HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green

Hostel | 233 Willesden Lane, London, England NW2 5RP

88.6% Overall Rating

669 out of 709 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

"I liked the "bed-curtains" in the 14-bed dorm. So you could go/stay sleeping, while other guests used the light."

Read all Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

A 24 hours notice (from check in time) is required in order not to be charged for the night. The cancellation notice has to be sent by email too. Please note that PHOTO I.D. is required at check in. Under 18s must be accompanied by an over 18 adult booked into the same private room. All bookings require full payment at time of booking. Any cancellations for arrivals from 25th July until 13th August 2012 will be fully non-refundable. Any no-shows will be charged in full for the entire stay. Sale bookings are non refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

247 London Studios
31.88 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
All Star Hostel
26.86 USD

Hostel 65.1% 85 reviews
Queens Hotel
92.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
london365 hostel
16.77 USD

Hostel 74.6% 83 reviews
Accommodation London
29.38 USD

Hostel 74.4% 641 reviews
The Windmill
142.71 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lodge NW2
17.63 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 12 reviews
Hostel 639
15.11 USD

Hostel 55.4% 158 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

669 out of 709 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 478 of 692 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can check in anytime. The people are friendly. Slept well.

Disliked: A pity there was no access to continental electricity.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ife Famuyibo

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

27 November 2011 Ife would recommend this property

Liked: security

Disliked: location

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jillian Rittersbacher

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 Jillian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean bedrooms, helpful staff!

Disliked: Location was far from Central London-- not a nice part of town.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yi-Tai Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Yi-Tai would recommend this property

Liked: Save Money

Disliked: Shower rooms are small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edita Pasagic

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Edita would recommend this property

Liked: services are so nice, very good and safe location... HOSTEL = AMAZING

Disliked: everything was PERFECT :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roman Rosulnik

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 November 2011 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: I saw a lot hostels before. This one is on my top 5!

Disliked: I have no comments

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ioannis Anatolitis

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 November 2011 Ioannis would recommend this property

Liked: it is veeeery cleannnn

Disliked: all were great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keston Antonio Malchan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Keston Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: It was awesome.

Disliked: nothing at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izabella Swaren

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 Izabella would recommend this property

Liked: It was really easy to get to with the tube, the staff were really nice, the room was pretty new and we had own own lights and curtains over our beds. there were enough bathrooms/showers for the room, the bar and kitchen was clean and always had lots of people in them so meeting new friends was easy! there is a gate that you have to open with your key card so we felt very safe and there was always a staff member at the desk.

Disliked: the wifi was only available on the first few floors, the kitchen only had one working burner, you had to take the tube to all attractions, we couldn't walk. the showers/bathrooms were a bit small but VERY clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Derek SHU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Price is okay for backpacker

Disliked: The property is not easy to be found

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andres Nicolini

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Andres would recommend this property

Liked: The place is just great, is mainly a hotel with the only difference that you share the room. You have all you might need, and everything is included in the price, no hidden charges.

Disliked: It´s a little bit far away from the city center, but is close enough to an underground station so if you have a daily or weekly pass this won´t be a problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shraddha mehta

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 November 2011 shraddha would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were neat and clean, so were the bathrooms. The kitchen area is cosy and they have free internet. The surrounding area is green and peaceful.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: no very good localitation

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 November 2011

Liked: Very friendly and accommodating staff. Very clean rooms.

Disliked: I was staying on the first floor and it was extremely noisy, both nights I was there. There doesn't seem to be any kind of 'night hours' quiet time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great deal for all the services that you can get. Not too terribly far from the city center. The staff was very helpful and very kind. I would totally stay here again!

Disliked: Room was a little hot for my taste but not unbearable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Angela Callahan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean, and there was even housekeeping that picked up trash from rooms. The hostel is large more like a hotel. Security was also very good and I felt very safe.

Disliked: The free breakfast was a bit lacking. 2 cereals and croissants with juice. But it's free so can't complain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne-Sylvie Garoche-Renard

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 November 2011 Anne-Sylvie would recommend this property

Liked: The location is ideal when you come with a car, and the hostel was clean, quiet and cosy when we came (11 November week-end )

Disliked: The temperature in the room could be less hot. It is however very pleasant to be warm in the bathroom!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacopo Messina

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Jacopo would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness of bathrooms and shower. Fantastic breakfast, really kind and helpful bartender

Disliked: Guys at the concierge are not fully into english...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment is nice and bathroom is clean

Disliked: It's not near the city center and takes about 10 minutes to walk from the underground station

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security, parking

Disliked: sheets not changed

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly, and the people staying in the hostel were also really nice. The bathrooms were cleaned once daily, which makes such a huge difference.

Disliked: It was a bit of a pain to get to because of its location, and I didn't feel entirely safe in the neighborhood. It was fine, but it felt just a bit sketchy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, modern and comfortable. Was good value for money given that it was half price (if it were full price it would have been too expensive for me) Breakfast is very very good for a London hostel.

Disliked: Room was a bit hot

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miha Pipan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Miha would recommend this property

Liked: It's without doubt the best hostel in London for low-budget travellers. It is located in a very quiet and friendly neighbourhood, with dozens of fastfood joints and restaurants, pubs in a 10 min walk radius. There is a Sainsbury's very near the premises - great for people who want to keep their trip as inexpensive as possible. The Underground is located 5 min walk time away. The hostel on itself is magnificent - comfy lounge, restaurant and a very ingtriguing bar with a vintage motors theme. The staff is available to most requests 24 hours a day. The rooms are cozy but very good for hostel standards. They also offer the ability to cook for yourself* or order some house specialities for a few pounds. Their Palmers Lodge Cheeseburger is a delightful upturn to the moody London weather. The most striking feature is undoubtedly the cleaniness of the hostel. It is probably the cleanest hostel in Europe, there are I believe a few cleaners who make sure not to make anyone feel uncomfortable by the hygiene factor. It is arguably cleaner than most average, up to 4 star hotels - magnificent work. And the value for money is incredible - 17 euros a night, including a continental breakfast (if you get there soon enough in the morning you can get the freshly baked croissants), a great environment and amazing service. If you ever plan to visit London and you find yourself on a limited low budget, look no further, - even if you could afford something a bit fancier, I'd suggest you this one. It's your five star hostel.

Disliked: I believe they have to fix their guest kitchen - the stove was not working during my stay. Not all staff is very fluent in English, however this is most missed in receptionists - they have a hard time giving you more complex directions, explanations.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Adriana Aristizabal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: The hostel is well ubicated and the price is OK (if you dont have to pay a doctor of 100 pounds because of bedbugs)

Disliked: Bedbugs in rooms and also that the manager didn't respond to my complains and also some of the staffs members didn't proceed adequately when I reported bedbugs in my rooms. At first they move me to other room but without cleaning my clothes. And also latter I had to spent 5 hours washing and drying all my clothes instead of going out to enjoy my trip. I think it was the most expensive hostel ever because I waste my time in london cleaning my stuffs and also I had to pay around 110 pounds in medicines and medical care for the bugs bites. Also I couldn't sleep well for 3 days.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Chelsea Wissink

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2011

Liked: It was on a secure piece of property. The staff were friendly.

Disliked: The ad said it was centrally located, and was NOT. It was a twenty minute commute out downtown London, and it was really inconvenient. Especially for the price, I've paid less to be right down by Paddington Station and have a full breakfast (eggs, toast, etc)


See all London hostels
See all London hotels