We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green

Hostel | 233 Willesden Lane, London, England NW2 5RP

86.6% Overall Rating

704 out of 746 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"Convenient, one of the cheapest, beds solid, the light and plug socket to each bunk"

Read all Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Any cancellations for arrivals from 25th July until 13th August 2012 will be fully non-refundable. Any no-shows will be charged in full for the entire stay. Sale bookings are non refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

247 London Studios
26.22 USD

Apartment 80.0% 10 reviews
All Star Hostel
4.92 USD

Hostel 58.1% 93 reviews
london365 hostel
26.22 USD

Hostel 65.8% 92 reviews
Accommodation London
26.22 USD

Hostel 68.9% 657 reviews
The Windmill
139.37 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lodge NW2
17.22 USD

Guesthouse 86.9% 15 reviews
Hostel 639
14.76 USD

Hostel 52.1% 184 reviews
Best Western Palm Hotel
59.57 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

704 out of 746 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 496 of 729 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is an excellent, excellent hostel. I've stayed at a few hostels in London and this is by far the best one. It's not the cheapest but totally worth it if you can afford to pay a few extra pounds per night! I loved the big, free and easy to use lockers in the room, the many computers that you could use for free, the free wifi that worked even in my room, how inexpensive and easy it was to print, the fact that this hostel has a washing machine, the sink in the room, the lovely staff and most of all how extremely clean it was (this is certainly rare in London hostels).

Disliked: Nothing at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shing Hoi Leung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Shing Hoi would recommend this property

Liked: Both the beds and toilet very clean, i live in 4/F the temp is good. 2 independent toilets suits for all roommates, you have to bring your own lock if you want to use lockers in room but thats fine. quite close to Tube station about 5 mins walk, theres local markets near the station too. The food in the bar is lovely and the price is reasonable.

Disliked: there are quite a lot female roommates in my room as i didn't expect, sometimes roommates ate and drunk inside, i think the staff should do some checking. overall no big problems for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Ward

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, informal, great facilities for socialising, relaxing and studying. The bar is great fun with a pool table and adjoining outside deck, with good WiFi throughout the building and computers in various areas. The beds are comfortable, staff are excellent and have met many cool people here, this is a very enjoyable place to stay in and great value of course. The area is very nice with many shops open late, with the tube a five minute walk after relaxing in the attractive grounds which are beautifully kept within the secure gated surroundings. Highly recommended indeed.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pablo Massih

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

26 September 2012 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: All!

Disliked: Notthing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Stephenson

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 September 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar, nice staff and very clean

Disliked: German highschool trips come to this location often

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good

Disliked: Not much of anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derrick Thomas

Alone

City break

19 September 2012 Derrick would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, atmosphere and security

Disliked: Derrick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Balint

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 September 2012 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean, very spacious, very comfortable beds.

Disliked: The WI-FI connections fails frequently, but it's acceptable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Courtney

As a family with children

Events / festivals

02 September 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: It had everything needed for a visit to London; comfortable room and beds, clean, showers, wifi, food and drink (including breakfast in the price) and simple control of access to location and facilities. I wanted a room for 4 as a base to attend the para olympics. I could not believe how straightforward it could be having necer stayed in a hostel before. Looking for an excuse to go to London again, so I can go back and it opens up a whole new world of ways to visit lots of places. I had previously only stayed in hotels, which may have en-suit bathroom but non of the flexibility of Palmers Lodge. It was even within walking distance of a tube station.

Disliked: I am 55 and I'd should have heard of this place before!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such an awesome hostel - one of the best I've ever stayed in. Always clean, always friendly, and food and drink on the premises. People are respectful and always felt safe. Every bed has a plug socket and a lamp, as well as an individual privacy curtain. Ate downstairs and had the bolognaise - it was lovely! Breakfast was great too. Came from the horrible No 8 Hostel in Willesden so this was heaven! Wish it had been a little cheaper and then I could have stayed longer!

Disliked: Just one thing and it's only a small gripe - no plug sockets in the dorm bathrooms (which are tiny) and none so far as I could see in the shared ones either so I was unable to blow dry my hair. I know it's petty but most girls have long hair and don't always want to let it drip dry. Would have been nice to have had sockets in the shared showers at least.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoriano Rubio

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Victoriano would recommend this property

Liked: The place in general was great. The common areas were quite big and comfortable. The staff was really friendly and you can also find ppl from everywhere and chat for hours in the common places. The free breakfast was ok. Very clean, also the bathrooms and showers: clean and new.

Disliked: I slept in a 14 beds room. You have intimacy due of the curtains in every bed, but although most of ppl is careful, I always woke up with the first noises in the moring (around 7.30 am). Except that, it was ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities and the services

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean very helpful and friendly staff. affordable and 5 min away from the tube. Nice continental breakfast. lovely lounge area. free wifi and Computers.

Disliked: If you are unlucky the corridor of the floor you are on might get noisy. Self service kitchen is REALLY basic with only one cooker meaning you can not cook 2 things at the same time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Van Maele

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and easy to find. I liked the location a lot, very nice to walk around there.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Samantha Rosenbaum

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and had a good amount of hangout space

Disliked: NO AIR CONDITIONING, room was boiling hot, tried to charge us for towels.. not allowed to bring in your own alcohol from outside.. far away from central london

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012

Liked: Friendly reception staff, good location and secure.

Disliked: Noise from outside the bar area until early hours of the morning, noise from other guests running up and down corridors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julie kelly

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

08 August 2012 julie would recommend this property

Liked: relaxed attitude of the staff, very friendly and approachable as well as high with the customer service. also the rooms are really nice and clean and the atmosphere as a whole is really nice and you feel your belongings are safe.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bogdan Horbaniuc

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 July 2012 Bogdan would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place, will come back again

Disliked: nada

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and spacious, free wifi that could even be used in rooms, in a gated location so it was very safe even though getting there late at night was a little sketchy.

Disliked: It was kind of far out from the city, but it was close enough to the Jubilee line metro that it didn't matter.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lorraine brown

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: Had never visited London before I was very surprised to find how close to the tube station the hostel was, and am very impressed with the helpfulness of the staff at any hour. The rooms were a great size and set out really well. The meals were cheap and really filling, well presented and cooked to order. And the free breakfast just gave us a great start to the day. Really impressed and wil definitely book again on my next visit to London

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean, much cleaner than some hotels I have stayed in before. The hostel was fresh and well kept.

Disliked: The breakfast was okay, it would have been nice to have some fresh fruit. It would have been good if the breakfast went on a little longer too, maybe until half ten.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like that there are various areas to hang out, it is really close to the tube line, and it is a really clean hostel.

Disliked: To be honest the continental breakfast could be improved. While i stayed there were two large groups which can make it a bit difficult if you just want to relax with a bit of quiet time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stuart o connell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 stuart would recommend this property

Liked: fernando was very helpful at reception, as were the rest of the staff.

Disliked: very far out so it might be cheap to stay but it costs you money to get out there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bunk bed design is comfortable. There is sufficient power point in the room. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Overall, the place is clean and tidy. The neighbourhood is safe.

Disliked: The breakfast is nothing special. No WIFI in the room. Only able to connect to WIFI in the common area at ground floor. The 4 bed dorm is slightly small. Not enough space to keep 4 big luggages.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Melanie Moore

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 June 2012 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: The sense of security was good. I liked that the lockers were big and operated on a key card system.

Disliked: Really noisy. Not only because people congregate in the corridors but also because every time someone opens a door in the corridor the change in air pressure makes the door to your room thud. This is also the case when you have the window open. Also whenever people come in and out of the dorm room or use their lockers it makes a loud whirring noise so its impossible for anyone to be quiet even if they're trying. Overall this place is pretty decent but I'd recommend bringing ear plugs if you want to get a good nights sleep. Also - just a note to any girls staying here - be careful when walking home late at night from the station. I came back at around half past midnight and was curb crawled by a guy and approached by another guy in the street who I had some trouble getting rid of. This isn't a reflection on the hostel but just something to be aware of - not just in Willesden Green but around London in general.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels