We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Strand Continental

Hostel | 143 Strand, London, England WC2R 1JA

77.8% Overall Rating

237 out of 309 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2015)

"The location is fantastic. You can do lots of things on foot. The room was also nice and clean."

Read all Strand Continental reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

For customers staying between 30th December 2014 and 1st January 2015, the following applies: A minimum 2 night stay; and non-refundable payment is taken at the time of booking For all other bookings, a 10% non-refundable deposit is taken by Hostelbookers. Please note, that a £10 key deposit will be charged upon arrival at the hostel and refunded to the guests when they return their room key on departure. For cancellations made less than 48 hours prior to check-in at the hostel, the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged. For No-Shows the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged, also.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Lancaster Hotel
141.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Astor Museum Inn
23.78 USD

Hostel 85.1% 616 reviews
Smart Russell Square
13.38 USD

Hostel 75.4% 1739 reviews
The Walrus Waterloo
27.50 USD

Hostel 87.9% 1818 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
27.50 USD

Hostel 87.1% 51 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
22.28 USD

Hostel 76.0% 377 reviews
Generator London
25.27 USD

Hostel 90.2% 4166 reviews
St Athans Hotel
39.83 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

237 out of 309 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Strand Continental'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 223 of 298 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 December 2013

Liked: Continental breakfast included - toast, cereal, tea and coffee. Just don't ask the guy behind the counter for butter or jam, God forbid he may have to turn around and take it from the cupboard.

Disliked: It is like a building of offices that they have just shoved beds in - the layout is stupid for travelers with suitcases etc. The sinks aren't in the toilet, they are in the actual rooms - very bad hygiene!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price. Staff was nice and helpful as well.

Disliked: Rooms are tiny (like really-really tiny), but it's clear that one can't expect more for that money.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Noisy if you are to sleep with the window open

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, close to Trafalgar Square and other areas of interest with a tube station just down the road. Staff were very helpful and room very clean,

Disliked: There is no lift which may be a strain for some, also due to location it can be very noisy and hard to sleep at night time. Breakfast itself very basic but OK, quite highly priced overall.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

samantha wright

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

09 May 2013 samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, standard & value for money

Disliked: No lifts & had 6 flights of stairs to climb with suitcases.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and incredable location.

Disliked: Not the greatest shower...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013

Liked: - great location

Disliked: - thin walls (hard to sleep) - dirty small shared shower/toilets - building old/worn - wifi range poor (can't get in rooms) - no laundry

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 March 2013

Liked: Very central, free breakfast.

Disliked: Lacked character

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 March 2013

Liked: Central location Breakfast - basic but OK

Disliked: Received an email from the hostel(from a gmail address!) asking for my credit/debit card number and the security code! Of course I didn't send them the information and have complained to hostelbookers that this seems like a shady thing to ask from customers( since we already provided the information to hostelbookers). I was just told that I have to take it up with the hostel. Anyway my reservation was still confirmed, so I went and stayed there. It wasn't really clean, the rooms were very basic and unappealing. One toilet didn't work-had to hold my nose just to pee. Expensive for what you get! The only reason they can get away with the price is the location, but there are other much better hostels around for a much better price and still OK locations!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zoe Coleman McNair

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Really well located-walking distance to Covent Garden and Leicester square. Can br a little difficult to find though, just a doorway in a long line of them.

Disliked: I hadn't realised it was so tall! I was on the sixth floor, and it's all stairs. If you're doing anything that might make that many steps difficult, maybe see if you can contact them.for a lower room? Third floor is the lowest with rooms though, so if you're not good with stairs. Maybe stay somewhere else.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is no place to lock up your belongings. The mattresses looked a bit dodgy and were terribly uncomfortable. Wifi is free but you can only get it in the lounge which is used by non hostel guests as well.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kresimir Vrdoljak

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2013 Kresimir would recommend this property

Liked: Indian restaurant

Disliked: Kresimir left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Brett Zima

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice & helpful. Location is excellent- almost everything we wanted to see & do was within walking distance, and many tube stations, pubs, & shops are nearby. It was a good value considering we were there for New Year's and London can be quite pricey.

