We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

Hostel | 41-42 Cosser St, London, England SE1 7BU

78.9% Overall Rating

313 out of 373 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/11/2014)

Kelly Dowbiggin thinks…

"The staff. They were so helpful. We had a mix up with our rooms and Daniel (the bartender/staff on duty) helped us sort it out. He was even brave enough to help three girls haul our bags upstairs!…"

Read all PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we cannot accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. Valid photo ID is required at check-in. All guests are subject to the house rules of the hostel, guests may be removed without refund for unacceptable behaviour. Error in literature maybe corrected by us without liability. We reserve the right to cancel or change bookings at any time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

London Waterloo Days Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 87.5% 47 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
30.02 USD

Hostel 86.3% 1802 reviews
London Eye Hostel
24.26 USD

Hostel 65.9% 515 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
47.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Strand Continental
40.57 USD

Hostel 75.2% 299 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
81.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Safestay
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.9% 224 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

313 out of 373 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
76.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 269 of 359 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, really helpful, friendly, welcoming. Great area, homey feel, very relaxed.

Disliked: The triple bunks are a bit annoying as you can't sit up on your bed.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 August 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: only 2 toilets and 2 showers so you can imagine crowds in thye morning, 3 wash basins, no fridge to leave your food or shelf to leave your dry food, no cutlery or palce to make a sandwich, no towles t rent-u have to buy them, no lockers-you need to buy a padlock and the lockers are small.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: located closely to train station, and downstairs bar.

Disliked: beds were too cramped

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Lambeth North station. Staff is knowledgeable about the city. Inexpensive. Free pool, free jukebox, and discounted drinks after the pub closes to the public. 24-hour bar + kitchen Free wi-fi

Disliked: * Triple-bunk beds are loud and creaky, and an all-around pain-in-the-ass if you get stuck on the top bunk. * Fancy code-entry locks attached to creaky wooden doors, with wonky handles. Some of the doors give a considerable distance, even when they are locked. What's wrong with keycards, guys?? * Wi-fi forces you to log in every damn time, and sometimes takes 30+seconds for the login screen to respond. Annoying. * As the hostel is also a pub+kitchen, staff will confiscate brought-in drinks (and presumably food) on sight in the lobby and outside patio. As posted signs prohibit drinks (and presumably food too, though I can't remember), you can't consume goodies you purchased elsewhere. If you get caught you might also be lectured on how bringing your own drinks into a pub is universally prohibited everywhere... except I was patronizing the HOSTEL (and I tried to find someplace out of the way and away from other pub guests), not the pub! No other hostel I have ever been to, even the ones that sell alcohol, have ever pulled that kind of bullshit. Yes, this was a minor thing, but it left me sufficiently pissed off. (Who likes having their beer stolen/taken away/confiscated? Give me back my drink, dammit!)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff and great pizzas!

Disliked: -

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012

Liked: location; very near the city center

Disliked: too many people crammed into too small a room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Pennington

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 July 2012 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Löwenhardt

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

01 July 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about this hostel! Room was clean, shower and toilets too, bar was nice, got a coupon so i would get 50 % off of a drink, location was nice! And won the award for best staff, and I agree! The receptionist/bar keeper, Daniel, really helped me a lot with where to go, what to do etc!

Disliked: -------- :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar at the bottom. Hostel location is not bad. Good staff.

Disliked: The 12 people room is crowded. The mattress was uncomfortable, you could feel the springs. Too few bathrooms and showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael haven

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful people,

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was OK, just keep on going with great work.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was OK.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shelby Lott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012 Shelby would recommend this property

Liked: It had a wonderful atmosphere. The staff were wonderful, the guests were a lot of fun to get to know. Having a 24hr bar open to only guests after closing was a huge convenience.

Disliked: There should probably be a place for the guests to hang out away from the bar scene.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Burdick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Typical London hostel - right above a decent pub with 7 pound pizza. Good security, good staff, and a covered beer garden. Good wifi. Nice that the pub is open 24/7 and open later than 11 for hostel guests. Free pool after 12:30, an free jukebox for a couple hours during the night. Half price drink coupon for checkin. Only a few minutes walk to the Lambeth North underground station.

Disliked: Biggest complaint: no kitchen. Second: bottom bunk (of three) is terrible. It's basically a mattress sitting on the floor with very little room between it and the second bunk. Very uncomfortable, making you hit your head constantly and allowing sitting in the bed impossible. Really just terrible design. Bottom bunks are usually better but ask for a top bunk in this place. No sink stoppers. The only common room is the pub, which can be annoying with some the local regulars being loud obnoxious drunkards.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Todd Perzel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: It´s fun that the hostel provides a bar (almost) 24-7, to order drinks or pizza (as the rooms sit right above it). It is nice to know you have this option when returning home from a long day of sight-seeing. We also liked the staff -- Elliott looks so smart with his glasses and was very helpful. The location was one of the best we found for the price.

Disliked: There was a terrible first impression -- the shower (and water) was broken or turned off. However, the hostel does grow on you. It is average for ´comfort´ of a hostel, not quite enough space in the rooms and the three-tiered bunkbeds appear uncomfortable. However, it is a party hostel and don´t come if you are looking for a quiet place to sleep. They keep music on all night and it literally pulsates through the floor -- not cool, in my opionion. We all like music, but do we need to blast it at 4am? The bathrooms are rough, and only two toilets for 42 beds. We stayed here here because it offered one of the best values for the price, however, keep in mind some of the drawbacks. We might stay here again, but would look somewhere else first.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

raphael avni

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 May 2012 raphael would recommend this property

Liked: good honest friendly place

Disliked: the locals at the pub are a bit agressive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Arrived late at night with a warm hello and help with everything, slept really well on a very comfortable bed, woke up, had a hot shower and breakfast, had a nice chat with Elliott (he was very helpful and extremely friendly even though I was pestering him at 6 AM), and went on a recommended free tour!!! Excellent.

Disliked: no complaints

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very frendly staff, handy location.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandre Maddalena

Alone

City break

10 March 2012 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: good location, free billiard table and discount for the first drink in the bar, possibility to ask to serve breakfast (some bread and coffee, but it's already something for London hostels!) earlier. So, very good place overall, surely return there. Special thanks to very nice Italian girl on the reception ))

Disliked: if you're on the lower bed, you shoud be very careful when you get up -- the space is rather small. It seems to be London tradition although.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, beds, friendly staff (especially emma)

Disliked: the 12 beds bedroom is quite tiny

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Trussler

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 February 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Efficient

Disliked: Nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Marcus Sleep

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012

Liked: Free pool table but only after 1 am

Disliked: Lockers do not lock with most locks. Night staff could not understand English, no juice put out at breakfast, rudeness of manager. Not enough hooks or mirrors. Overcrowed room no floor space left to move.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was ok

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub was open in the evening when other pubs were closed

Disliked: When we wanted to check in, the bar personnel was so busy with pub customers that we had to wait more than a half an hour before checking in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was clean and the staff were friendly. The other guests were very respectful and I was able to sleep feeling safe and comfortable. I mainly just used the hostel as a place to sleep, shower and eat breakfast. For me, it was a very good fit.

Disliked: All the staff members were not as knowledgeable as I had hoped regarding different happenings and sites in London. However, they were willing to help me research on the internet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wojciech Zmudzinski

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Wojciech would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the tube and to the center

Disliked: lack of space in te rooms


See all London hostels
See all London hotels