We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Strand Continental

Hostel | 143 Strand, London, England WC2R 1JA

73.8% Overall Rating

230 out of 302 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2015)

Diana Keane thinks…

"Room price is very, very competitive (I believe I paid 55GBP a night for a single room with shared bathroom) for somewhere so unbelievably central. Would actually opine that the rooms and bathrooms…"

Read all Strand Continental reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

For customers staying between 30th December 2014 and 1st January 2015, the following applies: A minimum 2 night stay; and non-refundable payment is taken at the time of booking For all other bookings, a 10% non-refundable deposit is taken by Hostelbookers. Please note, that a £10 key deposit will be charged upon arrival at the hostel and refunded to the guests when they return their room key on departure. For cancellations made less than 48 hours prior to check-in at the hostel, the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged. For No-Shows the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged, also.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
154.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
25.97 USD

Hostel 86.5% 612 reviews
Smart Russell Square
17.84 USD

Hostel 77.5% 1732 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
30.02 USD

Hostel 87.2% 1805 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
30.02 USD

Hostel 86.5% 49 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
24.33 USD

Hostel 76.0% 377 reviews
Generator London
27.59 USD

Hostel 91.3% 4157 reviews
St Athans Hotel
38.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.8%

Overall Rating

230 out of 302 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Strand Continental'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
70.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 219 of 292 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Especially the location. Close to subway, shops and other attractions in central London. Can hardly be better.

Disliked: Well, the rooms could have been a little bigger. Okay if you are traveling alone, otherwise I do not know. Better could also have been cleaning for days.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: a

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great if you're in London to see West end shows. It's very close to all the theatres and Covent Garden, Piccadilly and Leicester square is only a few blocks away. Cheap and easy to get to. Even though I've rated the cleanliness as between bad and average it's not very worse than any hostel I've been to, and it's also a question of how much you're willing to spend. We were very satisfied when leaving the hostel.

Disliked: The showers and toilets are a bit worse than they could be, with wrenches not really working at all times. Breakfast is slow since it's being made while people are having it. If you need full access it might be hard for you to get from floor to floor, since there is no elevators.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price

Disliked: no warm water in the evenings

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great!

Disliked: The breakfast is very simple.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Moises Romero

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2011 Moises would recommend this property

Liked: Dude, it's flippin' close to everything! The area is a bit expensive, so you gotta look for good deals, like theatre 3-course dinners... Those are great, and not very expensive!

Disliked: Nothing really, it's absolutely amazing... Maybe the wi-fi is a bit slow... they could make it better I guess.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

CLAIRE CHARLESWORTH

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 CLAIRE would recommend this property

Liked: right in the heart of theatreland the toilet and shower seemed newly done up and clean. although the beakfast was basic, it was tasty.

Disliked: The carpet in my bed room was very stained and dirty looking. The security door that closed off the bedroom to the public access area (that was also a fire door) did not close very well so people tended to leave it open. The mechanism to keep the window open in the room was broken too.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 March 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: not very clean, small rooms no very well equiped, but like in most hostels in London

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: toilets

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham Moots

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2011 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place - Excellent location, friendly staff, clean room and maximum value for money. I will stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the free breakfast, wifi internet, security

Disliked: Cannot think of anything

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Laura Picket

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 March 2011

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: I did not like this place at all!!! First off, the room smelled like smoke and it was a non smoking room. There is no elevator and I had to lug my luggage all the way up tons of stairs (doesn't help that I was almost 6 months pregnant either!) Then the beds springs stuck in my back all night and it was so uncomfortable. Worst sleep of my life. I wouldn't be surprised if the sheets were even clean. The top "comforter" did even overlap the bed, nor was it long enough to even cover my feet. My husband said that he had stayed in cheaper hostels with better accommodations. Since the London Underground is so good, I would just pay the same price and stay at a nicer place. Luckily we only booked for one night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION IS PERFECT for Sightseeing & culture !!!! ~7 minutes from Trafalgar square,~4 from Metro station...simply Super:) very nice place. (it is almost next to the savoy hotel:)

Disliked: in the evening you have to be fast ...warm water wasn't always enough.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

17 March 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: no hot water in the showers in the evening, continental breakfast (included) very cheap (the strawberry jam doesn't taste strawberries). furnitures very old and used

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011

Liked: The location is excellent.

Disliked: Room was too small, basic and grubby for the price. The breakfast room and service was pretty lacking.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Location

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Gytis Ramanauskas

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011

Liked: Central Location

Disliked: In general : AVOID. Full of mold. Dorms was very, very small. Bed sheets were not clean (stains, and full of some kind of dark stuff) Breakfast.. i wouldn't dare it call "Breakfast" in English way - cereal, coffee and tee. No Ham/cheese etc. Beds are all "swingy"and creaky This was not my first time in London, and as my other favorite hotels were booked, had to stay in this one. Would avoid it next time at all costs.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

michael clode

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

09 March 2011

Liked: Very central.

Disliked: Had to lug our bags up 3 flights of stairs as the lift was padlocked. It said no smoking but the hallways stunk of smoke. No lights in the toilet, the breakfast consisted of 2 types of cereal or bread & butter! Being from Wales & having been to London a 1000 times I wasn't too bothered, but had I been visiting from abroad and been looking for some representation of London or the UK from the hostel I'd have been bloody disappointed!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: too ,many stairs to climb

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Thomson

Alone

Business / conference

09 March 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: All very good, relatively quiet, which was good as I had a university entrance examination to sit.

Disliked: No hot water, at all. Brain freeze from the ice cold shower.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011

Liked: Convinient location, secure access - affordable accommodation to spend a night. Rooms are good size with basins.

Disliked: Shower and toilet facilities very basic

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 February 2011

Liked: The location on the Strand.

Disliked: I didn't get a hot (or even remotely warm) shower the entire time I stayed here, no matter what time of day I tried. The wi-fi never seemed to be working. The beds were really creaky, making it difficult to get to/stay asleep when others are moving around, and the pillows were so flat it hardly seemed worth having them!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great great location and really friendly staff!!

Disliked: Window was broken so we could hear all the noises from the street. The room was also quite dirty and as I'm allergic I got some reactions by it.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great!

Disliked: Otherwise if you are used to are have ever been to some student kind of acomodation and have no problem with it and you need or want to stay in the top centre of London then go for it. If you are used to certain kind of hotel standard for your money then go somewhere else. I would recommend this hotel for a shorter stay.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and price are good

Disliked: the carpets are very old. the furniture are very old - but for the price - ok


See all London hostels
See all London hotels