Disliked: The bed's were not the most comfortable. The double rooms were quite small and, and the shared bathrooms were a bit of a walk from the room we were given. The walls were a bit on the thin side, so some people may be bothered by the noise. Breakfast is only toast, coffee, and granola, but this is fairly common at hostels in general. All in all- no complaints so big as to sway me from staying there again.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 November 2012

Liked: One of the ladies that checked me in was extremely helpful and friendly. However the lady who stored my luggage couldn't care less. The location was also ideal for exploring London.

Disliked: I don't think the price reflected the standard or cleanliness of the room. The shared shower and toilet were clean however the room itself wasn't. There were things left on the carpet where it obviously hadn't been hoovered and the bed linen itself had a mark on it. Despite the fact tea making facilities were provided I didn't use the mug because it was cracked and didn't look particularly clean. There was also a slamming door which made the property loud at night with people coming and going.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robbie Alexander

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2012 Robbie would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent and the staff are very friendly

Disliked: Having to pay £2 for a towel

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

joga bains

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

25 October 2012 joga would recommend this property

Liked: simple and quick

Disliked: showers are a bit dated

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

KATERINA FRAGKOUDI

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 September 2012 KATERINA would recommend this property

Liked: Where is placed! Centre of London

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed must have been comfotable as I fell asleep immediately and didn't wake up til the alarm Basic breakfast, but a nice room for breakfast

Disliked: The shower and toilet was shared with other rooms on that floor, which was reflected in the price. The shower and bed were both built for people under 6ft 3"m as my husband reported, though he slept well too. Cold shower in the morning, although it was hot the previous evening. Just as well we didn't bring a cat, as there wasn't room to swing one! And a distinct lack of hooks everywhere.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good centert in the city

Disliked: bad coffe fore breakfirst

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Angelica Loghin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012

Liked: Sorry but nothing...

Disliked: I had better in Germany and Italy with less moony ... Sorry again

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosie Saragon

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 June 2012 Rosie would recommend this property

Liked: They had everything I was looking for: common room, breakfast included, free wifi, restaurant open in the evening. Common room had a lot of atmosphere, being a bar with music playing and food and drinks available. Good value for money and will be coming back!

Disliked: Breakfast was average but adequate.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mirco Riondata

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Mirco would recommend this property

Liked: downstairs! It made it incredibly easy to meet people. Thanks for an awesome time! AMAZING location! Great cafes and restaurants and shopping near by, and easy to walk everywhere so can save money on transportation. Great staff and we loved having the bar downstairs! It made it incredibly easy to meet people. Thanks for an awesome time!

Disliked: Mirco left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 June 2012

Liked: The location is superb, walking distance to most things. The area is very busy, but feels secure. Staff were friendly and breakfast decent enough. The bar is a nice communal space.

Disliked: Was mostly disappointed that our reservation had been split for the first night, so one of our party had to sleep in a different room. Poor organisation? The mattresses are old and dodgy-looking and need to be renewed. Overall the place didn't feel too clean, but may be partly to do with the age of the place - it's pretty run down. Bathrooms are teeny-tiny and there is no water pressure. It was okay for two nights due to the fantastic location, but I would not come back for a longer stay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: la posizione molto comoda vicino alla tube e la cortesia del personale

Disliked: i bagni comuni piuttosto piccoli

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alex Lawrie

Alone

City break

05 June 2012

Liked: At check in the person on the desk was very friendly, helpful and caring.

Disliked: It was a bit dated and very unaccessable for people with some minor health conditions. There was no lift, only stairs and they had put me in a room on the fifth floor and after a while it got to a stage that it was quite impossible to staY at it because of all the stairs and especially when heaving a lot of luggage.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels