HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green

Hostel | 233 Willesden Lane, London, England NW2 5RP

86.4% Overall Rating

693 out of 734 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

Thomas Wilson thinks…

"The price was really good, the facilities were ok and the staff were very relaxed and friendly."

Read all Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Any cancellations for arrivals from 25th July until 13th August 2012 will be fully non-refundable. Any no-shows will be charged in full for the entire stay. Sale bookings are non refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

247 London Studios
25.34 USD

Apartment 72.4% 3 reviews
All Star Hostel
27.03 USD

Hostel 58.1% 93 reviews
london365 hostel
23.65 USD

Hostel 68.2% 88 reviews
Accommodation London
16.88 USD

Hostel 70.6% 651 reviews
The Windmill
143.61 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lodge NW2
17.74 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 14 reviews
Hostel 639
15.21 USD

Hostel 57.7% 172 reviews
Best Western Palm Hotel
72.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

693 out of 734 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 491 of 717 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: no very good localitation

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 November 2011

Liked: Very friendly and accommodating staff. Very clean rooms.

Disliked: I was staying on the first floor and it was extremely noisy, both nights I was there. There doesn't seem to be any kind of 'night hours' quiet time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great deal for all the services that you can get. Not too terribly far from the city center. The staff was very helpful and very kind. I would totally stay here again!

Disliked: Room was a little hot for my taste but not unbearable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Angela Callahan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean, and there was even housekeeping that picked up trash from rooms. The hostel is large more like a hotel. Security was also very good and I felt very safe.

Disliked: The free breakfast was a bit lacking. 2 cereals and croissants with juice. But it's free so can't complain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne-Sylvie Garoche-Renard

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 November 2011 Anne-Sylvie would recommend this property

Liked: The location is ideal when you come with a car, and the hostel was clean, quiet and cosy when we came (11 November week-end )

Disliked: The temperature in the room could be less hot. It is however very pleasant to be warm in the bathroom!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacopo Messina

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Jacopo would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness of bathrooms and shower. Fantastic breakfast, really kind and helpful bartender

Disliked: Guys at the concierge are not fully into english...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment is nice and bathroom is clean

Disliked: It's not near the city center and takes about 10 minutes to walk from the underground station

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security, parking

Disliked: sheets not changed

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly, and the people staying in the hostel were also really nice. The bathrooms were cleaned once daily, which makes such a huge difference.

Disliked: It was a bit of a pain to get to because of its location, and I didn't feel entirely safe in the neighborhood. It was fine, but it felt just a bit sketchy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, modern and comfortable. Was good value for money given that it was half price (if it were full price it would have been too expensive for me) Breakfast is very very good for a London hostel.

Disliked: Room was a bit hot

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miha Pipan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Miha would recommend this property

Liked: It's without doubt the best hostel in London for low-budget travellers. It is located in a very quiet and friendly neighbourhood, with dozens of fastfood joints and restaurants, pubs in a 10 min walk radius. There is a Sainsbury's very near the premises - great for people who want to keep their trip as inexpensive as possible. The Underground is located 5 min walk time away. The hostel on itself is magnificent - comfy lounge, restaurant and a very ingtriguing bar with a vintage motors theme. The staff is available to most requests 24 hours a day. The rooms are cozy but very good for hostel standards. They also offer the ability to cook for yourself* or order some house specialities for a few pounds. Their Palmers Lodge Cheeseburger is a delightful upturn to the moody London weather. The most striking feature is undoubtedly the cleaniness of the hostel. It is probably the cleanest hostel in Europe, there are I believe a few cleaners who make sure not to make anyone feel uncomfortable by the hygiene factor. It is arguably cleaner than most average, up to 4 star hotels - magnificent work. And the value for money is incredible - 17 euros a night, including a continental breakfast (if you get there soon enough in the morning you can get the freshly baked croissants), a great environment and amazing service. If you ever plan to visit London and you find yourself on a limited low budget, look no further, - even if you could afford something a bit fancier, I'd suggest you this one. It's your five star hostel.

Disliked: I believe they have to fix their guest kitchen - the stove was not working during my stay. Not all staff is very fluent in English, however this is most missed in receptionists - they have a hard time giving you more complex directions, explanations.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Adriana Aristizabal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: The hostel is well ubicated and the price is OK (if you dont have to pay a doctor of 100 pounds because of bedbugs)

Disliked: Bedbugs in rooms and also that the manager didn't respond to my complains and also some of the staffs members didn't proceed adequately when I reported bedbugs in my rooms. At first they move me to other room but without cleaning my clothes. And also latter I had to spent 5 hours washing and drying all my clothes instead of going out to enjoy my trip. I think it was the most expensive hostel ever because I waste my time in london cleaning my stuffs and also I had to pay around 110 pounds in medicines and medical care for the bugs bites. Also I couldn't sleep well for 3 days.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Chelsea Wissink

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2011

Liked: It was on a secure piece of property. The staff were friendly.

Disliked: The ad said it was centrally located, and was NOT. It was a twenty minute commute out downtown London, and it was really inconvenient. Especially for the price, I've paid less to be right down by Paddington Station and have a full breakfast (eggs, toast, etc)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sven Hagemeyer

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 November 2011 Sven would recommend this property

Liked: some eggs for breakfirst that would be great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: no classes on the same floor with "normal" travlers!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hristo Benovski

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2011 Hristo would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and nice!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! Nearly always saw someone cleaning and they have great showers! Very close to a bus stop and not too far from an underground station (about 6 min walk). Staff was very friendly.

Disliked: I didn't have any problems, but the friend I was staying with had some kind of mosquito/bug issue that we thought might have been in her bed because she woke up a couple mornings with swellings on her hands and side. The swelling went down after two days and she didn't have a recurring problem, but it really worried her at first.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cecilia raunio

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: It felt very safe, and after a couple of days I felt like home!

Disliked: It smelled a bit in room with 21 beds, I would have wished for better air condition.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love everything about this hostel. The staff always do everything they can to help and when off duty are always happy to stay around and chat. The bar is amazing and it has become my second home. The food is fantastic value for money and the kitchen will customise things for you if you ask nicely. The four bed rooms were great and the sink in the room made life easier. The beds in the larger dorms felt private because of the individual curtains. This is the cleanest hostel ever and there always seemed to be someone cleaning the showers and the toilets.

Disliked: Although I hate to say anything negative about this hostel, it does get very noisy at night due to the bus loads of German students that come in regularly, so ear plugs are a must if you want a good nights sleep. Also the pillows could do with an upgrade. They were either lumpy or barely there, but on the whole still 100% better than most other hostels.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, plenty of people to interact with.

Disliked: nothing much

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Myers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location on probably the best metro line in London. It was very clean and the staff were extremelly helpful.

Disliked: The rooms are very very very tiny. There were a bunch of school kids staying on our floor, who screamed and ran around until well after 12.30am, and did not stop until i went down and complained to reception, however I have no idea how they couldnt hear the heard of elephants running around on the floor just above the reception. Then they started the noise again before 8am, it was very persistent and not much was done to make the other guests comfortable. The kitchen does not have many pots or pans, the stove and oven were not working, there was only a hot plate that also stopped working.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and the (4 bed)room was very nice. Nice big mirror and even a sink. A lot of showers and toilets. Very good value for money! Free luggage storage, free WiFi, which was very nice! The breakfast was okay. Would like to see malt bread or whole wheat bread.

Disliked: The location isn't great. The neighbourhood is a bit dodgy and it takes 30 minutes (10 min. walk and 20 min. Underground) to get to the centre! It is impossible to go out cause the last bus to Willesden Green departs at 0:20. Most of the staff aren't from England and sometimes it is difficult to understand them. The hostel is very warm, especially the bathrooms, so I wouldn't go there in the summer. It isn't a great place to socialise, it is mainly a big group hostel for schooltrips. So overall, a good place to spend the night (which is the most important), but not to meet people.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and safe

Disliked: noisy and bad location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, comfortable spacious room. Clean showers and toilets, spacious well maintained hostel. One of the better ones in London, exceptional value

Disliked: distance from the centre of London and nothing to do with the hostel or staff but when two people you are sharing with decide at 1 am to unpack leave and re-enter the room on numerous occasions re pack, leave the room again noisily in numerous occasions take out all their luggage, and there was a lot of luggage, over two hours while you are trying to sleep is not condusive to a restful nights sleep.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, the beds were very good. The lockers in the rooms (we stayed in a 4 person room) were excellent. Toilets and showers (the ones in the basement, for males and females separately) were good. Breakfast is what you'd expect from people who think it's normal to put jam on your bread... but alright if you enhance it with some fruits of your own :) All an all good value for money.

Disliked: Well sure you hear noise from the hallway, but people who sleep in hostels without earplugs are not thinking ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: nothing


See all London hostels
See all London hotels