HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

Hostel | 41-42 Cosser St, London, England SE1 7BU

78.2% Overall Rating

297 out of 352 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

Guan Jie Ong thinks…

"The bar is really a nice place to chill.. they have student discounts all day for their menu.. london lager is really a nice drink the the pizzas are definitely worth trying! The people were all…"

Read all FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.39

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we cannot accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. Valid photo ID is required at check-in. All guests are subject to the house rules of the hostel, guests may be removed without refund for unacceptable behaviour. Error in literature maybe corrected by us without liability. We reserve the right to cancel or change bookings at any time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

London Waterloo Days Hotel
66.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.9% 47 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.06 USD

Hostel 97.6% 14 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
29.38 USD

Hostel 90.5% 1757 reviews
London Eye Hostel
20.15 USD

Hostel 65.4% 495 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
74.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Journeys London Bridge Hostel
16.77 USD

Hostel 64.8% 529 reviews
Strand Continental
41.97 USD

Hostel 74.4% 286 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
83.95 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

297 out of 352 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 253 of 338 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I believe that this is "best buy" in London! It's 15min by foot from picadilly circus, it has charming stuff and offers what ever you need. Maybe the cleanest toilets and showers in youth hostel that I saw.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well run, nice place. Felt safe and was close to lots of things. I was able to walk around all of London in two days and the steam engine was in a good location for that.

Disliked: not much, it was pretty good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location.

Disliked: The light in the room was broken, but next day was fixed very quickly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is perfect.

Disliked: Except the toilet and the shower room are not enough for so many people in the morning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buena onda de la gente que trabaja alli

Disliked: Las habitaciones son demasiado pequelas

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24h English Pub!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even if I was in a room with 9 people, it wasn't noisy at all: I went sleeping before all the others, and I didn't hear them arrive! The people really did efforts to avoid bothering the others. The breakfast was simple, but it was sufficient to start a day. It was also very nice of them to keep my luggage on the day of my departure, even if I had already checked out.

Disliked: There was music at the pub downstairs until midnight: it is therefore a little difficult to sleep, fortunately I was very tired so I had no real trouble. I think there weren't enough showers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mostly is because of the hostel location. It is located at a walking distance to many of the place of interest. Love the staff. They are friendly. The bar below the hostel is fun and lively everyday. Breakfast served is quite nice. The bed is comfortable.

Disliked: The room is little bit small but it is not a big deal unless you want to stay the whole day in the room without going anywhere. The only problem I had was the hot shower. Well, it is only up to call it as "warm" water and it was during winter when I stayed there. And the water pouring very slow and very little.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool atmospere

Disliked: no lockers... second floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location! Nice to meet other people, clean, free breakfast, discounts on the pub.

Disliked: Just two showers, no free lockers, no much space in the room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 January 2011

Liked: Good location, particularly for the Imperial War Museum. Great staff Easy to meet others COmplimentary breakfast Free WiFi

Disliked: - Rooms are very small for 12 people. I was literally climbing over other people's luggage to get to my bunk. There are no lockers in the room and the only lockers the hostel provides are tiny. There is luggage storage down in the bar. - I didn't mind it but people will be put off by the music playing into the night in the pub dowstairs. - I was booked for two nights but told the guys that I would arrive at 7am on the morning of the second night. The person I spoke to said they'd keep my bed but when I got there I was told there was no bed for me and I had to wait until 10am for something to be sorted out.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub and the pooltable.

Disliked: The small rooms (not enough place to store your luggage).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valentina Poder

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2011 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, location, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Disliked: mixed rooms.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean bedsheets, proper hot shower

Disliked: stuffed bunk beds, noise from downstairs bar until 2am

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2011

Liked: cheap

Disliked: room is too small for so many people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewa Grabowiecka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, place is clean and the location is just too good! There were only 2 showers but i managed o get a shower without any problems.

Disliked: no hot water if you come in late at night ( 12ish) .

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: online

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was reallllly great to meet many new people at the pub downstairs! Definitely wanna stay there again :D The most friendly atmostphere hostel i have ever been!

Disliked: the room was a bit too small to share with 12 people. the light turns off automatically after a few minutes and everytime we have to go turn it on again, which was a bit annoying.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rok Kralj

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Rok would recommend this property

Liked: We liked that the pub was open all day and that it had a pool table and tv screens...all in all nice atmosphere.

Disliked: The shower needed quite a lot of convincing to let out some hot water .

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price its very good and the breakfast its better than many places that i staied before, but its simple. The rooms are abobe a bar, so there is funny.

Disliked: The hostel dont have kitchen and the rooms and bathroons are small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgina Birrell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2010 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, cool bar downstairs with a great vibe. Although the rooms were a little crowded, beds were quite spacios and sturdy.

Disliked: Could have done with another bathroom and breakfast wasn't the greatest.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Elizabeth Ramirez De Santiago

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: It was less than 45 minutes from all the major sites. I was able to walk everywhere, which was nice.

Disliked: I wasn't a fan of the beds. They ended up hurting my back after just a few hours. Also, the lights in the rooms are on timers so they only stay on for a few minutes, which is lame, to say the least.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My sheets smelled nice and fresh when I went to bed that first night - that's huge, really huge. And even though there's sound coming from downstairs, it's mostly white noise that kind of forms a steady, calming buzz in the background as you drift off to sleep. The other guests were more respectful of their roommates than those at other hostels I've been in, so the atmosphere overall was one of rest.

Disliked: Not much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people! It is attached to pub downstairs so there is always something to do and people to talk to. I had so much fun at this hostel. The bathrooms were pretty nice, very clean. Room was fairly standard hostel room, but it didn´t feel crowded because I got along so well with everyone there. Friendly staff also added to the experience.

Disliked: The one downside was the lack of internet, but that is obviously not always necessary when traveling. It also can be a little loud from the pub downstairs depending on when you go to sleep, but the pub closes at midnight so it wasn´t a problem for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good layout and secure and good staff!

Disliked: The height of getting into the lower bunks


See all London hostels
See all London hotels