We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Strand Continental

Hostel | 143 Strand, London, England WC2R 1JA

74.1% Overall Rating

228 out of 298 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/09/2014)

Lucy Steeper thinks…

"The bed were quite comfy, staff were helpful and it was easy to check in. The checking out process was also very simple including the return of the deposit. Breakfast was included in the price which…"

Read all Strand Continental reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

For customers staying between 30th December 2014 and 1st January 2015, the following applies: A minimum 2 night stay; and non-refundable payment is taken at the time of booking For all other bookings, a 10% non-refundable deposit is taken by Hostelbookers. Please note, that a £10 key deposit will be charged upon arrival at the hostel and refunded to the guests when they return their room key on departure. For cancellations made less than 48 hours prior to check-in at the hostel, the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged. For No-Shows the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged, also.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Stay In Holborn Guest House
48.31 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
155.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
39.08 USD

Hostel 85.5% 606 reviews
Smart Russell Square
14.66 USD

Hostel 73.8% 1724 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
28.50 USD

Hostel 86.9% 1798 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.13 USD

Hostel 89.6% 43 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
22.78 USD

Hostel 80.6% 370 reviews
Generator London
40.71 USD

Hostel 88.9% 4139 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.1%

Overall Rating

228 out of 298 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Strand Continental'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
69.6%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 215 of 288 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lucy Jones

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 October 2010 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: it's location!

Disliked: Noisey guests in the other rooms and from the traffic.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GGG

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2010

Liked: great location

Disliked: shared bathroom. got a room that smelled like raw sewage at first (but got a room change). does not feel very clean there...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

12 October 2010

Liked: the location

Disliked: won't come again.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, and cheap. Staff were very helpful. Felt safe and was clean.

Disliked: Perhaps better shower facilities

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 October 2010

Liked: convenient to where we wanted to go

Disliked: it was dull and a bit dingy

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Kah Siang Goh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

07 October 2010

Liked: Good location

Disliked: I was charged 17 pounds as a deposit by hostelbookers when booking but when i arrived at the hostel, i did not receive a reduction in the fee despite initially paying a deposit. I was charged the full amount by the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elena Gutierrez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2010 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, lovely bar and restaurant, good cheap food!

Disliked: Elena left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: you get what you pay

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Claire Williams

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

29 September 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location. Simple but clean room. The staff were friendly. Breakfast was very simple but included in the price of the room. It is a great budget location.

Disliked: There were two toilets and a shower for the whole floor. On the first night the toilets were fine but the second day they were blocked and dirty. The shower room was just that, a shower in a room! It was a little difficult to get in and out of.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location and nice staff.

Disliked: A bit run-down but clean.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helped us with supplying a 3 bed dorm for the 3 of us.

Disliked: Walls possibly a bit thin, but not a big noise problem.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 September 2010

Liked: Very cheap.

Disliked: Paid for a 4 bed room, got 2 singles beds and a double bed. Only got one key between four people. The guy who took my £10 key deposit wrote "no deposit" on my key deposit slip and didn't give me a receipt. I don't know whether this was a deliberate attempt to defraud or just old-fashioned incompetence, but it did require some negotiation with the receptionist girl the following morning to get my money back. All the shower basins on our floor were blocked, and full of water. Like, to the point that the water was going nowhere except overflowing onto the floor. Not pleasant.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no lift

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and ease of getting to the tube.

Disliked: Being on The Strand made it very loud because of traffic.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karine Metos

Alone

Business / conference

23 September 2010 Karine would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hotel - I loved the restaurant on the second floor - delicious food!

Disliked: Karine left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I prefer the location, it is very close to river Thomes and located in city center. I can easily find theaters and others near this place.

Disliked: I don't like the bathroom. It is quiet small and hard to control the temperature of water.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2010

Liked: The location and friendliness of the persons at the counter.

Disliked: For us the main thing was the cleanliness of the room. The blankets and bed sheets had both quite noticeable stains, which completely changed the experience, as we did not sleep well as the feeling of knowing that the bed is dirty is very unpleasant. I would recommend them to really improve this part, as for me it did not even reach an average level.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philippe Leonis

Alone

Events / festivals

07 September 2010 Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

Disliked: Philippe left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jennifer rogers

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 September 2010 jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: loaction was perfect

Disliked: jennifer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Maria Aguirre

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2010 Ana Maria would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the fact that breakfast was included in the price and that the location was ideal.

Disliked: Ana Maria left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikel Zumalakarregi

With friends / other travellers

31 August 2010 Mikel would recommend this property

Liked: Next to covent garden you can go shopping partiyng and to any place in London easylly saving time and money. Cheap and peaceful,I really recommend it¡

Disliked: Mikel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leyre Gonzalez de Txabarri

With friends / other travellers

31 August 2010 Leyre would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere really cheap in the center of London. You can ask for anything that you are worried to the staff, they kindly help you. There is a bar with free wi fi where you can relax.Definetely I will repeat!!

Disliked: Leyre left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ane Grijelmo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2010 Ane would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and spacious room.

Disliked: Ane left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels