Grazielle would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, nice people, the Hostel is also easy to be found. The breakfast is good and the bedrooms are clean and in my opinion, comfortable. I liked to be there and if I go again to London, I'll probably stay there again. It's a good place, I recommend the place!!!

Disliked: The only bad thing I've seen there, and it wasn't a bad thing at all, was that I wanted to sleep in the same room as my friend, and I had sent an e-mail asking for that, I've got a positive answer from them(that I could stay in the same room as my friend!) and when I got there, it was another room, and there were no possibilities to change me, coz it was already crowded. I got a bit sad with that, but as I wrote before, it's not a thing that makes me say: the hostel is bad. No, absolutely not, I recommend the place and I'm sure I'll stay there again when I travel to London!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 June 2011

Liked: The restaurant. Shops close by. Close to a subway.

Disliked: Dirty toilets. Beds were creaky. No cooking facilities. At least a tabletop in the room would have been nice. Street noises.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yuki Saito

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Yuki would recommend this property

Liked: NICE BAR IS THERE.

Disliked: I COULD CONNECT TO INTERNET ONLY AN HOUR PER DAY CAUSE OF LUTER.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SABINE EMMA HÄNGGELI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 SABINE EMMA would recommend this property

Liked: Was easy to meet people in the lounge room

Disliked: the face of the receptionists when I asked to let my backpacks on the luggage room for the nights.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: discount in the bar

Disliked: male showers were closed due to renovations

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 June 2011

Liked: The one thing i did like was that it is close to city centre.

Disliked: It was a dirty place. The most dirty hostel I have ever seen, it smelled really bad and the bathrooms haven't been cleaned for a long time. The rooms are very small, too small for so many people. It gets really hot in the rooms. The staff is not nice. They weren't helpful at all. I left the hostel as fast as I could because it was that horrible!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011

Liked: Nice staff and not very expensive

Disliked: Very noisy hostel and not really clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and frendliness

Disliked: The room i stayed was over crowded

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the tavern and the friendly staff.

Disliked: it's a long metro from heathrow. Internet was inconsistent.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: reception

Disliked: in the whowers theres no where to hang your clothes

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Liz Sparks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011

Liked: The tavern atmosphere was neat, and it was cool to get 25% off on tavern entrees.

Disliked: The rooms were overcrowded and there was very little locker/storage space. Wifi hardly ever worked. Showers and bathrooms were small, unkempt, and hard to access.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011

Liked: The staff where really helpful and tried to solve some problems that we had with the booking.

Disliked: You don't feel comfortable. The rooms didn't seem so clean, and the bathrooms as well as the toilets are so so so small.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

laura brunyee

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 May 2011 laura would recommend this property

Liked: was clean and everyone was friendly enough

Disliked: distance from finsbury station was GREATLY underestimated, go to aresnale save your legs, plus the top of blackstock road is not friendly at all. we were both placed in top bunks (of 3) and people werent very happy when we were trying to climb up at 4am

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melissa Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 May 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, good price, clean

Disliked: Thought the drinks were a bit expensive. E.g. 2 cokes for 6.80

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 25% off food at the bar downstairs which was very good. Cheap prices

Disliked: Staff was rude, rooms are too small with no space for luggage

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a great hostel to stay at and its cheap

Disliked: nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the breakfast and the helpful staff

Disliked: The lack of a kitchen and I am also not used to alcohol being banned inside a hostel. But maybe that is the norm in the UK?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: just perfec !

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i was very impressed!my first stay in hostel but very happy great fun and for sure will be back!!

Disliked: nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location(specially night buses almost everywhere) brilliant value for money even it was booked at last minute... had great time with friends and would recommend to other travelers clean and cheap def will go back!!!

Disliked: its hostel so cant expect 5* but for me it did the job

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really helpful and at your full service all 24 hours included! I like the way the rooms are placed and organized.. and the big social area downstairs.. the breakfast was at its absolute minimum but definitely OK..

Disliked: The location is not far away from the center of London, but I did not feel safe walking around in the Arsenal area alone, during the night, it seems like a rough area.. in the streets there are signs warning you against thieves.. Besides, the breakfast cutlery and plates did not seem clean in the morning..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and reliable

Disliked: Don't expect to access internet stably, particularly on Fri, Sat and Sun. You may access internet 30 mins each 2 hour!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels