HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Strand Continental London Hostel

143 Strand, London, London, England

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 65%

Location 99%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Common Room
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box

Important Information

For customers arriving on either 30th or 31st December 2015, the following applies: A minimum 2 night stay; payment is taken at the time of the booking. 50% of this payment is non-refundable. The remaining 50% is refundable if a one month cancellation notice is given. Failure to give a one month notice will result in the total amount being non-refundable.

For all other bookings, a 10% non-refundable deposit is taken by Hostelbookers. Please note, that a £10 key deposit will be charged upon arrival at the hostel and refunded to the guests when they return their room key on departure.

For cancellations made less than 48 hours prior to check-in at the hostel, the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged. For No-Shows the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged, also.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 65%

Location 99%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 86%

Showing 41-37 of 37 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Central locationBreakfast - basic but OK

Disliked: Received an email from the hostel(from a gmail address!) asking for my credit/debit card number and the security code! Of course I didn't send them the information and have complained to hostelbookers that this seems like a shady thing to ask from customers( since we already provided the information to hostelbookers). I was just told that I have to take it up with the hostel. Anyway my reservation was still confirmed, so I went and stayed there. It wasn't really clean, the rooms were very basic and unappealing. One toilet didn't work-had to hold my nose just to pee.Expensive for what you get! The only reason they can get away with the price is the location, but there are other much better hostels around for a much better price and still OK locations!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really well located-walking distance to Covent Garden and Leicester square. Can br a little difficult to find though, just a doorway in a long line of them.

Disliked: I hadn't realised it was so tall! I was on the sixth floor, and it's all stairs. If you're doing anything that might make that many steps difficult, maybe see if you can contact them.for a lower room? Third floor is the lowest with rooms though, so if you're not good with stairs. Maybe stay somewhere else.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is no place to lock up your belongings. The mattresses looked a bit dodgy and were terribly uncomfortable. Wifi is free but you can only get it in the lounge which is used by non hostel guests as well.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is very nice & helpful. Location is excellent- almost everything we wanted to see & do was within walking distance, and many tube stations, pubs, & shops are nearby. It was a good value considering we were there for New Year's and London can be quite pricey.

Disliked: The bed's were not the most comfortable. The double rooms were quite small and, and the shared bathrooms were a bit of a walk from the room we were given. The walls were a bit on the thin side, so some people may be bothered by the noise. Breakfast is only toast, coffee, and granola, but this is fairly common at hostels in general. All in all- no complaints so big as to sway me from staying there again.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: One of the ladies that checked me in was extremely helpful and friendly. However the lady who stored my luggage couldn't care less. The location was also ideal for exploring London.

Disliked: I don't think the price reflected the standard or cleanliness of the room. The shared shower and toilet were clean however the room itself wasn't. There were things left on the carpet where it obviously hadn't been hoovered and the bed linen itself had a mark on it. Despite the fact tea making facilities were provided I didn't use the mug because it was cracked and didn't look particularly clean. There was also a slamming door which made the property loud at night with people coming and going.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location is excellent and the staff are very friendly

Disliked: Having to pay £2 for a towel

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals

Liked: simple and quick

Disliked: showers are a bit dated

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The bed must have been comfotable as I fell asleep immediately and didn't wake up til the alarmBasic breakfast, but a nice room for breakfast

Disliked: The shower and toilet was shared with other rooms on that floor, which was reflected in the price. The shower and bed were both built for people under 6ft 3"m as my husband reported, though he slept well too.Cold shower in the morning, although it was hot the previous evening. Just as well we didn't bring a cat, as there wasn't room to swing one!And a distinct lack of hooks everywhere.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location. , price. ,

Disliked: Very slightly untidy .

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Where is placed! Centre of London

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability