HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

Hostel | 41-42 Cosser St, London, England SE1 7BU

82.1% Overall Rating

308 out of 366 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

Eduardo Araya thinks…

"Close from Northen Line tube station. Good ambient at the bar. The room mates respect the silence during the night. The staff it's very friendly and kind. Definitely i recommend this place."

Read all FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we cannot accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. Valid photo ID is required at check-in. All guests are subject to the house rules of the hostel, guests may be removed without refund for unacceptable behaviour. Error in literature maybe corrected by us without liability. We reserve the right to cancel or change bookings at any time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

London Waterloo Days Hotel
84.01 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.40 USD

Hostel 94.7% 29 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
29.70 USD

Hostel 92.1% 1778 reviews
London Eye Hostel
23.68 USD

Hostel 66.5% 512 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
66.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
42.43 USD

Hostel 70.9% 293 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
84.86 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Safestay
37.34 USD

Hostel 87.0% 216 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

308 out of 366 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 262 of 352 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was great because it was cheap, but in a good location. It is on the south side of the Thames but don't be fooled it is close to all the main attractions in Westminster.

Disliked: There was a dude who snored sooooo loud in the bunk above me. But that was just bad luck, nothing bad about the place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very atmospheric, the pub is open for people staying at the hostel 24h and everything was quite what I expected.

Disliked: There was no such thing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the metro, as well as the house of parliament and other attractions

Disliked: There was a lot of people in one room, and the bunkbeds were a little short for taller travellers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary-Anne Lee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011 Mary-Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi throughout entire hostel, good location and very safe vibe.

Disliked: Only 2 showers and 2 toilets!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bar

Disliked: crowdy

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: localtion

Disliked: room size

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tobias schuch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

10 May 2011 tobias would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast, free wifi (with good signal strength), met some great people. good vibe, very nice and helpful staff. great room cleaning and general cleanliness. amazing location

Disliked: the social area is the pub downstairs... small lockers, bunk beds are 3 up rather than 2 so they are cramped, really bad bathrooms, the showers didnt drain well and made the floors super wet. the toilets were tiny, cramped and dark that being said, i would stay here again

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, relaxed staff. Good value for such a cheap rate. But still, you get what you pay for. A bed. Don't expect a palace. Free brekkie and wi fi but there's not room to swing a cat in the bathroom or the dorm!

Disliked: The cranky wasp hanging around the shower.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The three-tiered bunks were horrible. Not the greatest atmosphere - the only place to hang out was in the bar. There wasn't a kitchen and only two bathrooms for 45+ people.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cramped rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

GEORGIOS TSITSANIS

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 GEORGIOS would recommend this property

Liked: All its wonderfull

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyler Friesen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: great place for what you pay!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011

Liked: great location

Disliked: it sometimes gets stufyy in the dorm.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location, all freshly cleaned bedding, thick comfortable mattress

Disliked: cramped dorm rooms, mixed gender dorms, plastic breakfast plates/ cups/spoons/forks

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff - open minded and helpful and its a pub with rooms upstairs, thats nice if you need to work - you can combine it with drinking a beer in a relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: nothing to complain

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luis Rey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were quite clean and tidy, I didn't have any complain. All in all, the place was how I had expected, pretty cool.

Disliked: I think they should use a diferent way to give the keys of the doors, in my stay there, i lost the piece of paper with the keys that they had given me. That tipe of papers aren't practical, could be broken or lost easily.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Friendly staff. Laid back atmosphere.

Disliked: The number of beds in a room. Short on number of lockers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a lot of free or cheap deals at night, like the pool table and juke box are free and they have cheaper drinks. The pub downstairs has character and is really comfortable while the hostel upstairs is really clean and the showers are hot.

Disliked: The only bad thing is that some of the outlets in the room were broken.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very nice and had a great atmosphere. The room itself was nothing impressive, but comfortable, but the reception and bar area were great. The free billiards after midnight and free jukebox after 12:30 were fun every night. Overall I thought it was a great hostel and very much worth the money.

Disliked: There was limited bathroom and shower space but they were clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bed

Disliked: No kitchen

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011

Liked: Good location. Small and quite friendly.

Disliked: Found a bedbug in my luggage when I got home. I reeallly hope that was the only one. Pretty cramped, three-tier bunkbeds, 9-12 people per room, 5 or 6 rooms and only two toilets and showers...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cierra Carstensen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Cierra would recommend this property

Liked: The 24 hour bar was great and the location was amazing. The atmosphere was excellent.

Disliked: There wasn't a computer available to use internet or even buy some internet time, however, wireless was available. Also there was so many people in one room but I guess that had to happen since the price was so low.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the level of security and the discounts on drinks for people staying. Free breakfast is always nice too. Everyone was very friendly and I was genuinely not worried about my things being stolen. Also, the outside is really cool looking when you walk up at night. Once we were checked out they let us store our baggage for the rest of the day which was nice.

Disliked: The hostel was a little cramped. My bunk was litterally an inch off the floor, if that. Also, no computers to use, but there was wifi. Wish I had brought my computer. I could here the bar noise through most of the night but I don't have too much trouble sleeping through that kind of thing so not a big deal for me.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price

Disliked: The room was quite small to 12 people! There wasn't enough space to put de lugage, so you must put in your bed... Wasn't so clean, but it is cheap to London.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff where mainly friendly especially the Italian lady who worked throughout the day :D The pub was welcoming and was good for my age group (20-25)

Disliked: I had no problems with the youth hostel apart from a lack of mirrors around the place it was hard to sort yourself out in the bathrooms. A concern for some would be that the rooms where mixed of females and males which meant you had to change in the bathroom.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels