HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

Hostel | 41-42 Cosser St, London, England SE1 7BU

82.1% Overall Rating

308 out of 366 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

Eduardo Araya thinks…

"Close from Northen Line tube station. Good ambient at the bar. The room mates respect the silence during the night. The staff it's very friendly and kind. Definitely i recommend this place."

Read all FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we cannot accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. Valid photo ID is required at check-in. All guests are subject to the house rules of the hostel, guests may be removed without refund for unacceptable behaviour. Error in literature maybe corrected by us without liability. We reserve the right to cancel or change bookings at any time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

London Waterloo Days Hotel
84.01 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.40 USD

Hostel 94.7% 29 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
29.70 USD

Hostel 92.1% 1778 reviews
London Eye Hostel
23.68 USD

Hostel 66.5% 512 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
66.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
42.43 USD

Hostel 70.9% 293 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
84.86 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Safestay
37.34 USD

Hostel 87.0% 216 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

308 out of 366 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 262 of 352 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: online

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was reallllly great to meet many new people at the pub downstairs! Definitely wanna stay there again :D The most friendly atmostphere hostel i have ever been!

Disliked: the room was a bit too small to share with 12 people. the light turns off automatically after a few minutes and everytime we have to go turn it on again, which was a bit annoying.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rok Kralj

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Rok would recommend this property

Liked: We liked that the pub was open all day and that it had a pool table and tv screens...all in all nice atmosphere.

Disliked: The shower needed quite a lot of convincing to let out some hot water .

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price its very good and the breakfast its better than many places that i staied before, but its simple. The rooms are abobe a bar, so there is funny.

Disliked: The hostel dont have kitchen and the rooms and bathroons are small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgina Birrell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2010 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, cool bar downstairs with a great vibe. Although the rooms were a little crowded, beds were quite spacios and sturdy.

Disliked: Could have done with another bathroom and breakfast wasn't the greatest.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Elizabeth Ramirez De Santiago

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: It was less than 45 minutes from all the major sites. I was able to walk everywhere, which was nice.

Disliked: I wasn't a fan of the beds. They ended up hurting my back after just a few hours. Also, the lights in the rooms are on timers so they only stay on for a few minutes, which is lame, to say the least.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My sheets smelled nice and fresh when I went to bed that first night - that's huge, really huge. And even though there's sound coming from downstairs, it's mostly white noise that kind of forms a steady, calming buzz in the background as you drift off to sleep. The other guests were more respectful of their roommates than those at other hostels I've been in, so the atmosphere overall was one of rest.

Disliked: Not much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people! It is attached to pub downstairs so there is always something to do and people to talk to. I had so much fun at this hostel. The bathrooms were pretty nice, very clean. Room was fairly standard hostel room, but it didn´t feel crowded because I got along so well with everyone there. Friendly staff also added to the experience.

Disliked: The one downside was the lack of internet, but that is obviously not always necessary when traveling. It also can be a little loud from the pub downstairs depending on when you go to sleep, but the pub closes at midnight so it wasn´t a problem for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good layout and secure and good staff!

Disliked: The height of getting into the lower bunks

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and steal of a price for such a good hostel.

Disliked: Triple bed bunk beds! Which makes for a very crowded room, not enough space for everyone's luggage.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Meelike Eenpuu-Villup

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

29 November 2010 Meelike would recommend this property

Liked: Price :) and location

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms but I understand it is not possible as the house isn´t big either

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Cadman

Alone

City break

24 November 2010 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, clean, comfortable and cheap!!!

Disliked: Nothing, it was very good value!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

christopher boylan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

17 November 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the beer and some of the staff

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

daniel hunter

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

17 November 2010

Liked: the bar was open all night if you wanted a drink or to stay up

Disliked: some of the staff were misserable the aussie guy was not to bad

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub downstair.

Disliked: Someone stole my necklace in my 12 beds room.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: untidiness and lack of space

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really worth with the money as you paid. The location is very good, just 5 minutes to the Lambeth North tube station, 10 minutes to the London Eye and 15 minutes to the Big Ben and Westminster.

Disliked: The Breakfast remains the same everyday and the automatically switch off lightning system in the room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: I was not very clean, and slightly crowded

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub underneath the hostel was fun. Met some weird people and cool people. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: One of the showers leaked...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cristina Ceruti

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

31 October 2010 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere

Disliked: the rooms are too small and with too many beds. no much space to move into the room and there is no space under the beds to put case and baggage.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: met some great people here

Disliked: the usual with large dorm rooms. always someone snoring away

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Victoria Johnston

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2010

Liked: The location was great and the guys working behind the bar in the evening were terrific. In fact, that really was the only saving grace.

Disliked: It was very noisy. Traffic, noise from music and people at street level. The bunks shook any time someone in any of 6 beds moved. There wasn't really any space for bags when the room was full. In general, the rooms were cramped, it was impossible to sleep, and despite being above a pub - it just wasn't a very social atmosphere.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly atmosphere of the pub, really relaxed and in a good, easy location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francis Oak

Alone

13 October 2010 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: Ideally situated close to westcountry train station and close to Central London.

Disliked: Absolutly nothing.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

13 October 2010

Liked: Location is the only good thing!

Disliked: Hostel was really dirty! Thet don't know anything! Beds awful u can feel somebodys food ın your head! One night i didn't stay there but i paid for that night,after i came back i found somebody's stuff on my bed!!!i can't imagine what will happen if i were u there! NEVER STAY TAHAT HOSTEL IT'S AWFUL!!!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels