We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Strand Continental

Hostel | 143 Strand, London, England WC2R 1JA

73.8% Overall Rating

230 out of 302 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2015)

Diana Keane thinks…

"Room price is very, very competitive (I believe I paid 55GBP a night for a single room with shared bathroom) for somewhere so unbelievably central. Would actually opine that the rooms and bathrooms…"

Read all Strand Continental reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

For customers staying between 30th December 2014 and 1st January 2015, the following applies: A minimum 2 night stay; and non-refundable payment is taken at the time of booking For all other bookings, a 10% non-refundable deposit is taken by Hostelbookers. Please note, that a £10 key deposit will be charged upon arrival at the hostel and refunded to the guests when they return their room key on departure. For cancellations made less than 48 hours prior to check-in at the hostel, the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged. For No-Shows the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged, also.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
154.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
25.97 USD

Hostel 86.5% 612 reviews
Smart Russell Square
17.84 USD

Hostel 76.3% 1733 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
30.02 USD

Hostel 87.2% 1805 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 86.4% 50 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
21.08 USD

Hostel 76.0% 377 reviews
Generator London
21.91 USD

Hostel 91.3% 4157 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.8%

Overall Rating

230 out of 302 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Strand Continental'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
70.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 219 of 292 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rafael Oliveira

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 January 2011 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome. Just downtown London, very close to the Big Ben and the London Eye

Disliked: The bathroom is outside of the room.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

26 January 2011

Liked: good location. but thats its only good thing.

Disliked: very dingy. loud nightclub nearby, curtains not big enough for window. double room consists of a bed, a very tiny sink and a kettle on a small bedside table that blocks the miniature cupboard. furnishings are very old, restaurant and 'lounge area' are tiny and dirty looking. 'lounge area/bar' consists of two old chairs next to a table next to a bar bench with limited choices in bar to have. overall not a place i would return to.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is very good. That's about it.

Disliked: Cramped, looks run down. But for what you pay, its worth it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff was extremely helpful!

Disliked: It was not the cleanest or nicest hostel... could have used some fixing-up and cleaning in the public areas. Overall, bearable but not great.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Value for money

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011

Liked: the location was very good, very near to Charing Cross and Covent Garden tube stations. but that was about it.

Disliked: we arrived on the first night to find that both bathrooms on our floor were unusable. the light bulbs on the first one were spoilt and so it was complete pitch dark. the shower on the second one was literally DRIPPING drops of water at a time, it was impossible to shower, unless you spend 2 hours in there. we highlighted the problems on the first night but even by the third and final night of my stay, the problem was not fixed. how hard can changing a light bulb be? we had to walk downstairs in the dark to bathe. on the second night, the room below ours was leaking water, the guests had to move out of their room. thankfully, this didn't happen to us. Also, on the second night, the toilet on our floor was choked and it could not be used. the rooms are small, very basic, nothing to shout about. the counter overcharged me by £20 due to a calculation error, luckily I realized in time and received my refund. definitely would not recommend this place based on the state of the toilets alone.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marc Vernaeve

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 January 2011 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Location great. WiFi but no access in the rooms (dissapointing)

Disliked: It is an old building so luxury doesn't exist.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly staff.

Disliked: There was nothing I really disliked about the property. However, if you dislike many stairs this might not be the one for you :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doru Ivan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Doru would recommend this property

Liked: It was very central, close to all attraction places, very handy to get at any time in the night, clean.

Disliked: I didn't see any self-catering facilities (microwave, cutlery...) just an Indian restaurant.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Connor Walsh

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 December 2010 Connor would recommend this property

Liked: The location is absolutely amazing for some who is visiting town. Theaters, museums, restaurants, and plenty of shopping all in walking distance. It is a great place if you don't plan on staying in your hotel that much and don't want to spend a fortune on public transportation.

Disliked: Although I find the building very charming the facilities are in poor condition. There is no elevator so carrying a heavy bag up 4 flights of stairs wasn't fun and the free breakfast was a bit of a joke. They mean a little bit of cereal and free toast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Taylor

As a family with children

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2010 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: The staff on Reception were very friendly and helpful. Having breakfast the staff were also friendly. Room was clean and tidy, the toilets and showers were clean and tidy. Cant complain.

Disliked: The steep stairs!!!!!!!! lol, showed me how unfit I was.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the hotel bar - great place to relax and meet other travellers. Free WIFI too was a plus.

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leila Motos

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Leila would recommend this property

Liked: Great Value. Great location. Good Heating (I wasn't cold) and clean rooms.

Disliked: nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

05 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a breakfast and wi-fi.

Disliked: I think it was not clean enough and there is problems with some of the windows. And it's cold if you stay close to the window. On the 4th floor there are 2 baths and 2 toilets, but only in 1 bath and 1 toilet has lights.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping

26 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, breakfast included, i booked a dorm room but eventually was all alone in the room

Disliked: microvawe in the kitchen did not work, dirty kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OSCAR MARIN DURAN

Alone

City break
Shopping

23 November 2010 OSCAR would recommend this property

Liked: excelent situacion in london center...

Disliked: any thinks

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2010

Liked: Centralized location

Disliked: Dorm rooms were exceedingly small. Space was very limited.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and helpful staff, nice room, small, but suitable considering we only needed it to sleep in. Yummy breakfast, great location. Just a pretty nice place to be.

Disliked: All the stairs we had to walk up to get to our room! XD Not that it was actually a problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jenna Hastelow

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2010 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: Really great value for money. Location is absolutely perfect. Hostel has great 1940s charm, full of character.

Disliked: Well the excellent location means there is a lot of traffic noise 24/7.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 November 2010

Liked: The central location and friendly staff.

Disliked: The carpet was dreadful. As it is an old house, everything is quite narrow and run-down. The community kitchen doesn't really exit. You can only find a dirty microwave in it, no mugs nothing else. The breakfast is two toast with jam and average coffee, nothing great about it, but I guess that's what you can get for this price and central location.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, excellent location

Disliked: Toilets didn't always work. Breakfast was included and available from 7.30 - 9.30, but at 8.30 there was no more left.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is just great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ria Warfe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 October 2010 Ria would recommend this property

Liked: EXCELLENT location! 500m from 2 different tube stations. A 5 minute walk to Covent Garden and Soho - the best place to go out at night. The rooms are simple and small, but clean comfortable enough. The shared bathrooms were clean and there was always one available. The restaurant was great, the food was excellent! People would come to the restaurant that weren't even staying there. The bar was cheap though not much atmosphere.

Disliked: The breakfast was below average - toast and cereal only. Even though it was included, I went out each day for breakfast. The bar was really quiet so not the best place to meet others if you're on your own. It states it's 'secure' and that the front door is locked after 11pm each night. I got home after this time quite often and the door was always open. In saying that, a staff member was always at the front desk.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels