HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo London Hostel

41-42 Cosser St, London, England

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 66%

Location 88%

Safety 78%

Staff 84%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 7.77USD

Important Information

Please note that we cannot accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. Valid photo ID is required at check-in.

All guests are subject to the house rules of the hostel, guests may be removed without refund for unacceptable behaviour. Error in literature maybe corrected by us without liability. We reserve the right to cancel or change bookings at any time.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 66%

Location 88%

Safety 78%

Staff 84%

Value 81%

Showing 81-57 of 57 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really close to the Westminster and easy to reach (it's a short walk to the Lambeth North underground stop). During the night you can enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the pub. Free wifi and bedclothes. Everyday cleaning. Helpful staff.For the price that you pay it's a really good solution.

Disliked: Small rooms and small bunkbeds: if you're in the one in the middle can be quite hard to get into it cause of the little space! If someone in the room has big suitcases it's almost impossible to move along. Sometimes you have to wait for the toilet/shower because there're just two of them. No space if you want to prepare your own food.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I've stayed at 5 different hostels in london and this is the best one by fAR!!! I'll.never stay aanywhere else. The staff is super amazing. The hostel is clean. The showers are clean.and They have the most amazing pepperoni pizza in london! And 24hr bar? Come on.

Disliked: I wish it had a kitchen as well.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: most things are good. but i can't use a wash machine and kichen. location is good. next to waterloo station. it is comfort to go everywhere.

Disliked: toilet

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Awesome staff, really helpful, friendly, welcoming. Great area, homey feel, very relaxed.

Disliked: The triple bunks are a bit annoying as you can't sit up on your bed.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: You can see the London eye from the hostel!

Disliked: When someone uses the tap in the bathroom when you're showering, the water goes cold!

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location

Disliked: only 2 toilets and 2 showers so you can imagine crowds in thye morning, 3 wash basins, no fridge to leave your food or shelf to leave your dry food, no cutlery or palce to make a sandwich, no towles t rent-u have to buy them, no lockers-you need to buy a padlock and the lockers are small.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: located closely to train station, and downstairs bar.

Disliked: beds were too cramped

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Close to Lambeth North station.Staff is knowledgeable about the city.Inexpensive.Free pool, free jukebox, and discounted drinks after the pub closes to the public.24-hour bar + kitchenFree wi-fi

Disliked: * Triple-bunk beds are loud and creaky, and an all-around pain-in-the-ass if you get stuck on the top bunk.* Fancy code-entry locks attached to creaky wooden doors, with wonky handles. Some of the doors give a considerable distance, even when they are locked. What's wrong with keycards, guys??* Wi-fi forces you to log in every damn time, and sometimes takes 30+seconds for the login screen to respond. Annoying.* As the hostel is also a pub+kitchen, staff will confiscate brought-in drinks (and presumably food) on sight in the lobby and outside patio. As posted signs prohibit drinks (and presumably food too, though I can't remember), you can't consume goodies you purchased elsewhere. If you get caught you might also be lectured on how bringing your own drinks into a pub is universally prohibited everywhere... except I was patronizing the HOSTEL (and I tried to find someplace out of the way and away from other pub guests), not the pub! No other hostel I have ever been to, even the ones that sell alcohol, have ever pulled that kind of bullshit. Yes, this was a minor thing, but it left me sufficiently pissed off. (Who likes having their beer stolen/taken away/confiscated? Give me back my drink, dammit!)

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location; very near the city center

Disliked: too many people crammed into too small a room

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I liked everything about this hostel! Room was clean, shower and toilets too, bar was nice, got a coupon so i would get 50 % off of a drink, location was nice! And won the award for best staff, and I agree! The receptionist/bar keeper, Daniel, really helped me a lot with where to go, what to do etc!

Disliked: -------- :)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability