HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Strand Continental

Hostel | 143 Strand, London, England WC2R 1JA

70.9% Overall Rating

223 out of 293 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Kole McFarland thinks…

"Location is super awesome. 1minute walk to the Thames river and views of London Eye and Westminster."

Read all Strand Continental reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

The following applies to all stays over New Year's Eve (31st December 2013): a minimum 2 night stay; and 50% non-refundable deposit payable at the time of booking, The non-refundable balance will be payable one week prior to 31st December 2013.

For all other bookings, a 10% non-refundable deposit is taken by Hostelbookers. Please note, that a £10 key deposit will be charged upon arrival at the hostel and refunded to the guests when they return their room key on departure. For cancellations made less than 48 hours prior to check-in at the hostel, the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged. For No-Shows the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged, also.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Stay In Holborn Guest House
50.38 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 15 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
60.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
40.75 USD

Hostel 81.4% 601 reviews
Smart Russell Square
15.27 USD

Hostel 68.3% 1703 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
29.72 USD

Hostel 92.1% 1777 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
31.41 USD

Hostel 95.3% 28 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
25.45 USD

Hostel 82.1% 366 reviews
Generator London
37.36 USD

Hostel 87.1% 4127 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.9%

Overall Rating

223 out of 293 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Strand Continental'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
64.0%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 211 of 283 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: toilets

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham Moots

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2011 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place - Excellent location, friendly staff, clean room and maximum value for money. I will stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the free breakfast, wifi internet, security

Disliked: Cannot think of anything

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Laura Picket

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 March 2011

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: I did not like this place at all!!! First off, the room smelled like smoke and it was a non smoking room. There is no elevator and I had to lug my luggage all the way up tons of stairs (doesn't help that I was almost 6 months pregnant either!) Then the beds springs stuck in my back all night and it was so uncomfortable. Worst sleep of my life. I wouldn't be surprised if the sheets were even clean. The top "comforter" did even overlap the bed, nor was it long enough to even cover my feet. My husband said that he had stayed in cheaper hostels with better accommodations. Since the London Underground is so good, I would just pay the same price and stay at a nicer place. Luckily we only booked for one night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION IS PERFECT for Sightseeing & culture !!!! ~7 minutes from Trafalgar square,~4 from Metro station...simply Super:) very nice place. (it is almost next to the savoy hotel:)

Disliked: in the evening you have to be fast ...warm water wasn't always enough.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

17 March 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: no hot water in the showers in the evening, continental breakfast (included) very cheap (the strawberry jam doesn't taste strawberries). furnitures very old and used

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011

Liked: The location is excellent.

Disliked: Room was too small, basic and grubby for the price. The breakfast room and service was pretty lacking.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Location

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Gytis Ramanauskas

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011

Liked: Central Location

Disliked: In general : AVOID. Full of mold. Dorms was very, very small. Bed sheets were not clean (stains, and full of some kind of dark stuff) Breakfast.. i wouldn't dare it call "Breakfast" in English way - cereal, coffee and tee. No Ham/cheese etc. Beds are all "swingy"and creaky This was not my first time in London, and as my other favorite hotels were booked, had to stay in this one. Would avoid it next time at all costs.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

michael clode

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

09 March 2011

Liked: Very central.

Disliked: Had to lug our bags up 3 flights of stairs as the lift was padlocked. It said no smoking but the hallways stunk of smoke. No lights in the toilet, the breakfast consisted of 2 types of cereal or bread & butter! Being from Wales & having been to London a 1000 times I wasn't too bothered, but had I been visiting from abroad and been looking for some representation of London or the UK from the hostel I'd have been bloody disappointed!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: too ,many stairs to climb

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Thomson

Alone

Business / conference

09 March 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: All very good, relatively quiet, which was good as I had a university entrance examination to sit.

Disliked: No hot water, at all. Brain freeze from the ice cold shower.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011

Liked: Convinient location, secure access - affordable accommodation to spend a night. Rooms are good size with basins.

Disliked: Shower and toilet facilities very basic

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 February 2011

Liked: The location on the Strand.

Disliked: I didn't get a hot (or even remotely warm) shower the entire time I stayed here, no matter what time of day I tried. The wi-fi never seemed to be working. The beds were really creaky, making it difficult to get to/stay asleep when others are moving around, and the pillows were so flat it hardly seemed worth having them!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great great location and really friendly staff!!

Disliked: Window was broken so we could hear all the noises from the street. The room was also quite dirty and as I'm allergic I got some reactions by it.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great!

Disliked: Otherwise if you are used to are have ever been to some student kind of acomodation and have no problem with it and you need or want to stay in the top centre of London then go for it. If you are used to certain kind of hotel standard for your money then go somewhere else. I would recommend this hotel for a shorter stay.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and price are good

Disliked: the carpets are very old. the furniture are very old - but for the price - ok

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rafael Oliveira

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 January 2011 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome. Just downtown London, very close to the Big Ben and the London Eye

Disliked: The bathroom is outside of the room.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

26 January 2011

Liked: good location. but thats its only good thing.

Disliked: very dingy. loud nightclub nearby, curtains not big enough for window. double room consists of a bed, a very tiny sink and a kettle on a small bedside table that blocks the miniature cupboard. furnishings are very old, restaurant and 'lounge area' are tiny and dirty looking. 'lounge area/bar' consists of two old chairs next to a table next to a bar bench with limited choices in bar to have. overall not a place i would return to.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is very good. That's about it.

Disliked: Cramped, looks run down. But for what you pay, its worth it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff was extremely helpful!

Disliked: It was not the cleanest or nicest hostel... could have used some fixing-up and cleaning in the public areas. Overall, bearable but not great.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Value for money

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011

Liked: the location was very good, very near to Charing Cross and Covent Garden tube stations. but that was about it.

Disliked: we arrived on the first night to find that both bathrooms on our floor were unusable. the light bulbs on the first one were spoilt and so it was complete pitch dark. the shower on the second one was literally DRIPPING drops of water at a time, it was impossible to shower, unless you spend 2 hours in there. we highlighted the problems on the first night but even by the third and final night of my stay, the problem was not fixed. how hard can changing a light bulb be? we had to walk downstairs in the dark to bathe. on the second night, the room below ours was leaking water, the guests had to move out of their room. thankfully, this didn't happen to us. Also, on the second night, the toilet on our floor was choked and it could not be used. the rooms are small, very basic, nothing to shout about. the counter overcharged me by £20 due to a calculation error, luckily I realized in time and received my refund. definitely would not recommend this place based on the state of the toilets alone.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marc Vernaeve

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 January 2011 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Location great. WiFi but no access in the rooms (dissapointing)

Disliked: It is an old building so luxury doesn't exist.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly staff.

Disliked: There was nothing I really disliked about the property. However, if you dislike many stairs this might not be the one for you :)


See all London hostels
See all London hotels