We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Strand Continental

Hostel | 143 Strand, London, England WC2R 1JA

78.9% Overall Rating

238 out of 311 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/04/2015)

adam swain thinks…

"its a place for a night or two or if you don't mind 'ruffing' it but as it is only a 2star I did really expect what I got, I guess the price, location and staff and level security.. oh and the light…"

Read all Strand Continental reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

For customers staying between 30th December 2014 and 1st January 2015, the following applies: A minimum 2 night stay; and non-refundable payment is taken at the time of booking For all other bookings, a 10% non-refundable deposit is taken by Hostelbookers. Please note, that a £10 key deposit will be charged upon arrival at the hostel and refunded to the guests when they return their room key on departure. For cancellations made less than 48 hours prior to check-in at the hostel, the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged. For No-Shows the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged, also.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
144.48 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
24.21 USD

Hostel 85.5% 626 reviews
Smart Russell Square
13.62 USD

Hostel 76.2% 1749 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
30.18 USD

Hostel 89.5% 1827 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
27.99 USD

Hostel 88.3% 55 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
22.68 USD

Hostel 77.0% 380 reviews
Generator London
33.28 USD

Hostel 90.9% 4177 reviews
St Athans Hotel
40.54 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

238 out of 311 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Strand Continental'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 224 of 300 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

katrina marinovic

Alone

City break

15 August 2011

Liked: leaving it

Disliked: walking into the strand there were wine botttles on the footstep. i was put on the 6th floor with no elevator. no facilities in the rooms. extremely loud cinema or something like it in a very close proximity, that kept me up for most of the night. when looking out of the window there was a semi balcony which was covered with alcohol bottles. when trying to check out 2 days early was told by staff i had to wait an hour and a half until the manager came. was not grated a refund for the days i did not stay there that were booked through hostelbookers.. wifi only worked on my mobile while in reception. should be advertised as a hostel rather than a hotel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The showers were good. The location was great, just a short walk to the Thames and several Underground stations.

Disliked: The floor was very dirty, as if it hadn't been swept in a week. The staff wasn't very knowledgeable about nearby attractions/services.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christina Puzio

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: The location was PERFECT! Right across the road from the theatre playing The Lion King - which we ended up seeing and was amazing. Very close to Covent Garden & therefore Covent Garden Tube Station, which was handy in getting around London. Breakfast was simple, cereal & toast, but nice. It was above an Indian Restaurant, which we didn't mind because we like Indian Food. The smell lingers into your room during the evenings though, so prepare to get hungry! We gave in & ate downstairs a couple of times purely because it smelt so yummy!

Disliked: Lots of stairs! We were given a room on the fifth floor so be warned. At least it's good for the thigh muscles! During our stay there was a school excursion group also staying there, so there was a bit of noise to deal with, along with queues for the showers in the morning. The cleaners spoke poor English & after they changed our sheets, the cleaner took my pillow case that was covering my own personal pillow as he assumed it was the hotels. Several stressful conversations with the hotel staff later, they managed to rummage through the dirty laundry bags to retrieve it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the free wifi & it being so close to charing cross station

Disliked: there's no elevator & if your staying on the 6th floor, carrying suitcases up is so annoy.. and walking up those stairs all the time is so annoying and too much effort

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rachel Pound

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, walkable to all attractions!! wifi in sitting area.

Disliked: The room was quite dirty, the carpets were filthy, bedding was not very nice ( someones old grubby doona!) Alot of stairs to climb ( we had to climb 5 floors).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 August 2011

Liked: central location

Disliked: unclean, floors not vacummed since previous occupant, sink unclean and no plug. bins not emptied

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly. They were really helpful.

Disliked: No lift

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: The carpet was dirty and the room was really small.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, close to everything by walking

Disliked: Mixed dorms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location,in London center. Bathroom and sheets are clean. Breakfast is served in a pleasant room.

Disliked: The carpet was dirty,stained,and vacuum cleaner not often used... It was very dirty under the washbasin...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: no lift can use wifi only at bar & reception

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to where I needed to be.

Disliked: The noise as all windows were open.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

I-LIN LIU

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 I-LIN would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: room is not big enough

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was fine; seemed pretty clean; locking system felt safe; i had a good night's sleep here; free breakfast; quiet communal room; close to theatres and quite easy to find.

Disliked: it was a bit dodgy getting back there at night alone; bedrooms and bathrooms were rather small; I was the only girl in the mixed dorm; breakfast finished a while before check-out and was pretty simple as breakfasts go; i would stay here again but only with a group, not alone again.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 July 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: Extremely overpriced for the room, basically a box with a window. Although it seems like everything in London, accomodation wise is like this

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patricia John

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly and helpful staff, rooms clean.

Disliked: Breakfast was quite simple.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Agustin Vijoditz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

02 July 2011

Liked: -

Disliked: My room was on the 5th floor by stairs

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location. Friendly staff. Clean rooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 June 2011

Liked: The location is simply perfect! Also the staff was very helpful and nice.

Disliked: It was unbelievably dirty!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011

Liked: location location location

Disliked: small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super Neat! CLEAN!

Disliked: This place is perfect excellent value for central london!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in the heart of the city.

Disliked: Disturbing noise trought the night from brusque visitors having party in their hotel room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is really good, highly accessible

Disliked: the window of our room is facing the back stairs, and this made us feel not very secure, luckily it is able for us to lock the window tightly there's not enough hot water, we need to bath either eariler or later if we want to enjoy a hot shower

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011

Liked: Close to main attractions.

Disliked: It`s below the "Curry Club". Hostel smells curry everywhere. Dirty rooms, dirty bathrooms. Didn`t like it.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a good location and it was quiet and clean. The drawers in the rooms are very convinient.

Disliked: They could make an effort on furniture, bed covers, pillows, locks. It's as if they had just fiddled with everything.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels