HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

Hostel | 41-42 Cosser St, London, England SE1 7BU

78.2% Overall Rating

297 out of 352 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

Guan Jie Ong thinks…

"The bar is really a nice place to chill.. they have student discounts all day for their menu.. london lager is really a nice drink the the pizzas are definitely worth trying! The people were all…"

Read all FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we cannot accept bookings for guests under the age of 18 years. Valid photo ID is required at check-in. All guests are subject to the house rules of the hostel, guests may be removed without refund for unacceptable behaviour. Error in literature maybe corrected by us without liability. We reserve the right to cancel or change bookings at any time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

London Waterloo Days Hotel
66.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.9% 47 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.93 USD

Hostel 97.9% 12 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
29.26 USD

Hostel 90.9% 1756 reviews
London Eye Hostel
25.08 USD

Hostel 63.4% 494 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
57.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Journeys London Bridge Hostel
28.41 USD

Hostel 64.3% 527 reviews
Strand Continental
41.80 USD

Hostel 74.4% 286 reviews
Belgrave Hotel
83.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

297 out of 352 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 253 of 338 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay for backpackers!! nice environment, interesting facilities (billar, bar open till late), drinks pretty cheap, perfect place to stay for groups of friends... however, it has just a few rooms to sleep.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Aida Corona

04 May 2010 Aida would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly. Could ose more showers as there are only two for the four rooms but everything else was perfect.

Disliked: Aida left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the intimacy, just not at weekends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying here. It was a short walk to the tube station and near a lot of attractions. The only negative thing was that they didn't have hot water so I had to take a really cold shower and the room was a little small for 12 people but it was pretty clean and comfortable. The staff is also super helpful and the free breakfast in the morning was good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELISABET HUEGUN ARRUABARRENA

09 April 2010 ELISABET would recommend this property

Liked: The relationship between de service and prize

Disliked: ELISABET left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marco Brunetta

05 April 2010 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Fun place and awesome pub to hang around. Very recommended.

Disliked: Marco left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: could use a kitchen, but good beds and clean enough... staff are very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people and good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jemma Phillips

21 March 2010 Jemma would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good near to the tube.Reception was 24hrs and there was always someone around

Disliked: Jemma left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Steam Engine is only one minute away from the Tube, which makes traveling very easy. It's situated in a very nice neighborhood with several little pubs, restaurants and shops. From our window, we could even see the London Eye.As far as we could see the hostel had 4 rooms (with either 9 or 12 people a room), with only beds in them (so no lockers), who shared 2 showers and 2 toilets. The whole place was very clean and the only downside there was that sometimes the water would turn cold - but usually only for a few moments. The pub downstairs has a very friendly atmosphere and the staff is very helpful. When they mixed up our reservations and my friend might have to stay in another room, one of the girls behind reception spent nearly an hour trying to fix it so that me and my friend could stay in the same room. The beer garden is very nice, and we ended up meeting a lot of other people there.All in all: a very nice and good stay! We'd certainly advice this hostel to others and if we return to London next year, we'll stay here again :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 March 2010

Liked: Das Personal war sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit.Da auch fremde aus der Umgebung gerne nach der für alle anderen Lokale geltenden Sperrstunde noch auf ein Bier einkehren, finde ich den Türcode sehr gut.Es gibt allerdings nur 2 Duschen und WCs für die Bewohner, was viel zu wenig ist. Diese sind schnell versifft. Es gibt keine Tür für die Bäder. Die Zimmer sind ungemütlich (3-Etagenbettn, 9 Leute können nicht gleichzeitig ihr Gpäck im Zimmer deponieren).Dafür ist das Hostel echt günstig und hat eine perfekte Lage!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD: cheap, transports facilities, well located, many activitiesBAD: No space in the bed, rooms located right above the pub so people puke all night with horrible sounds :/ ,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Huitson

22 February 2010 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great bar, nice clean rooms, good location

Disliked: Melanie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There were just 2 toilets and 2 shower-room. when I stayed here, one shower-room was so duty. I thought I could borrow the towel for free, so I didn't bring. but I couldn't borrow. However receptionists were very friendly!!! You can enjoy meeting people here and room are clean:))It was totaly good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

06 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - really nice staff, really hospitable and very helpfull when you look for some places to visit- you get some vouchers when you arrive what give you get off prices. - the rooms are totally clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aren Yong Cheok Lum

05 February 2010 Aren would recommend this property

Liked: First time experiencing a triple bunk bed. it was a little cramp, but a whole new experience..The party never stops at the bar, met great people and fun crowd.would love to visit there again someday!

Disliked: Aren left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izabela Gruszczyk

31 January 2010 Izabela would recommend this property

Liked: I have never stayed in hostel before but now after two nights at steam engine i know where to stay next time when ill come to london.

Disliked: Izabela left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Daniel A Pomar

29 January 2010

Liked: Nice hostel, nice staff very friendly, the problem is too noise, you cannot sleep till bar close,

Disliked: Daniel A left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Steam Engine was very lively at night and a good place to meet people. Although the bathrooms weren't the cleanest and they ran out of towels, the beds were very comfortable and the location was pretty convenient.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

diego rivero

23 January 2010 diego would recommend this property

Liked: amazing hostel, and it has 24 hrs bar for guests

Disliked: diego left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

15 January 2010

Liked: close to Big Ben, but the rooms are above the bar so there is LOUD MUSIC while you sleep!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Martinez

15 January 2010 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: I've been living there for a while now and it's an amazing place to stay,the location is great and I don't have enough words to describe how nice the staff members are without exception.It's clean and very good fun,I met amazing people there and everyday is like a new experience.Every Friday night there's live music and karaoke night on saturdays.I'll recomend to any person coming to London to stay there,u just have to live the experience yourself!!!!

Disliked: Monica left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the steam-engine over the weekend and its a really nice hostel. The whole night u can hear the music from the bar so u need a deep sleep. The bar is nice and they offer free billiard. The showers are not really hot but warm, so its ok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexander Mumford

02 January 2010 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great! Me and a friend stayed for one night and met so many great people and who are all very friendly and made us feel very welcome. £2.50 for laptop use was false, its FREE. The beds were comfortable with hot showers avaliable. really didnt want to leave this place and would recommened it to every single hosteller

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels