HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Strand Continental London Hostel

143 Strand, London, London, England

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 63%

Location 99%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Common Room
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box

Important Information

For customers arriving on either 30th or 31st December 2015, the following applies: A minimum 2 night stay; payment is taken at the time of the booking. 50% of this payment is non-refundable. The remaining 50% is refundable if a one month cancellation notice is given. Failure to give a one month notice will result in the total amount being non-refundable.

For all other bookings, a 10% non-refundable deposit is taken by Hostelbookers. Please note, that a £10 key deposit will be charged upon arrival at the hostel and refunded to the guests when they return their room key on departure.

For cancellations made less than 48 hours prior to check-in at the hostel, the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged. For No-Shows the rates for the first 2 nights will be charged, also.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 63%

Location 99%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Showing 11-20 of 36 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: I liked the location, there is so much to do in and around the Strand that you can never get bored easily! I liked the Restaurant staff who were very friendly and I loved the views over London in one side of the dorm I stayed in.

Disliked: I didn't really enjoy the check in process, entering my name and details into a book anyone could read! Luckily, I was travelling very light but the stairs would have been extremely awkward if someone was to bring heavy luggage. I didn't like the fact that I had to fit my own sheet nor that the bar wasn't open when I visited (about 4ish) or did I appreciate the fact that staff were on the phone constantly when I wanted to check out and there was no one in reception

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice atmosphere, good staff, excellent location

Disliked: Everything was good

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very central location. Quiet room. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Bed very lumpy. Not given towels.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Superb location!Cheap.Contrary to some other opinions the luggage room is locked and only opened by reception staff.Everyone was nice, however I didn't really need their help so it's hard to judge.

Disliked: Well, this hostel should just be totally refurbished, everything should just be thrown out, repainted, repaired and bought as new. I didn't exactly find the hotel filthy as some other people suggested, just if a wall hasn't been painted in 20 years it can't really be clean. Everything is old, cheap and is falling apart and noone really seems to care. One morning there was no hot water in the shower.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Room price is very, very competitive (I believe I paid 55GBP a night for a single room with shared bathroom) for somewhere so unbelievably central. Would actually opine that the rooms and bathrooms are clean, the showers worked fine for me, and as a graduate who left uni only 4 years ago - I've certainly encountered (and occasionally lived in) a lot worse!

Disliked: Staff were unhelpful and unfriendly (no offer to help with my huge suitcase up 4 flights of stairs?!)No wifi or TV in rooms - unbelievably annoyingLinen quality is terrible - I am more than happy with no frills but the bed linen was clearly multiple years old and almost worn through.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: -

Disliked: Free towels would've been nice

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location

Disliked: Luggage room left unlock all day.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The bed were quite comfy, staff were helpful and it was easy to check in. The checking out process was also very simple including the return of the deposit. Breakfast was included in the price which was very cheap anyway. Can't complain at the breakfast - tea coffee cereal and toast! We booked a 3 person room for the 2 of us however were the only 2 in the room. Beds were quite comfy and the showers were actually hot!! I paid for a towel - £2 however it was a proper sized towel so can't complain!!

Disliked: We were on the 5th floor.. although with a view of the shard this was made a little better :) we had builders outside the window putting up scaffolding when we arrived - although they were indeed very friendly as I said hello!!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: location is very good, close to covent garden

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is incredible, close and convenient. I stayed in a 3 bed room with my friends and it was clean and spacious. Exactly what we wanted. The employees at the front were always kind and helpfulp.

Disliked: The lack of ventilation in the rooms and showers. It got hot in summer and there was no air conditioning

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability