We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

Hostel | 41-42 Cosser St, London, England SE1 7BU

78.9% Overall Rating

313 out of 373 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/11/2014)

Kelly Dowbiggin thinks…

"The staff. They were so helpful. We had a mix up with our rooms and Daniel (the bartender/staff on duty) helped us sort it out. He was even brave enough to help three girls haul our bags upstairs!…"

Read all PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we cannot accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. Valid photo ID is required at check-in. All guests are subject to the house rules of the hostel, guests may be removed without refund for unacceptable behaviour. Error in literature maybe corrected by us without liability. We reserve the right to cancel or change bookings at any time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

London Waterloo Days Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 86.5% 48 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
30.02 USD

Hostel 86.6% 1803 reviews
London Eye Hostel
17.04 USD

Hostel 65.9% 515 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
55.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
35.70 USD

Hostel 75.2% 299 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
81.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Safestay
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.9% 224 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

313 out of 373 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
76.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 269 of 359 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Dowbiggin

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 November 2014 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: The staff. They were so helpful. We had a mix up with our rooms and Daniel (the bartender/staff on duty) helped us sort it out. He was even brave enough to help three girls haul our bags upstairs! Hard to pack light coming from Canada.

Disliked: My only complaint would be the amount of people in a room. It was a bit difficult to move in the room with bags and people.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Iftikhar Ali

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2014

Liked: Nothing special

Disliked: Very dirty bathrooms, Very short rooms, even you don't have space to put your bags. Very unsecure. Nothing save

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The wifi was secure and breakfast was good. There are lockers in the rooms and a locked luggage storage room next to the bar. The bar's food was pretty good and it was a relatively quiet area.

Disliked: The rooms are tiny; there's not enough space for anything, so you have to trip over your/other's luggage.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phil Owen

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2014 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Close to tube, quite side street, "old-pub" feel. Reasonable priced nice quality pizza and snacks. Bar prices reasonable. Quilt and pillow provided, showers and toilets were always clean and presentable on my stay. Room was fully packed with 3 high bunks but not a problem matress was ok-i slept well. Nice staff, easy check-in /out, discount on bar purchases. I would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Not much i didnt like -You get a bit better tha.n you pay for. As with all hostels its best to use the lockers provided, take eye mask and earplugs just in case

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Na

Disliked: Na

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: would definitely recommend this hostel, friendly staff, good location can walk to big ben in about 15 mins, clean hostel/beds ect, pub downstairs, quiet enough to get to sleep, good price, free breakfast included, just toast and cereal ect, 24hour check in/out i only stayed for one night but really cant knock it on anything, would stay here again whenever im in london

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 August 2014

Liked: The location is great for sightseeing in London. Sitting a couple minutes from Lambert North on the Bakerloo line provides easy access into the main shopping streets of Oxford and Regent. A further few minutes walk takes you to the South Bank where you have attractions, such as the aquarium, London Eye, London Dungeon and great walk along the South Bank of the Thames.

Disliked: I was treated quite abruptly by several members of staff, who seemed to prefer talking to the locals more than dealing with the travellers. The door to the hostel has a gaping hole in it, hardly secure and provides easy access for any small animal that wants to get in. The rooms are cramped and the beds even more so, with nine-to-twelve people in a room and not being able to sit up straight in the bed, which is more annoying than I originally thought it would be. There are two bathrooms that have three sinks, two toilets and two showers between them. Whether it was me or not but I swear one of the showers did not have hot water at all. Two showers and two toilets between about 42 people at full capacity leads to the mornings and evenings being a fight for the use of both. The rooms get a quick sweep and mop but little else. The bathrooms are disgusting. The toilets look like they have never seen bleach, the shower heads are covered in limescale and the shower curtain and door both had mould growing. I didn't poke around too much but it seemed that the female sanitary bins didn't get changed often. In the rooms, they ask you to not drink anything, especially alocohol, or consume any foods. Probably so they don't have to clean the rooms properly. The lockers in the room require you to have a lock that has a shackle diameter of 38mm or you have to buy one from the bar, at £4 (I believe). Breakfast could barely be called continental providing only toast and cereal but it was free so I can't complain about that too much. Overall, I've added this hostel to my list of 'ones to avoid'.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Eduardo Araya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2014

Liked: Close from Northen Line tube station. Good ambient at the bar. The room mates respect the silence during the night. The staff it's very friendly and kind. Definitely i recommend this place.

Disliked: The clenance of the bathrooms could improve.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money and staff friendliness

Disliked: Toilet and shower dry off area doesnt have drain.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, quiet neighborhood and great placement.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the tourist attractions (London Eye, Big Ben) The atmosphere of the hostel was very welcoming, felt like I was at home The 10% off the bar drinks and food was very appreciated The free breakfast was also appreciated

Disliked: Maybe make the breakfast till 10am and check out at 10:30am

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carl rosander

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

17 June 2014 carl would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best hostel I have ever stayed at. Without a doubt. The rooms smelt fresh and they were clean. The whole place was clean and fresh, very unusual - being a hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

carl rosander

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

17 June 2014 carl would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Westminster, bar was open 24/7, close to shops and a 24/7 food market.

Disliked: Could have refurbished the toilets for a greater stay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jane Galletti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: They take good care of you once you are a guest and greet you on your return.

Disliked: Check in was a mess and one of our party was checked out the sencond night we stayed and had to be rechecked in

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location and friendly staff. The bar downstairs is nice.

Disliked: Not much space in 12 bed dorm. Average cleanliness, but I think it's obligatory in hostels- you get what you pay for :)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 April 2014

Liked: Relative close to city center. Clean toilets.

Disliked: No kitchen. No common area for travellers. Somehow forced to buy alcohol in their pub at ridiculous prices. ..without any discount.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Guan Jie Ong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Guan Jie would recommend this property

Liked: The bar is really a nice place to chill.. they have student discounts all day for their menu.. london lager is really a nice drink the the pizzas are definitely worth trying! The people were all really friendly..

Disliked: The rooms were by far one of the smallest I've stayed anywhere.. 12 people in a room and with 4 rooms in full capacity, that equals to 48 people.. the worse part is that these 48 or so have to compete to use the 2 toilets and bathrooms that were available on the room level..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viviana Mora

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Viviana would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed at 5 different hostels in london and this is the best one by fAR!!! I'll.never stay aanywhere else. The staff is super amazing. The hostel is clean. The showers are clean.and They have the most amazing pepperoni pizza in london! And 24hr bar? Come on.

Disliked: I wish it had a kitchen as well.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively close to the center of London, the old fashioned pub on the ground floor.

Disliked: Nothing,

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Niya Peneva

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014 Niya would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the character of the place and the pub of course. Clean and comfy.

Disliked: The bathrooms were only two.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013

Liked: The staff is friendly - that's all.

Disliked: Hygiene is awful. Drainage in shower room is terrible and it is extremely dirty. So are the bed linen, my friend got allergic to the dust. The room is too small with way too many people (9 people in a room smaller than 200ft). I feel like refugee. You cannot sit straight on the bed, and on the lowest level you are at the level of the floor and you will be smelling the shoes of all other people - you can imagine how disgusting it could be. Ventilation is bad. No luggage storage room available. Below the rooms it is a bar - you need to go through the the pub everytime you return to the room - it is locked at late night, you don't have the code nor key, and the doorbell is broken - only thing you can rely on to return to the hostel at night is that the staff or anyone inside would notice you knocking the door or waving outside the window. It is AWFUL and no one should deserve to stay in such a bad place - and considering that it is not even cheap for the price of normal hostel in London. It does not worth the price - you can get much better place with a lower price.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, good pub, good location, wood beds

Disliked: only thing i didn't like was that it is not allowed to eat inside the hostel room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: not real hostel atmosphere

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2013

Liked: Friendly Staff, good location

Disliked: Tiny, tiny rooms. Only two toliets and showers.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels