HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Hostel | 175 Blackstock Road, London, England N4 2JS

65.4% Overall Rating

435 out of 545 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

Sierra Bradley thinks…

"There were many shops and restaurants on the main road that the hostel was on. The tube station was a bit far, but still a very walkable distance. I also liked that they provided you with a lock for…"

Read all Arsenal Tavern Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Under 18 must be accompanied by an adult of the same gender. Age Limit: up to 35yrs only REFUNDABLE KEY DEPOSIT of £10.00 for a set of keys which includes 1 Room Key & 1 Locker Key

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Woodberry Hotel
82.89 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beaconsfield Hotel
35.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.0% 88 reviews
Alliance House
56.52 USD

Hostel 80.2% 14 reviews
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel
43.77 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Angels Guesthouse
29.01 USD

Guesthouse 77.6% 6 reviews
KIngs Cross Guesthouse
31.08 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
New Market House
44.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.6% 3 reviews
Dinwiddy House
0.27 USD

Hostel 72.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.4%

Overall Rating

435 out of 545 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arsenal Tavern Hostel'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
42.4%
Staff
77.6%
Value
72.0%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 359 of 514 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The communal area was very sociable with loads of plugpoints for your laptops and phones, a few pool tables and a big screen at the end of the room, which was showing Edward Scissorhands when I came in. The music and atmosphere was good, and the discount of pub food (25%) was decent. I never got to try the breakfast but It was advertised as being free, so I reckon thats a good thing!

Disliked: The window in my room wouldnt open much while the temperature was high, so the room got clammy. There was some wallpaper coming off the walls and a fair amount of spiders running about, one ran over my back which I wasnt too happy about! I also didnt like how I was allocated a specific bed, I was given bed 4 which was at the top of a treble bunk bed and I am tall and heavy so It was difficult to get in and out of, especially while trying not to wake people up.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price.

Disliked: location is not so good, but it's not a problem.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trevor John

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi in the lobby and the showers were supper clean!

Disliked: The rooms were a bit cramped.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011

Liked: The food at the pub was the only decent thing at this hostel!

Disliked: The rooms are VERY crowded! The bunk beds are triple bunk beds and there is very little space between each bed... There is no room in the rooms to place your bags - no matter how small your bags are! The showers are extremely small! Horrible facilities! The breakfast offered was cheap cereal and milk... The staff and other guests have horrible attitudes! Wifi never worked! Far from city center!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap prized

Disliked: must be cleaner

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Patrick Moloney

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011

Liked: Accessible to bus and tube

Disliked: very poor toilet and shower facilities

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

robert Campbell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011 robert would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very close to the underground station which is convenient.

Disliked: The room has too many people and the window cannot be opened. Very stuffy on a summer day,

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value fir money!

Disliked: maybe shower facilities could be improved

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Nicole Beechey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Great price, nice atmosphere. Internet worked wonderfully!

Disliked: Seemed a little unclean at times, not exactly as close to the subway station as described, overall a decent value for money depending on your personal preferences.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Albion Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011

Liked: The Ground floor is actually a bar where it is spacey to accommodate people and some books. It should be a fun place to meet people but unfortunately, Ground Floor was the only spot to get internet access so everybody was busy with the internet and their laptop then meeting new people. What a shame.

Disliked: I dislike the wet and dirty bathroom the most and second, the helpful staff. When you booked the hostel and with the 'price tag' on it, you can estimate the quality of the rooms and facilities but if the staff was unhelpful, nothing could change it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and the excellent food for cheap price.

Disliked: Sometimes there's no water in the toilets and shower.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for London Feis and the price.

Disliked: Lack of atmosphere during the night.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: OK

Disliked: There could be more clean at the toilets

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar area downstairs with pool table, great social atmosphere. Also, plenty of toilets to be found around hostel/lobby/bar.

Disliked: My partner said the male shower pressure was weak (a fine mist he claims), womens were fine tho :-)

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

20 June 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: There was no room in the rooms to put things. You could not unpack at all. The laughable 'en-suite' was filthy and so small I could not bend to wash my face. The toilets in the corridors had piss all over the floors. The showers in the corridors leaked and overflowed so the carpets along the corridors were soaked. Every surface was dirty, there was mould on the pipes, walls and around the sinks/toilets/showers. The matresses were too thin and only good for children - not adults. The pillow smelt of someone elses sweat and there was no pillow case for it. I went home the following day. It was horrible.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price and the common area are very good

Disliked: the rooms are too small and the people were not so friendly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grazielle Favero Valerio

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Grazielle would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, nice people, the Hostel is also easy to be found. The breakfast is good and the bedrooms are clean and in my opinion, comfortable. I liked to be there and if I go again to London, I'll probably stay there again. It's a good place, I recommend the place!!!

Disliked: The only bad thing I've seen there, and it wasn't a bad thing at all, was that I wanted to sleep in the same room as my friend, and I had sent an e-mail asking for that, I've got a positive answer from them(that I could stay in the same room as my friend!) and when I got there, it was another room, and there were no possibilities to change me, coz it was already crowded. I got a bit sad with that, but as I wrote before, it's not a thing that makes me say: the hostel is bad. No, absolutely not, I recommend the place and I'm sure I'll stay there again when I travel to London!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 June 2011

Liked: The restaurant. Shops close by. Close to a subway.

Disliked: Dirty toilets. Beds were creaky. No cooking facilities. At least a tabletop in the room would have been nice. Street noises.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yuki Saito

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Yuki would recommend this property

Liked: NICE BAR IS THERE.

Disliked: I COULD CONNECT TO INTERNET ONLY AN HOUR PER DAY CAUSE OF LUTER.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SABINE EMMA HÄNGGELI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 SABINE EMMA would recommend this property

Liked: Was easy to meet people in the lounge room

Disliked: the face of the receptionists when I asked to let my backpacks on the luggage room for the nights.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: discount in the bar

Disliked: male showers were closed due to renovations

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 June 2011

Liked: The one thing i did like was that it is close to city centre.

Disliked: It was a dirty place. The most dirty hostel I have ever seen, it smelled really bad and the bathrooms haven't been cleaned for a long time. The rooms are very small, too small for so many people. It gets really hot in the rooms. The staff is not nice. They weren't helpful at all. I left the hostel as fast as I could because it was that horrible!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011

Liked: Nice staff and not very expensive

Disliked: Very noisy hostel and not really clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and frendliness

Disliked: The room i stayed was over crowded


See all London hostels
See all London hotels