HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green

Hostel | 233 Willesden Lane, London, England NW2 5RP

86.4% Overall Rating

693 out of 734 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

Thomas Wilson thinks…

"The price was really good, the facilities were ok and the staff were very relaxed and friendly."

Read all Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Any cancellations for arrivals from 25th July until 13th August 2012 will be fully non-refundable. Any no-shows will be charged in full for the entire stay. Sale bookings are non refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

247 London Studios
14.43 USD

Apartment 72.4% 3 reviews
All Star Hostel
27.17 USD

Hostel 58.1% 93 reviews
london365 hostel
23.77 USD

Hostel 68.2% 88 reviews
Accommodation London
16.96 USD

Hostel 70.6% 651 reviews
The Windmill
144.34 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lodge NW2
17.83 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 14 reviews
Hostel 639
15.28 USD

Hostel 57.7% 172 reviews
Best Western Palm Hotel
73.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

693 out of 734 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 491 of 717 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for bus routes into central london. Good general standard of cleanliness.

Disliked: Along with at least one other traveller i was not notified when checking in that i would need to change rooms after two nights. This resulted in all my belongings being bagged up and left at the desk. I had to wait for around 15 minutes at around midnight, while 2 parties where checked in, a very slow process, before being allocated a new room along with another visitor who was woken up by staff and told to change room because he was also not informed of the change. I was given a verbal apology from the only member of staff on the desk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gediminas sutkus

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2012 gediminas would recommend this property

Liked: Beds are old fashioned style in some rooms but wicked - very comfortable. Home away from home.

Disliked: gediminas left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and lounge area, good wi-fi, comfy beds

Disliked: Lots of school groups (some very young), no wi-fi in rooms, would have liked separate male/female bathrooms

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, secure, clean and bright premises. Staff friendly and professional.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebeca Moreno

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 April 2012 Rebeca would recommend this property

Liked: I feel like at home

Disliked: Rebeca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebeca Moreno

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 April 2012 Rebeca would recommend this property

Liked: I feel lika at home

Disliked: Rebeca left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2012

Liked: Breakfast was nice. Room was nice- good size & comfortable beds.

Disliked: When we booked on the website we were told that beds were available for the duration of our stay (which we believed would be the same bed for our whole stay). However upon arrival to the hostel we were informed that we would have to change rooms each night of our stay which involved being up prior to check out & not being able to return to a room until after check in, later in the afternoon (which is annoying if you want to sleep late or return to the hostel during the day). Furthermore, we had to move our luggage to the storage room each day & we had to pay each day for a locker to store our valuable items in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: The bunk beds were too short for a 187 cm person like myself. Also, there wasn't a real coffee machine, only instant.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pavla Srumova

Alone

City break

09 March 2012 Pavla would recommend this property

Liked: Feels more like a hotel, really, even with the bunk beds. These were comfy, with good, clean bedsheets, and the curtain plus bedlight offered privacy. The dorm was quite spacious, too, and definitely very clean (both things rather uncommon in a London hostel). Showers and toilets perfectly clean, too. Great coffee for breakfast. Felt very secure there. It was also a quiet place, though they had many teenagers and children staying when I was there, but everybody behaved very well, as the general feel of the place was so posh. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Couldn´t find a plug in any bathroom (you don´t want to blowdry your hair in the dorm where you might disturb others) - but that might be just me not looking thoroughly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of it was good, very smart and cozy beds BIG PLUS.

Disliked: Cold room. Only marmadle on the sandwich for breakfast.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012

Liked: Great facilities and really clean.

Disliked: Absolutely no atmosphere. The hostel was pretty much full of young families and/or school groups - not much fun for a backpacker travelling on your own. The staff were also a bit average too. Definitely not rude, but I wouldn't say friendly either.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a lot of space, good wi-fi, pleasant atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julieta garcia pardo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 julieta would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, well located

Disliked: julieta left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Rooms have no air, nothing looks like what is described,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very clean and secure. They have lovely wooden beds that give you a bit of privacy - even in a dorm with 14 beds! The breakfast was very good as well, they even have croissants! And there is a bus to Oxford Circus right in front of the property, so you don't even have to walk to the subway if you are too lazy.

Disliked: Snoring roommates ;)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location location location!! So easy to get into London

Disliked: We were in the basement, and were woken in the morning by Breakfast, not ideal on Sunday morning!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, well heated, self catering facilities, free wifi.

Disliked: Lack in character, bit of a walk from the tube

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love coming back here. The place is friendly, facilities are good, free breakfast and internet are a big bonus, everything is clean. Apart from that, I really like the area the hostel's in.

Disliked: Placing big rooms for lots of people in the basement is perhaps not the best idea. Although these rooms are really spacious and you get your privacy, the windows are tiny and the ventilation is not great. No other complaints.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The front desk clerks and the bartender were all really lovely and friendly. There was cider on tap and the food was tasty and well prepared. I happened to get a room all to myself when I asked for a lower bunk.

Disliked: The wi-fi was hard to use and very flaky once I was on it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the free breakfast is great! Very clean and warm place to stay.

Disliked: There are rooms in the basement, with just a small skylight. The morning is very noisy, since the staff starts to vacuum clean as early as 7:00am...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Philip

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

04 February 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: great location. nice atmosphere. good facilities and really cheep.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was exceptionally convenient and safe. It provided parking in a safe and secure location and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Perhaps a little too popular, because always very busy. But in truth not much to dislike.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the fact in the hostel that they encouraged you to leave feedback about the hostel on hostel bookers. The bathrooms were cleaned at least 5x per day and were always clean. The staff were extremely friendly and seemed to genuinely enjoy their job. The free breakfast was amazing (coffee, juices, toast, crossiants, cereal and spreads). 24/7 reception and security - never felt insafe. Free unlimited wifi! All in all one of the best hostels I have stayed at.

Disliked: If I am to be really picky - the only negative thing is the distance of the hostel from the tube station. It's probably only 800 m away but in winter and the cold that can feel like a lot longer. There's a great public bus system that drops you right in front of the hostel though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean.

Disliked: Small kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent showers and general facilities, great location.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels