HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green

Hostel | 233 Willesden Lane, London, England NW2 5RP

88.6% Overall Rating

669 out of 709 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

"I liked the "bed-curtains" in the 14-bed dorm. So you could go/stay sleeping, while other guests used the light."

Read all Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Any cancellations for arrivals from 25th July until 13th August 2012 will be fully non-refundable. Any no-shows will be charged in full for the entire stay. Sale bookings are non refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

247 London Studios
31.93 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
All Star Hostel
26.90 USD

Hostel 65.8% 84 reviews
Queens Hotel
52.87 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
london365 hostel
28.56 USD

Hostel 74.6% 83 reviews
Accommodation London
29.42 USD

Hostel 73.9% 639 reviews
The Windmill
142.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lodge NW2
17.65 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 12 reviews
Hostel 639
15.13 USD

Hostel 55.4% 158 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

669 out of 709 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 478 of 692 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mateusz Wojciechowski

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Mateusz would recommend this property

Liked: It's near the Underground Jubilee Line, which goes to all the major London sights and attractions. Very nice and helpful stuff.

Disliked: Beer prices in their pub :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, great brekfast and living spaces.

Disliked: The ensuite twin-room has no WC, a little far from Metro station.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joanna Klabisch

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge is as adorable as it looks on the pictures, the house is in a rather quiet neighbourhood so sleeping is no problem if you have no horrid dutch neighbours

Disliked: For some it might be a bit out of the way, but it's still in Zone 2, so it's not too bad. The worst was what they call "continental breakfast" toast and jam does not a continental breakfast make. They have to add cheese or beacon, you cannot expect people to live on sweets alone!!!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, free internet, lockers in the room.

Disliked: Small room for 4 people, breakfast rather poor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lost wallet with a lot of money and my ID in it returned to me instantly. Very friendly and helpful staff, good atmosphere, quiet and tidy place, 10-15 minutes from underground, Strongly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, seemed very safe and secure. Good for the money.

Disliked: Limited number of showers, though I never ended up having issues with it. It was difficult to find; they should put the underground directions on how to get to the property as the bus routes were confusing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I wasn't clear on the directions so I e-mailed and got a quick, clear response on how to get there, so that was great. Facilities had everything you needed. The bunk beds are set up great, with your own curtain for privacy, an outlet, and a lamp. It's amazing how many hostels get away with not having enough outlets so I really appreciated that. The restaraunt/bar has decent food and decent drink prices. All in all, quite a comfortable little hostel!

Disliked: It's not in the greatest location, quite a walk from the subway, and in the neighborhood I frequently had guys trying to holler at me, but I never feared for my safety, I just considered it a bit of a nuisance. Also, the directions on the website are so unclear for those not familiar with anything about London!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool commom area, big-sized rooms and the staff was helpful.

Disliked: Lots of families with young kids, a bit far from the metro station.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucinda Rich

Alone

Shopping

17 April 2012 Lucinda would recommend this property

Liked: Clean facilities, friendly staff, lockers in the room and comfy beds. Safe luggage, free wifi and access to computers, nice free breakfast and coffee! Hot showers..! Having to change room , pack up on the 2nd night, put my stuff away and re locate to another room after a long day.

Disliked: Shared showers and toilets. The shower room is where you have to dress and undress, after a shower your clothes are wet and you cant go out side the shower room as it is mixed showers. The doors all make a lot of noise at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bunk-beds in the large dorm room were private and the bunks in the smaller rooms are designed in way to aid a peaceful sleep.

Disliked: For the price that you pay these items need to be available: Hairdryers in the shower rooms, more hooks for clothes in the shower rooms and you should be able to swap your towel for a clean one when you stay for a long period of time, without paying for the rent again. This is common in many of the hostels that I have stayed in, and they were not Boutique. Just a suggestion :)

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gersain Soto

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Gersain would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness

Disliked: no hot water in one day of the stay

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for bus routes into central london. Good general standard of cleanliness.

Disliked: Along with at least one other traveller i was not notified when checking in that i would need to change rooms after two nights. This resulted in all my belongings being bagged up and left at the desk. I had to wait for around 15 minutes at around midnight, while 2 parties where checked in, a very slow process, before being allocated a new room along with another visitor who was woken up by staff and told to change room because he was also not informed of the change. I was given a verbal apology from the only member of staff on the desk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gediminas sutkus

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2012 gediminas would recommend this property

Liked: Beds are old fashioned style in some rooms but wicked - very comfortable. Home away from home.

Disliked: gediminas left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and lounge area, good wi-fi, comfy beds

Disliked: Lots of school groups (some very young), no wi-fi in rooms, would have liked separate male/female bathrooms

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, secure, clean and bright premises. Staff friendly and professional.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebeca Moreno

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 April 2012 Rebeca would recommend this property

Liked: I feel like at home

Disliked: Rebeca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebeca Moreno

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 April 2012 Rebeca would recommend this property

Liked: I feel lika at home

Disliked: Rebeca left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2012

Liked: Breakfast was nice. Room was nice- good size & comfortable beds.

Disliked: When we booked on the website we were told that beds were available for the duration of our stay (which we believed would be the same bed for our whole stay). However upon arrival to the hostel we were informed that we would have to change rooms each night of our stay which involved being up prior to check out & not being able to return to a room until after check in, later in the afternoon (which is annoying if you want to sleep late or return to the hostel during the day). Furthermore, we had to move our luggage to the storage room each day & we had to pay each day for a locker to store our valuable items in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: The bunk beds were too short for a 187 cm person like myself. Also, there wasn't a real coffee machine, only instant.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pavla Srumova

Alone

City break

09 March 2012 Pavla would recommend this property

Liked: Feels more like a hotel, really, even with the bunk beds. These were comfy, with good, clean bedsheets, and the curtain plus bedlight offered privacy. The dorm was quite spacious, too, and definitely very clean (both things rather uncommon in a London hostel). Showers and toilets perfectly clean, too. Great coffee for breakfast. Felt very secure there. It was also a quiet place, though they had many teenagers and children staying when I was there, but everybody behaved very well, as the general feel of the place was so posh. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Couldn´t find a plug in any bathroom (you don´t want to blowdry your hair in the dorm where you might disturb others) - but that might be just me not looking thoroughly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of it was good, very smart and cozy beds BIG PLUS.

Disliked: Cold room. Only marmadle on the sandwich for breakfast.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012

Liked: Great facilities and really clean.

Disliked: Absolutely no atmosphere. The hostel was pretty much full of young families and/or school groups - not much fun for a backpacker travelling on your own. The staff were also a bit average too. Definitely not rude, but I wouldn't say friendly either.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a lot of space, good wi-fi, pleasant atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julieta garcia pardo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 julieta would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, well located

Disliked: julieta left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels