We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

Hostel | 41-42 Cosser St, London, England SE1 7BU

78.9% Overall Rating

313 out of 373 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/11/2014)

Kelly Dowbiggin thinks…

"The staff. They were so helpful. We had a mix up with our rooms and Daniel (the bartender/staff on duty) helped us sort it out. He was even brave enough to help three girls haul our bags upstairs!…"

Read all PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we cannot accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. Valid photo ID is required at check-in. All guests are subject to the house rules of the hostel, guests may be removed without refund for unacceptable behaviour. Error in literature maybe corrected by us without liability. We reserve the right to cancel or change bookings at any time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

London Waterloo Days Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 86.5% 48 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
30.02 USD

Hostel 86.6% 1803 reviews
London Eye Hostel
17.04 USD

Hostel 65.9% 515 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
55.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
35.70 USD

Hostel 75.2% 299 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
81.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Safestay
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.9% 224 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

313 out of 373 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
76.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 269 of 359 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very nice and had a great atmosphere. The room itself was nothing impressive, but comfortable, but the reception and bar area were great. The free billiards after midnight and free jukebox after 12:30 were fun every night. Overall I thought it was a great hostel and very much worth the money.

Disliked: There was limited bathroom and shower space but they were clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bed

Disliked: No kitchen

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011

Liked: Good location. Small and quite friendly.

Disliked: Found a bedbug in my luggage when I got home. I reeallly hope that was the only one. Pretty cramped, three-tier bunkbeds, 9-12 people per room, 5 or 6 rooms and only two toilets and showers...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cierra Carstensen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Cierra would recommend this property

Liked: The 24 hour bar was great and the location was amazing. The atmosphere was excellent.

Disliked: There wasn't a computer available to use internet or even buy some internet time, however, wireless was available. Also there was so many people in one room but I guess that had to happen since the price was so low.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the level of security and the discounts on drinks for people staying. Free breakfast is always nice too. Everyone was very friendly and I was genuinely not worried about my things being stolen. Also, the outside is really cool looking when you walk up at night. Once we were checked out they let us store our baggage for the rest of the day which was nice.

Disliked: The hostel was a little cramped. My bunk was litterally an inch off the floor, if that. Also, no computers to use, but there was wifi. Wish I had brought my computer. I could here the bar noise through most of the night but I don't have too much trouble sleeping through that kind of thing so not a big deal for me.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price

Disliked: The room was quite small to 12 people! There wasn't enough space to put de lugage, so you must put in your bed... Wasn't so clean, but it is cheap to London.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff where mainly friendly especially the Italian lady who worked throughout the day :D The pub was welcoming and was good for my age group (20-25)

Disliked: I had no problems with the youth hostel apart from a lack of mirrors around the place it was hard to sort yourself out in the bathrooms. A concern for some would be that the rooms where mixed of females and males which meant you had to change in the bathroom.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is very good, easy to find because of good description

Disliked: 12 person room bit to small , triple bunk beds !!! :) no space for any luggage in the room :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011

Liked: cheap for london. one of the closest to Waterloo station, key transportation hub for trains and the underground in london. Walrus is closer but more expensive

Disliked: Really small washrooms. Triple-bunk beds are cramped - sucks to be in the middle, bottom was o-k. location is difficult to find the first time from Waterloo Station (more a problem of the station trainyard than anything else) but further than described - more than 10 minutes at a brisk pace by the time you're actually at the tube station

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the pub was fine, cosy and even offered the possibility to meet real londoners

Disliked: in the rooms, there is NO space to store baggage, everything bigger than a small backpack has to be stored in the baggage room at the pub (downstairs); triple bunk beds offer no possibility to sit upright; timed lightswitches (light was automatically switched off after 5 mins) make it impossible to read etc.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people sleeping there

Disliked: only 2 showers and 2 WCs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stephanie PEREIRA MOTA

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the convivial atmosphere of the hostel. My friend and I spent a real good time there and I recommend you to go there.

Disliked: Nothing really... Maybe the time for water to warn in the shower and the 10/15 minutes to go to big ben! but it was so good there!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 March 2011

Liked: Quiet location

Disliked: Beds had very tight head space - impossible to sit on the bed, you had be slightly curved. The lockers are tiny. As with the sister hostel, the showers take a very long time to heat, this is very frustrating, creates waiting time and also wastes a lot of water. The toilets and showers are completely open , above and below door.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2011

Liked: I liked the staff who was very nice and helpful, the beds were nice too. The hostel is very well situated near the underground and the pub underneath was a cool place to relax after a day of walking.

Disliked: The rooms have little space for so many people, there are few bathrooms and it smells a little bad. All the facilities like lockers or adaptors are paid.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is near of Central London.

Disliked: Is noisy in the weekends, the cleaness is not too good, some of the staff is a little unfriendly.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 March 2011

Liked: good laugh with mates in the 24 hour bar. cheap drinks and free pool. great location, can see big ben outside. very cheap for location so dont expect much. good security with codes on every door and lockers availible.

Disliked: verrrry small room, 3 tier bunks, very little space with 12 people in one small room, hard to get into such small bunks! overall just a bit dingy and lifeless, wouldnt want to go there on my own, not good if your looking for a massive party.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I believe that this is "best buy" in London! It's 15min by foot from picadilly circus, it has charming stuff and offers what ever you need. Maybe the cleanest toilets and showers in youth hostel that I saw.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well run, nice place. Felt safe and was close to lots of things. I was able to walk around all of London in two days and the steam engine was in a good location for that.

Disliked: not much, it was pretty good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location.

Disliked: The light in the room was broken, but next day was fixed very quickly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is perfect.

Disliked: Except the toilet and the shower room are not enough for so many people in the morning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buena onda de la gente que trabaja alli

Disliked: Las habitaciones son demasiado pequelas

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24h English Pub!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even if I was in a room with 9 people, it wasn't noisy at all: I went sleeping before all the others, and I didn't hear them arrive! The people really did efforts to avoid bothering the others. The breakfast was simple, but it was sufficient to start a day. It was also very nice of them to keep my luggage on the day of my departure, even if I had already checked out.

Disliked: There was music at the pub downstairs until midnight: it is therefore a little difficult to sleep, fortunately I was very tired so I had no real trouble. I think there weren't enough showers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mostly is because of the hostel location. It is located at a walking distance to many of the place of interest. Love the staff. They are friendly. The bar below the hostel is fun and lively everyday. Breakfast served is quite nice. The bed is comfortable.

Disliked: The room is little bit small but it is not a big deal unless you want to stay the whole day in the room without going anywhere. The only problem I had was the hot shower. Well, it is only up to call it as "warm" water and it was during winter when I stayed there. And the water pouring very slow and very little.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool atmospere

Disliked: no lockers... second floor


See all London hostels
See all London hotels