We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Strand Continental

Hostel | 143 Strand, London, England WC2R 1JA

80.1% Overall Rating

245 out of 318 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2015)

"First of all, the hostel is exceptionally well positioned for visiting the sites in London -- only a short walk from the Waterloo Bridge, National Gallery, Trafalgar Square, etc. The staff are also very, very nice and…"

Read all Strand Continental reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

For customers arriving on either 30th or 31st December 2015, the following applies: A minimum 2 night stay; payment is taken at the time of the booking. 50% of this payment is non-refundable. The remaining 50% is refundable if a one month cancellation notice is given. Failure to give a one month notice will result in the total amount being non-refundable. For all other bookings, a 10% non-refundable deposit is taken by Hostelbookers. Please note, that a £10 key deposit will be charged upon arrival at the hostel and refunded to the guests when they return their room key on departure. For cancellations made less than 48 hours prior to check-in at the hostel, the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged. For No-Shows the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged, also.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
149.15 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
28.11 USD

Hostel 82.5% 669 reviews
Smart Russell Square Hostel
17.94 USD

Hostel 78.7% 1782 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
31.16 USD

Hostel 87.2% 1844 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
28.89 USD

Hostel 87.2% 65 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
18.73 USD

Hostel 77.8% 383 reviews
Generator London
19.99 USD

Hostel 89.1% 4204 reviews
St Athans Hotel
41.86 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

245 out of 318 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Strand Continental'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 228 of 307 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Gytis Ramanauskas

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011

Liked: Central Location

Disliked: In general : AVOID. Full of mold. Dorms was very, very small. Bed sheets were not clean (stains, and full of some kind of dark stuff) Breakfast.. i wouldn't dare it call "Breakfast" in English way - cereal, coffee and tee. No Ham/cheese etc. Beds are all "swingy"and creaky This was not my first time in London, and as my other favorite hotels were booked, had to stay in this one. Would avoid it next time at all costs.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

michael clode

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

09 March 2011

Liked: Very central.

Disliked: Had to lug our bags up 3 flights of stairs as the lift was padlocked. It said no smoking but the hallways stunk of smoke. No lights in the toilet, the breakfast consisted of 2 types of cereal or bread & butter! Being from Wales & having been to London a 1000 times I wasn't too bothered, but had I been visiting from abroad and been looking for some representation of London or the UK from the hostel I'd have been bloody disappointed!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: too ,many stairs to climb

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Thomson

Alone

Business / conference

09 March 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: All very good, relatively quiet, which was good as I had a university entrance examination to sit.

Disliked: No hot water, at all. Brain freeze from the ice cold shower.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011

Liked: Convinient location, secure access - affordable accommodation to spend a night. Rooms are good size with basins.

Disliked: Shower and toilet facilities very basic

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 February 2011

Liked: The location on the Strand.

Disliked: I didn't get a hot (or even remotely warm) shower the entire time I stayed here, no matter what time of day I tried. The wi-fi never seemed to be working. The beds were really creaky, making it difficult to get to/stay asleep when others are moving around, and the pillows were so flat it hardly seemed worth having them!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great great location and really friendly staff!!

Disliked: Window was broken so we could hear all the noises from the street. The room was also quite dirty and as I'm allergic I got some reactions by it.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great!

Disliked: Otherwise if you are used to are have ever been to some student kind of acomodation and have no problem with it and you need or want to stay in the top centre of London then go for it. If you are used to certain kind of hotel standard for your money then go somewhere else. I would recommend this hotel for a shorter stay.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and price are good

Disliked: the carpets are very old. the furniture are very old - but for the price - ok

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rafael Oliveira

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 January 2011 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome. Just downtown London, very close to the Big Ben and the London Eye

Disliked: The bathroom is outside of the room.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

26 January 2011

Liked: good location. but thats its only good thing.

Disliked: very dingy. loud nightclub nearby, curtains not big enough for window. double room consists of a bed, a very tiny sink and a kettle on a small bedside table that blocks the miniature cupboard. furnishings are very old, restaurant and 'lounge area' are tiny and dirty looking. 'lounge area/bar' consists of two old chairs next to a table next to a bar bench with limited choices in bar to have. overall not a place i would return to.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is very good. That's about it.

Disliked: Cramped, looks run down. But for what you pay, its worth it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff was extremely helpful!

Disliked: It was not the cleanest or nicest hostel... could have used some fixing-up and cleaning in the public areas. Overall, bearable but not great.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Value for money

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011

Liked: the location was very good, very near to Charing Cross and Covent Garden tube stations. but that was about it.

Disliked: we arrived on the first night to find that both bathrooms on our floor were unusable. the light bulbs on the first one were spoilt and so it was complete pitch dark. the shower on the second one was literally DRIPPING drops of water at a time, it was impossible to shower, unless you spend 2 hours in there. we highlighted the problems on the first night but even by the third and final night of my stay, the problem was not fixed. how hard can changing a light bulb be? we had to walk downstairs in the dark to bathe. on the second night, the room below ours was leaking water, the guests had to move out of their room. thankfully, this didn't happen to us. Also, on the second night, the toilet on our floor was choked and it could not be used. the rooms are small, very basic, nothing to shout about. the counter overcharged me by £20 due to a calculation error, luckily I realized in time and received my refund. definitely would not recommend this place based on the state of the toilets alone.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marc Vernaeve

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 January 2011 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Location great. WiFi but no access in the rooms (dissapointing)

Disliked: It is an old building so luxury doesn't exist.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly staff.

Disliked: There was nothing I really disliked about the property. However, if you dislike many stairs this might not be the one for you :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doru Ivan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Doru would recommend this property

Liked: It was very central, close to all attraction places, very handy to get at any time in the night, clean.

Disliked: I didn't see any self-catering facilities (microwave, cutlery...) just an Indian restaurant.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Connor Walsh

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 December 2010 Connor would recommend this property

Liked: The location is absolutely amazing for some who is visiting town. Theaters, museums, restaurants, and plenty of shopping all in walking distance. It is a great place if you don't plan on staying in your hotel that much and don't want to spend a fortune on public transportation.

Disliked: Although I find the building very charming the facilities are in poor condition. There is no elevator so carrying a heavy bag up 4 flights of stairs wasn't fun and the free breakfast was a bit of a joke. They mean a little bit of cereal and free toast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Taylor

As a family with children

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2010 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: The staff on Reception were very friendly and helpful. Having breakfast the staff were also friendly. Room was clean and tidy, the toilets and showers were clean and tidy. Cant complain.

Disliked: The steep stairs!!!!!!!! lol, showed me how unfit I was.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the hotel bar - great place to relax and meet other travellers. Free WIFI too was a plus.

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leila Motos

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Leila would recommend this property

Liked: Great Value. Great location. Good Heating (I wasn't cold) and clean rooms.

Disliked: nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

05 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a breakfast and wi-fi.

Disliked: I think it was not clean enough and there is problems with some of the windows. And it's cold if you stay close to the window. On the 4th floor there are 2 baths and 2 toilets, but only in 1 bath and 1 toilet has lights.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping

26 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, breakfast included, i booked a dorm room but eventually was all alone in the room

Disliked: microvawe in the kitchen did not work, dirty kitchen


See all London hostels
See all London hotels