HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo London Hostel

41-42 Cosser St, London, England

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 62%

Location 86%

Safety 74%

Staff 79%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 5.00GBP

Important Information

Please note that we cannot accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. Valid photo ID is required at check-in.

All guests are subject to the house rules of the hostel, guests may be removed without refund for unacceptable behaviour. Error in literature maybe corrected by us without liability. We reserve the right to cancel or change bookings at any time.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 62%

Location 86%

Safety 74%

Staff 79%

Value 74%

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Nice location and affordable price. Really cute little pub surrounded by taller buildings. Nice pillow and comfy sheets. I had a great stay.

Disliked: As expected the 12 person room was pretty crowded with 3 story beds next to each-other. Make sure you bring headphones or you will hear everyone moving around the bed. Access to the toilet in the middle of the night is a bit tricky. They give you a code you have to type in the room door for security but if you happen to go out and take a leak and forgot your card in the room, good luck getting back in! :D

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating


23 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The great price and location of this hostel does not make up for this awful experience.

Disliked: When I first got here the person couldn't figure out how to check us in. After getting to the room the sheets hadn't been changed. There were 12 people in a very small room with no floor space (people slept with suitcases on bed). I woke up with a foot on my face because the beds were so close. There are only two toilets for 50 guests that never had toilet paper. The free breakfast was cereal, toast, & watered down juice. There's no kitchen in this hostel, so at least have a decent breakfast.


The property's response is

I am sad to hear that you had a bad experience staying with us. At the time of your stay we had a few new staff in training and I apologize for the bad service you received during your stay.
We are a backpackers hostel with quite big dorm rooms for 9 and 12 people and our hostel can accommodate 42 people. We are one of the few hostels that include breakfast in the price of the room, we offer Continental breakfast (a light breakfast, consisting of coffee, juice, cereal and toast with butter and jam) and all that information is available when making a booking. We don't have a shared kitchen since we have a lovely pub downstairs, where hostel guests get 10% discount on all food and drinks and 50% discount on brunch served every day.
Again I would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had and reassure you that we are constantly improving our facilities and services and hope to see you again in the future.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Little place right in the heart of London, good food & nice staff would return

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: A really good place to stay during my day off from the work, I also enjoyed a good hamburger for lunch, the room where I've been had lot of space and new wooden-framed beds and the other guests where very relaxed and quiet.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: great atmosphere, excellent location and friendliness staff

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there!

Thanks for your review. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay at the Steamy. Come and visit next time you are around :) Take care

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: close to city!!

Disliked: only 1 toilet and 2 showers arent enough for so many people... get more of them !!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey!

Thanks for your feedback. We are in our way to improve our showering standards. However, there is normally a short waiting time to shower. We hope this did not spoil your whole stay. Take care and hopefully see you soon!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location. Friendly staff. Breakfast a little bit better than usual free hostel breakfast. Not the best hostel but good value for money. Good wifi.

Disliked: I stayed in a 12 bed dorm and if all the beds are occupied there is very little space in the room. You could feel the springs in the mattresses. No Tea/Coffee Making Facilities and no kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The quite good location and its cheapness

Disliked: the size of the rooms and the size of the bed

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: bar, helpful staff...

Disliked: What should I say apart that in one Week end spent in the hostel, I had my laptop, mobile phone, sd card, mobile phone + laptop charger stolen.

Check Availability