HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green

Hostel | 233 Willesden Lane, London, England NW2 5RP

88.6% Overall Rating

669 out of 709 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

"I liked the "bed-curtains" in the 14-bed dorm. So you could go/stay sleeping, while other guests used the light."

Read all Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Any cancellations for arrivals from 25th July until 13th August 2012 will be fully non-refundable. Any no-shows will be charged in full for the entire stay. Sale bookings are non refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

247 London Studios
31.86 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
All Star Hostel
26.85 USD

Hostel 65.8% 84 reviews
Queens Hotel
46.14 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
london365 hostel
28.51 USD

Hostel 74.6% 83 reviews
Accommodation London
29.36 USD

Hostel 73.9% 639 reviews
The Windmill
142.62 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lodge NW2
17.62 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 12 reviews
Hostel 639
15.10 USD

Hostel 55.4% 158 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

669 out of 709 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 478 of 692 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and spacious, free wifi that could even be used in rooms, in a gated location so it was very safe even though getting there late at night was a little sketchy.

Disliked: It was kind of far out from the city, but it was close enough to the Jubilee line metro that it didn't matter.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lorraine brown

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: Had never visited London before I was very surprised to find how close to the tube station the hostel was, and am very impressed with the helpfulness of the staff at any hour. The rooms were a great size and set out really well. The meals were cheap and really filling, well presented and cooked to order. And the free breakfast just gave us a great start to the day. Really impressed and wil definitely book again on my next visit to London

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean, much cleaner than some hotels I have stayed in before. The hostel was fresh and well kept.

Disliked: The breakfast was okay, it would have been nice to have some fresh fruit. It would have been good if the breakfast went on a little longer too, maybe until half ten.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like that there are various areas to hang out, it is really close to the tube line, and it is a really clean hostel.

Disliked: To be honest the continental breakfast could be improved. While i stayed there were two large groups which can make it a bit difficult if you just want to relax with a bit of quiet time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stuart o connell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 stuart would recommend this property

Liked: fernando was very helpful at reception, as were the rest of the staff.

Disliked: very far out so it might be cheap to stay but it costs you money to get out there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bunk bed design is comfortable. There is sufficient power point in the room. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Overall, the place is clean and tidy. The neighbourhood is safe.

Disliked: The breakfast is nothing special. No WIFI in the room. Only able to connect to WIFI in the common area at ground floor. The 4 bed dorm is slightly small. Not enough space to keep 4 big luggages.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Melanie Moore

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 June 2012 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: The sense of security was good. I liked that the lockers were big and operated on a key card system.

Disliked: Really noisy. Not only because people congregate in the corridors but also because every time someone opens a door in the corridor the change in air pressure makes the door to your room thud. This is also the case when you have the window open. Also whenever people come in and out of the dorm room or use their lockers it makes a loud whirring noise so its impossible for anyone to be quiet even if they're trying. Overall this place is pretty decent but I'd recommend bringing ear plugs if you want to get a good nights sleep. Also - just a note to any girls staying here - be careful when walking home late at night from the station. I came back at around half past midnight and was curb crawled by a guy and approached by another guy in the street who I had some trouble getting rid of. This isn't a reflection on the hostel but just something to be aware of - not just in Willesden Green but around London in general.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jennifer kpossou

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 June 2012 jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: bonne accueil du personnel wifi gratuite bon petit déjeuner propreté des lieux on peut pas trouver meilleur à ce prix là pour une auberge de jeunesse

Disliked: RAS

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miguel Angel Diego Diego

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Miguel Angel would recommend this property

Liked: El hostel en general, habitación, seguridad, desayuno muy completo y personalatento.El bar muy bien ambientado, la camarera muy atenta y simpatica

Disliked: Miguel Angel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emad Mahmoud

Alone

City break

18 June 2012 Emad would recommend this property

Liked: clean,very nice staff,very good quiet location i loved it

Disliked: none

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marjolyn Consolaro

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

17 June 2012 Marjolyn would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and relaxed.

Disliked: Marjolyn left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sergio Gomes

As a family with children

City break

15 June 2012 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: Everything works properly. Very professional staff and nice too ( expecially Filipa ). Another nice thing is that the hostel has 5 computers for is guests ( FREE ).

Disliked: We stayed in a 4 bunk bedroom, and it was to small for 4 persons. The wifi didn´t work very good. Besides that nothing more to complaine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was absolutely spotless. Even if you go looking for dirt in hard to clean and hidden places. Warm showers with good water pressure available all day. Staff went above and beyond. They were very friendly an helpful.

Disliked: Noisy if you don't have earplugs as the accommodate large school groups. They do however sell earplugs at the front. Fire alarm was triggered by hair dryer or similar appliance and woke me up on two separate nights.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, tidy & comfortable. The locker is big enough for the luggage with security lock. Feel comfortable with the bed, pillow and linen. Good for the money.

Disliked: If there are large school groupes, it's could be a problem to get some breakfast or clean dishes. I couldn't access the wifi in my room. A bit far from the metro/city but still ok. Prices in their bar.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fast access to public transportation.

Disliked: Small rooms, needs more showers. They make a huge deal if you drink a beer or any kind of alcohol brought from outside.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sehr nettes Personal, das Zimmer war bemerkenswert sauber, kostenloses Frühstück, sehr ruhig in der Nacht

Disliked: etwas außerhalb, stellt aber durch gute U-Bahn Verbindung kein Problem dar

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice

Disliked: Breakfast was terrible, would rather pay a few pound for something reasonable. It was a pretty long walk from the tube station.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean, there was no queuing for the use of the showers, breakfast was included, the location felt safe and quite secure.

Disliked: It was huge, better for school holiday group and large coach trips than for individual travellers. The breakfast was a bit too sparse and the tea was disgusting. The lockers in the rooms were very noisey. We made our booking for 2 beds in a female dorm at the same time in one transaction, yet we were not treated like we were together and were originally allocated beds in seperate rooms to give preference to some of the larger groups that were staying. Couldn't access the wifi in my room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Katy Mitchell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and people were friendly, the shower pressure was great and free wifi was avaible. The was plenty of varierty for breakfast, the place itself was very relaxed and well presented and only a 5 minutes walk from tube stations. I shared a double room with my partner, I would hapily stay there again and would recommend to anyone wanted a clean, safe, and plesant stay in london for a good price.

Disliked: The only bad thing I have to say is there was some unconsiderate guests outside our room running down the corridors laughing,shouting and screaming in the very early hours of the morning.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 May 2012

Liked: safe and clean

Disliked: it is a big warehouse for people. hugh, no character very very small rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesmine Ng Sook Man

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Jesmine would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, tidy & comfortable. The locker is big enough for our luggage with security lock. We feel comfortable with the bed, pillow and linen. We really feel safe to stay here. We definitely will recommend this to others.

Disliked: The location is not really near to Metro station but there is a bus stop in front of the hostel and London have a good public transportation system, so definitely not a big problem for us. The breakfast is same for everyday! Hmm...it's a bit boring...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Savanna Noyes

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Savanna would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice. nothing too fancy. if you are into drinking there is a bar and some socializing that goes on. the staff are helpful if you need help getting around. they had a storage room we could use for the excess luggage. it was in a semi residental area which felt safe, less than ten minutes from the underground.

Disliked: The lockers in the room were obnoxious. just super annoying when they opened so you couldn't avoid waking people up. (but on the plus, you got a locker)... the walls were pretty thin so you could hear your neighbors a bit and anyone in the hall and you could hear the bar people from the outside. One morning two of the staff members were in a loud heated argument that went on very loudly for quite some time...luckily we were awake, but I felt like that should have been handled elsewhere. The elevator was super slow!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe.

Disliked: Very few utensils in the self catering kitchen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhou Zhou

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Zhou would recommend this property

Liked: The place is quite clean and I also enjoyed the breakfast there everyday. Just want to spend a whole day there. Haha

Disliked: The place is a little bit far from the tube station and only one bus line is available there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathroom and toilet, good service at reception, bed curtains, breakfast was included in the price of acommodation.

Disliked: --------------


See all London hostels
See all London hotels